Gardening

Perth Scorchers, New York Giants
Do we have any avid gardeners here? Coming from a family full of keen green thumbs on both sides i too have grown to have an interest in the planting and cultivation of plants. Thing is i only have a very limited knowledge. I have started to build a range of plants at my place as it was dull and colourless. I have since planted what were MARKED as being petunias but have turned out to be something else quite nice(dunno what but), a rockery mix of seeds, a red rose plant and for my housemate 6 tomato plants. Out the back i have a petunia(and this one is a petunia), and impatient and another unknown plant.

Another question is i am hoping to start growing some pot plants out the back. What flowering plants grow well in pots that would be in a position that gets little to no sun but plenty of open air (a wall and a climbing rose stop the sun getting to the area) So what sorta good, CHEAP(uni student) plants could i look at getting?

You might wanna talk to my mate Col, he can hook you up with some really good fluro lights, for your "garden".

Originally posted by eagleskickass
Another question is i am hoping to start growing some pot plants out the back.

I agree with ozzult, you'd be better off growing your pot plants under lights. Less chance of having them ripped off.

It's like code for the answers he really wants. He disguises his question to make it look innocent, but really we know what he is up to.

It is like when drug dealers talk on the phone, "G'day mate, how many kilos of prawns have you got? What about barramundi? And the lobster next week yeah?"

Just ripped half of the fence down and ripped out the pool. There is still a figure 8 of concrete border where the pool was so we made a garden. Went up to them naked peoples plant farm http://www.hellohello.com.au/ and bought some little english box hedges to make a border then got various coloured flowers for the inside and some tree in the middle. No idea what it's called. Bought a few kilos of crushed rock to fill it then placed newspaper over that (helps curb weeds) and chucked tan bark on top to make a sort of mound. Looks like a goody goody jehova's whitness garden :D i woulda rather my beautiful passionfruit vine back but never mind i'll just keep paying a dollar every day for one!

Plant heaps of Geraniums. They grow easy and don't die much. Just tear branches off existing ones and stick 'em in the ground. The grow ok like that. They get nice flowers. The reference to needing to water them is a bit overzealous. They can almost survive without water.

Geraniums are flora's answer to tupperware.

Yes i know about geraniums, when i used to live in perth as a young child my Folks had TONNES of them, so i know they grow well in Perth. Might look into that, thanks:)