Jisha

Melb Victory, Everton
1962711_10152241746343276_587367021_n.jpg

So this picture is currently on facebook, basically saying that the AFL has changed ticketing this year and for these 3 Tigers games members need to buy a reserved seating upgrade. From what I understand

• No general admission to these games / cannot buy tickets for a friend
  • Members need to upgrade to be able to go
  • As a General Admission member I basically am only entitled to 8 home games for free now?
  • Ticket prices for each game are ranged from $9-$49 depending on category
I am actually pretty annoyed if I have understood this properly. I travel from Bendigo each game so it already costs me a lot each week, as well as my membership instalments. To tell me that my general membership is not good enough to see some of our bigger games is quite poor. Sure I can sit in the nosebleed for only $9 extra, but the point is I have already paid my membership to see these games.

How is it okay to charge 4 teams members to go see games of football when I am almost positive a membership for the other 14 teams (maybe not all, but most) will allow them in to each of their home games. I get the fact that these games are are generally sell outs, but telling me I need to pay out another $60+ to get a decent seat for 3 of our home games is a joke. It is going to work out that I paid just a little bit more to go see Richmond vs Carlton in the Elimination final last year.

I feel sorry for the fans that can't afford a membership in the first place and I am kinda annoyed that I paid for 11 games access to be told 2 months later that I paid for 8 games + 3 games if I want to pay extra.

Have I read this right or wrong? I am probably just sooking but to me this whole thing is a bit unfair. I basically feel like Richmond, Pies, Blues and Hawks fans are getting a bit ripped off purely because they follow a more popular team.

You can still get general for all these games I'm sure. Why wouldn't you be able to ? The Hawks game only draws 50k so you're telling me that 45,000 leftover seats won't be sold as general admission?

Best part about this is that essendrugs isnt considered big 4 :D

EDIT: This was my 1000th post and i used it bagging essendrugs, couldnt be happier

You do not need to buy a reserved seat upgrade. It's simply an option available to you, today was really just to let members know tickets are on sale today and we encourage reserved seat upgrades.
Okay that makes more sense, I definitely got it wrong then! Thanks for the reply! There seems to be a lot of confusion on the Facebook page about it also, so it got me nervous.

Definitely didn't mean to sound rude, was just confused!

You can still get general for all these games I'm sure. Why wouldn't you be able to ? The Hawks game only draws 50k so you're telling me that 45,000 leftover seats won't be sold as general admission?
I just read it wrong I think. To me it sounded more that reserved seating was a must for those 3 games, not just an option.

This is just a silly thread that can be deleted by the sounds of it, but I definitely thank people for their replies. My question has definitely been answered and I feel much more relieved now :)

Go Tiges!

So this picture is currently on facebook, basically saying that the AFL has changed ticketing this year and for these 3 Tigers games members need to buy a reserved seating upgrade. From what I understand

The AFL has changed ticketing this year. They have introduced the A-reserve category - different from A category.

The round-11 Essendon-Richmond game is an A-reserve game. The games in this thread are A, A and B category games.

But it gets confusing looking at the AFL ticket info. It implies that you have to pay $8.50 extra for a rubbish ticket up the back like the OP suggests.

http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/venues/mcg

The AFL has changed ticketing this year. They have introduced the A-reserve category - different from A category.

The round-11 Essendon-Richmond game is an A-reserve game. The games in this thread are A, A and B category games.

But it gets confusing looking at the AFL ticket info. It implies that you have to pay $8.50 extra for a rubbish ticket up the back like the OP suggests.

http://www.afl.com.au/tickets/venues/mcg
That's where it got all confusing for me, the fact that I got a text about an A,A and B game for reserve seating and the ticketing info says those games should be fine for general members, then all the reserved prices and categories got confusing, then my head got confused haha

Luckily there is an excellent community here at bigfooty that are happy to help straight away!

This was discussed a bit last year, but as demand for Richmond games increases, you eventually will have to get reserved seating to attend games as General Admission has the potential to sell out in that scenario. Although, we're lucky that we play home games at the biggest sporting stadium in Australia. I'm just saying don't be surprised if sometimes you do have to pay extra. Take for example the Interstate games, Richmond has been offsetting the cost of our tickets for a number of years now. This year they've made that $10 for adults, still extremely cheap and way cheaper than General Admission, but in order to get a ticket you have to pay. Easy decision though.

It's bullshit. Another money making scam by Vlad and the Australian Football Crime League (AFCL)
Oh - I thought it was the Anal Fellatio Lesbian Commission that Vlad headed up ???

Question RFC_Official regarding the Premiership Circle membership.

This is quoted on the package:
Premiership Circle (home & away) benefits include: Admission and reserved seating for all home games at the MCG on Level 2 in the Ponsford Stand (NB except for Richmond home games v Collingwood).

Does this mean I have to upgrade to a reserved seat for the Collingwood game in round 4, much like upgrading to a reserved seat for last year's Dreamtime game? Thanks in advance.

Take for example the Interstate games, Richmond has been offsetting the cost of our tickets for a number of years now. This year they've made that $10 for adults, still extremely cheap and way cheaper than General Admission, but in order to get a ticket you have to pay. Easy decision though.

Also because we were locking away tickets for people, and they weren't turning up (because they were free). If you put a $10 value to something, people will turn up. The game we beat West Coast last year we were left with 100 tickets because people didnt turn up, and we had probably 2-300 on the waiting list, not a good result for anyone involved.

Great point. I know our end is usually pretty loud at Subi but for 100 people to not show up is pretty disappointing, especially since they could easily let the club know who can then give the ticket to someone else.

Absolutely fair points. Thanks Dr and Stig :)

It isn't so much the price that I was annoyed about, more that I felt like the membership I got just simply wasn't good enough, and for a person more in the student income range was a shock because I was simply just expecting to be able to go to those matches with my membership. I do definitely understand that we are a popular team and tickets are going to become harder to come by for sure.

I guess I just wasn't expecting that kind of thing this year after getting my membership, perhaps I should have upgraded from the start to a higher value membership. I have got 3 new members to join this year though so I wouldn't want to go without them anyway. It maybe would have been wise to mention this may have happened before the membership campaign started.

Its all good though! Thanks heaps for the responses, in the end I am happy to sit in the nose bleed if thats the case! Thanks :)

Question RFC_Official regarding the Premiership Circle membership.

This is quoted on the package:

Does this mean I have to upgrade to a reserved seat for the Collingwood game in round 4, much like upgrading to a reserved seat for last year's Dreamtime game? Thanks in advance.

JFYI this is because they Pies get access to the Ponsford for their social club in all games (including away) in their deal with the MCC

Club covered your q back in September:

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2013-09-10/richmond-to-rally-in-ponsford-stand-in-2014

Richmond’s Level 2 Premiership Circle membership will expand into the Ponsford Stand at the MCG next year, turning a section of level 2 into a Richmond area during its home games.

Richmond fans that choose to purchase or upgrade to the Premiership Circle membership will have a Level 2 reserved seat in the Ponsford Stand for home games, exclusive access to the Dean Jones Bar at the MCG, as well as guaranteed access to purchase a Grand Final ticket, should Richmond be competing. Outside of being a coterie member, Maurice Rioli and Premiership Circle memberships are the only way to guarantee yourself access to purchase a Grand Final ticket if the Club competes.

The Club has only 2000 reserved seats in the Ponsford Stand to sell, with 500 of these seats expected to be snapped up by those currently on the Premiership Circle waiting list.

Richmond attracted over one million footy fans to its games this year, topping the season with an all-time record crowd of almost 95,000 for the elimination final against Carlton.

Prices for Premiership circle memberships are: Adults $450, Concession $370, Children $150 and Family $1,140.

The only game that Richmond does not have access to reserved seating in the Ponsford Stand is when the Tigers play a home game against Collingwood, which happens every second year on average. Premiership Circle members in the Ponsford Stand will have general admission access for Collingwood home games, and this has been taken into consideration when pricing this product.

You do not need to buy a reserved seat upgrade. It's simply an option available to you, today was really just to let members know tickets are on sale today and we encourage reserved seat upgrades.
so if i rock up early to these games as i always do for cheer sqd seat tickets, i can 'swipe in' using my Membership? as these games are never sold out & there are still empty seats up on the top level but as i sit in cheer sqd i already have a seat via my seat ticket, even tho i still need my membership to get me into the ground itself.
Note = as i am a 3121 Member i pay enough for the priviledge of going to the Football considering i rarely use that seat anyway. if i have any issue's this year i'll have no option but to downgrade my membership!

so if i rock up early to these games as i always do for cheer sqd seat tickets, i can 'swipe in' using my Membership? as these games are never sold out & there are still empty seats up on the top level but as i sit in cheer sqd i already have a seat via my seat ticket, even tho i still need my membership to get me into the ground itself.
Note = as i am a 3121 Member i pay enough for the priviledge of going to the Football considering i rarely use that seat anyway. if i have any issue's this year i'll have no option but to downgrade my membership!

We might not have explained ourselves well enough. This is purely for 'big' games, as are the first three we play. For average attendance games against teams like Fremantle, Western Bulldogs, Brisbane, etc you enter the ground as per usual.

However if there is a sell out, i.e it's a fully ticketed game, you will not get into the ground without a reserved seat as per any other year. We've had a lot more sellouts the last 2 years, we are simply warning people in advance as opposed to during the week of the game.

You will be fine and there is no need to be downgrading a membership.