He returns

• Thread starter Thread starter kirky

Originally posted by ant
Well, he actually went to the game, that was just my take on him from the telly...and plus Stiffy is much more knowledgeable about football than myself, so I too will be reading with interest!
No slur against you ant:confused: it was more or a stirr than a real question.

I was at the game - there was no way I was going to miss his comeback. I sat with my heart in my mouth every time he went to ground..........but after 8 goals I walked away with a massive smile on my face. He was fabulous. It was STEVO. Now to see how his knee pulls up - but all the signs were encouraging. He played the whole game which was a bonus. If it does pull up ok, I reckon he has a fair chance of being in the Crows side next week.

As for the Flying Fergie - he too is fantastic. He is a MASSIVE talent. I can't wait for him to play for the Crows. He is going to be a star.

Excellent day all round - thanks to the Eagles and a good win & Stevo getting through the game AND kicking 8 goals.

Woohoo!!!

k
xx

Well, I went to the game and that was the most nervous I have been for years. Understandbaly like any other Crows supporter my heart was in my mouth whenever Stevo got close to the footy.

All I can say he was FANTASTIC and just made me realise even more how much we need him. If his knee pulls up well after that game then there will be no problem with him playing on for the rest of the year and the next couple. He landed heavily on it a few times in a real Stevo fashion. He played out the whole game which was encouraging. He was blowing over a few trees at the end of the match but thats expected considering he hasn't played for yonks. Regardless he will be a bit sore tommorrow because he got a real workout. He got crunched a few times and was thrown to ground on a few others but as I said if he pulls up OK after today then we got nothing to worry about.

On Watts, not his best game but he wasn't disgraced either. Didn't get a lot of marks but got a bit of the ball at ground level. Kicked a couple of opportunistic goals, one a fantastic kick from acute angle while he is being tackle and the second from roving a ruck contest. Got to love his physicality. He tackled, he threw his weight around and dished out a bit of biff. Love that part of his game :D

Scott Stevens played first half on Watts and while he didn't get a lot of possesions he kept Watts pretty quiet. Moved forward in the second half and hardly saw it because the ball hardly ever got there. He did kick a goal.

BUrns was Burns early but I haven't seen him in the second half. Anyone know whats happening there??????

If Stevo pulls up OK I would bring him straight back in even tho it is obvious he is pretty rusty. I would also play Watts despine not being his usual magnificent self today ;)

Burnsy had a bad back, due to old age, or so they said on the telly.

And yeah, Fergie has a bit of mongrel in him, and he really does throw himself around, all good signs. Imagine when he has an even bigger frame, he'll cause some damage.

Originally posted by ant
Burnsy had a bad back, due to old age, or so they said on the telly.

And yeah, Fergie has a bit of mongrel in him, and he really does throw himself around, all good signs. Imagine when he has an even bigger frame, he'll cause some damage.
That would explain why Burns was not sighted ;)

I just love Fergie because he throws his weight around and has a bit of a mongrel in him. As you say, imagine what he will be like when he gets to be 100+ kg. Even if he is not winning the footy he is intimidating his opponent with his physicality.

Anyone know how Schuback and Reilly played today??????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Anyone know how Schuback and Reilly played today??????
I asked the exact same question on the regional boards and I have no reply...:mad:

I went to watch South and Centrals today...(I dont know why)

Wanted to watch Nick "Gleeson" Prokopek play today...but he had to have a stint in the ressies DIDNT he?!? And I missed those...

Argh.... :mad:

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
I asked the exact same question on the regional boards and I have no reply...:mad:

I went to watch South and Centrals today...(I dont know why)

Wanted to watch Nick "Gleeson" Prokopek play today...but he had to have a stint in the ressies DIDNT he?!? And I missed those...

Argh.... :mad:
Trusty old sanfl website :D

Unley Oval Saturday May 22, 2:20 pm
Sturt 1.5 6.9 9.9 15.15 (105)
West Adelaide 1.3 5.3 12.8 12.10 (82)

Sturt
Goals: Chambers 3.3, Reilly 3.1, White 3.0, Squite 2.2, Weatherald, Richardson, Nelson 1.1, Beveridge 1.0, Klun, Sheedy 0.1, rushed 0.4
Best: Whiteman, Feast, Squire, Reilly, Sheedy, Chaplin, Weatherald.
West Adelaide
Goals: Champion 3.1, Howard, Richardson 2.0, Hassan 1.2, Kent, Hahn, Ayres, Porplyzia 1.0, Rusca 0.2, Malinovski 0.1, rushed 0.4.
Best: Rutten, Howard, Richardson, Rusca, Glover, Portplyzia.
Comment: INJURIES - West: Steinfort (hamstring) replaced in selected side by Charles. UMPIRES - T. Pfeiffer, S. Scriven, S. Grun.

Glenelg are yet to play......:o

Surely Reilly HAS to come in now.

Torney and Rutten were named as their sides best players. Both should be considered.

Glenelg V Norwood is on tomorrow, I dont think there is any radio coverage.

I went to see Centrals play Souths. Souths had their moments were they looked alright, but could not put it together for a whole quarter. They got smashed in the second, it was just about all over for em. They fell into the trap of playing out wide at NAP.

Centrals were sloppy and lacked intensity at times but did enough to hold out Souths, esp in the second and late into the third.

From a Crows POV - Jason Torney was excellent. He played in the middle and got heaps of the ball, he was running around on his own most of the day. Gave the Panthers plenty of drive and nearly kicked a goal from 60 m out. Very good game, should play next week.

I was one of these blokes pushing for Aiden Parker to be promoted to the seniors.

I havent said anything on another thread as I wanted to see him play for myself before I made a comment.

Perhaps I caught him on a bad day but he looks almost nothing like the player I saw last year. I dont know if his confidence has dropped because he is still a rookie or if the environment at AFC isnt inspiring him. Maybe Pyman doesnt have as much faith in him. I cant figure it out.

He still has this bad habit of kicking across the face of goals in his back half.

However today he didnt hit targets often enough. Didnt play in front and didnt run from defence. Took one strong mark in the second. Got moved off Schell.

I dont think Pyman knows what to do with him. He was in defence early and the Panthers backline were very sharp.

Then late in the first he is lead ruck (won a tapout). then in the second he is in defence, then half forward, then defence again for the second half. He is all over the joint. Would not promote him after seeing that. Needs to improve.

I set the video to tape the Eags V Pies game.

Scott Stevens was pretty reliable in defence early. he did an honest job until he went to attack. That is the most incompetent Magpies midfield I have ever seen. Never thought I would say that.

Fergus Watts was a reasonable contributer. Took a couple of nice marks and kicked some good goals. Didnt mind putting the mody into the pack or smothering the ball. Gave out some clever handballs and straightened his side up. I liked him in defence too. Didnt take the world by storm, but was handy.

Mark Stevens - should be playing FF for the Crows soon. I hope he pulls up alright. Lead well, did some gutsy stuff. Full marks to Turbo.

Trusty old sanfl website :D

Glenelg are yet to play......:o

Surely Reilly HAS to come in now.
Stiffaay!! You legend! :D

Brent you little beauty:D ...wow he does play well when I dont watch..

..But I WANT to go to crows matches..it hurt having to watch south and centrals today... :(

And three goals :) He played pretty well against Westies last year at Unley..32 possesions.

Are my eyes decieving me? Is he not listed for an injury? What has this world come to!

Know anythng about the possesions Stiffaay?

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Stiffaay!! You legend! :D

Brent you little beauty:D ...wow he does play well when I dont watch..

..But I WANT to go to crows matches..it hurt having to watch south and centrals today... :(

And three goals :) He played pretty well against Westies last year at Unley..32 possesions.

Know anythng about the possesions Stiffaay?
I thought that might put a smile on your face :D

I think we will have to wait for sunday mail tommorrow to get the stats ;)

Schell has kicked 11 goals in the last two weeks. Let's redraft him.

That is fantastic news about Turbo's return for WWT it will get his confidence up high and he will be back in the Red,Gold and Blue very soon I think he needs at least another 1-2 games before being considered for a recall, give him time and he will deliver the goods;)

I just got home from the Bays game, and am happy to report that Bode played well and should be a monty for the Hawks next week.
He played on the ball almost the whole game (acouple of spells on the forward flank). and out ran and out classed all day (beat borlace easily, Unfortunatly i dont know the name of the other fella he played *No 19*on but he beat him too).
he DID burn a lot of the ball ( maybe 6-8 inafective disposals and 3 clangers).
But he would have my votes for BOG.
I hope gary gets a video and gives him a run next week.

Originally posted by jc67
I just got home from the Bays game, and am happy to report that Bode played well and should be a monty for the Hawks next week.
He played on the ball almost the whole game (acouple of spells on the forward flank). and out ran and out classed all day (beat borlace easily, Unfortunatly i dont know the name of the other fella he played *No 19*on but he beat him too).
Problem is those ineffective disposals and clangers are the reason he's playing for the bays.

I thought that might put a smile on your face :D

I think we will have to wait for sunday mail tommorrow to get the stats ;)
Well I went for my morning jog (pigs ass) and saw that he only got 12 possesions..then I realised that he WAS playing in a foward pocket. So really, 12 possesions and three goals in a foward pocket (where he doesnt actually play :mad: ) is a pretty nice effort! :D
Go radar!

Maybe we could have him in a foward pocket with Shuby in a couple of weeks??

What about Schuback and Andrews from Glenelg and Gallagher from Norwood??????

Shuback was the clanger king (dunno if he looks first or what, very fit though) although he got a fair bit of it and kicked a couple? Maybe 3.
Didn’t pay any attention to Andrews (my ignorance is showing) I don’t even know his number. Is he on our senior list?
And Gallagher did alright, he got lots of if but wasted some. He’ll be back soon.

It was a very scrappy game overall, but as I said earlier Bode was good.
And as for his turnovers they were all kicked to a good position under pressure, I would hope that a crow’s player would read that and get to that position/space.

Great game by stevens, should get at least 2 more games for the EAGLES before he gets qualified for finals...... I mean match fit and ready for AFL level.

Anyone who heard that absolute serial radio pest "malcolm" call 5aa the other day complaining that the problem with the crows is that they have too many eagles players, and that they should be spread out amongst all clubs.

What a tool!! Just because his side is struggling.

GO EAGLES

To much burn ing the ball at SANFL level if he burns the ball that much he anit going to be much use to us on Saturday leave him in the SANFL where he belongs