I'm nervous!

My presentation for co-op year is in half an hour, and I'm starting to get nervous! I was OK until now, guess it's sinking in that in an hour I will know whether I have passed my 3rd year of university or not! (providing the essay gets passed as well).

I'll let you know how it goes afterwards (if it goes well a few brewskis at the footy tonight me thinks)

Originally posted by TheMase
Good luck mate!

GH, I have a tip for your essay - only if you don't know the answer. ;)
Believe it or not a friend of our family actually did this and got away with it. I'll call him Bill. When Bill recieved the essay instructions/question, he only knew small pieces of the answer, so

1. On the first page of his answer booklet, Bill wrote as much as he could remember about the subject (so it looked like he knew what he was talking about).

2. He then wrote a P.T.O at the bottom of the page, but pulled all of the remaining pages away from the first page that were held together by a staple.

3. He submitted only the first page with the broken staple still left in it. When the exams were marked they only had Bill's first page to read from.

4. When the subject teacher called him in a week or so down the track to ask him where the remaining pages were, he explained they had all been filled out on the day and must have been detached/lost by the exam teacher.

5. He refused to sit the test again, as a result they gave him the class average, which was 74% - beautifully done!

TRUE STORY!
There's something to think about GH if your in a bit of trouble (hopefully they don't do exams on the PC nowdays).:D

I PASSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I PASSED!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU LITTLE BEAUTY!!!

Thanks for the tip Shermantor but unfortunately I had to give a presentation along with handing up the 5,000 word essay.

However the presentation seemed to go pretty well (I ended up talking nearly 45 minutes!) and afterwards the marker said he was really impressed and I had definitely passed.

It's only pass or fail, although there are a few students that win awards. Tell you the truth I couldn't give a stuff about that, the main thing is I've passed and I'm going out and getting SLAUGHTERED tonight!!!

Thanks for all the good wishes too!

GO AUSSIES!! Will be having a few (crappy mid-strength) beers at the footy tonight let me tell you!

:) :) :)

Re: I PASSED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Thanks for the tip Shermantor but unfortunately I had to give a presentation along with handing up the 5,000 word essay.

No drama - snake charmer.
Congratulations and have a few for the Big footy crew mate!

Congrats GH!!!! Well done!!

However the presentation seemed to go pretty well (I ended up talking nearly 45 minutes!) and afterwards the marker said he was really impressed and I had definitely passed.

It's only pass or fail, although there are a few students that win awards. Tell you the truth I couldn't give a stuff about that, the main thing is I've passed and I'm going out and getting SLAUGHTERED tonight!!!

Thanks for all the good wishes too!

GO AUSSIES!! Will be having a few (crappy mid-strength) beers at the footy tonight let me tell you!

Well done mate

However the presentation seemed to go pretty well (I ended up talking nearly 45 minutes!)

only 45 minutes matey .... sheesh did they gag you or sumptin.lol

congrats

a little late but just like to add my congrats to you as well Dom.

Now, like any good uni student, go out and get drunk enough to forget all that stuff youve just learned!!

(if you need hints, im sure Darky could help you out)! ;)

Thanks guys...appreciate it!

Ripper, co-op year is basically a year of your uni course where you spend 12 months in industry placement. So I'm working full time (and getting paid) but I'm still classified as a student as it is a 'subject' I have to pass. To pass I have to complete 12 months work (ie don't get fired) and hand in a 5,000 word essay and give a presentation on something to do with my job.

I did a presentation on Risk Management in Central Securities Depositories (ie like CHESS, the clearing and settlement arm of the ASX), and yes it was probably as boring as it sounds!

Certainly did have a few drinks on Friday, was a great night at the footy, then a party before ending up at Velour Lounge until around 3AM. I'm still at work until the end of November, but my studying requirements are over until next year, when I complete (hopefully) the final year of my Economics & Finance degree.