Geelong v Essendon - remember when...

• Thread starter Thread starter SeinDude

SeinDude

Does it get any better? A great win over Collingwood and now 6 on the trot and a real chance for the finals. So now, after playing every side once, we face Essendon again for the second time in 2002. In round 1, they played all over us and got up by 50 points. But its now round 16 and things have changed - and the Cats are a real chance this week.

So lets get fired up for it with another Essendon 'remember when' thread!

In the first Geel v Ess Remember When thread in round 1, I covered the round 4 game in 1997 in which we held off the highly fancied Bombers for a memorable win. In that thread we also talke alot about the 1995 game at the MCG in which Ablett kicked that magnificent goal from the boundary. For this rounds Geel v Ess memory, I am going to 1998. We played Essendon twice that year - the first time we won thanks to a Jason Snell goal between two Essendon defenders in the dying minutes of the match. But our return match was more memorable - an upset win over the Dons, who were trying to cement a place in the top eight.

REMEMBER WHEN - Geelong upset the highly fancied Essendon who were looking for a win to snatch a place in the finals in the final round of 1998?

Geelong's last match of a dissapointing 1998 was against Essendon at the MCG, who needed to win to gurantee them a place in the finals. A crowd of 68,089 were there for the big game. Geelong had no chance of making the finals that year, and had lost H.Simpson and Steinfort with hamsting injuries before the match, forcing us to bring in Marty McKinnon and first gamer Matthew Scarlett. Essendon got off to the better start in the first term with Alessio taking a mark and kicking their first goal. His height was going to be a problem, until Gary Ayres moved Brett Spinks on him, and Spinks did a very good job. Milburn got the Cats first but Lloyd was dangerous up forward kicking 3 for the term on Cameron Roberts. Lynch kicked 2 for the term and was also looking dangerous as the Bombers kicked 6 straight to 4 goals 5 to lead by 7 points at quarter time. In the second term Essendon got right on top and looked like a final 8 side as they got out to a 27 point lead at the 9 minute mark, after Alessio hit the post from 5 metres while running in to goal. The game then turned as Geelong lifted and slammed the next four goals (McKinnon 2, Colbert from half back and Mensch) to reduce to margin to only 1 point at half time. The 3rd term was sensational football as they went goal for goal. They both kicked 5 goals, with Hird kicking 2 for the Bombers. The Cats goal kickers for the term were Lynch (3 for the match), Burns, Spinks, Lowther and Colbert (his second from half back). Garry Hocking was on top in the midfield, while Bizzell and Milburn and Lowther were also doing well. Two quick goals to Burns and Lynch got the Cats to a 9 point lead but the Bombers cut the margin to 3 points. But then 3 quick goals to Mensch, Lynch (his 5th) and Ronnie Burns (his 3rd) got the Cats to a match winning 21 point lead. Two late goals to Lloyd (6 for the match) reduced the margin to 10 points but the siren sounded and the Cats celebrated by chairing Ron Hovey off the ground. Hocking the Cats best with 30 touches, along with King in the ruck, Bizzell, Milburn and Colbert who did a sensational job on Lucas. While Lynch, Burns, Mensch, McKinnon and Hall were great up forward. A great end to the Cats season.

FINAL SCORE: Geelong 19.13.127 Essendon 18.9.117

(Thanks to Chris' unofficial Geelong page for the majority of this info )

That was a very good day for Cats fans. Another day in which even Cat fans were probably expecting to lose, and I remember giving it to all the Essendon supporters when I belted out that Geelong theme song at the top of the southern stand. I remember buskers in Essendon gear trumpeting out the Anzac day war song in sorrow! On the drive down the highway back to Geelong, we tooted every car we passed with the Cats scarf out the window and gave eachother the thumbs up!

As said before, we are due to have a win over the Bombers, as that was actually the last time we have beaten them. After that Collingwood game I'm ready for the world - bring Essendon on!

This is going to be a very good match in a sellout Colonial Stadium. Bring plenty of blue & white and support the mighty Cats - if we win this we would just about have a finals berth (but lets not get ahead of ourselves yet! )

GO CATS!

Originally posted by: LemmeCsum1963 on the Unnofficial Geelong Football Club Message Board

Well I can remember back to 1962 and 1963. In those days Essendon and Geelong were, to my youthful mind anyway, the best two teams in the comp. Ess v Geelong games always had a bit of magic about them.They didn't meet in a GF, but if I remember correctly, played each other in about 3 first semi-finals in a row.

The game I remember from all that time ago was a roster game, I'm not sure of the year, but there might be a cats supporter who remembers it (doubtful) As usual it had been a great game and in the dieing seconds Geelong lead by a point. Ken Fraser, Essendons champion CHF had the ball and kicked for goal just as the siren sounded. he scored a point, but was dumped after he kicked and was awarded another shot. For memory he was about 45 metres out on about a 45 degree angle (maybe the angle was worse). If he didn't take the kick the game was a draw, if he kicked and missed the cats won, if he scored a goal the game was the bombers. I remember the Essendon captain Jack Clarke walking over and discussing it with him. Eventually he decided to take the kick, but in his determination to score at least a point, didn't really give the goals a shake. The ball sailed through for a behind and the game was a draw. Exciting stuff for a kid with red and black running through his veins - and I guess a lot of young cat supporters had their hearts in the mouths that day too.

The earliest Geelong vs Essendon game I can remember was back in 1989 on a muddy MCG in winter. Geelong were coming off a string of huge scores and playing in front of over 87,000 people, Geelong destroyed the hapless Bombers to win by 9 goals. (13 goals to 4)

We also played a memorable (for us Cats fans anyway!) Preliminary Final at VFL Park that year. It was the day Gary Ablett did what he liked on a half forward flank, kicking 8.5 and helping Geelong to a huge 94 point victory, 24.20.164 to 10.10.70 and booking a place in the Grand Final against Hawthorn.

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

Was that very muddy 1989 game played on a Sunday? I believe it was. I was in Hobart and had to travel to Launceston by bus leaving at about 2 PM so would miss the game, which was televised in Tasmania. I had had a win at the casino the night before, and in desperation to see the game offered a cab driver $100 to take me to L'ton (about 120 miles,) the first cab driver refused, the second accepted and off we went. $100 was a fortune, bus fare was about $12 or maybe $15, but I didn't worry, I had won it the night before and was now going to see a great game!!!

The game was over by the end of the first quarter , and I think I missed most of that.

I have never since caught a cab.

I think it may have even been the Queen's Birthday Monday when we played Essendon in 1989. For memory, that was the game where Gary Ablett got reported and was rubbed out for 3 weeks and missed the famous State Of Origin match where Victoria had Lockett and Dunstall in the same forward line.

SeinDude

Originally posted by Catman
Gazza was reported the following week against Melbourne.

Catman,

Thanks for that. That's right... he was reported for striking Garry Lyon of Melbourne and got 3 weeks.

SeinDude

Hi all, hope you don't mind an Essendon supporter remembering a couple of games, of course they were Essendon victories but really they were great matches of football no matter what the result was.
2 games that are fond in my memory are Round 6, 1993 when Salmon kicked 10 goals and Ablett kicked 14. Was football at it's best that day.
The other was the Centenary game during 1996 when Bewick went balistic in the last quarter and ended up with 9 goals.
:)

It always tend to be memorable in some way Geelong and Essendon games.

1989 Prelim was almost the perfect game, the only thing that was lacking was an extra goal to make it the even 100 points.

The last round of 1992 was memorable as well, Geelong were clingin by percentage to the top of the ladder but coming off a 90+ point hammering to Adelaide in round 23. Essendon were out of finals contention but brought back Terry Daniher and Simon Madden for their last games and they did a lap of honor before the match.

Geelong pretty much did as liked for 2 1/2 quarters before Essendon rallied in the last 15 minutes of the third quarter to get within a kick at three quarter time. But Geelong found something in the last quarter kicking something like 7 to 1 to run out winners by about 8 goals and lock up top spot.

Earlier that year, Geelong had come off scores of 175, 239, 210 and 198 and played Essendon at the MCG in a old fashioned shoot out winning 182 to 128.

Then came the 4 years of blockbuster matches.

Even in 2000, Essendon obviously hasn't lost a game and it was the first sell out at Colonial and Geelong jumped out of the blocks with 6 goals in the first quarter, and were still on level terms at half time. A game memorable for Clint Bizzells hanger in the first quarter and Cameron Ling's miss from point blank range in the third quarter which would have given Geelong the lead,

Of course we all what happened after that...

Lets not forget 2002.... The first game of Gary Ablett Jnr and James Bartel!

Originally posted by Lethal
Hi all, hope you don't mind an Essendon supporter remembering a couple of games, of course they were Essendon victories but really they were great matches of football no matter what the result was.
2 games that are fond in my memory are Round 6, 1993 when Salmon kicked 10 goals and Ablett kicked 14. Was football at it's best that day.
The other was the Centenary game during 1996 when Bewick went balistic in the last quarter and ended up with 9 goals.

Lethal,

Welcome to the Geelong board mate. :)

Yes, I remember that round 6 match in 1993, but that wasn't the only time our 2 sides matched up against each other that season.... do you remember the round 21 match at Kardinia Park?? Geelong had won it's last 3 matches, the last 2 against North and Hawthorn who were on the top of the ladder at the time, and now faced Essendon who were also on top.

The game was a great standard with scores being close for 3 quarters, but when Fletcher got injured and had to move off Gary Ablett, the great man kicked 3 important goals as Geelong ran over the top of Essendon in the final term to win by 32 points.

SCOREBOARD:
Geelong ... 5.2, 8.2, 14.5, 19.12.126
Essendon ... 2.1, 10.6, 12.8, 14.10.94

SeinDude

Originally posted by SeinDude

Lethal,

Welcome to the Geelong board mate. :)

Yes, I remember that round 6 match in 1993, but that wasn't the only time our 2 sides matched up against each other that season.... do you remember the round 21 match at Kardinia Park?? Geelong had won it's last 3 matches, the last 2 against North and Hawthorn who were on the top of the ladder at the time, and now faced Essendon who were also on top.

The game was a great standard with scores being close for 3 quarters, but when Fletcher got injured and had to move off Gary Ablett, the great man kicked 3 important goals as Geelong ran over the top of Essendon in the final term to win by 32 points.

SCOREBOARD:
Geelong ... 5.2, 8.2, 14.5, 19.12.126
Essendon ... 2.1, 10.6, 12.8, 14.10.94

SeinDude

Ah yes, remember that game, wasn't a great end to our home and away season seeing that we had the bye in the last round and needed to win to guarantee top spot. Luckily results went our way in the final round allowing us to maintain top spot.
Forget how many injuries we ended up getting during that match, certainly didn't finish the game with a full team anyway.

Originally posted by Lethal

Lethal,

I remember watching that game on TV as we were living in Tassie at that stage and what a shocker for us Geelong supporters!! I don't think Bewick could have missed that night even if he tried.

SeinDude

Anyone know when Essendon and Geelong last met in a (any) final? (1989??) They've both palyed a fair amount of finals footy, perhaps I'm just getting old and forgetful.

Have they ever met in a GF?

As I said in an earlier post, they were great rivals when I was a kid, regularly playing each other in September.

Originally posted by Vintage 62
Anyone know when Essendon and Geelong last met in a (any) final? (1989??) They've both palyed a fair amount of finals footy, perhaps I'm just getting old and forgetful.

Have they ever met in a GF?

The last time Geelong played Essendon in the finals was the Preliminary Final of 1989 where Geelong won by 94 points. We were waiting for Essendon in 1995 and would have met in the Preliminary Final, but the Bombers lost unexpectedly to Richmond in the Semi Final.

As for Grand Finals, the last one was in 1951 where Geelong won by 10 points. That was the one where Essendon full-forward John Coleman missed through suspension.

SeinDude

As for Grand Finals, the last one was in 1951 where Geelong won by 10 points. That was the one where Essendon full-forward John Coleman missed through suspension.
SeinDude

That's right - Carltons full back won you a premiership !!!

I saw on 'White Line Fever" tonight that Coleman kicked 36% of Essendons goals when he played - the highest percentage of all the great full forwards. I think Lockett was 25%, Dunstall was 24% but I can't remember what Wade's was - higher than these two though I think!Coventry was second with 30% if I remember rightly.

We were waiting for Essendon in 1995 and would have met in the Preliminary Final, but the Bombers lost unexpectedly to Richmond in the Semi Final.

Arrgh.....that's one of the games that I will never ever watch again....was sitting in the great Southern stand that day as I watched our season slip away in an hour of football.