Here we go....Hawks blaming the Umps!

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
Just listening to 3aw and a few hawk fans have called in and been dumping on the umps. I remember thinking even when we were behind the umps were pretty good and if anything we had probably been hard done by (pendles and Davis decisions were average).

But the main gripe is the contest in the goal square where Brown was holding onto Burgoyne (i think) - technically was probably a free but that is the way the umpire that decision year in year out as long as I can remember so bit rich to pick it out last night. The other ones were the Hodge non high paid and whilst Matthews and Richo were saying on Ch7 it was high I couldnt see it (and watched it a few times). If it was anything it was a brush and in the context of the game it wasnt there. Nor was the Puopolo decision wrong in my view. He didnt dispose of it.

If you ask me the three most obvious calls that werent paid in last qtr were the Dawes in the back on the wing (Stratton), Burgoyne dropping the ball on the wing and Sewell not being given 50 (and he did it all night) when he refused to give the ball back.

Umpiring was fine and didn't change the outcome of the match.

I thought we were given some really stiff decicions (which once home and watching the replay they agreed with), such as in the first quarter some HTM against Leon, a few HTB decisions and the no-50 for Dawes (cost us a goal if you will). The Burgoyne free for incorrect disposal/HTB was a disgrace too.

Then we had a quick HTB last quarter in the last minute or so, the high free not paid to Hodge (which shouldn't have been) and a few others I can't remember.

It was fairly even.

Having said that, it's human nature really. It was so close, I know I would've been absolutely gutted. Shattered. Broken. I would've blamed the non-50 against Dawes probably. I would've broken some furniture. And we are Collingwood!

Everyone loves to hate us, we're just that good. So of course other teams are getting behind the Hawks too. Lap it up.

Go Pies!

Every teams supporters have sooks that do this after a close loss.

Last week it was Carlton supporters.

I remember some of your supporters did the same after the 07 prelim.

Unfortunately it reflects badly on all of us.

It was our poor kicking for goal in the first 3 quarters that cost us more than anything.

Watched the replay after the match to prepare myself for the whinging hawk workmates on Monday. Hodge free kick was play on 9 times out of 10. Barely brushed him and by throwing himself about he probably hurt his case.

The shepherding one that everyone is complaining about it is a joke. If I had some editing software i could put together a montage of instances where this happens week in and week out. No free kick.

And the Puopolo one in my opinion was a free kick during the year, but typically is let go in finals footy. However, given the HTB frees against Blair and Davis during the match, the umpires were consistent.

I watched the replay this morning and tbh didn't think the umpiring was overly one sided. I hate it when supporters blame the umps for a loss as it takes the gloss off a great game and makes them look like sore losers. Before any hawks fans reply to this, I'm fully aware pies are as bad as any in regards to whinging about the umps (it pisses me off when our supporters do it too)

Every teams supporters have sooks that do this after a close loss.

Last week it was Carlton supporters.

I remember some of your supporters did the same after the 07 prelim.

Unfortunately it reflects badly on all of us.

It was our poor kicking for goal in the first 3 quarters that cost us more than anything.

C'mon mate '07 we were robbed!;)

No mention of the Tarrant 25m kick backwards that went OOB?

Deliberate every day of the week - ask Sam Mitchell.

Yep, that was probably the clearest one to me. Extremely lucky not to be called there.

In case you haven't noticed, (almost) everybody hates us. This happens every single time in close matches we win.

just wondering if you think maxwell deserved the free kick when HE charged the hawk player and then went down like the girl he is ? . he also did the same thing against the saints . certainly not captain material . its no secret collingwood get favoured by the umps , the draw , the MRP etc . its not the amount of free kicks given , its the timing of them at critical times during games that gives you the gifts .
You got lucky last night , simple as that , we lost due to some inexperienced youth who will be better next year and wipe the floor with you .
im hoping for a cats win and someone gives maxwell a reason to go down , maybe the tommahawk screaming out at full tilt for a mark collecting him mid air . that would do nicely .

just wondering if you think maxwell deserved the free kick when HE charged the hawk player and then went down like the girl he is ? . he also did the same thing against the saints . certainly not captain material . its no secret collingwood get favoured by the umps , the draw , the MRP etc . its not the amount of free kicks given , its the timing of them at critical times during games that gives you the gifts .
You got lucky last night , simple as that , we lost due to some inexperienced youth who will be better next year and wipe the floor with you .
im hoping for a cats win and someone gives maxwell a reason to go down , maybe the tommahawk screaming out at full tilt for a mark collecting him mid air . that would do nicely .

Insulting our premiership captain? Bugger off back to your own board & sook amongst the other princesses there.

Hawks were ripped off

Hodge should have got a free in the last quarter, then straight after the pies got the softest 50.

Theere were also two blantant holding int he goalsquare when shepheding through a goal.

Also, the first goal you guys got was frm a 50 wasn't it?

It's Collingwood, of course every other team is going to blame the umpires. We won the pre season cup, finished the season 20 wins 2 losses (one by less than a goal), made it through to the Grand Final without losing a final but we are still 'lucky to be there'. If we win next week it will be the umpires, if we lose we will have choked and it will be 'karma' for some unknown reason.

If any other club had achieved what we have over the last two years this bulls*&t would be laughed at by the other clubs, but it's Collingwood. They hate us because they are envious because we are the Biggest and Proudest Club in the land and they are not. No other club attracts the crowds and media attention that we do or can spend $ on facilities like us and they can't stand it. People don't understand what it is to be a Collingwood supporter, we are a unique team and the passion of our supporters is second to none.

The irony is that without the $ we generate some of them wouldn't even exist and the more they hate us the more people go to watch us play, the more $ we make and the bigger we get.

Win, Lose or Draw next week, every other team in the league that didn't make the Grand Final wishes they did and hates us for making it again.

And we don't care because we are COLLINGWOOD.

So the fact that Hawthorn missed easy shots at goal didn't contribute to the loss.
Stop blaming the umpires and look at the players that missed their shots.

Hawks were ripped off

Hodge should have got a free in the last quarter, then straight after the pies got the softest 50.

Theere were also two blantant holding int he goalsquare when shepheding through a goal.

Also, the first goal you guys got was frm a 50 wasn't it?

Guera's wig must have slipped down over his ears. He didn't hear the Ump call him back on the mark three times. Advanced hair? Yeah, yeah!

Here we go....Hawks blaming the Umps!