TheClokes

Apr 7, 2005
In Berlin, by the wall
Lord Auch
Harry O'Brien has finally found his feet at senior level; has he taken Ryan Lonie's position within the side?

The starting back six once looked like this:

B: H. Shaw - Prestigiacomo - Clement
HB: R. Shaw - Maxwell - Lonie​

But now:

HB: R. Shaw - Maxwell - O'Brien​

Harry O'Brien has finally found his feet at senior level; has he taken Ryan Lonie's position within the side?

But now:

Still think Lonie is a much more damaging flanker, Harry still scares me everytime he gets the pill. Lonie may have a heart the size of a pea but he is still ahead of Harry, outside players have their roles in a side, not everybody can be a raging brick shithouse.

we dont need another flanker, we need to develop a solid backmen that can take down small/mid size forwards. Harry is going to be a valuable asset in the future hence lones importance to the side is shrinking each time harry plays.

Harry hasn't got the spot yet as he is still developing, can suffer from poor disposal and takes a little too long to choose an option at times. Has got good run and understands how to get the footy which is always a bonus in a younger backman. Lots of potential here, probably still horses for courses at the moment.

I think O'Brien has probably taken Wakelin's spot in the side to be fair (or even Maxwell's who can be shuffled around these days). I don't think Lonie is out of our best 22 yet, but at least he can be more damaging on a wing rather than relied on to be much more defensive.

I like O'brian, I reckon he's got a good future. Seems to handle pressure well, disposal seems ok, and has a bit of ticker.

He worried me at times last year, seemed to be susceptible to brain fades, however, he seems to have rectified this fault.

I reckon Lonie is much maligned, as I strongly feel that he is not being correctly utilised. He should be placed on a wing, where his damaging kicks inside 50 can hurt the team.

He's one of our best kicks in the team, we should be taking advantage of this and designating him as the goto man whilst running out of defense, and then have him deliver the ball into our forward 50.

He is not a defensively minded player, whereas Malthouse is trying to make him one, ffs, let him play to his strengths, which are long kicking and hard running.

I like O'brian, I reckon he's got a good future. Seems to handle pressure well, disposal seems ok, and has a bit of ticker.

He worried me at times last year, seemed to be susceptible to brain fades, however, he seems to have rectified this fault.

I reckon Lonie is much maligned, as I strongly feel that he is not being correctly utilised. He should be placed on a wing, where his damaging kicks inside 50 can hurt the team.

He's one of our best kicks in the team, we should be taking advantage of this and designating him as the goto man whilst running out of defense, and then have him deliver the ball into our forward 50.

He is not a defensively minded player, whereas Malthouse is trying to make him one, ffs, let him play to his strengths, which are long kicking and hard running.

Agreed his not a defender his an attacking wingman. He need to offload a hand pass to when his outside so he slot in a goal as his a beautiful kick. Anyone know when he'll be back?

Malthouse can be so fustrating at times, seems he can't see what is obvious to all. He often will coach for himself, and not the team. Lonie is clearly an attacking wingman, yet MM plays him in a defensive role, trying to coach and teach him new skills. Sometimes its just best to let a player do what he does best.

Like when MM was playing J. Cloke in the forward line. A blind man can see that Cloke was never ever going to be a foward, yet MM continuously perservered with a move that was never going to work.

1-2 weeks according the the Hun.

Yep harry has got it covered in defense lones has it covered in offense. Id way MM and the team has a big decision to make this year, blood egan as the wingman or persist with lones.

his best games last year were playing shut down roles on the likes of goodes and b.burton tho!!

think he is one of those players who needs to be given a role every week as he doesn't have the natural ball finding ability or desire to get it

still in my best 22 tho

Lonie NEEDS to be put on a player, he is lost without an opponent to run off on. In 2004 when we had injuries to our forward line, Lonie played in the forward line and was ok but he is a much better player in the backline. He is ok in the middle and on the wings but only if he has a direct oponent.

Malthouse can be so fustrating at times, seems he can't see what is obvious to all. He often will coach for himself, and not the team. Lonie is clearly an attacking wingman, yet MM plays him in a defensive role, trying to coach and teach him new skills. Sometimes its just best to let a player do what he does best.

Like when MM was playing J. Cloke in the forward line. A blind man can see that Cloke was never ever going to be a foward, yet MM continuously perservered with a move that was never going to work.

1-2 weeks according the the Hun.

Shane Wakelin - How many goals has he kicked throughout his career? Yet Malthouse played him at full-forward last Friday night. If he wasn't selected as a defender he shouldn't have played. I understand James Clement pulled out at the last minute; but Wakes a forward you have got to be joking. I would prefer Ben Reid.

he was injured mate, MM whacked him up forward to take a decent defender to stretch wallet and is grommets.

Although I absolutely love Harry I think he needs to use his body more in contests. If not his a perfect attacking wingman. he played better football when he wasn't in defence when we were playing against Richmond but I guess where gotta groom someone to match up on quick forwards. His learning from the best ie: Clement, Presti, Chris Johnson etc

I think O'Brien has probably taken Wakelin's spot in the side to be fair (or even Maxwell's who can be shuffled around these days). I don't think Lonie is out of our best 22 yet, but at least he can be more damaging on a wing rather than relied on to be much more defensive.

How exactly has he taken (yes past tense) Maxwell's spot when they are both in the same side together?

Incredible.

But now:

most of us understood what you meant in the 1st paragraph but thanks for the team listing, pointing out excatly where O'Brien has replaced Lonie.

Lonie has a place in the side, and while i understand that he is an outside player, you need to have a dip when required. Lonie is a squib. Its very frustrating watching him when you know there are blokes out there that would give their left testie to play one game for the maggies.
He is a very poor (infact homeless poor with whiskey in brown paper bag) version of craig 'the squib' bradley
but again, he has a spot in the side.

I don't think O'Brien has taken Lonie's role. I think he's a 100% stopper who only carries the ball forward with a wave of team-mates, or if his man has dragged him up to the wing (he actually had 2 or 3 goal assists vs Richmond in just that manner).

Maxwell had that job of hard tagging and occasionally going the big spoil, but this year he's had a tour of the forward line and spots as loose man in defense too.

Lonie has played true wing as well as half back in the past. last year fraser and didak got lots of the kick-ins that Lonie used to get, and this year Thomas has moved into that role too. I guess MM wants multi-role players outside the KP's and Lonie has enoyugh grit to play defender as well as linkman.

There's a place for Lonie at Collingwood. He has class and pace like few others, and despite the image of him as gutless, he has developed enough ticker to put his head over the ball. The magnificent left foot kick is his rare talent and covers a multitude of sins. Blokes like that can truly blow games open. A dash, a bounce and a 50 metre bomb, he can regularly snaffle us 70 metres to advantage.

I reckon Harry's a gem, and Maxwell another. They are the bedrock of a great defense, reliable gutsy fellas from the middle and lower reaches of the list who front up and do their best every week. They will beat better opponents by concentration, but they're not to be expected to eat up the turf for us.

Lonie is a different breed, and we need him just as much. I have a vision of him blowing open a big game with a couple of bounding runs. he hasn't prioduced that for us in a final but I feel he has it in him.

Obrian scares the shit outta me when ever he cops the cherry. He's just not fluent, Lonie deserves the spot, hes more exilerating, is more of a "PIE" then harry at the moment.

Harry O'Brien and Ryan Lonie