Ideas for Footy Trip Fundraising

MasterOfRoc

VB BUshrangers
Id love to see some of the wierd and wacky ideas (as well as the serious ones) everyone has for fundraising for a footy trip, this is an issue that many clubs have problems with, and if we can all help them out, it will benefit those clubs significantly!!

MasterOfRoc said:
Id love to see some of the wierd and wacky ideas (as well as the serious ones) everyone has for fundraising for a footy trip, this is an issue that many clubs have problems with, and if we can all help them out, it will benefit those clubs significantly!!

Auction a group of players say 3 (1 x 1st, 1 x 2nds, 1 x 3rds) all money raised a percentage goes to the winning bidder then the rest to the trip. Winner is calculated by total combined B&F votes at the end of the year.

One year we had a mate who worked at the local pub and we got the info when the keg beer was to be delivered, organised a mates ute - got our hands on 7 kegs of Carlton's finest and sold pots on the breakup for $2. We got $2000+ out of that. Never tasted beer so good.

Each week sell each player from the 1's name for $10 and whoever kicks the last goal of the game for the team wins half the pot. The other half goes to the trip.

Powerball on a Thursday up the club - $5 a number. Powerball comes out - half to winner, half to trip.

Just got to be careful though who is organising the money - i know that one of the clubs i used to play for in EDFL we had a bloke take of with our money and never got it back. Sh*t effort.

Macca29 said:
Auction a group of players say 3 (1 x 1st, 1 x 2nds, 1 x 3rds) all money raised a percentage goes to the winning bidder then the rest to the trip. Winner is calculated by total combined B&F votes at the end of the year.

One year we had a mate who worked at the local pub and we got the info when the keg beer was to be delivered, organised a mates ute - got our hands on 7 kegs of Carlton's finest and sold pots on the breakup for $2. We got $2000+ out of that. Never tasted beer so good.

Each week sell each player from the 1's name for $10 and whoever kicks the last goal of the game for the team wins half the pot. The other half goes to the trip.

Powerball on a Thursday up the club - $5 a number. Powerball comes out - half to winner, half to trip.

Just got to be careful though who is organising the money - i know that one of the clubs i used to play for in EDFL we had a bloke take of with our money and never got it back. Sh*t effort.
One of the best i have heard is a club who penned up a few sheep and gave them all names and numbers. Sold them all and watched over a sunday session at which one the ram would take first?? Same thing half money to the winner and half to the trip..

Probably a bit late for this year but anyways...

Had a mate who played up in the bush - they got a local hardware store to donate them a wheelbarrow.

Each player who was planning on going on the trip was required to donate a bottle of spirits (Beam, vodka, Southern, Bundy, etc) which went in the wheelbarrow - club chucked in a couple of slabs for good measure.

Each player was given a book of 100 tickets at $2 each to sell over the course of the season. Worked out to about 170 bucks per player raised once you take out the cost of the bottle they contributed.

Worked a treat because it was a pretty handy prize (a year's worth of p|ss) and the tickets were dead easy to sell (at only $2 each you can sell them to pretty much anyone as people are happy to part with such a small amount for a pretty cool prize).

Macca29 said:

Few good ones there, might help someone else out!! great work.... the 'Player auction' is used up here, its great! the club (from a town of only 2800 people) raises about 2 thousand $$$$$ which is a pretty good effort.

as far as someone running off with the money, ive been involved with a cricket club, where the secretary just so happened to break up with his Mrs, and nicked off with all the $$ never to be seen again!!! (moron)

the only problem with the 'kegs' idea...is we have a sergent who is COMPLETELY against alcohol...if we slip up doing anything whatsoever, then he will have our guts for breakfast the next morning!

We had a 'drink a tshirt' night, where we had a block of 9 little squares, each filled with a particular drink (ie shot of rum, pot of beam, csc shots...etc) every 15-20 mins, another 'number' was drawn out, (which related to a square on the tshirt) then everyone had to have that drink.... where does the money get made? well the T shirts and printing cost price is about $9 each (dimmys shirt, and cheap T shirt printing) and to be 'involved' (get a tshirt) it costs $30... was a great time!!! but nowdays we have to watch out for that copper! lol

Bubble Wrap said:

Had a mate who played up in the bush - they got a local hardware store to donate them a wheelbarrow.

Each player who was planning on going on the trip was required to donate a bottle of spirits (Beam, vodka, Southern, Bundy, etc) which went in the wheelbarrow - club chucked in a couple of slabs for good measure.

Each player was given a book of 100 tickets at $2 each to sell over the course of the season. Worked out to about 170 bucks per player raised once you take out the cost of the bottle they contributed.

Worked a treat because it was a pretty handy prize (a year's worth of p|ss) and the tickets were dead easy to sell (at only $2 each you can sell them to pretty much anyone as people are happy to part with such a small amount for a pretty cool prize).

sounds good!!! has the potential for $5000 profit

MasterOfRoc said:
Few good ones there, might help someone else out!! great work.... the 'Player auction' is used up here, its great! the club (from a town of only 2800 people) raises about 2 thousand $$$$$ which is a pretty good effort.

as far as someone running off with the money, ive been involved with a cricket club, where the secretary just so happened to break up with his Mrs, and nicked off with all the $$ never to be seen again!!! (moron)

We used to run Poo bingo on a Sunday, fence off the centre square and grab a cow wherever it craps they win half the pool. Square is divided into boxes and sold for $20. We had one problem though as they were bringing the old cow through the gate it had a big crap, so to this day unsure if the cow unloaded in the square or if anyone won the money. Massive day waiting around drinkin cans.......Mmmmm DUFF.:thumbsu:

Bubble Wrap said:

Love the barrow full of grog idea Bubble Boy, and cant say i've heard of it before.

A guy i know from another club told me that their footy trip organisers used to 'fine' their players $5 each based on Saturday's tattslotto numbers. Basically, if the tatts numbers were 1, 7, 11, 16, 38 & 42 then the players who wear that number cough up $5 each on Tuesday night training. Supps were $10 a pop.

As the tatts numbers only go up to 45, they would then re-start the sequence so that player #46 had to chip in if number 1 was drawn, player 47 became #2 and so on. Raised themselves about a grand and also used to run the odd raffle on the side. No prize on offer under this system, bit a bit of fun for the boys I guess.

If your club is situated in a town which has its own newspaper, get a large sheet of ply or MDF and whenever a player from your club gets his photo on the paper, cut it out and stick it on there, and for each photo, that player must cough up a $5 fine.

willo1 said:
If your club is situated in a town which has its own newspaper, get a large sheet of ply or MDF and whenever a player from your club gets his photo on the paper, cut it out and stick it on there, and for each photo, that player must cough up a $5 fine.
Some top ideas l think we will be using the wheelbarrow one next year sound good would have be put away under look and key though some thirsty footballers out there.
We do Joker poker raffle its an oldie but a goodie untill last night some one won the 12 slabs and we were shattered.
A club in the EDFL Div 2 Marby Park raised $23000 one year for the footy trip from stripper days and cards on thursday night and they would fine players for anything even breathing heavy they also done joker poker, fair effort

Were doing a players calender for next year. Bit of hard work but its been done here before and made heaps of coin. We got a photographer and printers donating there time and skills. We've also got local buisnesses to sponsor a month. All proffesionaly done and looks great a sold heaps!
We also fine blokes after the awards on game day for something someone has done during the week. e.g spewed, stacked car, picked up an ugly, one bloke gets fined every week for having big ears. Someone goe's around with an empty jug and gets 5 or more bucks of those who are fined. 6 to 8 fines a week add's up to a few hundred at the end. I'v also heard of one where everyone gets a sheep tag where they must have it with them at all times. Then have a few sheriffs who can ask to see you tag at any time or anywhere. If you don't have it on you when they ask it's a 5 buck fine. Apparently goe's alright.
Great thread boys......this is something all clubs struggle with every year, hopefully we get some great ideas!