tigertime

Suspended
RICHMOND
Anyone else feel the need to bag gaspar now?

IDGAF, JOHNF, OXX, WEAVER (who believes it is statistically impossible for him to play modern football)...

Gaspar is back and he isnt far from his best.

Another big game from the best full back in the competiton.

Gehrig is the test but if stkilda deliver the ball forward like geelong did in round one he could be in real trouble. Midfield is the key. We must stop supply to this truck on stkildas forward line.

Newman on Milne?????

tigertime said:
Anyone else feel the need to bag gaspar now?

IDGAF, JOHNF, OXX, WEAVER (who believes it is statistically impossible for him to play modern football)...

Gaspar is back and he isnt far from his best.

Another big game from the best full back in the competiton.
See MT`s advice on his groundbreaking "Gee I`m Good" thread

Maybe you could help each other out.

Gas has had a couple of good ones but he's been playing on smaller blokes generally. These games will have helped his confidence, but to really prove he's back to his best I'd like to see him up against a big phyiscal forward, if he could beat someone like Gehrig then he's back. I've been impressed with his disposal the last couple of weeks, hardly any clangers.

First game: good
Second game: terrible
Third game: good
Fourth game: ok

Let's see how he goes against Gerhig, Lloyd, Hall, Neitz, Bradshaw, Tredrea, Rocca, Tarrant etc

Big tests ahead.

So far he hasn't really played on anyone of note.

itsintheblood said:
Gehrig is the test but if stkilda deliver the ball forward like geelong did in round one he could be in real trouble. Midfield is the key. We must stop supply to this truck on stkildas forward line.
We ran over Fremantle's midfield with ease, and their arguably one of the best midfields in the comp, according to some.
I give our boys a chance to run over St Kilda's midfield, although Ball and Dal Santo's class does worry me abit.

look he has played some good games to say he is the best backman in the competition is ridiculous, he isnt he never was and he never will be....i am happy that he is contributing to the game plan and that we are getting some value out of him for the big bucks he is on and i have bagged him before, one is only as good as his last game, this bloke is building but needs to be more consistent against the big boys

The likes of Baker, Guerra and Hamill are going to try and physically break the spirit of our young guys early on... I think we're going to see a few scuffles this w/end... anyone agree?

caster said:
We ran over Fremantle's midfield with ease, and their arguably one of the best midfields in the comp, according to some.
I give our boys a chance to run over St Kilda's midfield, although Ball and Dal Santo's class does worry me abit.

Stkildas midfield craps all over freos.

cairo tiger said:
look he has played some good games to say he is the best backman in the competition is ridiculous, he isnt he never was and he never will be....i am happy that he is contributing to the game plan and that we are getting some value out of him for the big bucks he is on and i have bagged him before, one is only as good as his last game, this bloke is building but needs to be more consistent against the big boys

Cairo. The egyptian dust must be penetrating into your brain. To say gaspar was never the best backman in the competition is just showing how much you know about him.

THIS GUY WAS ALL AUSTRALIAN. Do you understand this?? This means he was right up there as the best full back in the competition at the time. You're judging on the back of a terrible 2004 where the guy put his balls on the line by coming back early to help the side coached by a pack of *******s.

Get off his back FFS. He was teriffic last week and servicable against freo. He's showing his old dash and had minimal clangers.

Like ive been saying; if he can return to 70/80% of his best we are in for a solid year.

He has not come across a 'real' forward yet. Will be intersting to see how he goes against the Lions, Saints, Port, Melbourne etc.

cairo tiger said:

Your just plain wrong my friend.

In From 1996-2002 Gaspar (along with Kellaway and Chaffy who had good 2001's) were amounst the best going around.

Gaspar was the best of the leagues center half backs in 2001.

Best and fairest 2001;
2nd best and fairest 2000;
3rd best and fairest 1997;
All-Australian 2000, 2001;
International Rules Series 2001.

In 2000, 2001 he was one of, if not the best full backs going around. At the beggining of 2003 where we were 6-2, he was quite good.

lucas_hsv said:
In 2000, 2001 he was one of, if not the best full backs going around. At the beggining of 2003 where we were 6-2, he was quite good.

Bingo.

Up untill his knee he was clearly (thus b&s's/all australians) one of the leagues best if not the best.

Untill that knee :(

listen i am not judging gasper on his 2004 form i go right back. I just think the bloke was vastly overrated imo and i am entitled to that. Poor kick bad disposal, essentially a very good stopper in his prime. Yes you can quote this and that but the fact remains he put us up against freo and wanted more money. i am awknowledging his recent good form but this needs to contine.
get over it and move on.

cairo tiger said:
listen i am not judging gasper on his 2004 form i go right back. I just think the bloke was vastly overrated imo and i am entitled to that. Poor kick bad disposal, essentially a very good stopper in his prime. Yes you can quote this and that but the fact remains he put us up against freo and wanted more money. i am awknowledging his recent good form but this needs to contine.
get over it and move on.

Cairo, like any player does when he's out of contract, he sniffs around at all offers on the table before committing. The club had a choice. Match the offer or lose him to his home town. As it happened, he accepted a lesser offer to stay with the club. It's common business sense. At the time, he was one of the best backmen in the competition and to lose him would have completely decimated our backline. Don't forget he took a decent pay cut last year because of his form.

Let's look at ottens. His form did not warrant his pay paypacket and the club let him walk. Form plays a big part. You think if ottens won our B&F last year we would have let him go? You're delusional if you think so.

GoTeam2-0-0-4 said:
GASPAR IS OFFICIALLY BACK. Been improving every single week. Great to see. and yeah newman on milne seems logical.
Is this the same Gaspar that was comprehensively outbodied by little Mark Williams in Round 2?

JohnF said:
First game: good
Second game: terrible
Third game: good
Fourth game: ok

Let's see how he goes against Gerhig, Lloyd, Hall, Neitz, Bradshaw, Tredrea, Rocca, Tarrant etc

Big tests ahead.

So far he hasn't really played on anyone of note.

yep.Can't say fairer than that.He's certainly playing better than last year.But then again I reckon I could play better than a few of his games last year, even with a crook back and 10 years out of the game.

Once he has 3 or 4 of the above scalps I'll be happy to jump back on his bandwagon.

OneEyedHawk said:
Is this the same Gaspar that was comprehensively outbodied by little Mark Williams in Round 2?
oneeye's tiger obsession continues...... :rolleyes:

cairo tiger said:
get over it and move on.

I agree that we overrated him. He was a very good defender, but to be realistic, he always struggled when outmuscled. Throughout his career it seemed that he got spanked by Carey, Lynch, Lockett and Lloyd seemingly more often than it should happen to the best going around. There was also a fairly lean batch of quality big forwards early in his career. Big Sav - LMAO. If we are going back 4, 5 or 6 years, I actually think that Hay and Fletcher were far better.

Cannot doubt that he has always given 110% and used what he has got to its best potential.

blood said this:

Cairo, like any player does when he's out of contract, he sniffs around at all offers on the table before committing. The club had a choice. Match the offer or lose him to his home town. As it happened, he accepted a lesser offer to stay with the club. It's common business sense. At the time, he was one of the best backmen in the competition and to lose him would have completely decimated our backline. Don't forget he took a decent pay cut last year because of his form.

mate you are wrong on this. he put us up against freo and said to the tigers match it and more. his rise then was massive and put him up with the elite of the league. Ok then he got injured and then he oofered the pay cut so as to not lose credibility. I just do not like players that do that. i want them to do for the jumper. i am not against people getingwhat they are worth but he clearly isnt and will not be. so he is plying well after a few games lets give him the option to keep going and do that. it is his choice. lets move on.

lucas_hsv said:

should be noted that it was no coincidence that we fell off the perch following his crippling knee injury....I am wrapt with gas's progress, if he can hold the lkes of g string then we may be able to snaffle a win from a good side

It was a joke that after several great years as a defender, that people were calling for Gas to be delisted lol. Even though he was restricted to half the player last year through injury then low confidence. Some people are just really stupid. Anyway I think Gas will outsmart Gehrig this week, just like Scarlett always does.