noddy

/The Bays/Man U
Will Hudson be dropped back to the SANFL when Biglands becomes available or is there room to play all 3 talls ??

What i like about Hudson from the limited time i have watched him play is his real eagerness to compete on the ground as well as in the air & he not only has a second effort but at times a third i guess some what along the lines of how Matty Primus plays the game.

He's a bit rough around the edges but with time & coaching he will be a handy replacement for Clarke at the end of this year.

Well that is if Mathew Clarke does retire this year.

It does seem to me as if the players dont like him.
(he is often in position for a link man but is overlooked and fridays resopnse to his goal was embarising)

Originally posted by jc67
(he is often in position for a link man but is overlooked and fridays resopnse to his goal was embarising)

I wouldn't take it at all him not being liked. On the contrary, I think he's both very well liked and respected by the players.

Why don't they kick to him?? The same question could be asked for countless other players. Bombing it long to no-one or miskicking to the opposition appears to be the norm, rather than the exception.

That was bloody embarrassing when Huddo kicked his first AFL goal on Friday, and a very fair example where the morale of this team is at. Not one bugger had the decency to congratulate him.

Just to show that it wasn't specifically aimed at Huddo, the same applied when Macca kicked a goal with 56 seconds to go. Only Roo went up to him and congratulated him.

Terrible to watch.

Originally posted by macca23
I wouldn't take it at all him not being liked. On the contrary, I think he's both very well liked and respected by the players.

Why don't they kick to him?? The same question could be asked for countless other players. Bombing it long to no-one or miskicking to the opposition appears to be the norm, rather than the exception.

That was bloody embarrassing when Huddo kicked his first AFL goal on Friday, and a very fair example where the morale of this team is at. Not one bugger had the decency to congatulate him.

Just to show that it wasn't specifically aimed at Huddo, the same applied when Macca kicked a goal with 56 seconds to go. Only Roo went up to him and conratulated him.

Terrible to watch.
I agree, with everything you say.

Huddo is one of the most liked blokes around the club and is a well respected player because of the way he plays his footy.

I would like him to play AFL for the rest of the year. I think he is progressing nicely and as noddy said, he is still a bit rough around the edges but he plays the game the way it should be played. You will never see him back out of contests or sit around the pack waiting for an easy poessesion.

I would like to persist with Huddo as a back up for Clarke and Biglands as a key defender. The season is shot so we might as well try a few players in different positions.

It may be a team rule not to use the ruckmen, given the abilities of Clarke and Biglands in around the ground stuff.

Agree, keep Hudson in, hasn't done a thing wrong, and would like to see him tried in a KP. I think with Stevo now available though we may have to wait.

Originally posted by macca23
Just to show that it wasn't specifically aimed at Huddo, the same applied when Macca kicked a goal with 56 seconds to go. Only Roo went up to him and conratulated him.

Terrible to watch.
Whilst you're probably right about the morale problem, I can't see the problem with not getting overly excited about a last minute goal when you're still staring defeat in the face.

As for the original topic. Given the limitedness of the ruckmen we have, having three of them in the 22 is a luxury we can't afford. It's Hudson or Biglands for mine.

I prefer Biglands.

Originally posted by DaveW
Whilst you're probably right about the morale problem, I can't see the problem with not getting overly excited about a last minute goal when you're still staring defeat in the face.
3 points down, 1 minute to play - is not staring defeat in the face?

And ATM would have no hesitation in having Hudson over Biglands.
Hudsons a smarter footballer, with a bigger upside, and future.

Originally posted by DaveW

3 points down with nearly a minute to play? And you'd give the game away??

If our players have the same attitude then that would explain why we lose all the close ones.

We did have a chance to win it, and Huddo went close to marking it in the goal square with 20 odd seconds to go.

Sides that accept defeat are easy to defeat.

That display of almost zero enthusuasm was p*ss poor!!

We had a chance to snatch it, but it was very much last roll of the dice stage.

Hardly the stuff to spark off vigorous on-field celebrations.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
3 points down, 1 minute to play - is not staring defeat in the face?

And ATM would have no hesitation in having Hudson over Biglands.
Hudsons a smarter footballer, with a bigger upside, and future.

I agree Hudson should be given the second ruckman role until Biglands demands it with good performances in the SANFL. Biglands is a dumb footballer who, prior to suspension, was stinking it up. Rhett hasn't done enough over time IMO to warrant him slotting straight back into the side.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Huddo is one of the most liked blokes around the club and is a well respected player because of the way he plays his footy.

Its very hard not to like the guy, he came to watch the werribee guys here in melbourne on saturday, and let me just say he was very happy about his 1st afl goal, hehe talked about it a lot.
I hope he stays in the team when Biglands comes back.

Originally posted by ant
I agree Hudson should be given the second ruckman role until Biglands demands it with good performances in the SANFL. Biglands is a dumb footballer who, prior to suspension, was stinking it up. Rhett hasn't done enough over time IMO to warrant him slotting straight back into the side.
Given the limited chances he's had, IMO has done everything the club and supporters would have wanted.
Why drop him for a i dimensional footballer, that promises the world and rarely delivers.

Give Huddo another pre-season to get fitter and hone his skills more and he will be our #1 ruckman next year. I just love his enthusiasm and his willingness to have a fair dinkum crack.

I must say Kerls is a big fan of Huddo's and has said a few times he should be given more time on the ground. Seriously whats there not to like?

Give Huddo another pre-season to get fitter and hone his skills more and he will be our #1 ruckman next year. I just love his enthusiasm and his willingness to have a fair dinkum crack.

I must say Kerls is a big fan of Huddo's and has said a few times he should be given more time on the ground. Seriously whats there not to like?
Do we know how big his engine is?
Is he quick for a bigman or average speed?

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Do we know how big his engine is?
Is he quick for a bigman or average speed?
His fitness is not great. I reckon he would really struggle to run out a game.

He is not lighting quick but he has good pace for a big lumbering ruckman.

His fitness is not great. I reckon he would really struggle to run out a game.

He is not lighting quick but he has good pace for a big lumbering ruckman.

He'll improve out of sight after another pre-season.

You might remember me posting during the pre-season that Huddo, along with Dabrowski were struggling their arses off after coming from much less intense competitions.

And Stiffy, he is reasonably quick and agile, being some reflection from his basketball days.

He has good skills, and an excellent desperation for the ball.

I'm expecting big things from him next year.

Yeah I remember those reports but that was to be expected.

Funny you mention the basketball background. He is just not the typical sort that transfers from basketball to footy. Usually players that change from basketball to footy like to jump and reach rather than crash and bang. Huddo is completely opposite from that. I guess thats where his rugby background comes in.

He will just run in, bust a pack and follow up with 2nd and 3rd efforts. Another pre-season under his belt will see him become a much better player.

Funny you mention the basketball background. He is just not the typical sort that transfers from basketball to footy. Usually players that change from basketball to footy like to jump and reach rather than crash and bang. Huddo is completely opposite from that. I guess thats where his rugby background comes in.

He will just run in, bust a pack and follow up with 2nd and 3rd efforts. Another pre-season under his belt will see him become a much better player.
here here .
but as you would gather by now (i recon he's ok now as a back up) but great around the ground

He certainly is liked at the AFC he was getting on pretty well with the four other players he was with at the Crows Dinner Auction;)

He was saying on Saturday night that he also played Rugby Union and never took up footy till he was 20yrs old, he grew up in QLD and thats why he never took up footy,but is glad he did;)

I gave my opinion about Hudson on here before pre-season started, and after his very first game. Nothing has changed since then.

Originally posted by PAfolwr
I gave my opinion about Hudson on here before pre-season started, and after his very first game. Nothing has changed since then.
wanna save me searching?

Hudson___First time the Crows have had a ruckman for years. He MUST be given gametime. Sorry, but you lot rate your current ruckmen far higher than the rest of us.
Hudson looked good. He is ok to good at centre bounces. Can take a mark, and looks for contests around the place. Cannot ask for much more. Experience required now.
As I have said on here after his first game, if I was a Crow supporter he is the recruit that I would be most excited about at least short term, and apart from a couple of others on here I am surprised at the lack of excitement about him.

I think that your midfield has made your current ruckmen seem better than they really are perhaps, but from an outsider point of view you have seriously lacked "his" characteristics in your games.
I'd be screaming for Ayres to try him out now. Now is the time to find out if he can cut it or not at AFL level, not later in the year.

Sorry to say this, but you will probably lose most of your games in the first "round", so it's a perfect opportunity to experiment with the new players.
In the second half when you should win most games you want your best team out there and to gel by the time the finals arrive, assuming you make them.

Gee that was surprisingly accurate so far. :eek: :)
I was thinking of an earlier post when you and Macca were accusing me of being his biggest fan. :p

EDIT: Yep. I think that's the one. :D

wrt Hudson.
I'm not sure how many here know, but I have been a bit critical of Choco persisting with playing ruckmen up front when resting for a fair while now. That is because we have, and have had, other players that should have been tried out there instead.
Apart from Primus that is. He has consistently done well there for a long(ish) time now.

Surely the Crows are in the opposite position.
Hudson should be tried out as your FF or FP. He has the same type of characteristics that allow Primus to do well up there, and atm you have no one else as such, so nothing to lose.
Not just a few minutes here and there, but a couple of full games with a job to do, such as make it to as many contests as possible and keep the ball in the area. What have you got to lose at this stage?