Glory!

• Thread starter Thread starter Cotcho

What year was more glorious as a fan?

• 2017: A great season topped off with the premiership but arguably not the best team during the H & A

Votes: 31 100.0%
  • 2018: A year full of gloating and trolling as Premiers, the best in the business! (Albeit a sad end)

Votes: 0 0.0%

Cotcho

Liverpool
Interested in everyone's opinion here. And before the more simple supporters come in outraged...I understand that the point of football is to win the premiership. However, I really, really enjoyed being marvelled at as the best throughout 2018 and for me at least the only time in my life I've been afforded a great deal of smugness (we even got little premiership cups on bigfooty lol). Top of the ladder all year, commentators suckin us off every week! etc.
In 2017 we won the thing.... but really...the fun began in September when the year was almost over....but we did win it!!

So...what was a more glorious football year as a whole from a fan perspective?

The Premiership year was an amazing story of the growth of the team from OK to awesome. It's that story.

I reckon if we'd won 2018 I would still say 2017 because of the story. 2018 was great, because we are the best team until the second last week. But, it was much more predictable and the highs weren't as high.

2017 for me for the absolute high that was gradually built up to a peak.....although 2018 was great to see us back it up until the slip up.....

I for one got pretty sick of being sucked off... all game every game. Eventually I lost interest in being sucked off at all as I knew in the end it was just hot air.

Don't get me wrong, putting Adelaide to the sword in the GF will go down as one of the happiest days of my short life - but that game against GWS in front of 98,000 Richmond fans was absolutely scintillating! When Dusty kicked that goal early in the last quarter I remember turning around looking for my mate and realised I turned the wrong way and was facing this elderly random bloke. I hugged the shit out of him!

So to answer OP, from the 3qtr time in the Prelim to the end of the 4th the next week.

2017 for sure... I'd take the feeling after beating the Cats in the QF, the roar and sheer jubilation of the PF and the feeling of shock and pride from the moment we kicked away in the third qtr of the GF over anything else!

I soaked the whole finals month in...
* Went to each AFL final
* Went to each VFL final
* Took the kids to the GF activities in Yarra Park
* Wondering (Stressing!) if I was gonna get a ticket to the GF then having a mate come up with the goods on the Thursday
* GF parade
* Getting to Punt Rd early with the family and then walking up to the G to meet up with mates strolling alongside Wayne Campbell talking about how big this could be
* The game!!!
* Trying to find the family after the game, celebrating with the kids
* Getting back into the G to see the Killers just in time to see the players and Jack with the band
* The celebration on Sunday at Punt Rd again
* Downing a couple of cold ones basking in it all in several pubs in Richmond

Stuff 2018 :D

Don't get me wrong, putting Adelaide to the sword in the GF will go down as one of the happiest days of my short life - but that game against GWS in front of 98,000 Richmond fans was absolutely scintillating! When Dusty kicked that goal early in the last quarter I remember turning around looking for my mate and realised I turned the wrong way and was facing this elderly random bloke. I hugged the shit out of him!

So to answer OP, from the 3qtr time in the Prelim to the end of the 4th the next week.

Haha... I high fived and hugged so many randoms during that prelim final.

Ditto.2017 Finals series right from the Qualifying final where we got our monkey off our back till the ultimate GF win.
However what gives 2017 the edge of anything else involving the RFC in my lifetime was the Prelim Final.
Yellow & Black owned that stadium like no other before it.

It’s funny I seen something in the news I think it was and it was Collingwood related. The highlight had the score Collingwood 50 odd to us about 11 and straight away I thought “wtf??? What game is thi... oh yeah.... **** that’s right”.

That’s how much I’ve forgotten about 2018 I’d completely forgotten it happened.

Have to say though I remember during the Richmond v Sydney game in 2018 at the shithole saying to my mate who I go to footy with that we really need to soak this shit up and savor it because it’ll be gone again before we know it, so yeah I tend to agree that we should really appreciate it whilst it’s happening.

2017 by a length,.

As a mid/late 40s bloke, I was starting to doubt it would ever happen again.

I'm with Hounddd the Prelim was mental.

The noise when Lambo banged it through was unbelievable.

The Prelim in 2017 was that ****ing good that I remember my mate and I wth our two girls sitting down after the game having a beer at the station whilst the kids ran around like idiots and my mate said “.... ****.. what now? And said he felt really weirdly flat and not like he always expected he’d feel making a GF.
And strangely I sort of understood where he was coming from, the Prelim was that amazing that it was hard to imagine it ever getting better than that evening.

The Prelim in 2017 was that ******* good that I remember my mate and I wth our two girls sitting down after the game having a beer at the station whilst the kids ran around like idiots and my mate said “.... ****.. what now? And said he felt really weirdly flat and not like he always expected he’d feel making a GF.
And strangely I sort of understood where he was coming from, the Prelim was that amazing that it was hard to imagine it ever getting better than that evening.
I can relate to that , I was more choked up after making it to the big one than actually winning it and part of that was coz I thought and expected we would win it , the way we played in the pre lim convinced me we were it

That 2017 Finals run culminating in the GF win...

tenor.gif

I think a lot of people are seriously underrating our H&A season in 17! We didn't finish top but we missed top by half a game!
We started the season by winning 5 in a row.
We beat all our traditional rivals (Coll/Car/Ess)
We beat Melbourne on ANZAC Eve despite being well down at 3/4 time.
We beat Port at home (I was at that game celebrating my 40th with a heap of mates)
We beat WC and GWS in a couple of real slog games that we would have lost in other years.
We put Freo to the sword on their home deck when in previous years, we would have been up by 10 goals at 3/4 time but won by less than 40.

I think the fact that we had such an unbelievable finals series perhaps dims the glow on how good we were in the H&A. Only a few very close losses to good teams stopped us from finishing top that year as well.

I can understand how it could happen though. That finals series was the best month of my life to date and everything else in footy before or after pales in comparison.

But, if given a choice between watching the 5 best H&A games of 2017 or 2018, I'd take 2017 every day of the week.

I think a lot of people are seriously underrating our H&A season in 17! We didn't finish top but we missed top by half a game!
We beat Port at home (I was at that game celebrating my 40th with a heap of mates)
We beat WC and GWS in a couple of real slog games that we would have lost in other years.
We put Freo to the sword on their home deck when in previous years, we would have been up by 10 goals at 3/4 time but won by less than 40.

I think the fact that we had such an unbelievable finals series perhaps dims the glow on how good we were in the H&A. Only a few very close losses to good teams stopped us from finishing top that year as well.

I can understand how it could happen though. That finals series was the best month of my life to date and everything else in footy before or after pales in comparison.

But, if given a choice between watching the 5 best H&A games of 2017 or 2018, I'd take 2017 every day of the week.
I agree and our timing was absolutely spot on. Remember a game about 5 weeks before finals I think against Hawthorn and you could just see and feel that we were building nicely and really starting to play some serious footy that’d stand up in finals. We all felt it and entered the finals series with a hope and expectation we hadn’t previously for a long time. The season just had that really nice build with losses coming along the way to really keep it real for the boys.
Last year felt different altogether and with a horrible nagging feeling all along that the timing was much different with our form, and from pretty much that same point in 2017 about 5 rounds before finals you could see and feel the opposite happening. The form was beginning to taper a bit, there was a feeling of just sort of going through the motions basically waiting for the finals to start. It’s dangerous territory and culminated in a way that if I’m completely honest didn’t really surprise me. That nagging feeling became reality, the season was almost written to script I thought much like the previous season was but with a far shitter ending.
The sequel is never as good.

Not underestimating but I spose like many true tigers , we still needed convincing we were genuinely on. The QF had us thinking , whoa , the pre lim was FMD , this shits just got real