willoblue

With the new sub rule the gut busting runner will become even more important.
Who of the 3 elite recent exponents do you rate higher?
Crawford, the class.
Cousins, the longevity.
Swan, the toughness inside.

At the peak of his powers, I would of gone with Robert Harvey.

of course.
my mistake.
i see Harvey as the model of footballer before Judd.
The hip swivel to break a tackle and burst forward before delivering a pass not too extreme. (no 75m ball bursters, more 40m precision chips)

There was a game in the late 90's where Harvey and Crawford went up against each other( they wore monitors of some sort) and both of their distances for the game came in at about 18km's for the game, from memory.

I also found this in a document about elite running in the AFL and the GPS systems used to track it.

Sydney's elite performance manager David Misson said yesterday the Swans would have five players wearing the SPI Elite against Adelaide tomorrow. In keeping with a policy of a spread between defence, midfield and attack, they will be Leo Barry, Luke Ablett, Adam Goodes, Nick Davis and Adam Schneider.
Ablett's 16km is the highest return of any Swans player this year. Hawthorn's Shane Crawford set the benchmark last year by covering more than 17km in a game. Misson said St Kilda's Robert Harvey had been tracked at 19.6km in 2000, including 4.5km in sprints.
That's equivalent to 100 45m sprints in two hours. No wonder his hamstrings give up occasionally.
There was an element of guesswork in that research as the tracking was done off tape. Not any more. It is almost a mathematical exercise, with a 1 per cent error factor. The AFL, which is coordinating the research project, allows clubs to monitor 10 players per game for a maximum of 10 games this year.

The fact Robert Harvey isn't mentioned in your poll is absolute joke.

And what does Crawford's "class" have to do with gut running. Yeah he could run all day and unfortunately due to TFS he isn't regarded as highly as he should be, but class has nothing to do with gut running.

From the 3 you mentioned I have to go Cousins. I feel as if he had to work harder (endured more gut running) than a genetic freak runner in Crawford. Cousins would continually run until he was left feeling sick.

Swan, another player I admire, but wrong poll. Yeah he does a lot of running but he has a break every five minutes. The above, highlighted mostly in Robert Harvey's game, rarely had a break, therefore relied heavily on gut running.

How can you not have Robert Harvey in a poll about the best gut busting runners? He basically invented gut busting running.

Crawford and Cousins are both fair enough choices but Swan is more of a burst runner who spends a lot of time rotating on and off the interchange bench. i wouldn't say he was a gut busting runner in the Harvey, Crawford, Cousins class.

I know he didn't cover the same amount of ground as Cousins, Crawford, Harvet etc, but for his size Richo covered an extraordinary amount of ground and blew away his opponent pretty easily.
Cousins was the best though. Played on Subiaco every second week as well the majority of his career.

I know he didn't cover the same amount of ground as Cousins, Crawford, Harvet etc, but for his size Richo covered an extraordinary amount of ground and blew away his opponent pretty easily.
Cousins was the best though. Played on Subiaco every second week as well the majority of his career.

Yeah, he did. Though if you're mentioning tall forwards Riewoldt had him covered.

boomer harvey covers a bit of ground, not sure if he's in the elite class of gutt runner, certainly an elite player though.

fair calls by everybody so far.
i really regret missing Robert Harvey on the list & i suppose it is my own fault that I did not clarify the poll correctly.
i was after the player who was the most dominant because of his gut busting running.
for mine, Crawford was a brilliant little man who just happened to have a huge tank.
Cousins was the running machine who just ran all day & that was his main weapon.
Swan has developed an ability to outrun a team of taggers, with rotations!! (admittedly using the bench)
but then again Rob Harvey I reckon probably covered more metres on a footy field than anybody in AFL / VFL history. I know Tuck & Bartlett played more games, but Bartlett played much of his later career as a half forward & tuck was an old fashioned ruck rover who played between the half forward & half back lines when not resting.
then again, i do stand to be corrected as i was young when those guys were finishing up playing.
as for the big blokes, Richo was amazing, but i think Nick riewoldt might just have it over him in the gut busting running stakes, as i think it is more important 4 Riewoldt.
also every player mentioned in this thread was/is a champion.
i just hope Rhys Palmer can emulate Ben Cousins (on the field only) as a good player made great by his running ability.

I remember Bucks covered over 20km in a match when they used to show those GPS results on the TV coverage back in the late 90's early 00's.

These days I reckon most midfielders would probably travel a bit less distance with all the rotations, but it would be at a far greater intensity/speed.

Paul Kelly should probably get a mention in here too.
The guy would push himself so hard that he'd lose all control of his bodily functions after the game. Just ask Rocket Eade about how much punishment Kelly put himself through each week.

Nigel Lappin - Matthews reckons he was the toughest player at the Lions because of his ability to keep running.

Brent Harvey, Anthony Stevens, Glenn Archer from North Melbourne

great thread mate:thumbsu:

Makes us think.

Lulz.

It's an ok thread and it doesn't make me think to hard as most people know who the best at it are.

A real North supporter would have nominated Adam Simpson before Glenn Archer.

With the new sub rule the gut busting runner will become even more important.
Who of the 3 elite recent exponents do you rate higher?
Crawford, the class.
Cousins, the longevity.
Swan, the toughness inside.

Buckley said the two hardest runners he ever played alongside were Tarkyn Lockyer and Dale Thomas.

So Swan wouldn't even compare to them, let alone Harvey.