Darcy miffed by departures of Brown, Wallace
By Lyall Johnson
May 21, 2004

Champion Western Bulldogs ruckman Luke Darcy has taken a swipe at former coach Terry Wallace and former teammate Nathan Brown over the way in which the pair left the club.

Speaking to Age columnist Dermott Brereton, Darcy drew similarities between the two and said "loyalty and integrity and doing things the right way are really things I find are not negotiable in people that I know".

Brown, who is having a stellar season with new club Richmond, packed his bags for Tigerland over the summer in the draft coup of the trading period after saying he would stay at the Bulldogs if Darcy re-signed. Wallace, after coaching the side for almost seven years, dumped the club during the 2002 season, saying he had lost passion for the team.

Darcy and Brown remain close friends, but the ruckman said he felt Brown seemed to be saying "it's the money or my mates", and put both Darcy and the Bulldogs in a poor light.

"Some of the comments that he made were along the lines of . . . if Darce goes, then I'm going to go. It's the money or my mates . . . I just thought, 'Mate, I don't think that's you and I don't think you're being portrayed in a good way and you're not portraying our footy club in a good way' and . . . it probably annoyed me," Darcy said.

Darcy said he has moved on, still loves catching up with his good mate and wishes him well. He has also moved on from Wallace's resignation, but likens it to Brown's situation.

"It was a bit the same again, I suppose. Loyalty and integrity and doing things the right way are really things I find are not negotiable . . . I thought the way he left was - and I haven't spoken about it publicly - but I thought the way he left was really disappointing," Darcy said.

"I think I made that pretty clear at the time that I thought there was more to him leaving than, once again, what was being said. I think he knows pretty much where I stand . . ."

Wallace had said he had resigned because his passion for the cause had diminished and was immediately in the running for the job of Sydney coach, which later went to Paul Roos.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/05/20/1085028470303.html

dont cry

Heaven forbid the tigers try and improve by drafting and fostering young players of their own.
You will see how it feels next year when Ottens and Coglan want to go home.
And Danny Frawley thanks you for your support.

re union

Re union next year? Does that mean you have already sacked Danny Frawley? You are a loyal mob. I hope Ottens and Coglan repay that same loyalty when their contracts expire end of this year.

Sad when people outgrow one-another - Yeah right!

Re: dont cry

Originally posted by don john
Heaven forbid the tigers try and improve by drafting and fostering young players of their own.
You will see how it feels next year when Ottens and Coglan want to go home.
And Danny Frawley thanks you for your support.

LOL

if they chose to go home then so be it, I wont be sitting back having a cry over it like like your lot would. You are all acting like a 5 yo who doesnt get that lolly in the shop from your mother so now your throwing a tantie!!

if ottens and cogs want to go home at years end it will be a huge loss but seriously theres nothing u can do except give them your best offer

as for brown he was leaving no matter if Richmond were interested anyway, so your comment about fostering young players doesnt stand because we didnt force him, he held his hand up and said he wanted to leave your club.

life goes on, deal with it and move on, instead the dogs 9 months after the event are showing what they are really made of sore losers.

Forget the footy aspects - i have problems with friends who come out in national newspapers and slag a mate. Call me strange.

they are friends d@#kheads and brown used darc to improve his bargining power. read the article or is your admiration for this bloke so strong you will ignore the moral aspect. but then again morals dont seem to be in abundance down at punt road.

Re: re union

Re union next year? Does that mean you have already sacked Danny Frawley? You are a loyal mob. I hope Ottens and Coglan repay that same loyalty when their contracts expire end of this year.

um...i was joking

Re: re union

I cant believe that you come into our forum and sprout sh1t like 99% of the other essendon supporters around. Arrogant and obnoxious. No, no one said frawley was sacked. Have you got a license for that mouth, you seem to shoot off without thinking for a second.

LC

Originally posted by froars
Forget the footy aspects - i have problems with friends who come out in national newspapers and slag a mate. Call me strange. [/QUOTE0]

well said froars. not the place to air your problems imo

So many things wrong with this article, let me begin with the Hypocracy>>Jade Raqwlings:rolleyes:

I will only use three points..

Originally posted by wrennyboy
Champion Western Bulldogs ruckman Luke Darcy has taken a swipe at former coach Terry Wallace and former teammate Nathan Brown over the way in which the pair left the club.

Someone on another thread has already mentioned that the word champion is handed out like some gimmick in a packet of chips.. Good player Darcy.. Champion, I think not!

Darcy said he has moved on

Ya reckon mate????? LMFAO get over it FFS!

"It was a bit the same again, I suppose. Loyalty and integrity and doing things the right way are really things I find are not negotiable . . .

So how do you feel about Jade Rawlings then Luke? Come now Luke be honest now, going by those comments Jade doesn't fit into your 'non-negotiable' ideals.. you ****ing imbecile!

Good onya Browny for leaving such a pack of whingeing sore losers, and welcome to a club that you know will still be there at the end of your career..

We're lovin ya mate:D

Re: Re: Have A Cry Darcy

Originally posted by SaveFeriss [/i]

We're lovin ya mate:D [/B]

Browny's doing well is the problem with Doggy supporters. Don't ya just love it. Who will we steal off 'em next year is i'm wondering. Sounds like a good recruiting ground for the Tiges. Bleed 'em till it hurts.

Re: Re: Re: Have A Cry Darcy

Originally posted by froars
Browny's doing well is the problem with Doggy supporters. Don't ya just love it. Who will we steal off 'em next year is i'm wondering. Sounds like a good recruiting ground for the Tiges. Bleed 'em till it hurts.

Geez that'll bring in the ferals;)

Has there ever been a recruit from another club that was so instanteanously adored by their new club?

Bring 'em on - reality will hurt 'em more lol.

So who do we want next year? Suggestions people lol

What about Robert Murphy?

And Giransiracusa for the girls lol

Robert Murphy was a big big Richmond fan when he was young. He did work experience at the club when he was 15 or 16. If he was to come out of contract I would like to see RFC have a crack at him and see if they could get him over. He would be a good pick up.

Originally posted by 2 jam donuts
LMFAO at bulldogs supporters even knowing there's a word such as morals..............hello Libba!!!!
thats right tigers change the subject. its alright to sell your mates out in the paper like brown did last year but not alright for darc to answer a question honestly. yes libba was a dirty b@#**** at times but im sure he would never use his mates for personal gain like richmonds mercenary boy did. apparently you guys think its alright too! murphs a good catholic boy who has been bought up with morals all his life but he his mind could be deluded by too many lattes and pairs of $400 jeans.

Originally posted by 2 jam donuts
LMFAO at bulldogs supporters even knowing there's a word such as morals..............hello Libba!!!!

Couldn't have said it better Jam !

The sleaziest little dog in the competition who's COWARDLY
and canniving acts brought the game into disrepute.

Should have been stripped of his Brownlow..

LMAOO@Bulldog supporters only going to games if they have enuff smack.

LMAOO@Sell your mates out.
When u r clearly the best at what u do and your mates are all
commited to a lost cause,you'd be an idiot to turn down a better
offer.

LMAOOOOO@People who hate other people leaving them behind.

Originally posted by davo dog
thats right tigers change the subject. its alright to sell your mates out in the paper like brown did last year but not alright for darc to answer a question honestly. yes libba was a dirty b@#**** at times but im sure he would never use his mates for personal gain like richmonds mercenary boy did. apparently you guys think its alright too! murphs a good catholic boy who has been bought up with morals all his life but he his mind could be deluded by too many lattes and pairs of $400 jeans.

Please consider...

Origionally Dribbled by luke Darcy

"It was a bit the same again, I suppose. Loyalty and integrity and doing things the right way are really things I find are not negotiable . . .

EQUALS.....

origionally posted by ME
So how do you feel about Jade Rawlings then Luke? Come now Luke be honest now, going by those comments Jade doesn't fit into your 'non-negotiable' ideals.. you ****ing imbecile!

Good onya Browny for leaving such a pack of whingeing sore losers, and welcome to a club that you know will still be there at the end of your career..

We're lovin ya mate

poor sad lil puppy dog:(

Originally posted by oxx
Couldn't have said it better Jam !

The sleaziest little dog in the competition who's COWARDLY
and canniving acts brought the game into disrepute.

Should have been stripped of his Brownlow..

LMAOO@Bulldog supporters only going to games if they have enuff smack.

LMAOO@Sell your mates out.
When u r clearly the best at what u do and your mates are all
commited to a lost cause,you'd be an idiot to turn down a better
offer.

LMAOOOOO@People who hate other people leaving them behind.
didnt he say he went to richmond to play finals after he's attempts to get to coll and haw failed. anyway, were are the tigers going?

Originally posted by davo dog
didnt he say he went to richmond to play finals after he's attempts to get to coll and haw failed. anyway, were are the tigers going?

closer to the finals than Footscray, Hawks and Collingwood actually!

Any other stupd question?