Analysis How do YOU get to home games? - YOUR story

How do you get to home games?

I drive from Torquay and park at the World Trade Centre. Short 10 minute walk past the old train storage sheds. Easy to get back on the West Gate from there. Can usually get to the car park from home in about an 1 hour 15. The vline from waurn ponds takes too long.

I usually go with mum and at least 1 of the kids (7). He’s so passionate but too young to understand what I’ve done to him. I feel guilty.

My wife barracks for Carlton but for the kid friendly timeslots she’ll come along so we can take the other two kids (6 & 3). I never go to a Carlton game in return. She’s a good sport.

We pack our own food. One of the kids is a coeliac so it’s too hard to find him something.

I grew up in the western districts. In the old days before Marvel we didn’t go to many saints games. Waverley was at least a 3 hour drive. Too young for Moorabbin.
I went to a lot of games at Kardinia Park with dad. He constantly reminds me I’d be 4 times happier if I had of listened to him. A lot of bad memories of saints games there. I’ll never forget Bardsleys face or Barry Hall losing the plot.

It’s been harder to get to games with the kids and i still kick around in the midday show on a Saturday. Nothing beats going to a live game but the last few years the motivation to go has been low.

I’m a big fan of marvel. Nothing better knowing i have my seat, it’s not cold wet or windy and i can get home reasonably quick. I sat on level 2 right behind the goals when Schwarze launched that goal, was part of the 55k that watched the famous 2009 saints v cats. It was a luxury going in the 2000s knowing we were going to win most of the time

I drive from Torquay and park at the World Trade Centre. Short 10 minute walk past the old train storage sheds. Easy to get back on the West Gate from there. Can usually get to the car park from home in about an 1 hour 15. The vline from waurn ponds takes too long.

I usually go with mum and at least 1 of the kids (7). He’s so passionate but too young to understand what I’ve done to him. I feel guilty.

My wife barracks for Carlton but for the kid friendly timeslots she’ll come along so we can take the other two kids (6 & 3). I never go to a Carlton game in return. She’s a good sport.

We pack our own food. One of the kids is a coeliac so it’s too hard to find him something.

I grew up in the western districts. In the old days before Marvel we didn’t go to many saints games. Waverley was at least a 3 hour drive. Too young for Moorabbin.
I went to a lot of games at Kardinia Park with dad. He constantly reminds me I’d be 4 times happier if I had of listened to him. A lot of bad memories of saints games there. I’ll never forget Bardsleys face or Barry Hall losing the plot.

It’s been harder to get to games with the kids and i still kick around in the midday show on a Saturday. Nothing beats going to a live game but the last few years the motivation to go has been low.

I’m a big fan of marvel. Nothing better knowing i have my seat, it’s not cold wet or windy and i can get home reasonably quick. I sat on level 2 right behind the goals when Schwarze launched that goal, was part of the 55k that watched the famous 2009 saints v cats. It was a luxury going in the 2000s knowing we were going to win most of the time
Brilliant post
I recall the Swarze goal well and the Aussie Jones point that was in the car park great times at Tesltra/Etihad/Marvel
That Cats game where we both came in 13-0 was like a heavy weight title fight ….the roar that night was to this day the loudest I’ve ever heard at the stadium
I’m a fan of it too - I go to G games ….feel like I’m 60 miles off the action it’s a different feel an ok but give me Marvel roof shut large crowd Saints on a roll any day

Questions answered as accurately as possible:

Start journey from Emerald Victoria

Depending on the timeslot it can take over an hour to get in to the game, night games are worse due traffic unpredictability. Getting ready is easy as we have a bag that is our footy 'kit'.

We travel up Wellington Rd, and grumble as we drive past what is left of VFL Park, then onto the Monash. If hubby is driving we get of at Montague, if I am I get off at Kings Way, due to that Montague off ramp being the :poo:est intersection in Melbourne. We pay the exorbitant fee to park under the ground due to a health issue.

And.....just because I want to whinge about the AFL this was how last Thursday went for me. Got up early because I had an appointment at Frankston Private Hospital (not close) at 9am. Got the wonderful news that my cancer has progressed and I was being taken off the trial that had been working to that point. Had to spend extra time there in order to close off some of the tests needed to conclude the trial. I also discovered that my Hb was very low and I needed a blood transfusion; but there were issues that meant they couldn't do that at Frankston and I needed to go to Holmesglen in Moorabbin. Of course there were roadworks/accidents so the trip to Moorabbin took way too long. Got there to discover they were very busy and diddn't have any chairs available until the afternoon. Killed time trying to eat a Parma at M-social (or whatever it is called). Eventually got back to Holmesglen and vampired up two bags of the good stuff; each bag takes about an hour with a bit of set up and flushing time. Then discovered that peak hour travel between Moorabbin and Emerald takes well over an hour and we finally arrive home just before 6pm. By this time it was not going to be possible to get to the game and eat a quality protein rich meal (non-negotiable) before the game started. Abandoned plans to go :rage:

Settled in to watch the game on Kayo, only to discover that Kayo had :poo: itself just before the first bounce. End up watching the game on Seven :rage::rage::rage::rage:. Game sucked!

Fortunately my :poo: day was on Thursday and not Saturday. The AFL are so far off by removing free-to air access to the game on Saturday. For many people, for many reasons, going to the game or watching on Kayo isn't an option. I am one of those people who goes to every game if it is being played in Melbourne, it is upsetting to miss. I have put unthinkable $$$$ into the game over the years, but realistically I know that it is going to be harder and harder to do. The AFL, really don't care about the fans. I love the Saints, but the AFL can get stuffed!
Amazing with all that going on and a shit AFL Thursday fixture that let’s be honest NO ONE likes (except Laura and Dillon ) you even attempt to get along and get to as many games as you do. People like you ARE the club. Great work👍

Absolutely.

I'm thinking, maybe after some time and a few more responses, of sending a link to the club's media team. So many great responses already and it's just started!

It would be great to see the club do something with these, make the fans the story for a change, we do that quite well as a club usually.

Attachments

• football-without-fans-scaled.jpeg
    football-without-fans-scaled.jpeg
    751.2 KB · Views: 9

Absolutely.

I'm thinking, maybe after some time and a few more responses, of sending a link to the club's media team. So many great responses already and it's just started!

It would be great to see the club do something with these, make the fans the story for a change, we do that quite well as a club usually.
Superb idea I think anything that brings the club closer to its fans and encourages a match day experience with fans in mind is a win! Great idea.

Drive to the Launceston airport.

Catch a plane to the Melbourne airport.

Catch the sky bus to souther cross station.

Walk to marvel.

Watch us get pumped 😂

My first ever game was round 10 2002 against the eagles we was like 2 and 7 but we won that game 😀

Between 2002 and 2010 when I flew over we would never lose and coming over was so much fun.

Last game I attended was the flogging against the lions last year at Marvel what a horrible game.

I’ll probably get over for 1 game this year but when you watch performances like last week against the dogs it’s not that inviting 😂.

I am the same except for skybus to hobart airport and occasionally stay at a mates place who lives in caufield then we head back in to the cbd for games (or me on my own or with one of my kids as he is a Pies supporter ......distinctly remember watching the first 2010 game with him at a mates place and feeling sorry for him in the 3rd quarter and should not have!)

Love posts like these - they are a great read. Thanks for making it Austinn!

For a period of time my family and I lived outer east, and I found driving and parking near Marvel fairly tolerable compared to the train.
We are now back in Bayside to help care for my in-laws, and I get the train from Hampton station. It’s a mercifully short train ride stops-wise at least.
Moving around between Southern Cross and Marvel is just awful though. Even on a low-attended game, it’s just bottlenecks pre and postgame.
The rare outing to the G feels like a real treat by comparison on this front in particular.
Some games I honestly bail out on because I can’t be bothered with the trip there and home, and TV wins.
If I had my younger years again, I’d spend my renting period in Richmond or similar and I probably wouldn’t have missed a game for 6-7 years!

They live close to the city. That's why they think it's a good idea.

For a period of time my family and I lived outer east, and I found driving and parking near Marvel fairly tolerable compared to the train.
We are now back in Bayside to help care for my in-laws, and I get the train from Hampton station. It’s a mercifully short train ride stops-wise at least.
Moving around between Southern Cross and Marvel is just awful though. Even on a low-attended game, it’s just bottlenecks pre and postgame.
The rare outing to the G feels like a real treat by comparison on this front in particular.
Some games I honestly bail out on because I can’t be bothered with the trip there and home, and TV wins.
If I had my younger years again, I’d spend my renting period in Richmond or similar and I probably wouldn’t have missed a game for 6-7 years!
Must admit the bottleneck from marvel to the train at times can be a nightmare ..wasn’t last Thursday game against the Dogs…I just pushed passed the other 3 people and was all good !!

Brilliant post
I recall the Swarze goal well and the Aussie Jones point that was in the car park great times at Tesltra/Etihad/Marvel
That Cats game where we both came in 13-0 was like a heavy weight title fight ….the roar that night was to this day the loudest I’ve ever heard at the stadium
I’m a fan of it too - I go to G games ….feel like I’m 60 miles off the action it’s a different feel an ok but give me Marvel roof shut large crowd Saints on a roll any day
The cats game noise was amazing.
I remember going to the round 1 game of 2009 versus Sydney. We were 4 goals down at 1/4 time and looking like we do now. I said to mum, it’s going to be a long year. Got that wrong, 20 wins later!
Few others like Milnes 11 against Brisbane and Gehrigs 10 when Pagan sent Fev to him 😂
Lot of our club greats milestone games.
We use to have players you go just to watch them. It’s a bit grim these days. I used to get excited by Max but haven’t been able to see him live for a long time.
I was hoping to go Saturday night but missed a ticket on level 1 or 2. Refuse to sit any higher 🤣
Was hoping to see Tauru’s debut but you just know they’ll play him as the sub

Old Man Good Job GIF

Pre electrified rail
Vline train that came from Bendigo, maybe 50min, maybe a dead body at St Albans and longer who knew. Depending on when I left or when the game was maybe wait 2hrs for a train, depends if freight rail screwed passenger rail or again St Albans 'I can beat this train..." failures.

Post electrified rail & level crossing removals
More frequent trains, less bullshit at St Albans, more stops but travel time reduced to maybe 45min.

These days I just don't go as frankly, I've no idea if the neck muscle is going to ping paralysis or not, if my RA is going to utterly kill my energy levels and mobility or what's going on with my sinus bullshit on the daily that my preference is to be with my medications and soft landings. I enjoyed going previously, even if I found it cold and the next days were generally shit regardless how many layers I had on, but these days making plans is let's say interesting and leave it there.

I preferred Waverley as could drive in and leave whenever, WGAF about mud it washes out.

Late 1960's: As a primary school kid with my dad from St Kilda station via bus to and from Moorabbin. Perhaps one hour in total. Got lost in the crowd by myself one day and had no money. Found way back to station via caring bus driver. Dad was fortunately waiting for me at the St Kilda train station...
Anyway, best memory was probably Ian "Beanpole" Cooper taking an absolute speckie right near the boundary line, ten yards or so away from us.
Arguably our best player in the 1966 premiership triumph...Gosh he could jump high!
...Cooper starred at full forward for Sandy in his later years.

1970's: Best days! Return trip to Moorabbin from Box Hill station via train ...early 70's was 51cents. Went most fortnights by myself or with a friend. Two and a half hours on public transport via Richmond change of train, and always on Blue Harris Trains.On occasions went to Glenferrie Oval via train (early 70's via Red Rattler or Harris) or to the other grounds via trains or bus (eg to and from VFL Park from Nunawading station). In the later 70's to early 80's I would drive to Moorabbin from Blackburn in a Holden Brougham or Ford Fairlane (luxury)! One to two hours return generally.

1980's: Drove to and from home (eg from Blackburn, Camberwell, Kew) regularly to all of the grounds, especially Moorabbin.
In a Fairlane or in other cars including a Datsun 1600 or a Holden Kingswood.
Often one to two hours round trip.

Went to the social club on Friday nights in the late 70's early 80's as well, but that is another story.

Early 1990's: Lived in Oslo Norway.
Would ring the Aussie recorded sports results service from a local phone booth and hope to catch the St Kilda results? Would my kroners run out?
"How many did Plugger kick?", I would also wonder.
In slightly later years I would drive to and from the Gabba in my Valiant when living in Brisbane from 1993 to 1995.
Different climate compared to Oslo, ha ha!!
Anyway, a small return trip from South Brisbane. Usually by myself or with a mate.
Also lived for periods of time in Melbourne in the earlier or mid 1990's and would fly in from Norway or Brisbane and attend games at times.

Later 1990's: Drove to and from Arctic Park from Blackburn in a Valiant, Falcon or Volvo regularly by myself or with mates. Perhaps one hour return trip.
Would usually find it difficult to locate the vehicle after the games and never had remote control in those days.

2000's : Regularly drive to and from Docklands from Frankston via Nepean Highway, Beach Road or Monash. Very often with family. Would park the Falcon (usually XR 6 but occasionally other falcons) in South Melbourne or in the Docklands itself. Perhaps two hours in total in car and between thirty minutes to one hour walking. Rarely take public transport this century.

Best footy memories of the 2000's were in the 2003 to 2010 period. Especially in 2009 and 2010 on Saturday nights when a win was virtually assured...

A bit of trivia...Always prefer to stand at the footy whether it be at Moorabbin as a Primary school kid, Moorabbin or Arctic Park in my teens, 20's or 30's , or at Docklands in my 40's, 50's or 60's.

Further, I must consume one or two four n twenty pies with sauce at EVERY match.

Footnote...I am very fortunate to admit that I have never worried too much about the costs related to attending. (Except that day when I was lost and without money at Moorabbin).

Frankston Freeway.

I drive, generally pay for parking under the stadium, I go 3 or 4 different ways to the Monash, but the simplest is Freeway to end, then Westall Rd & Blackburn Rd. A few years ago it was Springvale rd to Westall for obvious reasons.

I go over the Bolte to Footscray Rd avoiding the bottlenecks on the western side of the tunnel near DFO.

If no car park I'd park up behind Festival Hall. But it's very quick getting out from underneath for the sake of $25, especially if Mrs is involved (vs 15 minute walk)

Pre kids, used to go to every game, but these days depending on sport it's less often, Sunday's were out for a while with kids footy, I play golf on Saturday so Saturday afternoon only if we're on fire. Thursday's a definite no, too hard.

Kids enthusiasm wanes throughout the year, espec if finals are looking more distant.

They're older now but i still hold 4 memberships.

For a 7:40 game, leave home at 6:00.

This year and last I start my journey from Tocumwal, usually after work.
And drive straight to the ground.
This year and Last I have driven to Woodside and my mate picks me up and we go to AO.
Years before last it was a plane ride to Melbangers from Radelaide and PT or drive in with my partner.
We discovered the carpark at The Fox classic car museum one arvo., and have used it since when ever we can.

This year and last I start my journey from Tocumwal, usually after work.
And drive straight to the ground.
This year and Last I have driven to Woodside and my mate picks me up and we go to AO.
Years before last it was a plane ride to Melbangers from Radelaide and PT or drive in with my partner.
We discovered the carpark at The Fox classic car museum one arvo., and have used it since when ever we can.
Is this actually AT the museum? Or across the road on the way towards the Quest at Docklands?

G'day mate.
The carpark is on the Museum grounds, when the gates are shut the carpark is full. You enter off Batmans drv. and drive across the double bike lanes to get to the gate it's a bit discombobulating driving in the first time.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250710-063735.png
    Screenshot_20250710-063735.png
    187.3 KB · Views: 5
G'day mate.
The carpark is on the Museum grounds, when the gates are shut the carpark is full. You enter off Batmans drv. and drive across the double bike lanes to get to the gate it's a bit discombobulating driving in the first time.
Thanks for that Jesus, must give it a go.....

I tell you something, with all the efforts that the club have been making this last year or so, or realistically since the rehiring of RTB, but particularly since the Nas re-signing, it would be nice if a few of those understandably lapsed or disenchanted St Kilda fans jumped back on, at least for the start of next year, and the club could get a massive atmosphere at home and away games for season 2026. The club is doing what it can and will not die wondering, time for Saints supporters to get on board and show the AFL what we can be.

I said it at the start or Ross's reappointment, and I'll repeat it now, as the club are throwing all their chips into the middle of the table:

ST KILDA FC: ALL IN

Analysis How do YOU get to home games? - YOUR story