Gilmore

• Thread starter Thread starter chook2734

Is he going to get a chance to play as a midfielder rather than a pinch-hit ruckman in the next few weeks? So far he's played two games, and spent the majority of each in the ruck. I know there are problems with injury to Warnock and Sandilands surely won't play all four games, but I think Gilmore probably deserves the opportunity to get a practice match or two if that is the role he's going to be playing. Maybe Keplar can take some of the ruck duties on Sunday and we can see if Gilmore's got what it takes?

I'd like to see him in the old ruck-rover type possie, but he's probably a bit too slow to be in there with a pure ruckman.
He'll be a pinch hitter i'd reckon, but I am a big wrap for him in the 22.

imo gilmore is a pinch hitter that we need can play a tall forward or in the ruck and tack the pressure of nocker and sandi . defiantly an advantage to our team that others need to plan agianst

Gilmore defied the knockers and the odds to be close to our best player toward the end of last year. He has been criticized for not disposing of the ball effectively enough but he just keeps getting the thing over and over. Let him play as second ruck or ruck rover. Just let him run around and get it. Definitely first 22 for mine.

i rate him, but he's ill very frustrating to watch - just plays dumb. perfect instance from the NAB derby, he ran down the wing, had a bounce or two, had 2 player lead to him to about 50 out, ignored both, bombed it long to a contest about 20m out and the ball was rebounded.

he just has so much potential though and is very damaging. hopefully something just clicks for him and he start to use his noggin a bit

Here's an interesting article written by Les Everett for his Australian Rules site, way back in 2004:

Gilmore's a Tiger at heart

by LES EVERETT

GROWING up Daniel Gilmore hoped he'd be good enough to play senior football for WAFA club Roleystone.

Selection in combined teams for first Perth and then South Fremantle made the left footer set his sights towards the WAFL but never with great confidence: "I was a bench warmer in the combined sides," he said.

When Peel entered the WAFL competition a zone change took Roleystone away from Perth and gave it to South Fremantle which suited Gilmore who barracked for the Bulldogs.

A product of the Roleystone JFC, Gilmore caused a slight storm at the completion of his first colts season with South Fremantle. The Tigers were struggling for numbers in their under 17 team so Gilmore played for them on Sunday mornings after running out for the Bulldogs on Saturdays. The scheme worked well until Gilmore finished runner up in the association fairest and best award for his secret team. "South weren't very happy when they found out," he recalled.

Gilmore made the WA 18s training squad in 2001, the year Graham Polak and Ashley Sampi were in the team, and while he didn't make the final cut the experience did provide him with some confidence. "I thought making the squad was an achievement in itself and made me think maybe one day I'd get a crack at the WAFL," he said.

At the completion of 2001 Gilmore did a pre-season with West Coast and then received another vote of confidence from the new South coach: "John Northey must have liked what he saw because he said he wanted to play me on the wing all year and that sounded good to me," Gilmore said.

A year playing with experienced campaigners Marty Atkins, Tom Bottrell, David Gault and Kingsley Hutcherson added to the Roleystone youngster's education but another big step was to follow. In 2003 Gilmore was placed on the Fremantle rookie list and became South's 'Mr Fixit'.

"In one game I played full forward, ruck rover and centre half back," he said, "It was a good experience and taught me a lot about versatility."

Training with Fremantle made Gilmore confident in his preparation but self-doubt persisted. "I used to ask myself, 'do I belong?' " he said.

Gilmore was elevated to the senior list at Fremantle for the 2004 season and made his AFL debut in round one, by round 15 he had played eight games.

"The transition was quite easy because I'd been training as an AFL player for 18 months and when you're on the rookie list you train your bum off," he said. The two years at WAFL league level was also a big help according to Gilmore. "It was an excellent learning experience," he said, "I learned to be part of a club and about getting on with my team mates. Fremantle Oval is home to me and it's always good to play for for South."

Gilmore has never forgotten his football roots and gets to Roleystone games when he can and even to the occasional traing session. "I played all my sport with blokes like Jack Falconer, Luke Darbyshire and Robbie Tomeo and there are heaps of others I went to school with. Roleystone is a really good team and I like to go and watch them when I can and kick the footy at half time."

Is he going to get a chance to play as a midfielder rather than a pinch-hit ruckman in the next few weeks? So far he's played two games, and spent the majority of each in the ruck. I know there are problems with injury to Warnock and Sandilands surely won't play all four games, but I think Gilmore probably deserves the opportunity to get a practice match or two if that is the role he's going to be playing. Maybe Keplar can take some of the ruck duties on Sunday and we can see if Gilmore's got what it takes?

That's a fair point, he's currently playing a role that if all goes to plan he won't have to play during the season proper. Nockers and Sandi will probably both play week 3 or 4, then Gilmore will get his opportunity.

That's what I was trying to get at dom. A number of us (me included) are not sure where he will fit into the 22 if we have two genuine ruckmen available. I'd like to see him get at least 2 weeks of playing that role to see how he goes.