I know...but Champ Man again!

Update....40 games into the season with Charlton in Div. 1 and I have already won a promotion slot. My team is loyal, I have what I think is a Premiership calibre squad on a great wage budget and it shone through as I cruised home. I have been on top of the table for 21 rounds in a row now, and having played 40 matches, my record is 29 wins, 6 wins, 5 losses. The best bit though is that I have only conceded 15 goals in all 40 games! On 93 points with 6 games left, next best is West Ham with 83 (who are another 10 ahead of 3rd). I'm aiming for the big 100 now:D

What a season...9 of my players have average ratings of 7.4 or over....my wage bill is under 200K p/w and I'm crusing:D

Onto the Premiership and sweet sweet revenge on my old club, Chelsea!

One thing though, it doesn't have records for competitions (most points, goals etc). A bit disappointing as I was looking at smashing the all time record for div 1 points (and goals against).

Let me just say this is easily the most addictive game ever - lurve soccer management games!!!

Am playing CM3 at the moment with the patch, so current players etc... started off with Burnley and then after 2 seasons became manager of Chelski... with all the money I had to burn, here is my current line-up

Cudicini
Gallas,Terry,Hofland
Kaka, Van Bommel, Beckham, Duff
Ronaldo, Rooney, Shevchenko

Mutu, J Cole, Desailly, L Steele(GK)

It's season 2008, have played 26 games, on top of EPL, 7 points clear, still in ECL, FA Cup, League Cup

Last year won treble...

great game - don't need any other versions, the updates will do me !!

:D :D

Originally posted by CarterS
Update....40 games into the season with Charlton in Div. 1 and I have already won a promotion slot. My team is loyal, I have what I think is a Premiership calibre squad on a great wage budget and it shone through as I cruised home. I have been on top of the table for 21 rounds in a row now, and having played 40 matches, my record is 29 wins, 6 wins, 5 losses. The best bit though is that I have only conceded 15 goals in all 40 games! On 93 points with 6 games left, next best is West Ham with 83 (who are another 10 ahead of 3rd). I'm aiming for the big 100 now:D

What a season...9 of my players have average ratings of 7.4 or over....my wage bill is under 200K p/w and I'm crusing:D

Onto the Premiership and sweet sweet revenge on my old club, Chelsea!

One thing though, it doesn't have records for competitions (most points, goals etc). A bit disappointing as I was looking at smashing the all time record for div 1 points (and goals against).

So?? You move up to the EPL and is their any revenge to report?

Update....well when I last updated I believe I was about half way through the season.

Not a bad season from both clubs really. Ill start with the mighty Reds. Lost in the FA Cup semi finals to Manchester United, lost in the League Cup final to Arsenal and lost in the Champions League semi's to Barcelona. Finished 3rd in the league, 1 point behind the Arse in second and a long way behind Man U who dominated.

Not a bad year but Im now heading into my fourth year with the club and I only have 2 charity shields, one League Cup and one FA cup. I think the fans deserve more.

Anyways I made a couple purchases after the season ended. Picked up Julio Arca from Sunderland to help out Riise at LB. Cost me 4.4 million but well worth it. I got Labinot Harbuzi who is a 20 year old left sided midfielder who is awesome...got him for 16 million, cant remember what club I poached him from. Tottenham were relegated so I swooped on Keane. Price was halfed because he was in Division 1 so I got him for a cool 5 million :D Looking for big things now in the coming season.

So these are some of the names I have in my side.....Arca, Hofland, Riise, Buxton, Owen, Tristan, Donovan, Cisse, Keane (Robbie), Diouf, Gerrard, Kirkland, Dudek, Murphy, Zidane, Nedved, D'Allesandro, Hamman, Harbuzi....

Not a bad side so If I cant win the Premier League this season well I dont think I ever will :D

As for Lincoln City....my battles in the 3rd Division continue. Finished 20th and just avoided relegation. I was in the bottom two with 4 games to go but finished with 2 wins and 2 draws to get well and truly out. Went well in the Northern Vans English Trophy, made the semi's but lost to Div 2 side.

Dont know how to improve my squad, just so hard to bring quality players to the club when you have no money....

Originally posted by jod23
So?? You move up to the EPL and is their any revenge to report?

Haven't played again since last update unforunately. I'll get at it on monday night though and update after that.

It will be a tough ask to go instantly up to the top from promotion though....I will have about 30 million in the bank after TV money, I'll be demanding it all from the board too:D

In one of my current games, I've managed 5 clubs.

Take Watford from Divvy 3 to EPL and currently going for my third title in a row.

The year? 2034. :cool:

Started the new season....2-3-6 with Lincoln City. Not a good start. Liverpool though are going wonderfully! 7-0-0!! But the annoying thing is I got bumped from the qualifying in the CL???

Celta...home leg was 0-0 draw which was annoying but at least I didnt let an away goal in. Then the away leg I thought I could win and an early goal from Tristan put me in the drivers seat, but 2 second half Celta goals has seen me in the UEFA Cup. Not happy.

Short update...I was headhunted by a couple of high profile Spanish clubs, namely Villarreal and Real Sociedad but I decided to stay at Charlton.

World Cup 2006 was on during the offseason and I followed Australia's progress, they got to the quarter-finals and lost to Argentina. Good effort! I really wanna coach in the next World Cup.

Anyway I strengthened my squad by signing an ageing Alan Shearer from Newcastle on a free, also got Cygan from the Arse on a free. Bought Matt Piper, a quick winger from Sunderland (relegated), also got Laurent Robert for about a million but his stats faded away badly after I purchased him. Also got another keeper (the very good Rhys Evans who I used to have at Chelsea) as well as a Spanish left winger.

So I've got a pretty strong squad (though Parker is the only real world class player - jeez you've got a star studded squad jod!) but I lack a quality pacey striker. Euell is ok but not awesome.

Confident about the new season. . .

So I've got a pretty strong squad (though Parker is the only real world class player - jeez you've got a star studded squad jod!) but I lack a quality pacey striker. Euell is ok but not awesome.

Confident about the new season. . .

All my stars are old though...Nedved and Zidane are about 34. Tristan is 31 and I just sold him anyway for 20 million. Couldnt refuse that type of windfall for a 31 year old striker who was having a bad season anyway, 2 goals in about 15 games. Murphy is almost 30.

It's my youngsters that I hope come through, like Dean Stevens, Labinot Harbuzi and a couple of other kids.

I normally play as Villa, but have started a season in charge of Shrewsbury Town [CM4]. Start off with 1 pound in the bank and a 200k loan, not to mention a wage bill 9k pounds over the allowed amount. So its basically as case of signing a few players on lower contracts, letting a few go & getting in loans for nothing. It looked after 6 games id be in for a long season sitting 22nd, but now ive won my last 3 [Two of which were away] and im in 11th after 9. Go Shrews! :D

Halfway through the new season and I'm being pushed to the very edge of frustration.

The side that cruised home last year seems to have packed up and left. Right now I'm sitting 16th after 19 games with 5 wins and only 14 goals to my name. They have absolutely no attacking flair at all. In my first showdown against Chelsea, I couldn't even get a shot off in the whole game despite it being at home, and lost 2-0. Chelsea, btw, are 8 points clear at the top of the table.

I've been offered jobs at Villa, Tottenham and Man City who are all struggling, but I knocked them all back. I'm only 1 point out of the relegation zone but the season is very close.

Code:
13th     Coventry     21
14th     M'Boro       19
15th     B'Ham        19
16th     Charlton     18
17th     Bolton       17
----------------------------
18th     Man City     17
19th     Wolves       16
20th     Tottenham    13

I was just offered the job at Rangers, who are on top of the SPL at the moment. A news story came up saying "The Rangers board are unlikely to encounter any resistance to their approach.", that wasn't very good so I checked the club confidence page. "The board are unsatisfied with your performance", "The supporters are disappointed", "A group of supporters have been openly sceptical about your ability", and lastly my job appears insecure according to the the job info page.

Deeply considering leaving for greener pastures!

I was just sacked by Charlton, rather harshly I think.

I accepted the Rangers job.

lol :D Not exactly a bummer is it....get sacked by a team struggling against relegation in the EPL and then take over the best team in Scotland :D

How are the Reds going in your game?

Originally posted by jod23
lol :D Not exactly a bummer is it....get sacked by a team struggling against relegation in the EPL and then take over the best team in Scotland :D

How are the Reds going in your game?

Well this is the 2nd time I'd been offered the job at Rangers. Just before I was sacked from my first London club Chelsea I was offered the job at Rangers, but after I was sacked they didn't give it to me. They are about 9 points ahead of Celtic with about 5 games left, I had my first derby and won 2-0 pretty easily:D I am looking forward to digging into the Champions League again, after about 3 seasons out of it. Hopefully I get to meet & finally beat Chelsea at some point:D Anyway my ultimate goal is to get back to the Premier League with a top club (Arse, Man Utd, Newcastle, Liverpool) and flog the crap out of all my old enemies there. Damn ungrateful Charlton:( I got them promoted with 100+ points and I was looking forward to building a dynasty there.

Reds are currently 2nd to Chelsea in the League. When I can access the game again I'll give you a rundown on the squad and silverware but they're doing well.

btw even though I've been sacked by 2 clubs my reputation is still 'very good'. I wish they had the top managers list in cm4 because I'd like to work up to #1, but anyway, there is the hall of fame but it resets when you change clubs. This title in Scotland will be my first real silverware in the game (about 5 seasons in too), except I think I won the FA Cup & Community Shield at Chelsea.

Im now half-way through my first season with Shrewsbury Town...

Team P Pts GD
Hull 23 55 33
York 23 50 24
Torquay 23 45 19
-------------------------
Swansea 23 38 12
Exeter 23 38 11
Lincoln 23 37 7
Cambridge 23 36 14
--------------------------
Shrewsbury 23 35 4

So im a spot outta the play-off positions. Not bad for a club that was resigned for relegation this season. Im still 7k pounds over the wage bill. Basically ive got about 2 players for every position, one for some, except for strikers which i have heaps of. Im slowly getting rid of my old expensive players, but the club is still losing money. My star players are Jamie Tolley [DMC] & Scott Partridge whose leading the league scoring with 21. :D

Now time for some more CM!

Just out of interest Jod. What situation were you in when you started with Lincoln City. What were their expectations? How much per week allowed for wages? Get any transfer money? In debt? etc.

Post your tables using the CODE option mate it looks much neater.

Anyway I love lower league management and most of my games bar my current one have been started in the Conference. Good luck getting into the playoffs mate! One season in the conference I was sitting something like 18th half way through, but then I went through about 28 games unbeaten winning about 25 of them. It was such an incredible run!! I made it into the playoffs and got promoted:)

Scotty Partridge is a great player to get if your in the lower leagues. Right winger/Forward I believe!

I play as Arsenal (unsurprisingly) on CM4. Into my second season now after finishing a disapointing 3rd in my first season - Newcastle finished as champeens, and I bombed out of the CL in the group stage.

:(

Originally posted by Sammy D

Just out of interest Jod. What situation were you in when you started with Lincoln City. What were their expectations? How much per week allowed for wages? Get any transfer money? In debt? etc.

They wanted to battle bravely against relegation. Cant remember how much per week, they gave me absolutely no transfer money and we were about 50K in the green. I kept it around 50 to 100 and then would get a bit of money at seasons end but player wages would just dwindle it away. And when I had a bit of cash I would ask for it to be able to sign some players but they would never give me any transfer money.

So after 3 years and finishing 14th, 19th and then one spot outside the relegation area. I was getting nowhere and they still wouldnt give me any money. I was relying on loans and free transfers. I just resigned and now im back concentrating on the Reds.

I won the league title with Rangers, ending Celtic's run of 6 straight titles, and qualified for the Champions League, but for some reason I'm just not enjoying it. I just can't get into the Scottish league, it's very boring for me.

However, my reputation is "superb", I am on 31,000 a week and Juventus offered a million pounds for my services after Lippi was sacked. However, they lie 7th and haven't qualified for Europe so I rejected. I've also been approached by Blackburn, I was tempted (because Duff is still there and his stats are awesome) but I rejected, also. Holding out for a big Premiership club.

Anyway jod, here's a slight rundown of Liverpool in my game (now 2007). Houllier resigned in 2003 and Arsene Wenger took over, he's been there ever since. Won the FA Cup in 2004. That's the only silverware though. Made the semis of the Champs League once and the quarters twice. Lost in the UEFA cup semi final once, also. Oh, and the core squad is pretty much the same although Michael Owen is about to retire because of injury.

Holding out for a big Premiership club.

Prophetic words! I have just been offered the managers post at both Arsenal and Newcastle (the team I follow). Both have qualified for the Champions League, Arsenal are reigning champions. Arsenal's squad is awesome, they're stuffed to the brims with money and it would probably be an easy ride (although I thought that at Chelsea too). Newcastle look like they're quite a bit below Arsenal and it would be fun to build them up.

tough decision coming my way.

Well. Just finished my first season at Shrewsbury Town. With about 17 games to go i beat Torquay Utd 3-2 @ home to be 4th to them only on gd. From there...it was hell. Injuries to my key players meant that i went on a totally hopeless streak where i would have been lucky to get 10 points from a possible 55. In the end i think i finished 14th. Partridge won the goal scoring by a mile. Scored 34 league goals. Havent got any end of season money yet, but i think im around -500k in the hole.
So basically in the end very disappointing but they club still love me because we didnt go down. What contrasting expectations.... :(

I won the league title with Rangers, ending Celtic's run of 6 straight titles, and qualified for the Champions League, but for some reason I'm just not enjoying it. I just can't get into the Scottish league, it's very boring for me.

However, my reputation is "superb", I am on 31,000 a week and Juventus offered a million pounds for my services after Lippi was sacked. However, they lie 7th and haven't qualified for Europe so I rejected. I've also been approached by Blackburn, I was tempted (because Duff is still there and his stats are awesome) but I rejected, also. Holding out for a big Premiership club.

Anyway jod, here's a slight rundown of Liverpool in my game (now 2007). Houllier resigned in 2003 and Arsene Wenger took over, he's been there ever since. Won the FA Cup in 2004. That's the only silverware though. Made the semis of the Champs League once and the quarters twice. Lost in the UEFA cup semi final once, also. Oh, and the core squad is pretty much the same although Michael Owen is about to retire because of injury.

Damn, there going worse then my Reds. Owen retiring because of injury will hurt, let me know if they go and sign a big name forward. I havent gotten on Champ Man in weeks now, havent had the time.

I took over the post at Newcastle. I must admit I cheated a bit, I looked at the wage bills and money of both teams before I made my decision...and WOW!! Arsenal's wage bill was 1,200,000 pounds a week, Newcastle's is just under 900,000. It may look a bit dodgy but I think it's simulated the booming gap between big & small clubs very well (year is 2008 & the bottom premiership clubs are still on a pittance). At Newcastle, Shearer is gone (I bought him when I was at Charlton:D), but Chopra has developed into a very good player and his worthy successor. Bellamy is there and doing very well, Viana has developed into a very good player, Jenas has stagnated a bit because previous managers didn't give him much time, and Woodgate has become the captain. However the board expect me to win the League and tbh my squad doesn't stand up to Chelsea or Arsenal (the two powers, Man Utd have dropped off a bit). I've already lost to Chelsea 3-0 (i left them in good shape!)

I'll keep you posted on the Reds. Owen's status has changed from 'will retire' to 'considering retirement' so there is hope!

Interestingly all the top clubs have very few players in their under 19 squads. I guess to offset the wages the first team is on (when I arrived I found a few dud players ridiculously overpaid, Robbie Elliot on 40,000 and Aaron Hughes the same).

I know...but Champ Man again!