Geelong vs Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter SeinDude

SeinDude

Well, after winning 3 games in a row and having the week's break, Geelong faces a Richmond side who were thrashed by Port Power and really struggling this season. Their finals chances are all but gone and the Tigers will no doubt be fired up after their pathetic effort at Football Park to show their supporters that there is at least some pride left down at Punt Road.

This game at the MCG will be a good test for the young cats who have lots to play for. We're currently sitting 9th on the ladder with a 6-6 record... a win will probably see Geelong in the 8 and in my opinion, that is exactly what will happen on Saturday.

I am expecting big games from Ben Graham and Ronnie Burns after being very quiet so far this season, and also Steven King and Peter Street in the ruck will have the edge. Kent Kingsley is the main target up forward and with the likes of Lord and Riccardi, Geelong should have way too much firepower for the Tigers. Defence wise, we should be able to cover Richo and Ottens (if he plays) with Scarlett, Harley and Ben Graham, and with Stafford on report, here's hoping he gets at least a week's holiday and misses the Geelong game. ;);)

MY PREDICTION: Geelong by 32 points

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

So, who's actually going to the game???

I'll be there cheering for the mighty Cats in the cheersquad this week... should be good fun!! :)

SeinDude

I hope jr plays, be good to see Gary Ablett dominating the Tigers once again- be much better hopefully when there is two Ablett's tormenting the tigers in the future.

PS here are the injury updates

David Spriggs knee season
Jason Snell ankle indefinite
Mitchell White back test ( back/Hamstring/full wallet)

wot bout these players
Henry Playfair ??
Brenton Sanderson??
Glen Kilpatrick??
Paul Chapman??

Originally posted by nolsey77
Mitchell White back test ( back/Hamstring/full wallet)

Pretty harsh nolsey. Mitch is not happy about not playing and I don't think he proud of the fact he is getting paid big dollars, apparently, and not being able to get out and play.

Originally posted by SeinDude
A win will probably see Geelong in the 8 and in my opinion, that is exactly what will happen on Saturday.

MY PREDICTION: Geelong by 32 points

Darren - I hope you are not expecting my Bullies to lose :mad: ;)
I'm with you aswell mate, I reckon Geelong should win by around 5-7 goals :) Yous have more to play for, and Richmond have too many injuries!

Have a lovely night!! :):):)

The last time these teams played was in Round 1 of the Wizard Cup-- back on February 16, and that was mine and Jen's wedding day. Having had the wedding reception at Kardinia Park after the game and our wedding pictures on the ground, it will always be special to us. :)

As for the game on that day, the Cats won pretty handily, and expect more of the same this time around, too.

Geelong have loads of confidence following the bye week with three great wins preceeding that, and Richmond are going in the opposite direction, and could make as many as eight changes to their squad for this game, according to reports from earlier in the week.

I'm afraid that this game, between two teams headed in opposite directions, could get really ugly, really quickly.

PICK: Geelong by 10, maybe 12 goals. If Port can beat Richmond by that much, or more, so can Geelong. The Tigers will have too many changes and the problem of not enough cohesion in the squad to overcome.

Cheers,
William

you_idiot,

I hope you're right about the margain on Saturday!! Geelong have a great opportunity to dispose of a team who's right on the rack, reeling after some woeful performances in recent weeks, but I'm sure Geelong wont be taking this game lightly!! Any team on any given day can lift, but in my opinion, Geelong will absorb Richmond's early pressure, and wear them down as the game goes on. Hopefully, we can do a similar job on Richmond as we did on St Kilda and Fremantle early in the season with a huge win. :):)

I'm really looking forward to this game!! GO CATS!!!

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

I had a horrible feeling that Spud would get the sack in the lead up to this game ........ Richmond have a history of being impatient with failing coaches. Let's see if we can wallop the Tiges by you_idiot's 10-12 goals (nah bugger it - we beat the Saints by 22 goals, let's try and beat that this week) and finish off Frawley. Eade down......... go the coach-killer cats! ;)

***TEAMS & PREVIEW, FROM AFL.COM.AU***

Here are the teams....

RICHMOND v GEELONG
Saturday, 2.10pm AEST, MCG

B: A Kellaway, Vardy, Zantuck
HB: Cameron, Bowden, Torney
C: Newman, Coughlan, Chaffey
HF: Fiora, Ottens, Krakouer
F: Rodan, Richardson, Hudson
Foll: Hall, Campbell, D Kellaway
Inter: Rogers, Sziller, King, Tivendale
Emerg: Mills, Hyde, Ednie
In: Hudson, Fiora, Ottens, Vardy
Out: Stafford (suspended), Gaspar (calf), Knights, Houlihan

B: Corey, Scarlett, Sanderson
HB: Wojcinski, Harley, Milburn
C: Clarke, Riccardi, Kelly
HF: Chapman, Graham, Lord
F: Ling, Kingsley, Burns
Foll: King, Kilpatrick, Enright
Inter: Rahilly, Rooke, Gardiner, Mooney
Emerg: S Johnson, Foster, Hunt
In: Sanderson, Rahilly
Out: Sholl (back), Street (omitted)

The afl.com.au site also offers a preview, here... http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=43030

Comments?

Cheers,
William

Re: ***TEAMS & PREVIEW, FROM AFL.COM.AU***

Originally posted by you_idiot
B: Corey, Scarlett, Sanderson
HB: Wojcinski, Harley, Milburn
C: Clarke, Riccardi, Kelly
HF: Chapman, Graham, Lord
F: Ling, Kingsley, Burns
Foll: King, Kilpatrick, Enright
Inter: Rahilly, Rooke, Gardiner, Mooney
Emerg: S Johnson, Foster, Hunt
In: Sanderson, Rahilly
Out: Sholl (back), Street (omitted)

Comments?

I'm a bit disappointed to see Peter Street out of the side, but with Greg Stafford out of the Richmond line up, and the weather being wet in Melbourne this week, there's wasn't a need to go in with the 2 ruckman.

On a positive note, Brenton Sanderson is back after missing the last 2 matches, and will be a welcome inclusion in Geelong's defence.

It should be a great game and a test for Geelong to see if they are able to dispose of a side they should be able to beat!!

SeinDude

originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Pretty happy to see Houla out, I had a bad feeling about him that he would fire against us.

Your joking right?he been pretty much a dud all year for the tiger's ,why would he make an exception now even if he's playing against the old side.

Ottens and Hall named in the lineup...

it would be good for at least one of them to not play

Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

Originally posted by X_box_X

Darren - I hope you are not expecting my Bullies to lose :mad: ;)
I'm with you aswell mate, I reckon Geelong should win by around 5-7 goals :) Yous have more to play for, and Richmond have too many injuries!

Have a lovely night!! :):):)

yeah Geelong sure do have more to play for than Richmond :rolleyes: :rolleyes: but yes we do have injuries and I've picked Richmond to win for an upset with a little bias :D how much by umm not much.Geelong have one a few games were they have been the under dogs but I don't think they have lost a game yet where they have been the favs to win ( but I could be wrong).so I'm hoping Richmond can get up and win we so need to win GO TIGERS!!!!!! anyway it should be a good game and I look foward to going to the footy agian.

Re: Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

Originally posted by RichmondTiger5
Geelong have one a few games were they have been the under dogs but I don't think they have lost a game yet where they have been the favs to win

Excellent point; spot on.

It's going to be interesting to see how Mark Thompson prepares his young Cats side mentally in this unfamiliar role as favourites. They're the team on form, their opponents are overmatched, and they are expected to win.

Sounds like it's a case of, "no pressure, guys, but..."

Cheers,
William

Re: Re: Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

It's going to be interesting to see how Mark Thompson prepares his young Cats side mentally in this unfamiliar role as favourites. They're the team on form, their opponents are overmatched, and they are expected to win.

Sounds like it's a case of, "no pressure, guys, but..."

you_idiot

This will be a good test for the young Geelong team and I am very confident that we will be ready for anything Richmond dish up at the start, then we'll bury them and win comfortably.

SeinDude

It was great to see Geelong dispose of a very ordinary Richmond today at the MCG by 42 points!! :):)

We started off very slowly in the first quarter, trailing by 3 points at the first change, but broke the game wide open in the 2nd term, kicking 7 goals to Richmond's 2 and virtually snuffing out any hopes Richmond had of winning the game. The 2nd half was a lot like the first quarter, very scrappy and lots of packs, but Geelong were dictating the play. Geelong narrowly outscored Richmond in both the 3rd and last quarters to run out easy winners in the end by 42 points.

For Geelong, Steven King was great in the ruck and around the ground, controlling the game and along with the likes of Enright, Chapman, Corey, Harley, (on Richardson) Ling and Graham down forward with 5 goals, were far too good for Richmond. There were also good contributions from Milburn, Rooke, Wojcinski and Kelly during the course of the match.

One of the highlights today however, was seeing David Wojcinski burn off Wayne Campbell on the wing with sheer pace, making Campbell look very slow!! It was fantastic to watch and a pity it didn't end up as a goal.

Anyway, I'm very pleased with the win today. We're in the top 8 now with a 7-6 record and a great chance to improve our position next week with a game against West Coast at Skilled Stadium.

SCOREBOARD:
Geelong ... 14.12.96
Richmond ... 7.12.54

SeinDude

Re: Re: Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

Excellent point; spot on.

ok than I thought so and I was ment to say won not one opps :o.oh well done Geelong on the win to good and we played so bloody awful :( and I can't belive Geelong were my frist thought for the spoon this year and my tip :eek:.the Cats with there young team sure have surprized some people this year and I think they will seak in the top 8.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

Originally posted by RichmondTiger5
...and I can't belive Geelong were my f[ir]st thought for the spoon this year and my tip :eek:.the Cats with there young team sure have surprized some people this year and I think they will s[n]eak in the top 8.

You're not alone-- they were a lot of so-called experts' picks for the wooden spoon as well. Even being in the 8, even at this stage right now, is proving them that they'll be wrong. No wooden spoon for the Cats-- fact!

Note that they'll not only finish in the eight, but after having won four on the trot, the upcoming schedule against West Coast at home and versus Collingwood and Essendon at Colonial and back at the 'G, respectively, the sky can definitely be the limit for them should they get through that stretch more or less unscathed.

Cheers,
William

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Geelong vs Richmond

You're not alone-- they were a lot of so-called experts' picks for the wooden spoon as well. Even being in the 8, even at this stage right now, is proving them that they'll be wrong. No wooden spoon for the Cats-- fact!

opps agian :o :o.yeah I know that and hopfully the spoon will be for Carlton this year :D.there have been quiet a few teams doing better than expected and of cause teams doing worse than expected.