Herald Sun Shield 2008

• Thread starter Thread starter The Rat33

I dont care who wins the HSS to be honest...I think footy will be the real winner...All those young boys playing for there school to earn the respect for there fellow mates and friends...

Just doesnt get any better than that :D

haha ok then
anyways i think joeys will run riot, like ekc have a few good players but so do joeys
im on the bandwagon
all you people writing joeys off already just be careful what you say i reckon

haha ok then
anyways i think joeys will run riot, like ekc have a few good players but so do joeys
im on the bandwagon
all you people writing joeys off already just be careful what you say i reckon
dont beleive anyone has ridden of joeys, just blowing smoke of ekc ass's

De La Salle vs. Assumption
EKC vs. St. Josephs Geelong
There the two semis i beleive, EKC seem to be the apparent favourites but Joeys are a quality team aswell. De La thought have some talent and are very underrated.

i tink this is right ekc vs joeys at 10.45 then de la salle vs kilmore at 1.00 port melbourne which is teac oval on the 23rd july ekc has been rated the best to an shud win the 2008 herald sun shield with a players such as banner who played exceptional at nationals an mckernan both players who could win the game for them they are jsut 2 of the many standouts at ekc a pretty indiviual team an will they play for themselves or the team wen it counts it will be the difference many have ridden joeys off but sum strong performances from key players could make things interesting the other match de la salle vs kilmore should be a rather entertaining game with not much herd of either team but tippin de la salle to win although players like collis holman an sheahan who have been in great form could really prove the difference there run an carry is rather quite entertainin de la salle won the acc i tink it was an who knows wat will happen on the down i say footy will be the real winner but gudluk an get there cos it will be an awesum display of footy any other thoughts

Im a Joey's boy myself, and hopefully we'll be able to post a highlights package of our game against EKC and possibly the later game - that's only if Joey's win against EKC. We've got a surprisingly experienced commentary team, the old 3AW style will be back, completely over the top and listen to the fans!

ekc will blow it, a side that should win i think will lose through playing selfish footy don't expect much from big mckernan or white i think they struggle when the ball isn't coming to them the way they like it, used to be a fan but just starting to realise that when watching the cannons, wouldn't be suprised if banna is the same

would b interestin to c how the top teams would go againt the top teams in the aps such as melbourne grammar, hailerbury etc.

de la salle vs ack....word from the kilmore school is that de la salle are an unknown quantity...i've been following the school's 1st xviii 4 a no. of years now and am just wondering wat are de la salle's chances tommorow and can i get some insight of the side and its form as of l8?

people seemed to have writen off de la, they have gone threw the year undefeated and it wouldnt suprise me if they knock off assumption tomorrow.

ekc to big and strong and to many good players for st joeys ekc running out 40 point winners very impressive display from the boys from a PUBLIC SCHOOL !!

i was wrong about about EKC they were great todaysuprised white could mark the ball that well for his size, nathan shcroder, i know it was just a school game but he looked the goods strong beautiful kick and a good decision maker, they are going to be hard to beat EKC its going to be a ripper grand final

Good on EKC, I cant remember them being there before, but it shouldnt be surprising they finally did it - for years they've had a heap of gun players from Calder and the Jets. I'd like to see their list of draftees from about 2001 onwards, some stars have gone through that school.

Ezra
Bray
Brent
Reilly
Andrew
Welsh
Ryan
Crowley
Brad
Murphy
Daniel
Sipthorp
Brock
McLean
Lynden
Dunn
Jesse
Smith
Jake
Edwards
Matthew
White
Peter
Faulks
Matthew
O’Dwyer
2007AaronKiteAdelaide2007Mitchell FarmerPort Adelaide 2007DeanPuttRichmond2007Jeremy LaidlerGeelong2007Phil SmithBrisbane

just wondering how other schools match up to the number of drafted kids in the same time, lets not forget either this school dosent hand out scholarships either, all of these kids came to the school by them selves, not because the football coach told them too.
and you dont have to wear a blazer either and thibk that your better than anyone which is a bonus!!!

EKC by 5-7 goals, too big, too skillfull, too many guns, their midfield is a top line TAC CUP, how are ack going to stop all of them, if one is down there are 4-6 others that can step up!!!

how many players at ack are there on football scholarships????

best of luck to all who get a gig on the hallowed turf!!

Off to the MCG!

by Matt Nicholls

DOWN on their knees at three-quarter-time, Assumption College’s first XVIII produced a stunning final term effort to overcome De La Salle by eight points in a thrilling match on Wednesday.
The Dark and Light Blues are now off to the MCG, where they will play powerhouse Essendon Keilor College in the final of the Herald Sun Shield.
The semi-final victory signals a remarkable turnaround in Assumption College football, which suffered dramatically over the last two seasons.
Some pundits even thought ACK would never again rise to the top, as other colleges were offering scholarships to talented sportspeople around Victoria to lure them to their schools.
But in true Assumption style, the Dark and Light Blues fought back, defeating De La Salle in one of the all-time great matches.
ACK controlled the first half to lead by 21 points at the main break, and the crowd was starting to question De La Salle’s football credentials.
But the Malvern school turned up to play in the second half, and in the space of nine minutes, piled on six goals in the third term to open up a 16-point lead.
It seemed inevitable to the crowd that the Kilmore students would be overrun by their seemingly classier rivals, but a late goal from star Assumption forward Luke Gestier reduced the margin to 10 points heading into the final stanza, giving the Dark and Light Blues a sniff of victory.
The next quarter, as they say, is history.
Producing one of the most stunning final terms in Assumption College history, the Blues started slowly, conceding a point, but quickly responded with a mark and goal through Simon Collis.
Despite ACK’s soaring confidence levels, De La Salle responded quickly, and it appeared as if they would have the answers in a 20-minute quarter with no time-on.
But the one quality that separates Assumption footballers from most others is their willingness to work harder than opponents when the chips are down.
It was an armwrestle in general play, but somehow Assumption found a way to move the ball forward.
Still trailing by 11 points, ACK scrounged a kick from a stoppage in the forward pocket, landing in the open arms of talented utility James Lawton.
Despite a difficult angle, the boarder from New South Wales calmly went back and slotted the major, much to the appreciation of Assumption’s small but vocal fan base.
With five minutes remaining, it was still anyone’s game, but the De La Salle players were out on their feet and starting to panic.
In a piece of play that will go down in ACK footy folklore, the goal that put Assumption back in the lead came from perhaps the most unlikely of sources.
Sam Vale, Assumption’s vice-captain and general in defence, took the initiative to run from the backline, read the play and receive a handball whilst running towards goal.
There was a clear reluctance to have a shot, but once Vale made the decision, he looked calm and duly put it through.
It was a monumental outcome and personified Assumption’s willingness to take risks when under pressure.
At the restart of play, the Dark and Light Blues refused to go defensive – despite holding a one-point lead – and took the attack right up to De La Salle.
Through the ferocity of midfielders Jamie Sheahan, Will Holman, Jackson Garvey-Hawke and Simon Collis, Assumption moved the ball deep into its forward line.
Eventually a high ball went towards the top of the goalsquare, and with over 20 players in the vicinity, a mark was always going to be difficult.
But like his Sydney hero Leo Barry, full forward Gestier was able to pull down a grab that will long be remembered by those who saw.
Despite the shot on goal being relatively simple, the Wagga Wagga boarder said after the match it was the most nervous he has ever been in front of the big sticks. But he kicked it, his fourth, and the Dark and Light Blues advanced to a seven-point lead with just a minute to play.
De La Salle tried desperately, but Assumption once again won the centre clearance.
All the Malvern schoolboys could do was concede a behind, with the final siren going shortly afterwards.
The scenes that followed were spectacular. Players embraced one another with as much passion as you would ever see.
And that is Assumption’s First XVIII in a nutshell; the players treat one another like they are brothers.
As individuals, ACK is no better than most college football sides. But as a team, they are near unbeatable when up and firing.
Across the board, it was hard to pinpoint the best players for Assumption as all made a contribution.
But there were some standouts. Skipper Sheahan worked tirelessly in the midfield, and probably tried to do too much at various stages.
His deputy Vale was superb all day, and his defining goal highlighted his versatility.
Up forward, Gestier continually presented and kicked truly when it mattered.
Centremen Garvey-Hawke and Collis were also brilliant, and were like terriers in their attack on the ball.
Utilities Lawton and Daniel Talia took several crucial grabs around the ground and read the play expertly.
It was a superb effort by the youngsters, and although Essendon Keilor will be a tough opponent, it appears as if ACK have the talent and the commitment to bring home the prize in what will be the school’s 14th Herald Sun Shield final appearance in 30 years.
SCOREBOARD
ACK 2.2, 5.3, 6.4, 10.5 (65) d
DLS 1.2, 1.6, 7.8, 8.9 (57).
Goals (A): L. Gestier 4; S. Collis 2; J. Lawton, T. Wright, S. Day, S. Vale.
Best: J. Sheahan, Vale, D. Talia, Collis, Gestier, Lawton, S. Hill.

I must say that it looks like EKC will win.
But i was just wandering what the atmosphere at both the respective schools is like? Is everybody pumped?

Ezra
Bray
Brent
Reilly
Andrew
Welsh
Ryan
Crowley
Brad
Murphy
Daniel
Sipthorp
Brock
McLean
Lynden
Dunn
Jesse
Smith
Jake
Edwards
Matthew
White
Peter
Faulks
Matthew
O’Dwyer
2007AaronKiteAdelaide2007Mitchell FarmerPort Adelaide 2007DeanPuttRichmond2007Jeremy LaidlerGeelong2007Phil SmithBrisbane

just wondering how other schools match up to the number of drafted kids in the same time, lets not forget either this school dosent hand out scholarships either, all of these kids came to the school by them selves, not because the football coach told them too.
and you dont have to wear a blazer either and thibk that your better than anyone which is a bonus!!!

EKC by 5-7 goals, too big, too skillfull, too many guns, their midfield is a top line TAC CUP, how are ack going to stop all of them, if one is down there are 4-6 others that can step up!!!

how many players at ack are there on football scholarships????

best of luck to all who get a gig on the hallowed turf!!

didnt white leave Bernards for a scholarship to EKC? or just left because he was to good for Bernards?

Dont Think De la Or Joeys, or Any ACC teams offer scholarships anyway, nor do they have Boards

st joeys dont offer scholarships in anything including football, and unlike EKC, dont have a dedicated football program.
full credit to EKC though. a much better side.
my tip to take the big one home.