Get Neil Craig

Cowboys
Say what you like about the way his career has ended (quite cleanly, if not successfully) I would love to have this man's brain at our club. He commands respect wherever he goes and over the years has instilled that in his players.

Currently out of the job and considering where he's going I'd be making overtures towards him for the preseason. Ample time to get his head straight and refresh. Men in positions of power, as Malthouse is indicating, find it hard to go long between drinks. The thrill of the fight is too great. I would love to have his attitude and matchday as well as oh so admirable development nous (ive always admired the conditioning of the Adelaide players)complimenting Hardwick's coaching at the club. Believe he is one of the ingredients our club's tonic needs.

P.S: I'm sick of Hong Kong. Bring back the footy!

I agree he could be worth talking to re heading up development or a similar role. I believe he has had a prem'ship at every level of the game bar the top but still taken the crows to a number of finals. Food for thought.

Would be a great assiant i thought he was keen on a break from footy for a while thought.

interesting proposition. But it would would look like the club positioning itself, to not renew Hardwicks contract (have Craig as coach in waiting). The media speculation/pressure would be intense if we had a poor run of form. So it's a no from me.

Craig has always said he wouldn't coach anywhere else. I assume he was referring specifically to senior coaching, but he doesn't strike me as the type who will be chasing another AFL gig, whatever role that may be.

This may be a good thing in terms of what Dustin Credible has said above - should be less chance for the speculation that he's being positioned to take over from Hardwick.

I think all of our assistants coaches and coach of course are around 40 or younger. Not sure about Danny Daly.

Very young team without exception.

A pretty earthy bloke who doesnt have any consideration to maintaining a profile. Adelaide blokes loved him.

Posted in THE AGE.

'Geelong's football operations manager Neil Balme, whose contract finishes at Geelong at the end of this season'

We MUST get this man!!

And whats wrong with Hong Kong???

Posted in THE AGE.

'Geelong's football operations manager Neil Balme, whose contract finishes at Geelong at the end of this season'

We MUST get this man!!

I fly to Hong Kong on Saturday for a few weeks. Is there any AFL coverage other than internet tv?

He would be a great person to talk to and he is a big supporter of sports science and statistics. He's smart and would be a great person to add to our coaching list.

Mind you though, whether he wants to leave Radelaide is another matter.

Posted in THE AGE.

We MUST get this man!!

I agree 100% - would be a great addition to the club.

Regarding Neil Craig - He commands respect and his strongest point is communication. I would think the club would be sounding him out for a role. Hopefully, to replace Campbell.

Posted in THE AGE.

We MUST get this man!!

Yes, so much better then Craig Cameron

The Australian network ch541 ,unfortantely no bloody richmond games.
Here is there link
http://australianetwork.com/sportslounge/

Bars in soho(cru,the globe,bulldogs) show the footy of not ask they put it on.
Also most hotels have nowtv that provide the australian neywork.

good luck

Being 6'1" in a hostel is what's wrong haha. That bed was made for a midget. Enjoyed my time in the city though, if it was possible to marry a public transport system I think my life partner would be the MTR. Awesome food, made even better by the fact our Chinese mate showed us around to the 'local' joints. The fact you can eat like a king at a Michelin star rated restaurant for under 50 AUD is almost criminal.

On Neil Craig, I'd be after him in a player conditioning/mentoring aspect. His ego doesn't push everyone else out of the room so I don't think you'd see a contest between he and Hardwick, there's no takeover talk about Hird and Thomson. Not as a director of coaching but rather working on adding that "Crowbots" aspect to our game which we lack. We have the running, flowing attack style, it's knowing the structures, especially in defence and entering the 50 as well as proper conditioning we lack. He would be priceless for this.

yeah i reckon neil would be aweseome as footy operations manager same as as balmey and neil daniher at geelong and west ciast respectively. Neil is such a professional ans so experienced in so many aspects of not only afl but sport in general craig cameron is just to inexperinced neil would add so much knowledge and wisdom to a very young coaching panel,, we should also try and lure ex tiger Mark Neeld to punt road next year as mid field coach has excellent coaching pedigree and is very highly regarded by malthouse,, these two appointments for 2012 would be a great get for the tigers benny make it happen:thumbsu:

Adelaide players have always been well built and solid (might be the pie floaters though)... our guys do need to get on the carbs...

Mmmmm... dunno

Craig is the coach one would get with an established list. We do not have one.

We are still building which is not conducive to Craigs processes and methods which is why Adelaide fell buy the wayside as it was not all inclusive regarding different list cycle stages

This is it in a nutshell.

Maybe in 3 or 4 years when he is ready to coach again, he will be your man but right now - your list is to immature (football wise) to meet his demanding nature.

Wouldn't mind getting him to be the Director of Coaching (like Malthouse). He could oversee fitness and body development as well.

I think the guy has suffered this year with the loss of all time greats at the club. This was always going to make it difficult to do well. Just to lose a play maker like McLeod alone would have made things tough, but to lose Brett Burton and Edwards as well in one hit, extracts so much poise and experience out of the team that you would expect them to take a few steps back before they go forward.

Most importantly he seems to be a person of great integrity. That is the number one trait that is important to have around any organisation.

for all his "sports science" and "fitness guruness" a lot of Adelaide players seem to be constantly breaking down

on the footy show they said that we had approached him..

and i recall Dangerfield saying he will go were Neil goes?

i would like this guys at my club for sure