Goulburn Valley General Thread 2011- 2012

when does the finals draw get released letting people know where games are being played?
Qualifying Final @ Tatura Saturday, is that the one your interested in NEXT LEVEL!!
Elim Final 1 @ Echuca Sunday
Elim Final 2 @ Deakin Saturday

Week 2
1st Semi @ Seymour Saturday
2nd Semi @ Kyabram Sunday

Rest at Deakin.

Qualifying Final @ Tatura Saturday, is that the one your interested in NEXT LEVEL!!
Elim Final 1 @ Echuca Sunday
Elim Final 2 @ Deakin Saturday

Week 2
1st Semi @ Seymour Saturday
2nd Semi @ Kyabram Sunday

Rest at Deakin.

good to know and interested in all finals team

Results went pretty much as expected and the final 6 is set. United v Echuca and Mooroopna v Benalla are the key games with each team vying for that crucial 3rd place. With both teams level on points, the Cats hold 3rd place with a % of 155.31 to United's 154.02.

Anyone keen to have a crack at team of the year?

Results went pretty much as expected and the final 6 is set. United v Echuca and Mooroopna v Benalla are the key games with each team vying for that crucial 3rd place. With both teams level on points, the Cats hold 3rd place with a % of 155.31 to United's 154.02.

Anyone keen to have a crack at team of the year?

B: Liddle(Shepp Utd), M.O'Keefe(Sey), S.McGlone(Ech)

HB: J. Murphy(Tat), Morgan(ky), R. Butler(Shepp Utd)

C: Ogden(Ky), Watson(Roch), Jacka(Ben)

HF: G.Campbell(Roch), P.Colbert(Sey), Bamford(Eur)

F: Saad(Sey), Bowen(Roch), Hicks(Tat)

R: Kirby(Tat), Wellington(Tat), Dorwood(Moor)

I: Broadbent(Tat), Blake(Moor), S.Huy(Shepp Utd)

Looks like being a cracker of a finals series this year. Tat and Rochy should be a super game, even though Rochy won last time these sides met I'd still favour tat by 4-6 goals, will be extremely tough to beat especially with their result v Ky on the wkend. The other games are interesting and could go either way regarding who plays who. Seymour look to be getting it together at the right time, although it's a tough gig winning a flag from 6th. Mpna and United look fairly even and could do some damage if they get through the first week of finals. Mansfield have played some really good footy on their day as well. An early stab at Grand Finalists would be Tat v United with Tat to win by 5 goals. Rochy to be the side that gets dudded with the finals 6 set up.

B: Liddle(Shepp Utd), M.O'Keefe(Sey), S.McGlone(Ech)

HB: J. Murphy(Tat), Morgan(ky), R. Butler(Shepp Utd)

C: Ogden(Ky), Watson(Roch), Jacka(Ben)

HF: G.Campbell(Roch), P.Colbert(Sey), Bamford(Eur)

F: Saad(Sey), Bowen(Roch), Hicks(Tat)

R: Kirby(Tat), Wellington(Tat), Dorwood(Moor)

I: Broadbent(Tat), Blake(Moor), S.Huy(Shepp Utd)

Like your team, I'd maybe try and find a spot for Tim Looby and Rhys Archard?

mmm probably could have fitted Archard in the forward line or bench somewhere
but i actually thought Looby has been a little bit down this year on his usual standards, struggled to kick goals against the better sides and has also missed a few

mmm probably could have fitted Archard in the forward line or bench somewhere
but i actually thought Looby has been a little bit down this year on his usual standards, struggled to kick goals against the better sides and has also missed a few[/
looks like a fair few have been through the bushies and other TAC teams good to see them playing at this level if they cant make the cut into AFL

why would he retire at present? Probably playing as well as ever and still dominating. Would have every KDFL and lower league chasing him for the next 2 years if he retired.

He already has the minor league clubs & 1 or 2 GVFL clubs chasing him to play/coach next year! He wont retire & will play on at tat after this season.

He's 34. Can't see him retiring, he'd be odds on for the Morrison this year & the best and fairest at tat.

Should win the league medal but hot tip, the way the tat B&F works it will be a close 1 between himself & broadbent I think!

did anyone else hear the clowns from the radio tell everyone Rochy had fallen to 4th and would play Mansfield on Saturday after they drew with Ky? Only took 10 minutes to work it out that if you are 4 points behind and the draw gives you 2 points you still end up with 2nd spot. embarrassing and whilst all are giving their time for free might be worth doing some research before you make fools of yourself. I like the service just want a better broadcast with facts.

Yes was listening to it and after the first minute of them banging on about it, I thought surely 1 person in the box would have woken up to it, but no 10 minutes later they were still talking about percentages and how the finals had been turned upside down, when in actual fact nothing had changed from the week before!

whats everyones thoughts on the first week of finals?

1 v 2 - Tat V Rochy -
3 v 6 - Mooroopna V Seymour
4 v 5 - United V Mansfield

Finals can usually dish out some funny results and I believe Rochy and Seymour can both win their games. I think Mansfield would have to play out of their skins to beat United.

If everything goes to ladder positon Tat beat Rochy, Mooroopna beat Seymour and UNited win.
Tat then play Mooroopna 2nd semi final and Rochy play United 1st semi final
Tat go to Granny and Mooroopna play Rochy
Tat v Rochy - Grand Final
Above based on ladder positons not upset results.

Upset results
Rochy beat Tat, Seymour beat Mooroopna and United win. ( sorry Mansfield too big an upset)
Rochy then play United 2nd semi final and Tat play Seymour 1st semi final
Rochy go to Granny and United play Tat

if all teams play to form and their best keep getting the same result.

any other thoughts on who will win finals and make Granny?

whats everyones thoughts on the first week of finals?

1 v 2 - Tat V Rochy -
3 v 6 - Mooroopna V Seymour
4 v 5 - United V Mansfield

Finals can usually dish out some funny results and I believe Rochy and Seymour can both win their games. I think Mansfield would have to play out of their skins to beat United.

If everything goes to ladder positon Tat beat Rochy, Mooroopna beat Seymour and UNited win.
Tat then play Mooroopna 2nd semi final and Rochy play United 1st semi final
Tat go to Granny and Mooroopna play Rochy
Above based on ladder positons not upset results.

Upset results
Rochy beat Tat, Seymour beat Mooroopna and United win. ( sorry Mansfield too big an upset)
Rochy then play United 2nd semi final and Tat play Seymour 1st semi final
Rochy go to Granny and United play Tat

if all teams play to form and their best keep getting the same result.

any other thoughts on who will win finals and make Granny?

Yeah I think Seymour will beat Mooropna but I reckon Tat will be too good for Rochy. And agree United will flog Mansfield

Not sure who Tat are missing, but Rochy should get Sam Vale, Heath Aitkin, Ben McPhee and Sam O’Brien back this week.

Seymour is a chance against Mooroopna, but I can't see Mansfield knocking over United.

Have heard Brett Henderson has made contact with Tatura about coaching next season, would be bloody sad to see him take over Tatura and destroy another star studded side like he did at Echuca

Funny how mis-informed some people can be - Brett is incerdibly professional (perhaps he was too professional for Echuca) and i dont think it was Brett making contact with Tat

Goulburn Valley General Thread 2011- 2012