tico

who is the hardest player and the softest player on our list?

docker_azza said:
Softest - Possibly Longmuir

... and he lead our side for hard ball gets last season. I could see where you were coming from if this was in 2003, but he is far from the softest.

Softest = Daniel Gilmore or Dion Woods

Hardest = Josh Carr, Peter Bell or Troy Cook

jarman said:
Softest - Walker

That perception is incorrect, he may appear soft but I have seen him many times hold his ground and mark "widow makers". He is a very deceptive player, who actually works pretty hard.

Young Dessie worries me at times, more "head over the ball" is required.

Hardest -- Pound for pound -- Bell. Remember that tackle he took against Adelaide in 2003. In last years round 3 he wrapped up Carey in a front on tackle, and took him to ground. Just sheer god damn determination. Cookie comes in a close second.

Softest -- Pound for Pound -- Pavlich. Sorry but he has a lot of looks 'like tarzan, plays like Jane about him'. I'd be interested in whether Pope or someone can give us stats on his shepherds and things like that. Grover and Woods skirted an awful lot of packs last season. Would be interested to see their hard ball gets.

Dessie is definitely not soft. Go back and have a look at replays. He's not good in close. But he does go hard at it ... he just doesn't come up with the pill all that often. If you watch that final goal that Medhurst kicked in the second derby of 2003, you can see Headland laying a shepherd to hold back 2-3 Eagles players. He had just sprinted from the opposite wing (about 70m) to get to that contest. Medhurst kicked a ripper goal but Headland set it up. Sometimes we don't notice that team oriented stuff.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Hardest -- Pound for pound -- Bell. Remember that tackle he took against Adelaide in 2003. In last years round 3 he wrapped up Carey in a front on tackle, and took him to ground. Just sheer god damn determination. Cookie comes in a close second.

Softest -- Pound for Pound -- Pavlich. Sorry but he has a lot of looks 'like tarzan, plays like Jane about him'. I'd be interested in whether Pope or someone can give us stats on his shepherds and things like that. Grover and Woods skirted an awful lot of packs last season. Would be interested to see their hard ball gets.

Dessie is definitely not soft. Go back and have a look at replays. He's not good in close. But he does go hard at it ... he just doesn't come up with the pill all that often. If you watch that final goal that Medhurst kicked in the second derby of 2003, you can see Headland laying a shepherd to hold back 2-3 Eagles players. He had just sprinted from the opposite wing (about 70m) to get to that contest. Medhurst kicked a ripper goal but Headland set it up. Sometimes we don't notice that team oriented stuff.

i) Agree. A 100% fit Peter Bell is very important for our chances in 2005.
ii) Agree. It was rumoured that Pav had a back injury last year. Hopefully that's correct because on numerous occassions he pulled out of a contest. Not the characteristic you associate with a quality CHF.
iii) Disagree. Des is shocking in one on one contests. It's almost like he wants to go to ground at times to avoid a tussle.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:

Have to agree here. I believe Headland receives plenty of unwarranted criticism for his perceived lack of toughness.

For mine -
Hardest: Bell (honourable mentions to Cook, McManus, Carr and Webster)

Softest: Woods (honourable menions to Gilmore and Grover)

Dr Ralph Dagg said:

Spot on mate, couldn't have said it better myself.

Hardest: all the usual and throw in young Dylan Smith: loves the packs

Softest: Medhurst saw him last year purposely adjust his line of running to avoid contact with another player

masai said:
That perception is incorrect, he may appear soft but I have seen him many times hold his ground and mark "widow makers". He is a very deceptive player, who actually works pretty hard.

Young Dessie worries me at times, more "head over the ball" is required.
you are right it is a tie for softest with headland and woods as for the toughest can't go past cook but look for R. Dunn in the future is my tip

dominguez said:
iii) Disagree. Des is shocking in one on one contests. It's almost like he wants to go to ground at times to avoid a tussle.

We were discussing hard players not one-on-one contests. His work in close is not one of the strengths of his game. But he gives it a fair crack. In one-on-ones, Des is about even on the ground, and weak in the air.

I remember last year, a hospital pass that Des stood under, with I think Michael Voss bearing down on him, and he took the mark without flinching. He's not soft.

I think I recall this, and I agree that Dessie isn't at all soft. I reckon because he hasn't produced his best for us, for whatever reason/s, a lot of us Freo supporters label him soft. Hopefully we'll see him at his best this year, if his form late last season is any indication, and I think he'll contribute to Freo getting rid of the soft tag.

Hardest players: I believe Webster has a real mean streak that I'm going to enjoy seeing him display this year, also Cookie, you don't get much harder than that.

Softest: Grover maybe going on the last couple of years although I think the whole team will get hard and mean in 2005. If it costs us a few suspensions here and there it's still worth it!

Carr is right up there but no more so than Cook, and i'd throw Dylan Smith in there as reasonably hard if he had a bit more bulk to back up the intent.

stylor said:
I think I recall this, and I agree that Dessie isn't at all soft. I reckon because he hasn't produced his best for us, for whatever reason/s, a lot of us Freo supporters label him soft. Hopefully we'll see him at his best this year, if his form late last season is any indication, and I think he'll contribute to Freo getting rid of the soft tag.

Hardest players: I believe Webster has a real mean streak that I'm going to enjoy seeing him display this year, also Cookie, you don't get much harder than that.

Softest: Grover maybe going on the last couple of years although I think the whole team will get hard and mean in 2005. If it costs us a few suspensions here and there it's still worth it!

I dont think DJ is soft at all, i said in his last season at Brissie he would be the next Michael Voss. I now no he wont be that good but i expect DJ to be one hell of a player for us now that he is fit and ready to go.