Ruanaidh

Just thought that with the decision to be made this weekend we could build some positivity about this place starting with the players. Maybe we could pass on our positive perceptions or actual experiences with players?

I like Mort because of his adventurous playing style and his willingness to try to break games open at crucial stages. I also like the way he has handled the last couple of weeks:

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/tigers-are-close-morton/2009/06/03/1243708507038.html

Just thought that with the decision to be made this weekend we could build some positivity about this place starting with the players. Maybe we could pass on our positive perceptions or actual experiences with players?

I like Mort because of his adventurous playing style and his willingness to try to break games open at crucial stages. I also like the way he has handled the last couple of weeks:

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/tigers-are-close-morton/2009/06/03/1243708507038.html

For a bloke that supposedly came to us with an attitude problem I reckon he has shown some real maturity in his comments to the media recently.
This guy could be a gamebreaker for us in a year or two.

I like JON because I know he'll get the chop at years end. :)

How do you know that? New coach will give him more game time (hopefully) and he may just come good enough to be saved. I hope so. We can only get rid of so many players, and with so many older ones looking shaky and Petts, McMohn and maybe Schulz clogging the list, he could be saved. He has never played more than 3 games in a row. Give you young bloke a fair crack for the rest of the year, and if hes no good, then out.

Agree 100%. He looked alright in his couple of games this year and was unlucky to be dropped. Give him at least a month out there to get used to the pace of AFL. He's regularly in the best at Coburg and has been for the last 2 years, but still doesn't get a fair go in the seniors.

I like JON because I know he'll get the chop at years end. :)

I doubt it right now. You can only cut so many, espescially in a weak (depth) draft.

A new coach will probably look to cut the over 30's brigade.

Those under threat :

Johnson - age and skills against him. Good club man though.

Simmonds - this is his last year of his contract and he has been horrible this year compared to his best. We have up and coming rucks in Graham, Patto, Brown and Vickery. Thanks Simmo.

Hislop - I just don't think he can cut it at this level.
King - to short and not good enough ball delivery.
Polak - probably not coming back.

That's already five. If the new coach goes into clean out mode, then it will probably include Brown. No guarantees on Cousins.

What about Schulz? What about Hughes?

That's 9 all in the mix. In this years draft you probably are only looking at 5 max!

Add in :

Under pump - though I doub't will be dropped.
Gourdis, Conners, Raines

These players will probably all be retained simply because we haven't better options. The good thing is they all have their upsides and potentially could be good senior players. It's in their court.

Now JON has shown good improvement this year. He is bulking up ok. He leads well into space. He still makes errors, but looked far less like a chook stuck in the headlights this year. With his body type combined with the missed pre-seasons, there is every chance he will be a late bloomer. So equally he will probably be retained.

For a bloke that supposedly came to us with an attitude problem I reckon he has shown some real maturity in his comments to the media recently.
This guy could be a gamebreaker for us in a year or two.

:thumbsu:Mate, couldn't agree more. Handled himself brilliantly two weeks ago on the Footy Show and again this week in regards comments to Wallace. Paid his coach a lot of respect, something which may have been missing in recent months from others at the club.
Was fortunate to meet him last year at the members' cocktail night - found him to be a genuine down-to-earth guy and in knowledgeable about the game.
A big fan of him as a player too - the famboyancy I like. We've lacked that for years at our club.
easily my favourite behind Richo of this current crop!

I like Rockin' Robbie and Lukey McGuane and Jacko and Jack because they have a crack and they give a flying ****.

I also love how Petts gets so pumped after a goal, really sends a shiver down the spine.

I doubt it right now. You can only cut so many, espescially in a weak (depth) draft.

A new coach will probably look to cut the over 30's brigade.

Those under threat :

Johnson - age and skills against him. Good club man though.

Simmonds - this is his last year of his contract and he has been horrible this year compared to his best. We have up and coming rucks in Graham, Patto, Brown and Vickery. Thanks Simmo.

Hislop - I just don't think he can cut it at this level.
King - to short and not good enough ball delivery.
Polak - probably not coming back.

That's already five. If the new coach goes into clean out mode, then it will probably include Brown. No guarantees on Cousins.

What about Schulz? What about Hughes?

That's 9 all in the mix. In this years draft you probably are only looking at 5 max!

Add in :

Under pump - though I doub't will be dropped.
Gourdis, Conners, Raines

These players will probably all be retained simply because we haven't better options. The good thing is they all have their upsides and potentially could be good senior players. It's in their court.

Now JON has shown good improvement this year. He is bulking up ok. He leads well into space. He still makes errors, but looked far less like a chook stuck in the headlights this year. With his body type combined with the missed pre-seasons, there is every chance he will be a late bloomer. So equally he will probably be retained.
we can still elevate rookies. so nahas will take up one spot. and maybe browne or gourdis.