hcd199

Waterford GAA, Glenorchy, Hob (BBL)
Hi guys, don't normally enter other team boards, but was wondering if there was any substance to some of the "rumours" floating about in some of the papers:

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/06/16/152621_afl.html

"Mr Harrison said he believed Bellerive offered an easy profit for interested AFL clubs, rumoured to include Richmond, Melbourne and North Melbourne."

I'm doubtful, of course (supporters on the North board have already been told by Arocca that we have definitely not expressed an interest), but I'd be interested to see if any of you could shed some light on this issue.

Hi guys, don't normally enter other team boards, but was wondering if there was any substance to some of the "rumours" floating about in some of the papers:

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2010/06/16/152621_afl.html

"Mr Harrison said he believed Bellerive offered an easy profit for interested AFL clubs, rumoured to include Richmond, Melbourne and North Melbourne."

I'm doubtful, of course (supporters on the North board have already been told by Arocca that we have definitely not expressed an interest), but I'd be interested to see if any of you could shed some light on this issue.

yeah pretty sure not for melbourne, if anything darwin for us. We want more darwin games but less others.

The reason we stopped the brisbane match is coz it gave brisbane the home game, if we played someone like hawthorn at bellerive it wouldn't make sense.

I would prefer to play freo, pt adel, or another interstate low attendance catching teams at darwin, we have already started to get a following up there. I would like it to continue

We also played in Canberra for 3 years from 2007-09, playing a "home" game every year against Sydney, before trading that home game for more money against Port Adelaide in Darwin.

Given the advent of GWS in 2012, and the moves to associate ACT with Team GWS, it is likely that victorian clubs will play 2-3 "home" games in Canberra against GWS.

I would think Melbourne will be more likely to play its home game in Canberra than Tasmania, but given the extra support and money we currently get from the Darwin "home" game, it is unlikely that we will move our sole interstate "home" game away from Darwin, unless the AFL Commission decides otherwise and offers more incentives

I'd love to play a home game in Hobart (in addition to the current 1 game a year in Darwin). However I believe the Tasmanian government has ruled out any funding for the game so without the extra coin on the side it seems it wouldn't be the massive financial win that would really motivate us to go there.

Sorry Canberra dee but I'm sick of giving freebies to the swans and don't want to start giving them to GWS by having home games against them in Canberra. Those 2 teams should have their own home games in Canberra if the AFL want to give the capital its AFL fix.

Hey HCD, nice to have you drop in around here mate :thumbsu:

Sounds interesting, but yeah, I can't see much chance or reason that we'd change our interstate base from Darwin at this point...

I'd love to play a home game in Hobart (in addition to the current 1 game a year in Darwin). However I believe the Tasmanian government has ruled out any funding for the game so without the extra coin on the side it seems it wouldn't be the massive financial win that would really motivate us to go there.

Sorry Canberra dee but I'm sick of giving freebies to the swans and don't want to start giving them to GWS by having home games against them in Canberra. Those 2 teams should have their own home games in Canberra if the AFL want to give the capital its AFL fix.

I do not think the swans will play any home games in Canberra, and am unsure if GWS will also play a home game here. It is more likely that a couple of melbourne team will play a "home" game against GWS. This way GWS builds its base by playing all its home games in west sydney, and keeps canberra happy by playing a couple of games here.

I think we will only play 1 home game away from MCG, unless of course we go to 24 rounds, which will mean 12 home games. Realistically, I think that we, norths, bulldogs will play 1 home game interstate, as that fits in with the AFL's goals to have games played in all states/territories.

So far we have progressed from playing that home game in the Gabba, to Manuka to now Darwin. Whether that continues, and what incentives the AFL will give after the advent of WSyd, will determine where we will play that home game.

Hey HCD, nice to have you drop in around here mate :thumbsu:

Sounds interesting, but yeah, I can't see much chance or reason that we'd change our interstate base from Darwin at this point...

We will go were the money is. Our Darwin base? One game makes a base? I can assure you that this is a very strong possibility, well atleast my source at Bellerive inform me.

We also tried this in 2005, the then Lennon led Government prompltly told the MFC to fu<k off and either play at Inceston (Aurora) or somewhere else. Anyone who knows anything about Paul Lennon will know what a absolute stand up.....D|CK HEAD he was, and I am a Labour voter.

Since then the gov. has changed and will do anything for support and approval. Having games at Bellerive will do this.

Furthermore, Tassie has always been a strong supporter of the MFC providing players such as.... modern players : Brad Green, Col Garland, Robbo, Febey bros., Short lived careers of Heath Neville and Tom Marshall.

Greats like... David Neitz and Garry Lyon , Stuart Spencer ect ect...

So it makes sense for the Dees to play in Hobart. I personally would not like it, but its hard to change the fact footy is a business.

We will go were the money is. Our Darwin base? One game makes a base? I can assure you that this is a very strong possibility, well atleast my source at Bellerive inform me.

I think he meant our Indigenous support group as well, with Jurrah, Wonna, Jetta and Bennell all on the fringes of or in the Best 22. After the game on Saturday the players went to Katherine I think and held a hugely successful clinic.

Plus we got $250 000 roughly for selling the game, so the money is there.

born in tassie, but im not sure where he was brought up

Just trying a claim a sneaky one there. He is Victorian through and through but I just wanted to claim him, he was bron in Tassie though Devonport I think.

I guess its how the Queenslanders claim Nick Riewoldt :rolleyes:

I think he meant our Indigenous support group as well, with Jurrah, Wonna, Jetta and Bennell all on the fringes of or in the Best 22. After the game on Saturday the players went to Katherine I think and held a hugely successful clinic.

Plus we got $250 000 roughly for selling the game, so the money is there.

I get all that. But saying 'base' does not imply that. Money is there but it was also there in Canberra and Brisbane. Its definately being offered at Bellerive. Bellerive is not set up to watch AFL though, definitely a cricket ground. I have a large issue with the location of the members stand, if it were set up on the wing it would be fine however it is not so it means fans can only sit behind one set of goals. Its a ****ing disgrace.

Personally, if we still need to sell a Home game, then sell it to the highest bidder. Whoever is willing to put the most cash back into the clubs pocket is where the game should be played (with the exclusion of at another teams home ground i.e the Gabba.)

It's inevitable however that eventually we will have a team in Tasmania, so the support we get from a Tasmanian base will only be short lived! However we have a strong connection with Darwin with Davey, Aussie, and Jurrah all from up that way (Bennell and Jetta from WA if im not mistaken), along with the recently retired Matty Whelan.

We also tried this in 2005, the then Lennon led Government prompltly told the MFC to fu<k off and either play at Inceston (Aurora) or somewhere else. Anyone who knows anything about Paul Lennon will know what a absolute stand up.....D|CK HEAD he was, and I am a Labour voter.

Since then the gov. has changed and will do anything for support and approval. Having games at Bellerive will do this.

Furthermore, Tassie has always been a strong supporter of the MFC providing players such as.... modern players : Brad Green, Col Garland, Robbo, Febey bros., Short lived careers of Heath Neville and Tom Marshall.

Greats like... David Neitz and Garry Lyon , Stuart Spencer ect ect...

So it makes sense for the Dees to play in Hobart. I personally would not like it, but its hard to change the fact footy is a business.
And Gary Baker, must be others.

big moose: correct they were talking about richmond, there was an article about it a couple of weeks ago

Even if it comes up again it still won't happen i say no to it happening if Hobart gets cricket we should get the footy at Launceston! Launceston is more central!

from the southern stand to the members needs to be redeveloped for it to get serious legs. i'm not talking a development like the southern stand, but those shitty little stands next to the members need to go. update the clarence cricket club rooms, and bump up capacity from 16k to 19-20k, and we'll be cooking with gas.

Even if it comes up again it still won't happen i say no to it happening if Hobart gets cricket we should get the footy at Launceston! Launceston is more central!

First thing people from Launceston say to people from Hobart... There is a surprising lack of bogans in this city.....

Dud argument... Lennon supported it so he could get votes for making the Pulp Mill. True story for both facts.