matchwinner

I know this season has been a write off because of injuries to so many key players, but when compared with 2011, is there any player on our list who has improved their output this season? I'm struggling to think of anyone who stands out. Even worse, many have gone backwards significantly. A big shake up needed at season's end!!

WCE are missing JK, Lecras, Embley and Nico and seem to be travelling along ok. Perhaps you need to be looking at your lack of depth as it doesn't appears much pressure is being placed on your current 22 to perform

Robbo, Ellard, Henderson, Tuohy, McLean look better than they did last year

Carazzo and Murphy until injured, Would also add Armfield as improved, Watson showing a bit, but can't think of anyone who has taken 'a giant leap' forward, closest would be Henderson and Carazzo

Numbers, Guns and Thy have improved. Sin City has been missing for most of the season, need more from Parrot too. Aph has settled well into new role.

BRIB, TG, 40YB and a few others have been racking up the stats, don't have the Disposal Efficiency ratings yet, still waiting on this weeks figures to be added in. There is still plenty left in the season for them.

There are a few who have been disappointing.....

Whilst its always good to see players improve every year, the simple fact of the matter is they dont. Look at any players stats (yes ANY player) and most likely you will find that they have a year here or there where their output declines before rising again. Form is not linear. If you take this type of criticism to its logical conclusion it must also follow that a player must get better with each game of the season, any downward movement in whatever measure you are applying ought not be tolerated for any reason whatsoever. The fact is, from time to time, injury or other factors (even the injury of a team mate can effect other players) effects every player and sometimes the perfect storm of circumstance comes along to cruel a season for the entire club. Its disappointing but it is temporary. Fortunately the club wont be making permanent decisions based on a temporary form slump driven by key injuries.

I agree 100%.
You cannot say anyone has noticeably improved from 2011. That includes our 3 best performed players this season, Robbo, Simmo and Scotland. In fact, those guys don't need to improve, you always know what you get from them. The improvement needed to come from Russell, Lucas, Hampson, Bower, Curnow, Davies and Joseph. Guys like Mitchell, Kerr, O'Keeffe, McCarthy & McInnes haven't tasted senior football this year for one reason or another. This would at least provide more depth to the list. We also needed blokes like Gibbs, Kreuzer, Yarran and Walker to really become elite players. That's miles away now. Those 4 players are only 50% of what they were last year or even 2 years ago, coupled with Judd's poor season it means a top 8 finish is really unlikely.

Numbers, Guns and Thy have improved. Sin City has been missing for most of the season, need more from Parrot too. Aph has settled well into new role.

BRIB, TG, 40YB and a few others have been racking up the stats, don't have the Disposal Efficiency ratings yet, still waiting on this weeks figures to be added in. There is still plenty left in the season for them.

There are a few who have been disappointing.....
cheers (to be honest only way was up for me)
certainly feel Army has improved and think Ellard has handled the extra responsbility well. 2E has looked better in parts. I think Eddie has kept his work rate high and has been not "missing" as much as other years

I'm wondering who would be leading our B&F about now? Seems all players have had injury or form lapses.

Judd shouldn't be leading but you never know what they see. Scotland a chance. Simmo a chance. Robbo?

I'm wondering who would be leading our B&F about now? Seems all players have had injury or form lapses.

Judd shouldn't be leading but you never know what they see. Scotland a chance. Simmo a chance. Robbo?

Throw a blanket over that lot, wouldn't reckon anyone else is even close.

The way our BF is done, it could be Carrots or less likely Murphy. .. It's a rating system isn't it, similar to the Sunday footy show. .. We haven't had someone consistent enough, so the early good games could be worth gold. ..

I asked this question to Mark Maclure on that blue print thing yesterday, he thought McLean, Ellard, Armfield and Watson. I reckon Hendo has improved too, when he hasn't been injured.
I was thinking about the B&F the other day, it's hard to know who would be winning it right now. Not one player seems to have had a stand out season so far.

Robinson, Armfield, McLean, Watson and maybe Tuohy and Hampson have improved their output

I actually think Scotland (almost AA), Simpson had a lot better seasons last year. Scotland is obviously forgiven with age. Simmo is dealing with a tag every week now because oppositions have realised how important he is to our outside game.

Henderson, Murphy and Carrazzo were/are continuing their levels from last year apart from their injuries which isn't a bad thing.

Judd had a poor season by his standards but he has had 4 elite seasons for us previous to that, so he is excused to think a couple of other players would of stood up by now apart from Murphy and few little others.

Kreuzer, Russell, Bower, Walker, Gibbs, Yarran, Curnow, Duigan, Garlett, Lucas all having poor seasons, which is completely effed for a side trying to make the top 4.
This is what I want our end of season review to tell me why and how this has happened, because it has cost us the season, not the injuries to Waite, Laidler and Murphy because West Coast and Collingwood have both had 4-5 long term key injuries and a stack of short injuries to key players and hasn't derailed their season. (I don't want a depth copout either because these players listed play to their ability, and depth players can play their bit-part role and not be exposed)

Sorry for ranting!

WCE are missing JK, Lecras, Embley and Nico and seem to be travelling along ok. Perhaps you need to be looking at your lack of depth as it doesn't appears much pressure is being placed on your current 22 to perform

Eagles have the forward line depth to cover these guys but if you lost Glass, Schofield and McKenzie for major parts of the season how would you fair? Or what about if Kerr and Shuey were missing for major parts of the season?

Armfield has good. Like his output. He is doing exactly what most of the team should be doing. Run and carry.
Love the way Watson is coming along. Big ways to go, but gresat signs.
Tuohy at the start of the year, but I feel he has dropped off. He is due for a big one against Collingwood as for some unknow reason, he knew that he was meant to hate Collingwood. Love it:thumbsu:

as others have stated there has been a small few showing a bit more this season.

the problem being is that they are out numbered by players going backwards. hopefully most of there are more form and not terminal...

Hands down Carrazzo as the big improver.

Always been very good, but has added another dimension to his game this year.

I doubt we would be in as much trouble as we are if he never got injured..