How do we compare to 2018?

I reckon we are in exactly the same position as last year. No better no worse. We just need to hope that we can bring our best footy in the finals like we did last year.

I think the list is in good shape if Moore is fit. The additions of Elliott, Moore and Roughead to our side from last year make a big difference, but losing Cox, Sier and Langdon pretty much balances that out. But I still think the ins are better than the outs.

Treloar is also fitter, as is Pendlebury. Grundy has improved.

I think the main difference is expectation. Last year, we were not expected to challenge, so it made the year seem so much better. We've been basically identical this year, but with more expectation. So it makes some of our performances stand out more.

Ultimately, all that matters now is how we perform in finals. The H&A season is about mere qualification. Playing Geelong at the MCG makes our 4th place finish as good as 1st or 2nd. We get an MCG first final. So we have qualified in perfect position. But it all counts for nothing because we need to play a lot better than we have in the 2nd half of the year.
I think you make a good point about Pendlebury and Treloar being fitter this year.I think people forget that these two players were playing under duress in last year’s finals series.Treloar missed 10 weeks of football after suffering a catastrophic double hamstring injury and was seriously under done in the finals.He looks much better this year.Pendlebury played the finals after recovering from viral meningitis,and looked thin and sickly throughout the finals series.He was also suffering from a crook back,which wouldn’t have helped at all.Like Treloar he looks much better this year.If these two players had been as fit last year as they are right now,then I have no doubt we would have won last year’s grand final.

Compare the pair.

I was trying to be funny Timmy. :)

Your point is valid that Moore and Shaz as a pair compensate for Langdon and Goldy. It's a broader view of the situation and it makes sense.

We're not half as dangerous as we were in 2018 from a scoring perspective. We're in better shape defensively with the simple addition of Roughead and we can largely cover the loss of Langdon with Howe and Moore.

Moore is the big key for us - if he had a strong finals series then we're in good shape to make it to the last Saturday in September and anything can happen from there.

Personnel wise I think we are better placed than last year and we just started to put together some better form at the right time. The level of opposition really doesn't come into it. We've shown through the year we can beat the top teams (no one has beaten more). So if we find our form and can bring it consistently there's little reason why we won't be a chance.

Our problems are the loss of Cox and the injury flurry in the middle of the season that derailed our form (Stevo suspension included). Without it we almost certainly would have finished top in my view. We may have just righted our form at the right time, but we don't quite have the same level of full team continuity that we had last year. Our forwards especially (other than Mihocek) have not reached the same level.

Of other teams: I feel the opposition is potentially stronger. If we had to beat the 2018 or 2019 Eagles this year I say we'd do it. The Tigers are the number one threat and the Cats and Giants are not a good matchup for us - may force us to play both Moore and Roughy in defence. Still, there are question marks over both the Lions and Cats, though Brisbane keep answering their challenges. For me, Richmond are the clear favourite and the rest is wide open.

If Elliott, Moore, Roughead, Scharenberg plus Stevo, De Goey and Steele make it through September then the team of 2019 is infinitely better than 2018.

Thinking back to pre-finals last year. We weren't being given much of a chance. Hadn't beaten anyone etc. And even optimistic fans didn't have us at Richmond's level as we'd struggled to compete with them.

This season there's little question that at our best we match anyone (best record against top teams). Again it's Richmond that looks the most difficult.

The first final is going to tell us a lot. Can we go up a gear as we did last year? If we are serious contenders we have to be beating or at least getting very close to the Cats. As a top team they've been quite underwhelming.

After getting so close last but falling short, I’m confident the playing group will be using the hurt from 2018 as motivation to rise to the next level for this finals campaign, it begins Friday night and on paper we are better positioned than 2108, the burning question is are the few coming back able to step straight in and preform.

As others have pointed out, Roughy for Goldsack along with a fitter Pendles and Treloar might be the main difference.
The major factor for me is that no matter who is selected at least 18 of the 22 picked will bring the experience of finals going all the way to the GF.

Given that it is generally accepted the club had a much easier draw last year, I’d say we compare pretty bloody well!

Every year brings opportunities for new heroes to rise Dave. Who knows, Shaz might play out of his skin and wouldn't that be an amazing story in itself?

Same could be said about Aish

How do we compare to 2018?