cormick

Burgers, City
I'd completely forgotten about the humble pie I promised I'd have if I was wrong.
Well, Andrew Dem-thingy-ma-jiggy-ou style, I'm wrong.

Apologies to both Kel Moore and Luke McGuane.

McGuane:
cormick said:
For mine, I don't think McGuane will make it
cormick said:
im not sure he has enough talent

Moore:
cormick said:
If he is kept for 2009 Ill be annoyed. Hes a great bloke, young fanta pants, but I dont think he has the talent

Ergh...gees...sorry...

Who else has some to eat about any player?
And don't brag about the players you got right. No one cares for your bragging.

Well done cormick. If gus comes on and has a good year than i will give a slice of humble pie.

At the start of last year I said White and Moore needed to cement their place in the side or they would be in trouble. I didn't say they are shit but i guess i kind of doubted them for a bit. I love them both now and i think they are key parts of our side.

I'd completely forgotten about the humble pie I promised I'd have if I was wrong.

McGuane:

Moore:

Ergh...gees...sorry...

:)Kelvin Moore for me too, Cormick. I was keen for him to depart at the end of 2007, but so glad he was kept.

And doing my best Fonzie impersonation ....Oakley-Nicholls .... I was wr, wr, wr, wr, wr ... I was wr, wr, wr!!!!

Nah, I wasn't! Can seriously say he is the only guy on our list I am not comfortable with being there (waiting to be howled down and would dearly love there to be another case of humble pie, a-la Kel Moore, but I know I'm on the money!)

Bye for now!

I have doubts about Jackson and McMahon.

Jackson looks like he's tearing it up in the Pre-season, but we'll see if he translates that onto the footy field.

McMahon is still shit. I doubt that he'll be much better this year. :thumbsu:

im still yet to decide if i was wrong about danny meyer
ill give him a year to decide for me
looked a real player good skills classy good defensive side and really hardened up towards the end i thought
still cant write him off

I'm still hoping Cleve proves me wrong. It would be very close to the last piece in the puzzle if he did.

I've never been wrong. :D

But l still hold a very public bet with one of my fellow posters ($50) that Daniel Jackson wont reach 87 games with the Richmond Football Club.

Do you want me to bump them all? :D

I've never been wrong. :D

But l still hold a very public bet with one of my fellow posters ($50) that Daniel Jackson wont reach 87 games with the Richmond Football Club.
Can I get some of that action Wal?

For me, McGuane and Moore are two I'm very happy to have been wrong about.

Luke McGuane for me. Had never seen a player as lost as he was in his initial games in the seniors, pretty much on a par with Zac the hack Dawson. Couldnt understand what they saw in him, when there was 0 other than endeavour.
Moore always looked to have a touch of something, even when playing at Coburg. He looked to good for that comp when it came to poise and know how, just had to get the pill more often. So it wasnt a surprise to me that he has got to where he is at now. But Luke, i doff my hat to you mate. Even though the tigerheads here bag your kicking, moreso because you arent pretty about it, you hit your mark with it 8 times out of 10 and couple that with the know-how on who it should go to, rather than just give it to whoever, for me you have arrived big time. Not to mention the mongrel factor too. ;)

Matty White!

Thought he was a sprinter that should have gone back to athletics. Used to run around (fast mind you) as soon as he got on, but never got hold of it. Poor decision maker when he did get the pill and just didn't seem to be a 'footballer'. All those who put it down to 'he's still young' I thought were missing the above problems.

Not sure if it was just experience with game time, or the coaching staff were able to drill into him where to go, but he had a very good season imo, and he could surprise again this season.

yeah spot on the past several posts, im happy to admit i was very wrong abt mcguane and white.

Initially i was a fan of Jackson, always felt he had the tools to be a handy player (a clement type rather than a midfielder) but last season i wrote him off, hope he proves me wrong.

McGuane:

Moore:

Ergh...gees...sorry...

Great work,

hopefully Razorwire reads it and we may see one forthcoming for his tackling boo boo !

Not sure if this thread sits well for me... you've unintentionally turned what should be an embarassing call into a congratulatory thread for how brave you were to bring it up. So I won't praise you :D

Nice to read though

I love the guys attitude and dedication but I called for King to be delisted in 07 and in 08 and based on his skill level I'm reasonably sure I will be doing the same at the end of 09.

Also, early in 2008 I thought Tucky was starting to struggle (started a thread about it) with the speed of the game.
I'm very happy to be wrong big time on that call.

Not sure if this thread sits well for me... you've unintentionally turned what should be an embarassing call into a congratulatory thread for how brave you were to bring it up. So I won't praise you :D

Nice to read though
Hehe well done for standing up to me ;)

I'm happy to eat plenty of humble pie on kelvin moore. But in the process of searching for the threads I bagged him in (called him a hack that only got games due to injuries to better players), I also found a few opportunites to dish out humble pie to others:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=404687

Look at that thread to see regular posters mattdwyer, Richo_Man, Madtiger2006, richcogs, jko'neal and Punt Road Feral all effectively say that they would prefer pettifer to scott thompson. And this was only 1 year ago, after the 2007 season in which thompson dominated :o

For shame guys ;)

I'm happy to eat plenty of humble pie on kelvin moore. But in the process of searching for the threads I bagged him in (called him a hack that only got games due to injuries to better players), I also found a few opportunites to dish out humble pie to others:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=404687

Look at that thread to see regular posters mattdwyer, Richo_Man, Madtiger2006, richcogs, jko'neal and Punt Road Feral all effectively say that they would prefer pettifer to scott thompson. And this was only 1 year ago, after the 2007 season in which thompson dominated :o

For shame guys ;)

yeah at the time thompson ewas doing nothing and pettifer wass doing well... it is funny how thingschange...
i don't know about JMAC or GUS but am hoping they improve....

yeah at the time thompson ewas doing nothing and pettifer wass doing well... it is funny how thingschange...
i don't know about JMAC or GUS but am hoping they improve....
Thompson's 2007 season was probably his best. Averaged over 25 disposals, 5 tackles, 5 inside 50s and kicked nearly a goal a game and polled 18 votes. All of those comments were after that season. It was just a case of some of our posters being a bit one-eyed I reckon.

Personally I dont write a player off until he is 22 or older..... by then they are usually delisted if they aren't any good.