Peel Thunder
Anyone ever done a trip through Geckos?

I haven't heard a lot about them, but one of their trips fits in perfectly with my holidays next year and goes where I want to go - pretty cheap as well.

Anyone like/dislike/wouldn't touch them with a 10 foot pole?

Anyone ever done a trip through Geckos?

I haven't heard a lot about them, but one of their trips fits in perfectly with my holidays next year and goes where I want to go - pretty cheap as well.

Anyone like/dislike/wouldn't touch them with a 10 foot pole?

Gday Rob, I went to Vietnam with Geckos in 2004 and had a great time. A good mix of visiting cultural sites and partying... also plenty of free time to pursue your own interests along the way. It was cheap and the main guide and subsequent regional guides were all Vietnamese, so they knew their stuff and all the best places to get quality food etc. We travelled in a group of about 20 and the ages ranged from early 20s to 40. All Australians except for one Canadian chick who booked her tour while in Australia.

Why would you go overseas to be with a bunch of Aussies?

What difference does it make? I went with my girlfriend of the time and it was the first trip overseas for both of us. We socialised with locals/other foreigners wherever we went anyway... the only time it ever seemed strictly Aussie was when we were on the bus between destinations.

Why would you go overseas to be with a bunch of Aussies?

That's not why you go overseas. You (sometimes) go overseas to experience different cultures and lifestyles. And have a bit of fun. Doing that with a bunch of Aussies doesn't necessarily detract from it, depending on who they are.
TBH, in some of these 'less developed' countries it's good after a full on day to kick back with a beer at night and talk footy.

Ive done 2 Gecko's tours.
Went to China 2 years ago, and just got back about 3 weeks ago from a 15 day Gecko's tour of Mexico.

The tour is a good way to get around and experience the local culture and as you are generally limited for time in each place you visit the guide points you in the right direction for the must-see, must-do, must-eats. Its also aimed at young people, so the group is quite young which is a bit of fun.

My only real issue with Gecko is its a bit too cheap. The hotels they put you up in are generally very average (1-1.5 star). I know its only a hotel, but on a longish holiday, a nice clean room, clean shower and vanity, comfortable large bed, quiet air conditioning, etc. makes the whole holiday more enjoyable. Personally i'd like to pay a bit more and stay in some nicer places, or at least have the option for staying in a nicer hotel room as an upgrade? Of course because its aimed at young people they try and make it cheap. I've looked into more expensive tours with better hotels and transport but they're full of 60 year olds. So the poor hotels on a Gecko's tour is the compromise.

Ive done 2 Gecko's tours.
Went to China 2 years ago, and just got back about 3 weeks ago from a 15 day Gecko's tour of Mexico.

The tour is a good way to get around and experience the local culture and as you are generally limited for time in each place you visit the guide points you in the right direction for the must-see, must-do, must-eats. Its also aimed at young people, so the group is quite young which is a bit of fun.

My only real issue with Gecko is its a bit too cheap. The hotels they put you up in are generally very average (1-1.5 star). I know its only a hotel, but on a longish holiday, a nice clean room, clean shower and vanity, comfortable large bed, quiet air conditioning, etc. makes the whole holiday more enjoyable. Personally i'd like to pay a bit more and stay in some nicer places, or at least have the option for staying in a nicer hotel room as an upgrade? Of course because its aimed at young people they try and make it cheap. I've looked into more expensive tours with better hotels and transport but they're full of 60 year olds. So the poor hotels on a Gecko's tour is the compromise.

Thats an interesting insight.... however, it wasnt the case in Vietnam. We stayed at fairly nice hotels most of the way round the country, there was only a couple of bad sleeps in the 30 days i was away. One on an overnight train...which is a version of hell! lol! I think Geckos knew everyone was going to be tired and grumpy after the train trip so the next hotel that we stayed at was beautiful in Hoi An. :)

Depends on the individual. i'm sure there were people on the tour in China and the tour in Mexico that thought the accommodation was fine.

Hi everyone

Me and my partner have booked on quite a few group tours and usually prefer the adventure style. I've booked with Geckos and they were really great, but they didn't really give us the feedback and input we both wanted. I consider myself a bit of an expert on adventure travel agents and I neither of us mind roughing it. But I do want value for money and probably my favourite company has been Imaginative Traveller by a bir of a margin. My partner had booked with them ages ago and convinced me. we actually get 5% discount for booking again with them which hekps a bit.

We've travelled through Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia and Laos with them and are planning to book again soon (maybe Egypt!!!). Will keep you guys up-to-date with how it goes!!!

:)

Thanks mate, the trip I was looking at starts in Vietnam as well. Goes through Cambodia and finishes in Bangkok.

sounds like the geckos tour i did last year. "indochina overland" or something like that. i thought it was great. we had aussies, poms, yanks and french on our tour. a few w***ers (the yanks), but everyone else got on really well. the tour had a good mix of scheduled tours (angkor wat, killing fields, chu chi tunnels) and free time to do as you pleased. the guides were all locals and were really great blokes.

Yep, that's the one. I'll more than likely end up going on it next February, the company sounds credible enough. Sounds pretty similar to the intrepid tour i did last year - everyone got on great because they were all similar minded (as opposed to contiki where you get all types).

Thanks for the info guys.