Hunt's board bid dashed

Sportal.com
space.gif
space.gif

The bid by high profile media personality Rex Hunt to join the board of the Richmond Football Club has been dashed even before this was officially announced.

Hunt said on 3AW on Thursday night that he won't be able to stand on Clinton Casey's ticket to be a vice president of the club because he's not a financial member.

Hunt believed that the supporters groups, of which he is a member, entitled him to club membership but was informed on Thursday this was not the case.

Casey is being opposed by a group led by leading businessman Charles Macek at the December 22 Annual General Meeting.

It is believed that Macek's group informed Hunt via a third party that he could not stand for the board of the club.

Casey was hoping to have some high profile Richmond identities on his ticket for the election, and there are few bigger than Hunt who played in two Richmond premiership teams in 1969 and 1973.

Hunt had been tabbed for an involvement in the club membership and media activities

http://www.sportal.com.au/football.asp?i=news&id=59060

tiger of old said:
He,s a coterie member.id say that may have given Rex the impression that he was a member.

cheers!
And pays around $8000 for the privelage, but not being a financial member has made him look to be a fool, and rightly so.

Prepare for the humilation and embarassment that flows once the papers run on this story tomorrow.

DOH !!!

How embarrassing but gotta admit its a strange rule when you can kick in thousands to be in a coterie but because you have not spent $100 odd on a membership you cannot run.

Looks like Clinton did not think of that.

I am surprised he is not a member just like i would be surprised if any of the regulars on here were not.

Charles Macek stated on Bartletts show this morning that he thought it was great that Rex Hunt was getting involved with the Tiger's again, and that he would be a real asset to the club.

Given that stance, who exactly would stand in the way of a little tinkering to the voting/nomination rules as they stand?

GhostofJimJess said:
Charles Macek stated on Bartletts show this morning that he thought it was great that Rex Hunt was getting involved with the Tiger's again, and that he would be a real asset to the club.

Given that stance, who exactly would stand in the way of a little tinkering to the voting/nomination rules as they stand?
It's PR Ghost, Macek said exactly what he needed to say in terms of pleasing the masses (supporter base) but it dosen't mean that he actually believed what he said. Rex would have been a severe blow to the alternative ticket and they would have definetly known this and is why they researched and found out that Rex was not a member and made this known to Wilson. The alternates had to derail this move by Casey at all costs and they were very lucky that an outpoint was found in Rex not having a membership. Now the whole scene has blown up in Casey's face and is just another indication of his shoddiness. Like the pheonix that rose up out of the ashes, the Alternatives live again.

what i cant believe is that Rex isnt a member

thats absolutely amazing

I dont like Casey but I'm a bit shattered to find out Rex wont be running, just when I thought we had someone decent put his hand up it falls to nothing.
8 grand to be part of a cotrie group and not a member with no rights

thats just strange.

as i have posted on another forum:

this shows that neither side should be running come this election

1. we have president who doesnt even know the constitution of his own club, a disgrace, amazing how 8 grand a year isnt considered the same worth as 140 bucks, that absolutely is amazing.

2. we have an alternative ticket too gutless to tell Rex face to face just in case it is seen by Richmond members as an attempt to sink a favourite son (which we all know it was) The Macek ticket is a bunch of weak snipers with no balls with no vision. If you think they will turn this club around then your all sadly mistaken.

I'm very disappointed that Rex cant run, because he could have been huge value to our club but once again our infighting amongst big headed w@nkers has shot ourselves in the foot, after this mess if the alternative ticket gets in which it will happen because Casey is a moron dont expect Rex Hunt to ever put his hand up again

we are a rabble and as long as these clowns cant sort out their obvious personal vendettas against each other this will always stay the same.

Funny thing is now the alternative ticket have pi$$ed off Rex and obviously Wallace & Miller arent in favour of the ticket either otherwise they wouldnt have asked Casey to get Rex on board.

our club is a JOKE :mad:

GhostofJimJess said:

Macek and Schwab would.
They have said they will stop any legal action by Casey to get Rex on the board.

I agree rules are rules and made for a reason, but Macek and Schwab have been attempting to tinker with the rules to get a senate-style ballot.

Punt_Road_Roar said:
what i cant believe is that Rex isnt a member

thats absolutely amazing

I dont like Casey but I'm a bit shattered to find out Rex wont be running, just when I thought we had someone decent put his hand up it falls to nothing.
8 grand to be part of a cotrie group and not a member with no rights

thats just strange.

They will find a replacement until next year so they will then maybe say going onto vote that rex will be taking X guys place early next year. It might be off now but the games will still be on and rex is still a chance next year to do it

Apparently Clinton Casey on SEN last nite stated that Rex can still run as a candidate on behalf of casey who can take over an existing board member's spot. Listening to Rex though, he sounds totally pi$$ed off and no longer interested.

Casey caught by Rex Hunt line
18 November 2004 Herald Sun
Damian Barrett

RICHMOND president Clinton Casey vowed last night to "move heaven and earth" to secure Rex Hunt as his deputy, despite the media identity being ineligible to run for the board.

Hunt's failure to officially enrol as a club member disqualifies him under the Tigers' constitution from running on Casey's ticket at next month's election.

But Casey said he would seek ways to ensure Hunt became involved with the club.

"Rex has shown a commitment to Richmond – I want him, I know the Richmond members want him and we will move heaven and earth to get him, whatever it takes," Casey told the Herald Sun.

"I will sit down with my board to sort this out."

Having yesterday claimed he was an "80 per cent starter", Hunt last night told the Herald Sun, "I'm goin' fishin' mate, and that's a shame".

The oversight in Hunt's membership clouds Casey's battle against a Charles Macek-led ticket that will be decided at the December 22 annual general meeting.

The Richmond constitution stipulates prospective directors must have enrolled as members by August 31.

Hunt told the Herald Sun last night he had assumed he was a member of the club because of involvement with several entities related to it.

"I am not taking any responsibility because all I was doing was helping out the Richmond Football Club with my strengths," Hunt said.

"My strengths are my heart on my sleeve and my unquestionable loyalty to Richmond.

"It never even passed my mind I wouldn't be a member because I am a member of the past players' association, I am a member of the Tommy Hafey club, I have given a substantial amount to the Tommy Hafey club over the past six months to make sure junior development comes on.

"I get a weekly e-mail addressed to Rex Hunt that says `Dear member'. I just assumed I was a member."

Hunt recently purchased an auction item at a Hafey club function for more than $8000.

The Macek group claimed Hunt had not been listed as a member since computer records were first kept in 1995.

"If this is what it is all about, and if this grief is going to be directed to me, I'm going fishin', mate, and that is a shame," Hunt said.

"Eddie (McGuire) rang me and Eddie said, `Isn't it a shame that someone with so much energy and enthusiasm and most importantly so much pull within the corporate industry that Richmond so desperately needs has been forced out . . .'.

"I was prepared to endure the pain, I was prepared to be patient, I was prepared to talk to kids and talk to members and talk to prospective sponsors.

"But, just leave me out of this. I want to fight a black and white or a blue and white jumper in a Grand Final.

"I don't want to fight a bloke wearing the same colours as me in the board room."

Macek ticket member Brendan Schwab said the Hunt oversight was damning for Casey. "We feel this highlights the incompetence of Clinton Casey when it comes to corporate governance, financial management and the attention to detail that is required to run a complex business such as an AFL club," Schwab said.

"We are disappointed that Rex Hunt has been compromised by this because we consider him a great Richmond person and we certainly want to work with him if we are elected.

"Clinton has a blase attitude when it comes to corporate governance and, as a result, the club has lost millions of dollars. It highlights how desperate he has become to hold on to power."

Schwab said his group would fight any moves by the Casey ticket to seek legal means to have Hunt installed on its ticket.

Ernst and Young accountant Rob Dalton was appointed yesterday to fill a casual vacancy on the Tigers' board.

The revelations in yesterday's that Hunt had been sought by Casey to join the board had not been put to several directors.

Had Hunt been eligible and accepted the Casey offer, one of the current directors would have had to have been cut, as the club's constitution allows just nine directors to sit at any one time; Hunt would have been the 10th. It is understood Casey would have offloaded Rob Turner or John Matthies.

At least rex had the balls to want to do something and help the club. More than we can so for a little bald headed bloke who used to wear no 29 back in the 70's. What was his name again?

Punt_Road_Roar said:
our club is an absolute joke !!! and will never improve with these clowns all in it for themselves and not the supporters.

Terry Wallace is an idiot for taking the coaching role at Richmond.

:mad:

Casey is a desparate man. He sees the writing on the wall. I reckon this f$#k up has sealed his fate. He's making moves without proper investigation.

Punt_Road_Roar said:
our club is an absolute joke !!! and will never improve with these clowns all in it for themselves and not the supporters.

Terry Wallace is an idiot for taking the coaching role at Richmond.

:mad:
Don't have any concerns re Terry. He is getting paid heaps.

itsintheblood said:
Casey is a desparate man. He sees the writing on the wall. I reckon this f$#k up has sealed his fate. He's making moves without proper investigation.

Casey's a bonehead IITB but the alternative ticket is just as bad made up of some ex-board members who are still responsible for how we are sitting today

they are only in it for themselves and not for us, the members and supporters who have had to live through 20 years of heart break, they couldnt give rats

they all suck

If i was president i would just happen to find some paperwork that
proves rex was,after all, a qualifying member.

Im sure the paperwork is there and he JUST HAS TO FIND IT !!!!

oxx said:
If i was president i would just happen to find some paperwork that
proves rex was,after all, a qualifying member.

Im sure the paperwork is there and he JUST HAS TO FIND IT !!!!

Hell I'd give my 2004 membership to rex if he needs it, I'll even pay him to take it.

:D

sorry but I'm trying to humour myself, I have been agro since yesterday at these clowns.

Hunt's board bid dashed