Heat Wave

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Long range forecast for Thursday is 27 degrees and rain. Welcome back Port Adelaide! ;)

My hockey got cancelled last night which was ridiculous as we had a 9pm game. The week before was hotter and we played at 7pm! I cracked the sads the week before and insisted that we play quarters instead of halves. I have had serious dehydration (heat stroke) once before playing hockey in 36 degree heat and wasn't going to have it happen again. Also a member of our cricket club died playing in the heat the other week which was enough to make me reconsider my priorities.

Anyway, the stupid d***head umpire wanted to argue about playing quarters even though it's a summer, social comp with no points, ladders etc. I finally got my way when I threatened to go home (helps that I'm the best player for his side)

As it was, I drank about a litre of gatorade before the game, the same during it and I still felt like shyte afterwards. Reckon I lost a few kgs during the match. Sadly it goes straight back on again when I rehydrate!

Yeah I just found out at training that my footy got cancelled. Thank goodness for that!

I had a corky anyway ;)

I feel for you guys. Spoke to my dad yesterday and he is struggling in the heat. Hope you don't get black outs as a result of the peak electricity usage over the next week.

In Qld they have record rain fall in Febuary. MacKay got 600mils in a 24 hour period. In Sydney in February we had only 3 days of average or above average tempatures for the month. 3 weeks ago we got February's average rainfall in just over an hour. Most of last week and the next we have finally got decent weather.

What I don't understand is we spend a billion dollars of faulty helicopters and 20 billion on inflationary tax cuts.

Why don't we fund some sort of piping running from Far North Queensland and also Darwin to the top of the Murray/Darling Basin. So the excessive rainfalls in wet season can be used for a good purpose rather than substanstially running out into the ocean.

It also bugs me we will spend 5 billion on a de sal plant with who knows what it will do environmentally when we could do what I suggested above, also recycle more more for business via wetlands and recycling waste water. Not to mention making it mandatory for new house to divert washing machine water and shower water into gardens instead of into storm water. It should also be mandatory for 5,000 ltr rainwater tanks be installed into new house and also be solar panel reliant. The government subsidising these measures to a degree would surely do us more good environmentally.

Politicians, good for one thing. NOTHING.

Sorry my rant isn't edited

What I don't understand is we spend a billion dollars of faulty helicopters and 20 billion on inflationary tax cuts.

Why don't we fund some sort of piping running from Far North Queensland and also Darwin to the top of the Murray/Darling Basin. So the excessive rainfalls in wet season can be used for a good purpose rather than substanstially running out into the ocean.

It also bugs me we will spend 5 billion on a de sal plant with who knows what it will do environmentally when we could do what I suggested above, also recycle more more for business via wetlands and recycling waste water. Not to mention making it mandatory for new house to divert washing machine water and shower water into gardens instead of into storm water. It should also be mandatory for 5,000 ltr rainwater tanks be installed into new house and also be solar panel reliant. The government subsidising these measures to a degree would surely do us more good environmentally.

Politicians, good for one thing. NOTHING.

Sorry my rant isn't edited
This is so scary!! You have been inside my head!.....All the above are my thoughts exactly....being from the country, but now living in Melb.....it really freaks me out to see such waste when it does rain....no preparation at all for catching any of it.....And these so called no-alls in charge of such decisions no absolutely nothing!!........All they have to do is speak to a country person......all those little towns and farms dont have townwater......rely on tank water and dams.....but hey, what do we, the little people, know??? A helluva lot more than those guys at the top!!..

Mate to us they are common sense, but they are not big ticket items in their eyes which will write their names into the history books.

I think it annoys alot of us at their inactivity and short sightedness.

But this isn't a state idealogy, or national, it's worldwide. Every countries politician is sitting on their hands waiting for another to move first.

Mate to us they are common sense, but they are not big ticket items in their eyes which will write their names into the history books.

I think it annoys alot of us at their inactivity and short sightedness.

But this isn't a state idealogy, or national, it's worldwide. Every countries politician is sitting on their hands waiting for another to move first.
Politics though is about perception. Putting in infrastructure (be in for water, roads, public transport, ports, etc.) before everyone is screaming about not enough doesn't interest many people. If they can be the saviour though fixing problems then people will vote for them.

As they say Democracy doesn't work. It's just every other system is even worse. ;)

Edit: And thank god have bought a house with a pool. It was bliss diving in that last night whilst it was still a stinker at 9pm. :)

Its supposed to be 37 on friday (my birthday) and then 38 on Saturday, where I will be spending the day in the kitchen at work (Work at a restaurant) where it is always 5-10 degrees hotter due to the ovens etc... It will be shit.

I know that feeling, working in a bakery on the ovens.....left a thermomoter in my general work area infront of the ovens the other day for an hour or so, and it topped 60C :mad: :thumbsd:.

As for the heatwave, I am over it. 16 days is ridiculous for March. Had a dip at the beach the other day, and it was incredibly refreshing. Hopefully it will have cooled down before the big game next Thursday night! :thumbsu:

It's certainly been an interesting summer in Australia. The east coast has had it very mild, whilst Perth had a record hot November and the hottest January in 16 years. Finally, we've had some relief in March.

Adelaide seemed to have a fairly mild summer (by your standards), but now in March it's all caught up with you.

I'm really glad for the players sake that it's likely to cool down for the season opener. Personally, I've been saying for years that the AFL season should be pushed back by a month because of the excessive March heat.

The biggest irony of it all is that the Adelaide Cup (which most of us don't give 2 hoots about) was moved from May to March to avoid the cold, wet weather.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing hey?