Gardy in, ............ out?

• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Visro

Well Gardiner is almost certain to play this week but who the hell of the talls we are playing do we drop?

McIntosh - yeah right
Jakovich - ditto
Wilson - ditto
Cox - ditto
Hunter - unfortunately for him, I reckon he will go
Embley - could go, see explanation later
Gaspar - another candidate to go
Sierra - possibly

We have too many forwards now. WC are now likely to play Cox in the ruck a lot more and Gardy down at CHF. Only problem is that Sierra, Gaspar and Embley are all contesting to be down there. Gaspar could move down back but we would still have 4 talls (Don't forget Willo) in our forward half.

At least one of the talls is going to be dropped, if not two. Whoever they are though, it won't be because of bad form...

IMO, Hunter and Embley might be the ones to go

Reasons:

* Embley hasnt done anything special for 3-4 weeks
* Gaspar has shown good form when placed at Half forward
* Sierra after a quiet first quarter was pretty good, he's worked hard and done a lot of time in the WAFL before getting his opportunity
* Hunter doesnt seem to have a place in the side at the moment

Its the question ive been asking myself since the end of the game this week. Gardiner has to come in but who to drop? Cox, Gaspar or Siera? None of them IMO deserve to be dropped, but someone must go or we risk being too top heavy. Maybe Embley's number has come up this week.

Cox, Gaspar or Siera?

based on last weeks performance gasper was the weaker of the 3. Cox has been outstanding in gardiners absence and siera was called into the squad to replace gardiner but it would be great for him to play against his old club.

:confused: :confused:

glad i'm not a selector.

Its nice to know we've got a choice isnt it? Last few years we've battled to get enough players on the ground..now we have choices. Its great! I think it will have to be Hunter and Embley..bad luck to those guys but thems is the breaks in AFL footy!

I thought Hunter played okay but I would prefer him to play forward rather than back. As he did play as a defender who will replace him in defence if he is dropped. Maybe Gaspar but otherwise he's thereas our third tall whilst Glassy is out.

Hard to see who will be dropped, maybe Gardy will be given an extra week rest. I don't mind going tall at Colonial. Small ground , no wind and won't be wet. Saints without key talls such as Everitt anf Geghrig could be exposed.

Maybe I'd give Williams a weeks rest.

IMO. Drop Hunter. Put Gaspar down back. Leave Siera at CHF because he's strong enough to take a contested mark and can use his bulk to run through. Leave Embley on a forward flank, because I think he looks better when he's got a strong CHF there, whether that's Gardner or Siera, and get him to lead and push further down the ground more to use his pace. Rotate Cox and Gardner through the ruck and forward line.

Frodo suggested ....

"Maybe I'd give Williams a weeks rest."

I reply: No.

the coaching staff should just work on giving him more time around the half forward line.

My solution is to move gaspar down back temporarily, rotate Siera and Gardy at CHF and Gardy and Cox in the ruck. I'd think that Hunter or Embley have their numbers up this week.

someone in this forum give me a hell yeah.

over and out

stone cold gur

Also to the banfield knockers ( and I have quietly done this as well), I think he is returning to his usual form. He is an experienced player who has been termed the " work-horse"

I think last weekend we all saw the benifit of woosha's insight in that he has persisted with banners and now all of a sudden we have another experienced premiership player to bolster our midfield/halfback line.

He will get better and inject some valuable experinence into our midfield who are a little underdone in the "smarts" department.

Why do we need to drop one of our talls?
I say we bring over a team that is full of big blokes and really stretch what is a very short StKilda side.

I would honestly consider dropping Banners, Jones, Humm or even that champion tagger Josh Wooden. Even if it's just for the week.

FF/ D.Sierakowski......T.Wilson.............Ph.Matera
HF/ D.Wirrpunda........M.Gardiner.........T.Gaspar
CS/ C.Judd................D.Kerr................C.Fletcher
HB/ A.Williams............G.Jakovich..........M.Collica
FB/ J.Humm................A.McIntosh.........A.Hunter

RR/ D.Cox...................M.Braun.............B.Cousins

Bench - A.Embly, C.Chambers, R.Jones, J.Wooden.

Naturally I would rather drop Wooden then Banners, but that's very unlikely considering the good press he's getting.

How about that forward line though!
Marking power from Willow, Siera, Gardy and Gas. And anything they don't mark will be crumbed by Wirra and Fido.

Plus it also allows more versatility with Williams, who could now play a role down back if need be.

That side would smash the Saints.

Don't know who I would drop.
All I would like is to bundle up the team that played last week, wrap them in cottonwool and don't even let them think about the away 'hoodoo'.
Why oh why can't they play like they do at home? What goes through their minds? Don't they think they are good enough or what?

Yep, I like the look of that side Buzz, and with a roof over the ground there should be perfect conditions for high marking.

Apparently Everitt is close to being okay but will be given one more week....or so they say? And perhaps Gehrig will also be available. However both have missed a fair bit of footy...and Gardiner will notice missing 3 games so having a 3 way ruck option is not such a bad idea.

Originally posted by Methuselah
Apparently Everitt is close to being okay but will be given one more week....or so they say? And perhaps Gehrig will also be available. However both have missed a fair bit of footy...and Gardiner will notice missing 3 games so having a 3 way ruck option is not such a bad idea.

Everitt was targeting a return against us a few weeks back and all the news ive heard seems to suggest he'll be back. Im not fazed though, with Cox playing as well as he is Gardiner will be able to ease his way back in and those two alone should win out against an underdone Everitt, but we also have the tuxury of throwing Gaspar and/or Siera into the mix.

Harvey and Everitt have always been danger men when we've played the Saints in the past

This time im a bit more confident, especially with the roof over our heads to keep it nice and dry for our taller players :)

IMO...Hunter should be dropped for Gardiner. Thats it. One change, after a good win like that we dont need to tamper with the setup but one person must go out for Gardy. Hunter is the unlucky one.

If only Hunter goes, Gaspar will be forced down back. I'm ok with that. WC really are in a good position at the moment in regards to thier player management.

Originally posted by mentalgrind
If only Hunter goes, Gaspar will be forced down back. I'm ok with that. WC really are in a good position at the moment in regards to thier player management.

If Gapar is being groomed as a defender then IMO that would be a sound move. However, if he is not and Hunter is being groomed to play as a defender then he needs as much experience as possible. I still feel that it should be Glass getting the experience though. Also, we need to recognise this. A premiership is probably not an option for 2-3 years. At that time BB, Siera, banners, Milli and Jako are likely to be retired. So although I agree with keeping Sierra in to give us the best chance of playing finals footy (and that would be terrific experience) I believe we should play our younger guys as much as possible, and that means Hunter, Haynes, Munro, Glass and McDougall getting good playing time.

ps I have a gut feel that Cox will end up a better player than Gardy. I like the mobility of Cox, dropping back to our defence and taking the odd key mark. It contrasts with Gardy's great abilities going forward.

Originally posted by Frodo
ps I have a gut feel that Cox will end up a better player than Gardy. I like the mobility of Cox, dropping back to our defence and taking the odd key mark. It contrasts with Gardy's great abilities going forward.

You know mate, there is a fine line between genius and insane. I think you've crossed it ;)