Hubs

Oct 7, 2005
Port Adelaide
Are there other teams?
Three hubs of 6 teams won’t work or at least wont work well. That gets you 5 games with teams then having to swap hubs. Inevitably, when Hub II starts, whatever way you do the draw, teams will have already played others in their hub. Hub I works for 5 games, but Hub II doesn’t.

You are better off with 2 hubs (one with 8 teams, one with 10). At least that way you get 7 rounds in before having to break up the hubs. That may buy you enough time to reintroduce home and away games with crowds (or al least limited crowds) from Round 9.

Adelaide and Perth are the ideal bases for 8 and 10 team hubs, as they will have enough hotel space for teams with families and support staff. Each club gets one hotel. Perth‘s time difference helps too. Each week night there is an Adelaide game at 7pm ACT followed by a Perth game 2.5 hours later at 8 pm Perth time. A late finish for Melbourne viewers but some sacrifices have to be made.

It would be possible to play these 7 rounds within 5 weeks(in fact, 4.5 weeks). We then have 9 rounds of “normal” home and away fixtures to play.

3 hubs x 6 teams

2 rounds of 5 games = 10 games

Then finals.

July-August-September Games.

Finals September-October.

Finals top 2 in each group = top 6 plus 2 with highest points/percentage overall

Top 8 based on wins/percentage.

Hub1 2 Perth teams + 2 NSW teams + 2 Vic teams

Hub2 2 Adelaide teams + 2 Qld teams + 2 Vic teams

Hub3 6 Vic teams

Vic teams to move drawn by ballot.

3 hubs x 6 teams

2 rounds of 5 games = 10 games

Then finals.

July-August-September Games.

Finals September-October.

Finals top 2 in each group = top 6 plus 2 with highest points/percentage overall

Top 8 based on wins/percentage.

Hub1 2 Perth teams + 2 NSW teams + 2 Vic teams

Hub2 2 Adelaide teams + 2 Qld teams + 2 Vic teams

Hub3 6 Vic teams

Vic teams to move drawn by ballot.
No, that doesnt work. First, the AFL is committed to 17 rounds- every one playing everyone else once. Second, while Hub I gets you 5 games, Hub 2 will have teams that have already played each other in their hub. So you don’t get another 5 games. You get only 2 or 3.

Hubba hubba

/

Big hubbles, no troubles.

- 10 vic teams - play each other in vic
- sa, wa, nsw, qld teams play each other in SA
- superbowl at the end
- if any of the vic players get sick the interstater hub winner gets the cup
- need to isolate those vics (and their entourages and their commentariot) from us healthy people

#interstaterCup

The idea of the hubs is to give the eastern states another 5 or 6 weeks to get their s**t together. Whether they can is another matter. Even if the can't, surely you can just change the teams in each hub, perhaps having a 2 week isolation period in between.

Whiney and entitled campaigners like Dangerfield and Jack Reiwoldt seem to be the biggest impediments to this though. "I can't spend a month away from my family" gimme a break you weak campaigners.

Here’s how you play seven rounds in 4.5 weeks

F 2 games
S 4 games
S 3 games- end of round 2
M
T
W 2 games
T 2 games

F 2 games
S 3 games- end of round 3
S 2 games
M 2 games
T 2 games
W 3 games- end of round 4
T

F 2 games
S 4 games
S 3 games- end of round 5
M
T
W 2 games
T 2 games

F 2 games
S 3 games- end of round 6
S 2 games
M 2 games
T 2 games
W 3 games- end of round 7
T

F 2 games
S 4 games
S 3 games- end of round 8

Presto! 7 rounds in 4.5 weeks. 9 rounds to go.

Big hubbles, no troubles.

- 10 vic teams - play each other in vic
- sa, wa, nsw, qld teams play each other in SA
- superbowl at the end
- if any of the vic players get sick the interstater hub winner gets the cup
- need to isolate those vics (and their entourages and their commentariot) from us healthy people

#interstaterCup
Nah, * a hub were some sides travel interstate, but not the Vics (even though it'll end up being that). If WA and SA are under control before Victoria then a 2 9 team hubs. WA sides + 7 vic sides. SA sides + 3 vic sides + NSW sides + QLD sides. Less travelling for NSW and QLD sides there.

Games are going to be running at less gap than each weekend anyway, so 9 in each hub is fine, won't be 'bye' weekends for a side, just a side would get a 7 or 8 day break every 3 or 4 weeks instead of 3-5 days.

We know the AFL won't go for it until they can get a hub in Victoria somewhere though, as Vic sides are the true snowflakes of the AFL.

Nah, fu** a hub were some sides travel interstate, but not the Vics (even though it'll end up being that). If WA and SA are under control before Victoria then a 2 9 team hubs. WA sides + 7 vic sides. SA sides + 3 vic sides + NSW sides + QLD sides. Less travelling for NSW and QLD sides there.

Games are going to be running at less gap than each weekend anyway, so 9 in each hub is fine, won't be 'bye' weekends for a side, just a side would get a 7 or 8 day break every 3 or 4 weeks instead of 3-5 days.

We know the AFL won't go for it until they can get a hub in Victoria somewhere though, as Vic sides are the true snowflakes of the AFL.
The hubs will almost certainly be outside Victoria and New South Wales. Possible locations in order of likelihood- Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Hobart.

The AFL will want to protect the Vic clubs, so Perth and Adelaide will be out of bounds because home ground/state advantage, etc and the Vics will bleat and moan about disadvantage.

Can see Hobart and Darwin - maybe even regional Victoria - getting to be hubs before Adelaide and Perth.

Hubba hubba bubble gum.............

1587017573975.png

The AFL will want to protect the Vic clubs, so Perth and Adelaide will be out of bounds because home ground/state advantage, etc and the Vics will bleat and moan about disadvantage.

Can see Hobart and Darwin - maybe even regional Victoria - getting to be hubs before Adelaide and Perth.

Hubba hubba bubble gum.............

View attachment 858852

Hubs need AFL standard grounds with TV broadcast facilities and plenty of available hotel space. If I’m right and it is better to have 2 hubs than 3, there will need to be an abundance of quality hotel space, not just a few Holliday Inns. Thus, Perth and Adelaide.

Really, home ground advantage is virtually nil when all teams are based at the same ground for a month or two and there are no crowds. Any home advantage to Port this year from a hub at Adelaide Oval is offset by the reduction of home ground advantage in 2021. If Richmond play 10 games at the AO hub in 2020, we will have little advantage over them when we play them here in 2021.

Games in Victoria and NSW are not an option early, maybe until a vaccine. The AFL has a choice- hubs outside the eastern states or no footy. No footy means no revenue.

If there is one thing AFL House loves more than its Victorian teams, it’s $$$$$$!

The outrage of teams like Collingwood and Richmond not getting 14/22 games at their home ground plus another 4 down the road will be sweet

With more people recovering from the virus each day than new cases in SA, about 100 active cases in SA and one hour testing available within 3 weeks, hubs in SA could definitely start by June.

Each club is allocated a hotel. All players, support staff and families are tested before they enter their SA hotel, and again before they are released from isolation in their hotel. Same with all officials and broadcasters.

Announcement by end of April.
Players arrive in SA mid May.
Out of isolation by end of May.
Two weeks training.
Games by mid June.

SA could even be virus free by then.

The idea of the hubs is to give the eastern states another 5 or 6 weeks to get their s**t together. Whether they can is another matter. Even if the can't, surely you can just change the teams in each hub, perhaps having a 2 week isolation period in between.

Whiney and entitled campaigners like Dangerfield and Jack Reiwoldt seem to be the biggest impediments to this though. "I can't spend a month away from my family" gimme a break you weak campaigners.
Victoria now have 129 active cases, ACT and NT 19, SA 100, Tassie 107, WA 194, Qld 560 and NSW 1,545.

Edit Perth reported after others, now down to 157

Melbourne will become a hub at this rate with Adelaide.

Victoria now have 129 active cases, ACT and NT 19, SA 100, Tassie 107, WA 194, Qld 560 and NSW 1,545.

So you are telling me all the Pant Pissers on the incredibly boring Corana Virus Port and the AFL thread were wrong?

I don't know if they were all wrong, but that Bondi Beach chockers scene that hot Saturday first weekend of March, spooked Morrison and the premiers and they changed tact, got tough and overwhelming majority of people doing their bit and its working. Lots of bodies on guernies in UK and USA probably also had an impact. The TV stations here were never going to have lots of images from Italy, Spain and France.

Yet the NRL are going to have their hub in NSW. May as well house their players on the Ruby Princess.