Homesickness

Sep 12, 2003
under the table
Not important
I don't think I've ever seen so many players request for a return to their state of origin than what I've seen over the past few years. Seems like even more players have requested it this year than ever before.
What is driving this? Is it a sign of the times and that perhaps today's generation simply need to be near family?

Imagine if Michael Long decided after 2 years enough was enough and he wanted to go home to St Mary's.
Or Darren Bewick wanted back to Perth.

Is it just me?

The paradox also being, technology means it's much easier to keep in better contact with people on the other side of the country than ever before.
This could be part of the drive. Players keep checking their social media, seeing home town friends and family updating fun times and they feel they are missing out.

Back in the day you'd probably make a phonecall once or twice a week, gel with your team mates as you had no choice and make a life for yourself in your new state.

This could be part of the drive. Players keep checking their social media, seeing home town friends and family updating fun times and they feel they are missing out.

Back in the day you'd probably make a phonecall once or twice a week, gel with your team mates as you had no choice and make a life for yourself in your new state.
Yes, that's a brilliant point. Rather than warding it off, it actually probably accentuates it.

I would've thought heading interstate allows you an adventure of a lifetime, an opportunity to make new friends and a chance to embrace a new environment & culture. A chance to grow up. That's just me I guess.

You don't hear about it with Soccer for example overseas. Anyhoo...

I can't remember who said it on trade week but I think it was one of the player agents that talked about how its actually the money that lures them home. He essentially said that the home state clubs of players that move interstate when they are drafted keep tabs of players who they like and then come knocking with massive offers 3/4 years down the track. So when a 21 year old kid is offered way more than his original club AND he can go home it would be very alluring.

Especially with Victorian based players interstate (as a general rule Victorian clubs dont tend to struggle with losing WA, SA, etc raised players), the Victorian clubs can offer a very lucrative or bright future post footy and with sponsorship deals and jobs once their career is done. Bigger crowds are obviously a lure as well.
Interesting to note though that West Coast, Port and Fremantle don't tend to lose a lot of players to homesickness, whereas Adelaide does, so it could be club specific as well (the Crow's pay structure is very rigid and they do not deviate).

In reality, Sydney retains players pretty well also, and a majority of GWS exodus has been talented players that cant get a game cause they are laced with top talent (Smith, Kennedy, Marchbank, Plowman, Pickett, Stewart etc) or big money offers (Treloar, Boyd). There is the occasional Wilson though that actually for family reasons want to go. It seems to be the QLD clubs and Adelaide that suffer the most.

I would've thought heading interstate allows you an adventure of a lifetime, an opportunity to make new friends and a chance to embrace a new environment & culture. A chance to grow up. That's just me I guess.

You don't hear about it with Soccer for example overseas. Anyhoo...
Could also be a generational thing.

When I was 21 I moved to London for a few years and loved every second of it, was broke for the majority as it all got spent of cheap Euro travels and pints at the local but not once did I think I was missing out back home. Obviously it's not the exact same thing, but their certainly seems to be a generation pull to stay in the home state, free agency has given this a boost as has clubs folding to young players demands to be traded back home.

I think we just have to deal with it now, as the clubs can't seem to win once the media get involved.

It sucks for the club losing a player.

Deep down, Melbourne would know Jesse Hogan is eventually going to go back home.

Even if it's not this year, I think Francis is a 90%+ chance of eventually going back to SA.

In the long run, Essendon as a club has/will continue to be on the good end (more players coming in than going out).

Its hard to understand that a player who fully believes in a clubs direction, is fully immersed in the club and has given his heart and soul to the place, has developed close friendships with his teammates, and has truly found his place in a successful team can succumb to homesickness when his family is only an hour or so away by plane.

I'm with others that have said social media could be a part of the problem rather than the solution, it depends on what makes the individual tick.

When I moved to Adelaide in the mid 90s I'd have a once a week phone call with my parents and would see my mates if they came to Adelaide, other than that it was uni holidays when I'd see everyone. There wasn't any insight into what was happening at home beyond what I was told. as such I was happy to make my own life up here, interested in hearing updates from back home, but didn't feel a strong pull to return home.

Social media also tends to show the best pieces of people's lives. It doesn't show those down moments, the mundane times, the day to day grind of life. If someone is having a bit of trouble adjusting, they go online and see all their family and mates smiling, laughing, celebrating etc. It'd make that yearning for home all the more stronger.

It seems to be the QLD clubs and Adelaide that suffer the most.
Two basketcases and a club renowned for low-balling young and fringe players. Three mediocre cities too, if I'm honest.

The snowball we're seeing though is a function of players (and suitor clubs) realising their capacity to force moves. Free agency has contributed to this, but it's all part of a broader trend.

Historically speaking though, player movement was far more free, for interstate players, before the establishment of the dominant national competition. Just run your contract down then head off to the highest bidder in the WAFL.

What is the percentage of players leaving due to homesickness though? I am sure its increased but I bet the percentage is still very low but the media likes to turn it into the bigger issue than it is.

Besides I would wager half the players that use it as the official line arent really leaving for that reason. Most of the times it money other times like in the case of the lions a few years back its because of the culture. I think the Lions lost at least 2 players due to the flogishness of Rockliff alone.

There's a huge amount of pressure on AFL players these days, much more than in the past and it will probably increase even more each year as clubs strive to gain an edge through greater professionalism and adherence to team rules. For a young kid moving away from home for the first time, already dealing with the pressure that simply comes with having the public profile of an AFL player and then needing to deal with all the physical and mental rigours of being a modern AFL player on top of that, it's hardly surprising a lot of the crack.

Add to that the fact that every talented youngster is going to have every list manager in the league getting in their ears and probably at the very least planting a seed of a thought about being able to move back home closer to friends and family.

Besides I would wager half the players that use it as the official line arent really leaving for that reason. Most of the times it money other times like in the case of the lions a few years back its because of the culture. I think the Lions lost at least 2 players due to the flogishness of Rockliff alone.
How often does a player leave a good club for 'homesickness' reasons, and especially to go to a shit club? Perhaps state-based drafts make sense. Or at least, state-preference national drafts, where clubs get a discount for taking local talent (not just academy/father-son), but can still draft the best of the rest to make sure good kids aren't missing out because the two local clubs didn't need their 'type'.

At the end of the day I really don't care what their reason is, as long as what goes around comes around. Same goes for free agency and compensation that Barrett won't stfu about. I'd be fine with any out-of-contract player being a RFA, so only contracted ones and matched offers would be traded. Make movement easier. Possibly also take compensation out of the destination clubs equivalent picks (if it's round 2 compensation, take the points off their round 2 pick). Lower clubs should receive more compensation compared to a higher club for an identical player anyway, because the pick slots in after their own pick.

Also perhaps the salary cap should be tied to the ladder finishing position (say over the last 3-5 years), so shit clubs have more money to throw around, and if they're shit for longer, then moreso than if they just took a quick dive down the ladder between premierships.

I don't think I've ever seen so many players request for a return to their state of origin than what I've seen over the past few years. Seems like even more players have requested it this year than ever before.
Correction: Never seen so many demand to be traded to 1 club only. If they asked for a return to home state it would be fairer to their current club as all states have at least 2 teams in it.
Polec, Lever, Crameri, Docherty, Yeo, Toumpas, Ryder, Weller, Cameron.. Polec was a top 5 pick and bent Brisbane over a barrell along with the wantaway 5 who were all top picks but only netted Brisbane a bunch of second and third rounders in return.

What is driving this? Is it a sign of the times and that perhaps today's generation simply need to be near family?

Player managers and the fact that some clubs offer ridiculous money. Also the fact that they cant handle being away from family and want the luxury of being drafted, but dont want to suck it up and develop independence.

Is it just me?
No. Its the fact that we live in a sport dictated and controlled by players, managers and the AFLPA. I wish the AFL had balls to stamp this out like American sports where players can have Free Agency, but the offset is clubs can trade players where they want, when they want and get adequate assets in return rather than being bent over a barrel by a player demanding to go to 1 club

See quote for my input

I actually think it's just code for mental health issues in a lot of cases.

I wouldn't be surprised if it's absolutely rampant in the AFL.

It really is the perfect storm for it. Young, immature people, huge expectations, unmatched scrutiny, the most public of workplaces.

Hardy surprising and I reckon a lot are advised by doctors to seek some comfort at home.

I dont for one second think this is a mental health thing. This generation of players and kids (cant call them adults are they cannot handle being away from home) are coming in wrapped in cotton wool with parents who pander and cannot . If my kid was going to be drafted and after 1 year or 2 wanted to come home I would say "Finish your contract and grow up." Can we not forget that this typical generation are still at home until they are in the mid 20's? How did the players handle it in the 80's and 90's? They sucked it up and played for the club. They actually finished a contract.

I would be all happy for a player wanting to come home AFTER they finish a contract AND reach free agency age. Not barely played 3 years or in Tom Boyd's case 1 year. Come back when you do your time and dont nominate just 1 club.. No: I want to go home BUT only player for club XYZ..

I would have more respect for a player who said "I dont care who I play for, just get me home to [INSERT STATE]

I think it is being slightly over used as an excuse but you have to be careful. No one really knows the circumstances of another. For me it would not be an issue. My wife well that is different as she is a lot closer to her sister and mum and being around them every week is important to her where as all of my family are in Queensland now days but i can get by seeing them once or twice a year.
It is different for everyone. No one is knocking Stringer for insisting he would not go interstate.

I think it is being slightly over used as an excuse but you have to be careful. No one really knows the circumstances of another. For me it would not be an issue. My wife well that is different as she is a lot closer to her sister and mum and being around them every week is important to her where as all of my family are in Queensland now days but i can get by seeing them once or twice a year.
It is different for everyone. No one is knocking Stringer for insisting he would not go interstate.

Living away from your kids is another thing completely though.

I would be all happy for a player wanting to come home AFTER they finish a contract AND reach free agency age. Not barely played 3 years or in Tom Boyd's case 1 year. Come back when you do your time and dont nominate just 1 club.. No: I want to go home BUT only player for club XYZ..

I'm pretty much this.. out of contract - no issue with someone asking for a trade.

If they are in contract there should be a high penalty - ie. 10-20% (or higher) pay cut for remainder of contracted period.

If you really need to go home, it's worth the pay cut.

If you're doing it for the money - then you luck out. Stick with your current club or take the cut.

It has something to do with Australian culture, most other countries (western) you move away from home to study, especially in the US, kids are so eager to go live at college no matter where in the country it is.

It is becoming a bigger and bigger problem in the AFL, teams must think long and hard about whether it is even worth drafting an interstate player these days.

It is close to a miracle how we have avoided so much of this go home business, especially throughout the saga. Myers, Colyer, Hooker, Howlett even Ryder didn't go home to WA.

Francis wanting to leave is a bit disconcerting but he doesn't appear to be adamant about it like some players. I have no worries about Fantasia leaving because he seems like the sort of bloke that would love being at the centre of the AFL world in Melbourne.

I personally would like to see the AFL ban any communication between clubs and players potentially leaving during the season especially when they are contracted. Wait until you are out of contract to make a new deal instead of reneging on your existing one. It is just plain wrong for a contracted player to be enticed to request a trade under the guise of 'homesickness' when really they have just been offered more money. If a player has a legit reason to leave then so be it.

IMO any contracted player that is traded MUST see out the monetary value of his current contract before getting paid again.

EG: If Francis did get traded he would be on whatever we are paying him now until his current contract worth expires in 2019 and then his new club can start paying him more, they are more than welcome to add on years before hand.

I actually think it's just code for mental health issues in a lot of cases.

I wouldn't be surprised if it's absolutely rampant in the AFL.

It really is the perfect storm for it. Young, immature people, huge expectations, unmatched scrutiny, the most public of workplaces.

Hardy surprising and I reckon a lot are advised by doctors to seek some comfort at home.
Maybe it's mental health. Maybe it's toughen up and start adulting.

I imagine the homesickness for a guy like Walla would be much more intense than it is for most. He seems to be going alright.

Homesickness