• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Hold your head high :

Polak: Tried hard all day, pulled down strong marks and showed the older players how to do it.

Woods: Strong down back, silky skills deserves a place next week.

Bell: Tried hard all day, as per usual

Hadrill: Played well down back and took some strong marks

Parker: Mr Consistent back to his usual self

Hang your head low

Headland: Totally useless, couldnt hold the ball, put in poor efforts with no second efforts. Should be in the WAFL next game.

Croad: We may as well had 17 people on the field such was this morons use.

Farmer: Angry head did nothing.

Chris Conolloy: Your **** weak, drag these players and kick them back to the seconds.Show some balls and for crying out loud punish players.

The rest of the side frankly were useless to.

Bring on McPharlin.

I'd add Roger Hayden to the Hold your head up high list. The only other blokes that should be in that list are Woods and Bell. The rest of the blokes need to take a long hard look at themselves.

Agree with FD: Hayden worked hard all day IMO.

Sabre: I was thinking the same thing today, our so called 'stars' are middle of the road at best in that side. It is players like Dion Woods, Paul Medhurst and Peter Bell et all who are the engine room of the Dockers.

Bell was superb. Woods has good skills and is a gutsy player. Cook always does well in derbies and did well, considering he's been missing for weeks. And Hayden's not bad at all. They would have been your best in my view.

Saw nothing today to alter my previous opinion that the signing of Croad has been a disaster for your lot.

Connolly was outcoached today, no doubt about it.

Headland is a bit lost. Needs to get his confidence up and start running as hard as he was at Brisbane, and try create space for himself. He seems to be doubting himself.

Croad needs to focus on the ball and not the man. He will never be a superstar, but he does have speed, strength and can the footy long so maybe he needs to find a different position. Him leading from the square doesn't seem to be working.

Farmer couldn't get involved at all and seems to lose focus at times. Needs to work harder and keep at it, even if things aren't falling the Dockers way. Has looked better this season but was shut down today, and to be fair, didn't have all that many chances, especially in the first half.

headland, perhaps it was bris that made des look better than he is ?????
croad, well hes a kiwi so he is on the backfoot before he starts

farmer, i think jeff thought it would be eaiser than it is at freo if he would get it togeather he would more than worthwile

Oh well, we'll belt Essendon next week and get flogged by the Bullies the following week and so will continue the zany Groundhog Fortnight us Fremantle supporters seem to exist in.

Some thoughts...

There's a problem when it's a bunch of no-names with about 40 or so collective games under their belts who are the ones consistently amongst our best players while fellas earning up to fifteen times more than them fail to contribute. Polak, Woods, Hayden, Haddrill...I salute you.

Farmer and Croad seem to be pretty popular targets round these parts and I can understand to a point (their performance has yet to be commensurate with their price), but when some of the blokes who are supposed to be feeding them forget how to play fortnightly there's not much they can do about it.

Farmer was given space and good delivery last week and showed us what we already knew he was capable of. He wasn't this week and so he gets crucified - he needs room and West Coast permitted none. Plus he's got another fancy young punk in the other pocket stealing half his thunder.

Croad just isn't a forward. He was pretty good on the ball against the Tigers and impressive across half-back against the Roos. I'd like to see him at half-back where he can use his athleticism, aggression and booming hoof to move the ball forward, McPharlin when fit take over from Polak, and young Graham move up forward where I believe he could kick some serious bottom.

When we are under siege as we were today Pavlich must go to CHB or full-back. It was there he earned All-Australian status, and whilst our backman did their job with aplomb today (Dodger's ownership of Peter Matera's younger brother continues to impress), we needed Pav's class to set up our forward thrusts.

I think Des Headland deserves a little more patience than he's being shown at present. He's 21 and has been heavily tagged in almost every match this year. The likes of Voss and McLeod surely would have been older and more experienced than Des is now when they learnt to deal with and beat taggers. He will come good.

Call me a traditionalist, but when a player's hot you don't take him off the field. I think C.C's been a little too vigorous with the rotation policy that in the past fortnight have seen at least five players taken from the ground immediately after kicking goals, the most perplexing being Matty Carr's side-lining after kicking goal of the week against the Roos. I understand they need a breather, but when the adrenaline's flowing a player should be allowed to continue at it hammer and tongs.

Peter Bell is a legend.

Originally posted by RogerMellie
Oh well, we'll belt Essendon next week and get flogged by the Bullies the following week and so will continue the zany Groundhog Fortnight us Fremantle supporters seem to exist in.

Some thoughts...

There's a problem when it's a bunch of no-names with about 40 or so collective games under their belts who are the ones consistently amongst our best players while fellas earning up to fifteen times more than them fail to contribute. Polak, Woods, Hayden, Haddrill...I salute you.

Farmer and Croad seem to be pretty popular targets round these parts and I can understand to a point (their performance has yet to be commensurate with their price), but when some of the blokes who are supposed to be feeding them forget how to play fortnightly there's not much they can do about it.

Farmer was given space and good delivery last week and showed us what we already knew he was capable of. He wasn't this week and so he gets crucified - he needs room and West Coast permitted none. Plus he's got another fancy young punk in the other pocket stealing half his thunder.

Croad just isn't a forward. He was pretty good on the ball against the Tigers and impressive across half-back against the Roos. I'd like to see him at half-back where he can use his athleticism, aggression and booming hoof to move the ball forward, McPharlin when fit take over from Polak, and young Graham move up forward where I believe he could kick some serious bottom.

When we are under siege as we were today Pavlich must go to CHB or full-back. It was there he earned All-Australian status, and whilst our backman did their job with aplomb today (Dodger's ownership of Peter Matera's younger brother continues to impress), we needed Pav's class to set up our forward thrusts.

I think Des Headland deserves a little more patience than he's being shown at present. He's 21 and has been heavily tagged in almost every match this year. The likes of Voss and McLeod surely would have been older and more experienced than Des is now when they learnt to deal with and beat taggers. He will come good.

Call me a traditionalist, but when a player's hot you don't take him off the field. I think C.C's been a little too vigorous with the rotation policy that in the past fortnight have seen at least five players taken from the ground immediately after kicking goals, the most perplexing being Matty Carr's side-lining after kicking goal of the week against the Roos. I understand they need a breather, but when the adrenaline's flowing a player should be allowed to continue at it hammer and tongs.

Peter Bell is a legend.

Well said mate. Agree with everything you've written.

Once again, Roger Mellie, the Man on the Telly, gets it spot on.

Connelly was totally outcoached today. When you got as close as it got (9 points in the 3rd), Haselby I think it was kicked a goal and was taken straight off. Some players don't need to be taken off. It actually disrupts them rather than gives them a rest.

He also failed to use Pavlich or Croad sensibly at all. He didn't seem to understand what the Eagles were doing and made no significant readjustments to tactics.

I'd add Hayden, Simmonds and, despite that kick, Cook to your hold your head up list, sabre. Also, we are quite a solid side, you know. Finalists last year, well coached, vigorous, excellent ruckmen, depth in midfield.

And it was only one game for four points. Beat the Bombres next week and you're right back in the mix for the 8.

I must say I'm glad I don't have to vote in your POTY this week. Bell was outstanding though his opponent, Fletcher was probably better (mainly due to three goals). I thought Hayden looked great on Matera, and Woods and Parker were pretty reasonable given the amount of time the ball was in our forward line. Simmonds tried hard, but Gardiner is in such hot form God would be hard pressed to out perform him.

As for Croad, well he was completely stiched up by Trent Carroll of all people. Whether that's a big plus for Carroll or a major negative for Croad is still to be seen - obviously I hope its the former.

Originally posted by RogerMellie

Peter Bell is a legend.

I agreed with most of it except this?? A myriad of Docker supporters in the lead up to the Derby harped on about Fletcher bein unaccountable, that seems to hold some water after Bell racked up 28 disposal and 0 goals. But Fletcher his direct opponent was even better and actually hurt Fremantle with his 27 touches and 3 goals.

Bell might be a legend but he needs to tighten up on his opponent.

Top post RogerMellie!

I thought Cook, Bell and Hayden were outstanding for your mob. Dock the rest of the teams pay and give it to this lot - they definately earnt their salary

I've never been a fan of the rotation policy for any sport/club. If a player is running hot, the last thing they want is to be dragged to the bench. In basketball the best player with the most points and assists is the one who has usually had the most gametime - same case in footy.

Pavlich had a very quiet first half - too many breakfasters.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Chris Conolloy: Your **** weak, drag these players and kick them back to the seconds.Show some balls and for crying out loud punish players.

This is what its all about for you guys.

Everyone knows how much you invested into those players, and waht you gave up for them, and you have to get something out of them, which isn't going to happen in the WAFL.

But you must treat them like other members of the team. They are not performing, and thus they should be in the WAFL.

I've said this a few times on BF, the golden rules of trading:

NEVER trade for hot and cold players. These players run hot and cold enough in one environment. Take them out of that evnironment, then you can have all sorts of disastrous results.

Not only did Freo break this rule once, they did it twice with both Farmer and Croad.

I'm not worried about trading for Farmer, we only gave up Heath Black for him and his salary can always be reduced at the end of next year. And the Headland deal is OK even though Brennan does look like a champion but we were not to know Carlton would lose it's first 2 picks. Not to mention Adelaide had to give up a higher pick and a 2nd round pick for Carey.

It's just the Croad trade that I think might come back to bite us. McPharlin was included but we could have easily picked him in the pre-season draft. Move Trent down back I reckon when McPharlin comes back and stick McPharlin or Polak up forward.

Starting to agree with Croad being moved down back and Polak given a go at CHF. I wouldn't put Croad on any opposition guns just yet because I doubt that he has the defensive stopping skills, but if he can be thrown on one of the crabs and given a bit of a free rein, he might be able to build up some confidence.

Polak has one of the great attributes. He can mark. So it might be worth putting him in a pocket for a quarter or two, if for no other reason it might throw the opposition's defensive structure out of whack. Maybe move Medhurst up the ground for a while.