I feel sick

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

I realize it’s all just speculation but the fact is it is picking up momentum and usually this close to the end of trade period it is on the money.

This talk of trading for Bloody Solomon and Tarrant that means we essentially sit out of the strongest draft ever and get very little for Polak.
It’s making me physically ill.

Obviously very little lessons of the past have been learnt, not to mention once again we are potentially being reduced to the laughing stock of the AFL once again.

Why is it always our club that is the one not pulling any punches when chasing players?, our club that leaves everyone else in the football world scratching their head? Why must it be our club that consistently mortgages its future for the short term?
Bah!

PS
More than happy to be totally wrong about this!

Totally agree Sabre, fingers crossed Solomon and Tarrant don't come to Freo!

I share your concerns, mortgaging our future is what we are doing if we flog off all our high draft picks. But on the back of a fantastic finish to the season I'll assume they have a plan and know what they are doing.

Had we finished in the mix and they did this I'd be deadset ropeable.

This will be big for you guys (well Tarrant anyway, not his stablemate), how are the majority of the league going to cover your forward line?

Big positives, at worst, the guy is a surplus to your needs. That's a pretty handy surplus.

Black JuJu said:
This will be big for you guys (well Tarrant anyway, not his stablemate), how are the majority of the league going to cover your forward line?

Big positives, at worst, the guy is a surplus to your needs. That's a pretty handy surplus.

Tarrant is a positive, but you have to balance that with our needs and what we give up for him.
What about our midfield? Remains our weakest area without any attention.
Not to mention with the likes of Bell and Carr getting older, Headland never looking like capturing his Brisbane form and Haselby a broken man.
There is a very real possibility after next year our midfield will go backwards.

Whats the point having the best forward line if we cant clear it and deliver it to them ??

Freo follows thru with Tarrant and Solomon it had better work out or CC et al. will deserve ever bit of flak they get!

sabre_ac said:
Tarrant is a positive, but you have to balance that with our needs and what we give up for him.
What about our midfield? Remains our weakest area without any attention.
Not to mention with the likes of Bell and Carr getting older, Headland never looking like capturing his Brisbane form and Haselby a broken man.
There is a very real possibility after next year our midfield will go backwards.

You have Crowley and Peake coming through, they have serious potential. Haselby was handled poorly all year and should have been written off for the season much earlier, he's got the summer to get back on track. Bell is playing good footy as are the Carrs. Headland is patchy but talented.

Start living in the now sabre! Eagles fans went through this too, when you have a great team together that are pushing for the flag, think 1 season at a time, if Tarrant and the current guys (who went close last year), can get you that much closer in 2007 then it's easily worth it.

Black JuJu said:
Start living in the now sabre! Eagles fans went through this too, when you have a great team together that are pushing for the flag, think 1 season at a time, if Tarrant and the current guys (who went close last year), can get you that much closer in 2007 then it's easily worth it.

I hate eagles as much as anyone out there.
But at the same time I can give them credit where credit is due.
They have a dynasty of consistent finals action and 3 grand finals due to chasing young talent and planning for the future.
Freo have a history of quick fixed and one finals victory to show for it (Even though the AFL did its best to ensure we failed...another issue all together though).
Thats not good enough.

Put it this way, if we get tarrant.
We must win a grand final within the next 2 years of Conolly etc have failed, should leave the club imediately and rank with Neesham as our biggest Villians.
That said if we win a grand final in the next 2 years all will be forgiven :)

Gee you really know how to talk up the club eh Sabre. FFS pull your head in and stop being such a bloody drama queen.
Nothing has been confirmed yet, and Polak seemingly wants out.
The club has to minimize the damage, and if that meens Tarrant, so be it.
If you honestly think we are the laughing stock then i suggest you open your eyes a bit wider and improve your periphial vision. Read Black Ju Ju's post again, this coming from our rivals.
That forward line IF it happens will be the most potent of all clubs.

peppy la pew said:

Fine deal for a draft pick, something we can work with and that will bring value into the future.

peppy la pew said:

The damage of loosing Polak?
He couldnt even get a place in our side, there is no damage really to minimise.
Though trading our first draft pick and whatever we get for Polak for a player we dont need...While leaving our midfield lacking..Thats damage.

peppy la pew said:

It is already one of the most potent.

Ill take Strong midfield and one of the most potent forward lines....Over the most potent forward line and weak midfield any day of the week.

We forget the draft picks we are going to use are for midfielders that will step up within 2-3 years.
Just when we need them.

sabre_ac said:
I hate eagles as much as anyone out there.
But at the same time I can give them credit where credit is due.
They have a dynasty of consistent finals action and 3 grand finals due to chasing young talent and planning for the future.
Freo have a history of quick fixed and one finals victory to show for it (Even though the AFL did its best to ensure we failed...another issue all together though).
Thats not good enough.

Put it this way, if we get tarrant.
We must win a grand final within the next 2 years of Conolly etc have failed, should leave the club imediately and rank with Neesham as our biggest Villians.
That said if we win a grand final in the next 2 years all will be forgiven :)

The Eagles have made trades too, Stenglein and Chick were brought in to shore up the defensive side of the team. They have turned out to be good trades, we couldn't have won the flag without them. A smart trade for a quality player is always worth it, you should be able to land Tarrant (who is quality, no matter what some of the haters might say) without losing someone from your best 22. To me, that's a pretty good deal, especially if you're losing Polak anyway.

I think Tarrant is definately worth a shot for Freo, the forward line alone should be enough to see you contend again. The midfield has its flaws but ultimately is better than the majority of the league with young guys on the improve all the time.

Black JuJu said:
The Eagles have made trades too, Stenglein and Chick were brought in to shore up the defensive side of the team. They have turned out to be good trades, we couldn't have won the flag without them.

I am happy you brought this up.

Stenglein wanted to come home when Carr did
Chick wanted to come home when Headland did.

Now the net advantage for both teams...Coupled with what they paid for them...Who did better?

Black JuJu said:
Tarrant (who is quality, no matter what some of the haters might say) without losing someone from your best 22. To me, that's a pretty good deal, especially if you're losing Polak anyway.

Our first pick in this "superdraft" is essentially someone from our best 22. Not to mention a firing Polak would be in our best 22 as well.

Black JuJu said:
I think Tarrant is definately worth a shot for Freo, the forward line alone should be enough to see you contend again. The midfield has its flaws but ultimately is better than the majority of the league with young guys on the improve all the time.

Never said Tarrant would add something to our side...Its what we are going to give up that scares me.
Drafting Tarrant basically means its all or nothing in the next 2 years, with a bleak future after.

Good:

Polak + pick 13 = Tarrant + pick 26

Likely:

Polak + pick 13 + pick 47 = Tarrant + pick 26

Ripped:

Polak + pick 13 + pick 31 = Tarrant + pick 26

Thats how i see it, the midia report 'ripped', we are negotiating for 'good' and 'likely' is well, likely.

Sabre, have faith in the guys we have at the club who can play through the middle. A fit Hase, will make a heap of difference and what about Dodd and Crowley look at the improvement this year alone.
All we need is a clearance animal to complete the jigsaw, pre season might just unleash that beast.
12 months is a long time in football and who knows who might step up ?
The future looks mighty fine and my glass is half full :thumbsu:

Someone brought it up in the trade forum but I have to agree with him. People overrate draft picks , yes it is exciting to have a pick in what many are calling a "super" draft yet will be get a player better than Tarrant who will help the club over the next 2-3 years?? Look at who we picked in the last "super" draft, Pollie and now there is the chance we could lose him for nothing. Don't start on the we could have had Judd either because the Smart has said numerous times he would have taken Hodge first.

Drafting while requiring a lot of skill to pick up the best available players does involve a lot of luck.

For all we know we could get a hack with our first pick. Hell we seem to do better with later picks anyway. Give me Murphy & Mundy over Dunn anyday of the week.

I don't think we have had a bad trade period for the past few years. I trust that our recruiting group will either get us a decent deal, or they will let tarrant and solomon walk. I guess it all depends on how they see us playing next year. We were a pretty low scoring team (in terms of the top 8 last season) so tarrant should add to our firepower. As for solomon, he is a big bodied player who should be able to free up Mundy/Johnson to play in the midfield. In terms of speed in the midfield, hopefully Drum will be able make the switch next season.

I think we still have enough improvement in our current squad to fix our midfield problems and if we're left with a mid second round pick, we should be able to pick up a midfielder for the future. The good thing about a "superdraft" is that the quality of players should run fairly deep. I'm pretty confident that we should still be able to pick up a good young player in the second round.

peppy la pew said:
Gee you really know how to talk up the club eh Sabre. FFS pull your head in and stop being such a bloody drama queen.
If you honestly think we are the laughing stock then i suggest you open your eyes a bit wider and improve your periphial vision. Read Black Ju Ju's post again, this coming from our rivals.

Spot on.

If Connolly, Harvey, Schwab and Smart think it is the best move, then it is okay by me.

Get something for Polak whilst we can....if this is the trade...then do it.

Then get rid of Medhurst as well...surplus to stock. 2nd rounder will do.

Pavlich, Longmuir, Farmer, Headland, Tarrant, Murphy forward line....ahhhh the options

Black JuJu said:
You have Crowley and Peake coming through, they have serious potential. Haselby was handled poorly all year and should have been written off for the season much earlier, he's got the summer to get back on track. Bell is playing good footy as are the Carrs. Headland is patchy but talented.

Couldnt say it any better. Ive said it in another post our window is open now not in 3 years we need players that can step up next season not in 3 seasons or we will be just a consistent team not a premiership team. Look at Brissie , Syd, WC all have taken ready made players while there window is open and it pays off.
I would rather Tarrant, Tuck or Solomon now and contest a premiership over next 3 years than have 3 inexperienced players and only make up numbers in the finals for the next 3 years. Then when these players are ready to play Bell will be retired and a few other will be getting close to calling it a day too.
Live for next season not in 3 seasons time FFS:mad:

My concern is firstly we have a rapidly aging midfield which suffered when it mattered and is our weakness. Our priority should have been shoring up that midfield. Our forward line is adequate.

Freo Shark said:
My concern is firstly we have a rapidly aging midfield which suffered when it mattered and is our weakness. Our priority should have been shoring up that midfield. Our forward line is adequate.

Is there something in the water down Freo way in which our players age more over 12 months than any other team??

Cameron_K said:
Is there something in the water down Freo way in which our players age more over 12 months than any other team??

Cameron are you a f*ckwit or are you trying to be funny :confused:

Are you saying with Belly, Cookie and McManus we are a young midfield ? Add to the Carrs 27 and 29 next year. Headland 26, Schammers, Crowls and Peak are young. But its not a young midfield group.

Its a weakness of ours and my view is that should be our focus in the trade period rather than focusing on our forward line which is only in need of manipulating and a minor trade.