Get Thorp

With all this talk of trading O'Keefe, I'd feel more comfortable paying Mitch Thorp $600k a year. At least he would be in his prime around the time of our next genuine premiership tilt.

HFF's are a dime a dozen, and granted O'Keefe is a premium HFF/Small CHF, but what we need is cover for Lucas/Lloyd when they retire, and I feel Thorp is our man. He's had a couple of years in the system, and injury management hopefully means he is getting over his hip complaint. I've watched a fair bit of him as a junior in Tassie, and he has easily had the biggest raps on him of any player to come out of the state in years.

Not at Hawthorn's asking price (pick 5). Ridiculous price for a injury prone KPP who has done nothing yet.

Just out of interest, what draft pick would Gumbleton be worth now ?

No idea, but seeing as he is not for sale that is a moot point. I am not giving away pick 5 which could net us Hurley, Hartlett, Zibell, etc to get Mitch Thorp. He may have potential but that is all it is. At the moment he is a injury prone KPP.

Good question daytripper. Based on logic, Gumbleton should be worth more than Thorp, but we are not going to get a 1st rounder for Gumbleton if we tried (I realise he is not on the table).

Why don't we try and get pick 12 off the Swans for Lovett and something else, and then use that pick to negotiate Thorp?

No idea, but seeing as he is not for sale that is a moot point. I am not giving away pick 5 which could net us Hurley, Hartlett, Zibell, etc to get Mitch Thorp. He may have potential but that is all it is. At the moment he is a injury prone KPP.

Two years ago, Thorp was pick 6 in what was (we were told) one of the best drafts for KPP's of all time.
What makes you think any of the players you mentioned are going to be head and shoulders above Thorp ?

Two years ago, Thorp was pick 6 in what was (we were told) one of the best drafts for KPP's of all time.
What makes you think any of the players you mentioned are going to be head and shoulders above Thorp ?

I'd rather take my chances with the draft. Pick 5 is too big a price to pay, and to be honest Thorp is not THAT good. Yes he is decent, but that is about it. I would rather Hurley for starters. A backbone of Hurley, Ryder and Pears is the one I want anyway

Two seasons ago he was rated one of the best ever prospects to come out of Tasmania in the last 20 years.

Now all of a sudden he can't play. :rolleyes:

Two seasons ago he was rated one of the best ever prospects to come out of Tasmania in the last 20 years.

He is injury prone as well. Hurley is/was just as good as a junior.

Go-the-bombers, a 2-year deal means little if Thorp wants opportunity and the Hawks get the right price. I'm not saying we give away our 1st pick (#5), but I could see a deal involving Lovett, O'Keefe & Thorp:

Hawks: IN O'Keefe OUT Thorp & #16
Dons: IN Thorp OUT Lovett
Swans: IN Lovett & #16 OUT O'Keefe

That way we could build our spine around Pears/Ryder, Hurley (using #5), Gumbleton, Thorp/Neagle

that just shows how little talent there is coming from tasmania more then much else. thorp is a good prospect but rated next to gumbelton even as a junior he is a fair bit behind imo. you say we need replacements for lucas and lloyd, well what happened to neagle and gumbelton? they have both shown more then thorp.

i guess the issue is who would you want more hurley/hartlett/sidebottom or thorp. if it was up to me i would be going hurley or sidebottom. a late first round pick and i would do it but early first round pick in this draft is much more valuable then thorp

that just shows how little talent there is coming from tasmania more then much else. thorp is a good prospect but rated next to gumbelton even as a junior he is a fair bit behind imo. you say we need replacements for lucas and lloyd, well what happened to neagle and gumbelton? they have both shown more then thorp.

i guess the issue is who would you want more hurley/hartlett/sidebottom or thorp. if it was up to me i would be going hurley or sidebottom. a late first round pick and i would do it but early first round pick in this draft is much more valuable then thorp

Any reason why Thorp couldn't play as a defender. Most AFL defenders were forwards as juniors.

I think al lit of you will be surprised how far Hurley slips come draft day.

Go-the-bombers, a 2-year deal means little if Thorp wants opportunity and the Hawks get the right price. I'm not saying we give away our 1st pick (#5), but I could see a deal involving Lovett, O'Keefe & Thorp:

Hawks: IN O'Keefe OUT Thorp & #16
Dons: IN Thorp OUT Lovett
Swans: IN Lovett & #16 OUT O'Keefe

That way we could build our spine around Pears/Ryder, Hurley (using #5), Gumbleton, Thorp/Neagle

Thier is no ay we would give pick 16 and Thorp for O keefe:rolleyes:

So i take it you would accept our pick 16 for Gumby?? After all he is just an Injury prone KPP that has done nothing yet

If Thorp was that good he would not be traded, face it he is just potential- pick 5 for potential is over the top

Don't think Hawthorn will trade him mate, but there listening!

I havent seen much of Gumbleton but Thorpy is going to be a ripper of a player, Would have been #1 pick in 2006 provided he didn't have hip troubles!

You can have Dowler though!

And what do you think Pick 5 is a certainty, You keep digging yourself a hole, you rate Gumby higher but the fact is he has has done nothing more than Thorp.

Where did I say I rate Gumbleton higher- all I said is he is not for sale. Pick 5 is no certainty, neither is pick 1 to be honest, but I am not giving away pick5 for a injury prone KPP in Thorp when we already have enough guys that struggle to be fit!

I havent seen much of Gumbleton but Thorpy is going to be a ripper of a player, Would have been #1 pick in 2006 provided he didn't have hip troubles!

Thorp would not have been taken above Gibbs or Gumbleton/Hansen even in the best situation. Those 3 were always going top3. I actually don't mind Dowler and would actually see more of a point in discussing him but for Lovett + pick23 or thereabouts.

I would definitely give pick five for Thorp..you don't lose talent overnight

Thorp would not have been taken above Gibbs or Gumbleton/Hansen even in the best situation. Those 3 were always going top3. I actually don't mind Dowler and would actually see more of a point in discussing him but for Lovett + pick23 or thereabouts.

I would actually take Lovett for Dowler....not sure where u would fit Lovett though, he would be in and out of the side a lot in my oppinion, he has promise but doesn't seem to care wether it gets used or not!

Thorp>>>Gumbleton :D