if/when things go bad

• Thread starter Thread starter tico

surfsup said:
Gary Hocking.
Being a friend of one of Buddhas coaching staff at Peel I've heard a hell of alot about him. The board at Peel have nothing but admiration for the guy as he is the consumate professional that lives and breathes football. He has earned a tonne of respect from his players and the community in Mandurah have got right behind him like no other previous coach.
Buddha has spoken to the Fremantle Football Club. The board at Freo hold him in very high regard. At the same time, there have been murmurs that our board are not totally happy with Connollys methods.

If there was anyone on the board that was totally happy with Connolly's methods they should be shot.

Total Package said:
The word.. inconsistent comes to mind.

I still don't understand. Their inconsistently Aboriginal or they're inconsistent footballers because they're indigenous Australians? Are Peter Matera, Jason Akermanis, Andrew McLeod Adam Goodes etc. more inconsistent than your average footballer with European heritage?

dominguez said:
I still don't understand. Their inconsistently Aboriginal or they're inconsistent footballers because they're indigenous Australians? Are Peter Matera, Jason Akermanis, Andrew McLeod Adam Goodes etc. more inconsistent than your average footballer with European heritage?
Peter Matera is not aboriginal..... he may have an aboriginal mother... but if you ask him... he's not aboriginal at all.

As for Akermanis... McLeod.. Goodes.. I wouldnt exactly call them consistent players would you? More burst players. eg: Inconsistent.

Stop making implications to racism Domin, it's obvious TP was identifying players without using name. I don't think he intended any slur.
And, Tp, as we know, is here to wind people up, and you're all letting him. if you take an objective view, you would see some of the stuff he says is funny.

The problem with us is that we have always gone for the unorthodox coach as is tradition. Neesham, Drum, now CC aren't exactly your stereotypical coaches. However, this isn't a bad thing when you've got the talent we do. CC would have to screw up incredibly to prevent us from making the finals this year, and I can't see that happening. I reckon we will probably end up 6 - 8.

Worse case scenario, I'm on the Hocking bandwagon.

I'm predicting we finish 7th. But I don't think this years 'realistic' position of where we will finish on the ladder should determine whether the coach stays or goes. It's whether the coach can take us to a flag or not. Drum was supposed to have been good at nurturing and building which is what we did. If Connolly was employed because they thought he could take us to a flag I suppose the board has to ask themselves whether he has shown us this ability or not. If not, then find someone else. Personally I like Hocking, but thats probably only because I have had a bit of exposure to him. I'm sure there are others out there who fit the bill too.
Which name do you think blends in with these coaches Matthews, Sheedy, Parkin, Williams, Wallace and Eade? .....Connolly or Hocking?

Rob said:
If there was anyone on the board that was totally happy with Connolly's methods they should be shot.

don't let other people on this board hear you say that, you will get accused of not supporting your club . you need to blindly follow your team regardless of how it does and be happy even if it means accepting losing on a consistent basis.

Farrand said:
Stop making implications to racism Domin, it's obvious TP was identifying players without using name. I don't think he intended any slur.
And, Tp, as we know, is here to wind people up, and you're all letting him. if you take an objective view, you would see some of the stuff he says is funny.

What's obvious is that he was using the fact that they're indigenous Australians as a point to criticise them. If he had wrote that we have a lunatic forward pocket who wanted to quit 6 months ago and another player from Brisbane on $500,000p.a. would you not have known who he was talking about? What he did was criticise Farmer and Headland as average footballers, which is fine, but he implied that it's even worse because they're aboriginal.

Winding up opposition supporters is always fun but trolling bigots aren't funny. Maybe you and your buddy total package need to find another message board where people share your views?

Calling Aboriginal footballers inconsistent isn't racist.. It's a legitimate opinion.. one that although could be seen as stereotypical (not racist) is probably more true than not.

Look at all the aboriginal stars with craploads of talent, and tell me they are as consistent as the Buckleys/Crawfords/Voss/Hirds. They simply aren't.

voodoo_86 said:
Calling Aboriginal footballers inconsistent isn't racist.. It's a legitimate opinion.. one that although could be seen as stereotypical (not racist) is probably more true than not.

Look at all the aboriginal stars with craploads of talent, and tell me they are as consistent as the Buckleys/Crawfords/Voss/Hirds. They simply aren't.

Agreed.

Saying that Aboriginal footballers are inconsistent is one thing, leading with "a lunatic aboriginal ........." is another. Sending your friends on to argue otherwise isn't going to alter the perception.

there ya go TP.

dominguez said:
Saying that Aboriginal footballers are inconsistent is one thing, leading with "a lunatic aboriginal ........." is another. Sending your friends on to argue otherwise isn't going to alter the perception.

there ya go TP.

Heh.

Finally worked out what the hell you were on about.

That line is in reference to TP having a dig at me not including my team in my profile, and having a go at something he said regarding the eagles with that being the case.

there ya go dominguez.

Considering he used to look like a mulletted bogan from a bogan town, Hocking strikes me as pretty astute observer of the game.

On 720 he usually provides some pretty cogent anaysis of the games he's doing expert comments.

an AFL gig wouldn't surprise me at all at some stage of his coaching career.

Farrand said:
Worse case scenario, I'm on the Hocking bandwagon.

yep, he seems to know what he's talking about - pretty impressive so far IMO.

Curious about the Aboriginal thing - Does aboriginality come through the maternal or paternal line?

I thought if you had a parent who was Aboriginal that automatically entitiled you to claim Aboriginal status.

This is not an area I know anything about so I would appreciate advice from somebody who knows what they're talking about.

Go for John Longmire

"a lunatic aboriginal" Is there really any argument about whether there is not only implied but explicit racism here? Go into a couple of shops in Perth with an aboriginal and you'll have a first hand experience at what racism means to indigenous people on a daily basis. Get comments like this off the site.

As for Hocking, I think he has a future but I think expecting someone who has not coached at AFL level or as an Assistant at that level to take the team from where it is to a flag is a big ask. He would need to have time to go through a learning curve, and in my opinion Connelly is begining to get beyond that learning curve now. CC has at least this year and perhaps 1-2 more to show if he can coach during finals when a coach needs to peak.

I'd really like to see Hocking in an Assistant role, but at Freo I think that could seriously undermine the coaching dynamics as he would be seen as insurance and/or auditioning for the senior job (unless CC actaull wanted him as Assistant).

theGav56 said:
"a lunatic aboriginal" Is there really any argument about whether there is not only implied but explicit racism here? Go into a couple of shops in Perth with an aboriginal and you'll have a first hand experience at what racism means to indigenous people on a daily basis. Get comments like this off the site.

As for Hocking, I think he has a future but I think expecting someone who has not coached at AFL level or as an Assistant at that level to take the team from where it is to a flag is a big ask. He would need to have time to go through a learning curve, and in my opinion Connelly is begining to get beyond that learning curve now. CC has at least this year and perhaps 1-2 more to show if he can coach during finals when a coach needs to peak.

I'd really like to see Hocking in an Assistant role, but at Freo I think that could seriously undermine the coaching dynamics as he would be seen as insurance and/or auditioning for the senior job (unless CC actaull wanted him as Assistant).

Good post Gav. Agree with you on both points. Being an AFL coach is more than getting 22 guys to play good footy. You need a strong understanding of things like marketing, the draft, trading and the salary cap. If things do go pear shaped and there is a shake up of the coaching group at the end of the year Hocking would be a good addition. But as an assistant to an experienced senior coach and not in the top job.

too long have the dockers list hidden behind this 'talent' banner. it cant be measured and is an easy excuse to pop up so the faithful put their hands back into their wallets.

should go the way off the pies. cull the deadwood.... coach, ceo, players, whoever! till you get it right (yes we're still looking as are 15 other clubs)

tarrantcantkick said:
should go the way off the pies. cull the deadwood.... coach, ceo, players, whoever! till you get it right (yes we're still looking as are 15 other clubs)

About time the Pies started looking for a new Coach and Players. Collingwood is starting to head the way of the Eagles towards the end of Malthouses' reign. Poor draft selection, topping up with older players and a tendency not to play their youngsters.