General Thoughts

Essendon Bombers
I went to the game today and sat in the front row. Never realised how different it is when your that close. Stuck right near the Bulldogs cheersquad though , so that sucked.

Things that impressed me:

Keps is pretty big and goes alright as an onballer

McPhee is a star. Gets to the contest and brings the intensity level that we want.

Hird has still got it

Watson, very good, probably could influence the game more with his size dropping back and even running forward. But his time is still to come, hopefully soon.

Monfries, he should always get a place in our team because he goes in hard and makes a contest out of most situations. Very smart player.

Lloyd was marking very well and we probably would have won had he not got injured

Fletch, his just unbelievable and great on the last line. Probably could have kicked a goal at the end but I don't mind the experimentation of him as a forward. I think that could work for small patches of the game, he’d be a tough matchup.

Even though we are 1 and 2, it is encouraging that we haven't faded out of the games. The boys are trying. Once they get a chance to gel, they will trouble most sides.

Things I didnt like

Lloyd injured! Why? He was on fire too. It will be interesting to see what forward structure is set up but Scotty Lucas needs to stand up!

Mark Bolton may have kicked a goal and all but there was a contest with I think Cooney, Bolts didnt go hard enough and the Bulldog took the mark easily. It was a contest where Bolton definitely should have been able to get a hand on the ball. This would have been a good opportunity to play Reynolds.

Campo, didn't do crap all and should be dropped for Dyson. He was awful when he tried to kick in. It got to the point where Fletch went over and said Ill take the kick ins

Lack of run. The Bulldogs were constantly moving, thats why they had numbers around the ball. A lot of our boys were just zoning off and the Doggies ran the ball through the midfield easily.

Welsh to Full Forward. He could have used anyone from Keps, to Scotty, to Hirdy, to McPhee, to anyone who would have stood a chance against two defenders. Welsh hasnt got the bulk to stand up in those contests.

Patty Ryder was impressive and did some good things at certain points but went missing for a lot of the game. He is going to be a good player for us but now that his had a taste of what its gonna be like, send him to Bendigo because regardless of how good he plays, his body is going to struggle to hold up for a full AFL Season. Let’s fully develop him. They should really be giving Cartledge an opportunity, especially since his further along in development.

Scott Lucas. We fell down at Half Forward the whole match. Scotty wasn't getting to a contest, when he had opportunities he didn't position himself well. I really think he would be best utilised at CHB but not until Lloyds back.

Sheeds mismatching Solly. Solly is a really good player, but he does not have the aerobic capacity to keep up with Robert Murphy. It was a matchup that was never gonna work in our favor. Welsh would have been a better option. Even Lovett-Murray would have been good. I think Solly would be best utilised at half forward, where he can use his big body and make defenders worry about him.

Lack of composure. The players need to be more aware of their surroundings. McPhee and Lovett had open goals and kicked quickly, either there’s no talk or their just used to being under heaps of pressure. They also dont move the ball quick enough or take the player on enough. They wait and chip around while the the Bulldogs dropped everyone back. Thats why we couldnt get it past Half Forward.

The midfield. We have good players in there, but there aren't too many prepared to create the play. The only one's who do are Hird and the Johnsons and they don't have the leg speed to keep up with other midfields. Lovett can, but he is easily pushed off the ball much like Stanton, Dyson, Winderlich and Slattery. We really won't be able to compete consistently with other midfields until these boys become a bit bigger and more seasoned. But then again, there was the baby bomber era.

My projected team VS Collingwood based on their named team for this week. I know it will change but oh well

B: McVeigh McPhee Fletcher
F: Didak, Tarrant, Rocca

- McVeigh fresh off beating Johnson is a good matchup for Didiak and I think he has beaten him before. Hope he can keep up the form.

- McPhee has the aerobic ability to go with Tarrant and I reckon beat him. McPhee is more polished and would be the best option for him. Smokey can match him for speed and in the air and will give him a contest. Also Tarrant likes to play up the ground, which is McPhee’s territory

- Fletch should get Rocca instead of Keps. Fletch is too smart a player for Rocca and is our best option to neutralise their highest goalkicking threat. And lets face it, big forwards always have days out against us and Fletch is generally good, if he is getting beaten, we can always make the switch..

HB: NLM Bolton Welsh
HF: Thomas T.Cloke, Caracella

- NLM would be able to compete strength wise and speed wise with Thomas. His got the experienced edge and the more mature body. Needs to be accountable though but I still think his gonna become a very good player.

- I know Bolton! But all our big guys are out and I dont wanna play Keps down there and Lucas can't go down there until Lloydy’s back. Plus we know Bolton’s got the aerobic capacity to go with Travis Cloke and his played on key forwards before, not that he did great, but it's Travis cloke, Bolton should be stronger than him too and its his last chance to give us something before all the big blokes come back and challenge him for the spot.

- Welsh has beaten Caracella before. Welsh has the mobility and defensive skills to negate him and is the obvious matchup. Can’t play loose though.

C: Stanton Bradley Monfries
C: Licuria, Swan, Holland

- Licuria will get possessions. His a hard working player. So is Stanton. What we don’t know is whether both can be accountable. Who will be more damaging? A good test for Stanton.

- Bradley can run, but not in quick spurts. Let him be a big on-baller, similar to the way the doggies used to use Luke Darcy. Even if he isn’t able to keep up with his opponent, he could be more damaging than his opponent, running forward as a target, dropping back into defence, being the third man up at ruck contests, or even take over if its best to position Hille elsewhere.

- I know, it would be a real media buzz by putting Camporeale on Brodie Holland. After all, their arch rivals. But Campo didn’t play well enough today to warrant selection over other available players. If anything, I think Monfries would be a better option on Holland, his gonna give you a contest and wear his heart on his sleeve at every opportunity. He has the potential to be accountable, and Brodie Holland isn’t worth tagging and we can rotate different people against him.

HF: Solomon Lucas Hird
HB: Lonie, Clement, Buckley

- As I said, Solly as a marking option could work. His a decent contested mark and has good enough mobility to be a third forward. He presents well. Especially now with Lloyd out, we need people down there who can take a mark and even apply defensive pressure.

- Huge test for Lucas. I don’t know if Clement will play on him or Hird, but Clement is one hell of a player. Lucas struggled today and now with Lloyd gone, his gonna have more pressure on him. If he can kick a couple of goals and negate his effectiveness, it will be a win for us

- I dunno if Collingwood would play Buckley as a defender on Hird. But it would be a great matchup. Can Hirdy keep going strong? Hird at half forward rather than in the goalsquare is probably best because of his ability to read the play and win the ball is too good not to be utilised to its fullest effect.

F: MJ Cartledge Lovett
B: Johnson, Prestigiacomo, O'Brien

- I know many will disagree with this but we need another tall to play in this game and not Paddy Ryder. Let’s put Cartledge at full forward. Apparently his got a big leap. As long as he creates a contest and creates crumbs, he will be doing his job. If he can kick a couple it will be a great return. It will also force them to play a tall defender on him.

- MJ is running cold so let’s put him where he can make the most damage. He can take a big mark, has a good goal sense, applies great defensive pressure. He hasn’t got the greatest engine but in a pocket he won’t have to run as much and can get the crumbs.

- Lovett starting deep would be good because like MJ he applies good pressure and we all know how good he is around goals. Definitely would have to move him through the midfield at times. But at the start of the game, if we get it in there we wanna score and with Lloyd out his brilliance is required.

FOLL: Hille Dyson Watson
FOLL: Fraser, Lockyer, O'Bree

- We all know the Hille/Fraser draft history and their previous contests but this will be a big test for Hille. This is a ruckman who has the capability of dominating but can’t tap into it on a consistent basis. Fraser is dangerous and Hille won’t be able to keep up with him around the ground therefore he needs to make sure he positions himself somewhere where he can be effective. Also hopefully he had time to reflect over his suspension and is focused on doing the team things.

- I understand Dyson got jumped or whatever, but give him a chance to play. His a class act and has good finishing skills. In my opinion, he has the most potential out of all our on-ballers. Get him in there and we’ll rotate him.

- Watson just needs to keep on doing what his doing, but needs to know where to go when his not around the footy. He should be dropping back or presenting as a marking target. Watson, Keps and Dyson would be alright at clearances and if not, we rotate them

I/C: Dempsey Winderlich Reynolds Heffernan
I/C: Davis, H.Shaw, Richards, Wakelin

- Give Dempsey his first game on Anzac Day, the same environment Andrew Lovett was thrust into. Now I know Lovett was a lot older, but often, if you’re a smart player, you can be really successful. Plus the way the game is now, there’s a lot of uncontested footy and its all about speed, can players get back, how quick can they move it down. From what I’ve read on here, Dempsey has unbelieve evasion skills and is quick. Putting him in a pocket to crumb from Cartledge and Lucas chances are an opportunity may arise.

- Winderlich hasn’t dominated a game yet, but I think we are a better team with him in it. Relating back to the speed factor, he is capable of breaking open the play. He needs to develop more of a defensive side to his game but his size makes it difficult. In spurts being rotated through the midfield, he’ll give the team a boost when we need some fresh legs. It was either him or Slattery, but Slattery hasn’t done enough to regain his spot.

- I think if we are ever gonna give Reynolds a chance, now should be it. Let’s see what he can do on the big stage. His been compared to Hird, that’s not a bad person to be compared to at all. Let’s see what he can do, wherever they play him, whether across half back or half forward. I prefer to give him the opportunity rather than play Campo or Peverill.

- Heff has been in good enough form to warrant selection. I think he would be best be used in spurts through the midfield rather than playing a long time in there. He would be good experience off the bench and a mature body to come in.

Emerg:

Camporeale – Go work on your winning the ball skills at Bendigo. Your not an automatic selection just because you used to be good for a couple of seasons a decade ago. He is identifiable on the football field and people give him the ball, but he needs to work on winning the contested footy and that involves getting to contests, presenting as an option rather than making false leads, He could give us a bit more at clearances and centre bounces, its great that he usually has great skills but if his not winning the ball and we’re not dominating the game his not gonna get the ball.

Slattery – Go play your A game for Bendigo and show us what you’ve got. I think his a good player. He impressed me with some of his work last year, but I don’t think his a regular fixture in our team yet, especially based on the last couple of weeks. If he provides good form at Bendigo, it will put pressure on positions which is something that can only be beneficial.

J. Johnson – I know, its Johnno, but right now he hasn’t got the endurance to play in the midfield, he still appears to be slightly injured or sore, I reckon at 65%, but I’m no doctor, nor do I know. Give him the week off, make a statement to the players that you have to work for your spot and that we will not remain stagnant and be accepting of complacency, not that Johnno is complacent, but let’s put the best team out there to give us a chance to win the game. What’s best for the team should always be the primary objective. Definitely bring him back when his 85%. We could play him as a forward or a small defender with spurts through the midfield. He hasn’t got the tank to play there all day.

Peverill – His a great tackler and I think could be a decent back pocket, but the problem is he can’t kick. His turnovers are too costly to the team. Go to Bendigo, teach some leadership and learn to kick.

Ryder – I’m so glad we drafted him and can’t wait for him to develop as he has the speed, agility and leap to become a very good player, in the Adam Goodes mould. However, we’re still a few years away. We shouldn’t be playing him ahead of Cartledge just yet. Let them work on different facets of his game, all over the ground in Bendigo. Protect him while he develops. There generally is a major difference in body shapes from a first year player to a second year player. I must say though, I don’t know the fitness of Cartledge or why they have no faith in him. I’m basing it on the fact that he looked alright when he played those few games, his tall and has a big leap and I just want him to have the opportunity because once Hille and Laycock are back, he won’t have much of a chance, even Henno is probably higher in the pecking order.

It will be interesting when the likes of Johns, Lee, Rioli, Henneman and Laycock become available. How will Sheeds use them if at all?

So yeah, sorry for rant, had a bit to say. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me and am interested in hearing your thoughts.

Always good to hear others thoughts keepzitreal! Maybe a little drastic for what I thought was an encouraging performance in many ways.

Must admit I wasn't impressed by Campo - did nothing - and Stanton (am normally a big fan) but his disposal was so poor. Would still give the later another chance though.

Im not sure where I stand with Winderlich. I dont think that much if him. Sure he can run, but at times backed out of hard contests and disposed a little poorly. Id be willing to give him more time in the team to see if he settles and improves (but not much more time). I think if you're after a speedster then Dempsey is your man - but by the sounds of it he got injured yesterday.

Bradley was great. Fletch was great. Gus in going to be a star. Watson has done his job three weeks in a row and continutes to improve. Hirdy was Hirdy. McVeigh was good. NLM was good - thought he was off the ground for too long.

JJ looks so lacking in confidence and form atm - sad to see. But couldn't believe people are talking about trading him at years end - ridiculous. He's a champion that has dug us out of many a whole. MJ will continue to improve.

I really like Dyson but want to see him get his confidence back - and if that means magoos for a couple of weeks...well...

My question is this - where does the improvement come from for a top 8 finish? This is what I think...Courtney Dempsey, Dean Rioli, David Hille, Jason Laycock, Paddy Ryders natural improvment + Dyson (when he gets his head right) should improve us considerably but is that enough to win the required games - would love to hear the thoughts of some of the guys who regularly see Bendigo games?

Nice effort keepitzreal but 6 changes for Anzac Day is far too much.
Dempsey was apparantly injured for Bendigo yesterday as well.

Camporeale stays. He's a class act and will get better. We need his experience on the big stage.
Dropping JJ is not on especially against Collingwoods on ballers most of whom have experienced, tough bodies.
Ryder stays in to give Hille a rest. Cartledge hasn't done enough. I agree that Paddy should probably be playing at Bendigo but we just don't have any other options at the moment.
Slattery will be better suited against Collingwood. Might get Dane Swan.

We played well yesterday. There is no need for radical changes

In : Hille
Out : Lloyd

Hird plays at full forward.
Forces Malthouse to put Clement on him and therefore takes him out of the play.

I think what people have to realise about JJ, is that although he isn't playing the footy he played last year (yet), he is still having an impact and playing a role.

Look he isn't fit, but right at this minute we aren't asking for him to play a full game. We want him to come on and give us something and I thought he did that yesterday. Especially in the 2nd and 4th quarters.

We could drop him for a kid, IE Lonergan, but do we really win out if we do that? I don't think we do. The grand plan was for him to be fully fit sometime around Round 4-6. I wouldn't be dropping him just yet.

Ryder's ruck work wasn't as impressive as it has been yesterday, but I thought he was better around the ground. Against Collingwood he won't have to take on a monster, I'll back him in against Richards.

Campo has been burning to play Anzac Day, it was one of the things that excited him about coming to Essendon. He wasn't good yesterday, got a big cheer when he threw his body at the contest early on, he could be important on the open spaces of the MCG.

I agree with Daytripper, minimal changes. Hille for Lloyd.
Isolate and rotate Hird, Lovett, Lucas, Monfries and Hille at full-forward at different times.
Bolton won't play, so probably Reynolds for him.

Hopefully McVeigh doesn't get done by the tribunal. He'd be a big loss.

In: Hille, Dyson
Out: Bolton (form or injury Longy?), Lloyd

Hille the obvious inclusion, and i think we'll need Dyson's ability to hit a target and kick a goal without Lloyd up front. Pity Johns isn't fit, bet Sheeds would have loved to pick him.

I'd play Lucas at FF. Hille down there with him when he's not in the ruck. Wouldn't mind seeing Solly or Keps at CHF. Don't think we can afford to leave Hird out of the middle for long.

I thought he played ok, much more of an impact tha Winderlich. And in the last term when Winderlich had the chance to put his head over the ball and he chose not to, but to paddle it around Harris, and he was subsequently dispossessed - i just showed how unsure, and unclean he is.

A good VFL player, but nothing more than that.

In the post match interview, Sheedy went on how Bolton was going to be playing his 100th match next week...

I'd be surprised if he didn't play. Unless he is injured....

Darealrath said:
Hopefully McVeigh doesn't get done by the tribunal. He'd be a big loss.

Out: Bolton (form or injury Longy?), Lloyd

Hille the obvious inclusion, and i think we'll need Dyson's ability to hit a target and kick a goal without Lloyd up front. Pity Johns isn't fit, bet Sheeds would have loved to pick him.
I'd play Lucas at FF. Hille down there with him when he's not in the ruck. Wouldn't mind seeing Solly or Keps at CHF. Don't think we can afford to leave Hird out of the middle for long.
Johns still injured or did you mean match fit?

Tricky_Ricky2 said:
I thought he played ok, much more of an impact tha Winderlich. And in the last term when Winderlich had the chance to put his head over the ball and he chose not to, but to paddle it around Harris, and he was subsequently dispossessed - i just showed how unsure, and unclean he is.

Dispossessed, he didn't have possession.
He never took his eyes off the footy, have a look at the replay if you have Fox.

Karlostj said:
In the post match interview, Sheedy went on how Bolton was going to be playing his 100th match next week...

I'd be surprised if he didn't play. Unless he is injured....

He's injured.

mcphee_is_a_gun said:
I wouldnt mind Lovett playing FF to be honest, he has great hands and will burn pretty much anyone from Collingwood on the lead.

He killed Fremantle last year playing out of the square and he's a very, very good mark. Took several strong grabs above his head yesterday, especially in the last quarter.

I guess it is dependant on whether we could do without him further up the ground. I'd be tempted to rotate Lovett and Monfries through there.

How about NLM in the forward line.

I don't think he is getting much game time at present (or at least it seems he hasn't). He first started playing in the forward line...

The only thing is that his kicking can let him down, but he does have good speed and agility plus he is capable of taking a grab.... We have plenty of HBFs plus in leaves lovette to rotate through the midfield...

Longy413 said:
He killed Fremantle last year playing out of the square and he's a very, very good mark. Took several strong grabs above his head yesterday, especially in the last quarter.

I guess it is dependant on whether we could do without him further up the ground. I'd be tempted to rotate Lovett and Monfries through there.
Yeah that'd be the way i'd go unless we decide to play Lucas FF.

I thought Bolton was pretty good yesterday. He got us back in the game in the last quarter. It's just we couldn't get the ball past our half forward line, we lacked direction up forward.

But I think Bolton earnt his spot for next week.

Jarryd_S said:
I thought Bolton was pretty good yesterday. He got us back in the game in the last quarter. It's just we couldn't get the ball past our half forward line, we lacked direction up forward.

But I think Bolton earnt his spot for next week.

If he isn't injured I don't think we have a choice with our lack of talls

yeah i luv stants but thought he struggled to find room on sunday...struggled to create run...hopefully he will respond hes a good player and played well vs pies if i remember correctly last year...

The D-ROD said:
yeah i luv stants but thought he struggled to find room on sunday...struggled to create run...hopefully he will respond hes a good player and played well vs pies if i remember correctly last year...

I mentioned this in another thread. Stants was a victim of two things yesterday, one he was heavily tagged, which is a big wrap on a young kid.

Secondly, he was a victim of our own game plan. We set out to flooded the midfield, so we could minimise their run and put pressure on their ball carriers. For a player like Stanton who is most effective running into space and using his engine to find the footy, it minimised his effect on the game. Because there was minimal space to run into.

He'll bounce back, he's too good not to.

Longy413 said:
I mentioned this in another thread. Stants was a victim of two things yesterday, one he was heavily tagged, which is a big wrap on a young kid.

Secondly, he was a victim of our own game plan. We set out to flooded the midfield, so we could minimise their run and put pressure on their ball carriers. For a player like Stanton who is most effective running into space and using his engine to find the footy, it minimised his effect on the game. Because there was minimal space to run into.

He'll bounce back, he's too good not to.

Yeah, he's what 20? Can't expect him to be a stud every week

If Lloyd isn't playing i think we need to play a large forward. And i know i sound biased but i think johns is hard to go past if not injured. He played really well preseason and i know it is only preseason but give him a go from the square. Good marking option, quick over 20m and would be pretty F***ing hard to push off the ball. IMHO should play FF..

Out: Lloyd, Winderlich

Hille's lack of discipline cost us the 4 points in my opinion. Im starting to think Winderlich just doesnt have it. He was a poor top ten selection which we gambled on largely because of the effusive report placed on him by Darren Bewick. If we are going to let the Johnsons find form and fitness in the firsts then I would play Dyson. He is a better long term prospect than Winderlich. Bolton often matches up ok with buckley and he was not our worse player on Sunday. Honestly in terms of money received camporeale is simply not producing what you would expect. I hate the way he plays and am probably too harsh on him but he needs to be much better to justify his spot in the side. If form in the seconds really counts then Ben Jolley has to be close to senior selection. We obviously have room to promote a rookie and besides a towelling by heath Hocking in an intra club he has been solid. If the weather is ordinary on anzac day Peverill would most likely come into calculations.

I agree with Hille. We win if he plays (or if Lovett/McPhee kick straight for that matter).

I think Winderlich was pick 11 and I guess in the end the Victorian/Essendon supporter factor won over the likes of Schammer and Faulkner. He certainly showed enough in what I saw him at U18 level to suggest he'd be a good player and at the time pace was a requirement in what was a pretty slim draft. I really don't think he did too much wrong on Sunday, he ran hard and was often unrewarded. He chased and tackled, he found a bit of the footy. He made one poor decision when he should have kicked at goal, but he wasn't alone there. More ground time, greater confidence and I reckon he'll be alright.

Bolton won't play.

Jolley must be close, but reports are that Firman will get first crack. Don't think it will be this week though.