I don't want to whinge or blame anyone, but....

Lonie_from_50

Veteran 10k Posts
Sep 10, 2003
Seagulls, Bushrangers
Mick Mathouse, time to go.

Bad last quarter performances in 2004, which in the end cost us Finals or a chance, yet Mick Malthouse did this in the match.......

* David Fanning debuted as a very inexperienced football as our ONLY ruckman. Walker, more of a key position player, who should have been playing CHB, played in the Ruck. Cameron Cloke was Emergency.
* Luke Darcy was running rampant all game. He had no opponent, clearly Fanning was told to stay in and around the centre square so he doesn't get tired easy. Darcy was close to Best on Ground.
* Eade went with the no flood really, except for the player to lead behind the play and try to switch, which was successful. Mick Malthouse looked like he tryed to follow with his own gameplan to do the same out of defence in the secong half, which wasn't successful.
* What was Mick's gameplan and strategy in the last quarter? We had no players inside D50 or in F50, nor on the Wings, were they kept inside the Centre Square and told not to go over the white line?
* A last quarter bench consisted of Nathan Buckley, Richard Cole, David Fanning and Leon Davis
* Nathan Buckley played 44% game time if I heard correct. He was kept off the ground in the whole last quarter because "he didn't need to be on". Did he feel a niggle? if not, put him in the forward pocket. Your team plays better when your captain is on the ground.
* Rhyce Shaw finally got the man who was on fire Adam Cooney. Rhyce did a very good job on him, yet didn't stay on him, letting Cooney run rampant again.
* Shane Wakelin and Simon Prestigiacomo played the first half of the last quarter in the forward line. Presti went off the ground instead of going into defence to help out, Wakelin went missing???
* Andrew Williams gave a go, but played every minute, correct me if I'm wrong. I have supported Willo this week, yet Mick Malthouse could have seen that Eagleton was damaging, and thought Willo should have got dragged, obviously not.

I am really disappointed in you Mick, anything else to add?

Like I said, if we finish bottom 8 for the reasons I've said before (young blokes not coming through, bonehead decisions like Williams ahead of Rowe) then he can go.

Was surprised not to see "Sacked Ben Kinnear" on your list there.

Another thing, this is why the collingwood followers are hated so much. We turn feral the second things don't go right, we balme people and want heads on sticks. When things are going good then where there and abouts praising everything they do.

guess_who said:
Another thing, this is why the collingwood followers are hated so much. We turn feral the second things don't go right, we balme people and want heads on sticks. When things are going good then where there and abouts praising everything they do.
Bollocks. We are not Richmond. Nor do we want to be!

PowerKop said:
yeah get rid of Mick. This is just fantastic to see Collingwood and their supporters like this. LOSERS!
******** off moron!

Who said anything about getting rid of the coach? I think we are simply highlighting a bad game by the coach. Maybe if he strings a heap together without learning his lessons, then we'll call for scalps. History says Mick learns his lessons, so he has our support.

Now ******** off and troll where it doesn't bother me...like the Carlton board.

From what i heard on the radio the medical staff wouldn't allow buckley back on the ground after 3/4 time. They went into the game allowing him to play no more than 50%.

Malthouse in his press conference said they knew the bulldogs game plan as it was the same one eade used in sydney so there were no suprises there. He thought we dropped off for 10 mintues in the 2nd and 3rd that was very costly. He also said the players didn't follow the game plan and is putting the blame back on the players. I'm sure malthouse's game plan isn't to hold on to the ball and chip it sideways and then kick wide to the forward pockets. Not much mick can do when players don't follow the game plan.

PowerKop said:
yeah get rid of Mick. This is just fantastic to see Collingwood and their supporters like this. LOSERS!

Coming from a Port supporter is gold.
Just remember your from Adelaide the ar$e of Australia and the laughing point in all aussie jokes.

Adelaide full of children fiddlers and murders.

deck said:
I'm sure malthouse's game plan isn't to hold on to the ball and chip it sideways and then kick wide to the forward pockets. Not much mick can do when players don't follow the game plan.

At training yesterday, during the end to end drills players were instructed to always use the corridor and when the ball went too wide he stop play and got stuck into them for it.

I seriously doubt we practiced using the corridor at training just to revert to the old unattractive footy we saw last year.

Mick can't blame this solely on the players though, he has to take some responsibility and instill the gameplan in every players head. The coaching staff also need to instill the mentality that was evident in 2002-03. That is play for the team, do the little things, work hard, never say die. Today even players like Burns and Licuria looked lacklustre at times. Nothing against these players, it just shows that there needs to be some finetuning of the mental aspect of the game. The willingness to work hard for their mates seemed to be missing in the second half today.

guess_who said:

You really got to look in the mirror mate, seriously.

You haven't even seen the game, but most of all - You are so negetive it is not funny. Contradiction to some people is a word in the dictionary, to you, it always works.

We don't turn feral, whenever a game is lost, you always look at how you lost it. Everybody but you knows that. Look how much you bag Rhyce Shaw and Matthew Lokan for example. When a game is lost, the only thing you can look at is the negetives, and I think, clearly that 99% of Collingwood Supporters would agree that Mick Malthouse was at fault.

PowerKop said:
Read the top line of this thread. It clearly says - Mick, time to go. This must be pretty clear, even to you Collingwood scum.
Thanks for your input, yo can go back to rooting your sister now.

bobneil130 said:
Just remember your from Adelaide the ar$e of Australia and the laughing point in all aussie jokes.

ha ha ha typical feral. Have to resort to that rubbish to defend your joke of a side. I suppose you wouldn't want to took footy though would ya. Enjoy yet another ******** year buddy

Lonie_from_50 said:
* Eade went with the no flood really, except for the player to lead behind the play and try to switch, which was successful.

This is the smartest comment i have read from a Pie supporter tonight.

Like Eade said on The couch 20 mins ago, if the Bulldogs used flooding tactics then The Pies would of got alot of cheap kicks through the middle, but this did'nt happen.

Lonie_from_50 said:
Mick Mathouse, time to go.

Bad last quarter performances in 2004, which in the end cost us Finals or a chance, yet Mick Malthouse did this in the match.......

* David Fanning debuted as a very inexperienced football as our ONLY ruckman. Walker, more of a key position player, who should have been playing CHB, played in the Ruck. Cameron Cloke was Emergency.
* Luke Darcy was running rampant all game. He had no opponent, clearly Fanning was told to stay in and around the centre square so he doesn't get tired easy. Darcy was close to Best on Ground.
* Eade went with the no flood really, except for the player to lead behind the play and try to switch, which was successful. Mick Malthouse looked like he tryed to follow with his own gameplan to do the same out of defence in the secong half, which wasn't successful.
* What was Mick's gameplan and strategy in the last quarter? We had no players inside D50 or in F50, nor on the Wings, were they kept inside the Centre Square and told not to go over the white line?
* A last quarter bench consisted of Nathan Buckley, Richard Cole, David Fanning and Leon Davis
* Nathan Buckley played 44% game time if I heard correct. He was kept off the ground in the whole last quarter because "he didn't need to be on". Did he feel a niggle? if not, put him in the forward pocket. Your team plays better when your captain is on the ground.
* Rhyce Shaw finally got the man who was on fire Adam Cooney. Rhyce did a very good job on him, yet didn't stay on him, letting Cooney run rampant again.
* Shane Wakelin and Simon Prestigiacomo played the first half of the last quarter in the forward line. Presti went off the ground instead of going into defence to help out, Wakelin went missing???
* Andrew Williams gave a go, but played every minute, correct me if I'm wrong. I have supported Willo this week, yet Mick Malthouse could have seen that Eagleton was damaging, and thought Willo should have got dragged, obviously not.

I am really disappointed in you Mick, anything else to add?
lonie we will get bagged because we are bagging mm after 1 game,but i think we need a new captain,i love bucks but he is not the player we need to drag the team forward,his body language when he is on the ground can be deplorable.and the coach does not answer to anyone including the gutless p+icks in the media.we were extremely disapointing today and there was no excuse for the way we played.as a fanatical magpie supporter i can only express my hope that we will improve on the training track this week and hopefully get a win next week. :(

According to a mate who listened to the after match discussion on triple M, the reason used for Buckley, now I don't know who said it first, or who quoted it from triple M, but the reason for Buckley not being on the ground in the last quarter is because we didn't need him on the ground.

Mick, did the right thing off pulling him off the ground, yes, as his match fitness was not 100%, and was told the 50% game time would be all, but when the Dogs kicked a 3rd goal to stretch to a 2 goal lead, Nathan Buckley should have been put on the Half Forward Flank. You don't need him to get 10 touches, you don't need him to get any touches. The thing is, He is the captain, and when the momentum swings like it did today, the man that makes it happen is the leader. Every player respects there captain, and it doesn't have to be how he plays to lift the side, just the fact that he is out there is a way to get back into the game. It is a simple cliche.

On the fact that we will get bagged for this, I can take the flack considering I have stuck up for the Collingwood Football Club over the past month, and now, are us Collingwood supporters just going to sit back and let this slide??? AND use stupid comments like "It is only Round One"???

it was a very unattractive game, and when it was their to be won, the Pies went missing....an off day for the club, but i think a lot of whats been said here is hasty

lets wait at least till round 5 before calling for heads etc.......lloyd will be back for Anzac Day and unless it is wet we will get another shellacking LoL, then we can go off

PowerKop said:
ha ha ha typical feral. Have to resort to that rubbish to defend your joke of a side. I suppose you wouldn't want to took footy though would ya. Enjoy yet another ******** year buddy

Says the man after getting pumped by Freo.

bobneil130 said:

I actually thought Tassie was the laughing point in all aussie jokes.

I don't want to whinge or blame anyone, but....