judburyjets

Channel, Tas Tigers
What are everyones thoughts on the young Tasmanian? Do you reckon he has what it takes to make it? He has made 420 runs @ 52.5 in the emerging players tournament, including 2 hundreds and a fifty in his last 3 knocks. I personally think he was stiff to not get a gig in the Australia A side, he had a great summer in the Pura Cup, he was 7th in the runscorers with 778 @ 43.22 with 3 tons and 2 fiftys. At 23 (soon to be 24) surely he is going to be a player...

Yep, agree. Good player. At the moment for him he is ranked behind Cos, Birt and i guess now Shaun Marsh. Will get a go. I reckon Voges could also surprise a few....

judburyjets said:
What are everyones thoughts on the young Tasmanian? Do you reckon he has what it takes to make it? He has made 420 runs @ 52.5 in the emerging players tournament, including 2 hundreds and a fifty in his last 3 knocks. I personally think he was stiff to not get a gig in the Australia A side, he had a great summer in the Pura Cup, he was 7th in the runscorers with 778 @ 43.22 with 3 tons and 2 fiftys. At 23 (soon to be 24) surely he is going to be a player...

Where do you get stats and scores for this?

pretty sure bailey was in the junior world cup team led by cameron white with xavier doherty and few others back when NZ hosted.

smashed every one did that team.

Bailey has been there and there abouts in FC cricket being in and out of the tassie side.

I'd love to see him get into some serious form.

crossthwaites batting is starting to look the goods too, and he's a fair keeper as well.

crossthwaite, bailey in the team if they can continue to improve their form IMO.

cameron whites batting starting to look stronger and stronger as well, perhaps he should give away his bowling all together or focus on ODs only.

Young or not, I can't see him being ahead of Voges, North, White, Cosgrove, Watson, Clarke, Sean Marsh, etc.

Hes a better player than most of those you have listed there.

Certainly better than North, White, Marsh.

Probably on par with Voges, who are behind Cosgrove, Watson, Clarke etc.

White i'll grant you although i'd have him in the side for his captaincy alone. North, i suggest you watch him more. Bailey is not better than him. Marsh is like Clarke and is guaranteed to get a run before Bailey whether we like it or not. On par with Voges, you are dead set kidding me. Voges is a matchwinner.

Voges is 27 and averages 44.18. Thats not too bad, but hes no spring chicken these days.

Marsh is 23 and is averaging 31.89, but alot of improving to go.

Bailey is 24 and is averaging 38.67.

North doesnt even rate.

Sure Voges is in the squad now, but I will doubt it will last. Not far ahead of Bailey in IMO. If Marsh gets in the side before Bailey, it would be a travesty.

Haha and Cosgrove is a very fat man again, so he might also be slipping out of contention if he doesnt get his act in to gear.

No chance of national or national A team selection at this current weight. Boof was on Ten news tonight saying publicly he needs to be doing more to control it. Almost called him lazy, but didn't quite go that far.

Yeh, Cossie has fattened up immensly since the last domestic season. Put a fair bit on in between the Domestic season and the Bangladesh ODIs.

He must have at least put on 20 or 30 Kilograms on since the last Domestic season. He is never going to be a skinny bloke, but to be as overweight as he is, its lazy and lacking commitment.

North doesnt even rate.

Yes, North's averages
06-07 498 runs @ 83
05-06 712 runs @ 50.85
04-05 747 runs @ 53.35
03-04 984 runs @ 54.66

Clearly no consistenty to the bloke, i can see why he isn't rated :rolleyes:

Bails is a great bloke- mate of a mate- have met him a few times at parties. Most who have coached or played with him tout him as a future captain (whether that be of Tassie or Australia).

You can't go too much on Bails average as he is the most unselfish batsman going around. Always does the team thing and quite often gets out chasing quick runs or in the last over before we score the winning runs (after he has got us into a winning position).

I agree though, he is still behind 3 or 4 that you have mentioned.

I'm not sure what you are on about with Crosswaite, Dan Warna, but I'd comfortably say that Paine is ahead of him at this stage. Also keep an eye out for Matthew Wade who scored a run a ball 140 odd against NSW in the under 19's champs. While I continue my clearly Tassie bias, young James Faulkner looks the goods in that tournament also (took 4-13 off 6.5 overs). I think he's only 16 IIRC.

Yes, North's averages
06-07 498 runs @ 83
05-06 712 runs @ 50.85
04-05 747 runs @ 53.35
03-04 984 runs @ 54.66

Clearly no consistenty to the bloke, i can see why he isn't rated :rolleyes:

Doesnt seem to rate with the selectors.

Why did Voges get in the squad before him?

selectors wanted a right-hander....
i'd also suggest that they'll be giving him a run in the one-dayers...this was essentially a 'meet & greet' for him to see how he'd fit in with the rest of the boys - and also to let him know that if he keeps his form up he's a fair chance for ODIs this summer and the World Cup.

If you believe the reasons as mentioned, he was a right hander where as North and co are all left handed batsmen

However discounting the right-hand left-hand factor i do agree it was puzzling that Voges managed to jump the queue as North has been a lot more deserving of promotion

Surely George Bailey's Twenty20 and ODD form warrants a close look at George Bailey going past the World Cup.

Sounds like he smacked a couple of big sixes last night.

Surely George Bailey's Twenty20 and ODD form warrants a close look at George Bailey going past the World Cup.

Sounds like he smacked a couple of big sixes last night.

He played well. Great fielder also. Needs to get some big scores though to get into selectors minds. In the one day arena, he needs to be there at the end.

Got out to a stupid, risky run out last night.

Has talent, and will play for Aus one day.

Much better chef than cricketer. Mr Risotto. Will probably cook for Australia.

I think Bailey is groomed for hte no.3 slot which by ACB rules must be owned by a taswegian or the spell of success is broken!!!!

would like to see him in sooner rather than later but needs to stack up the scores to get attention.

and I think crossthwaite is seriously underated, hes a good keeper and a fair batsmen.