BB1888

Celtic, Barca, Everton.
Hi cat fans,

I am a Doggies supporter who is travelling from interstate to watch my first game at the Cattery and I was hoping to get some info from you guys about the ground etc.

I am in reserved seats in the Doug Wade stand, what time would you suggest getting to the ground etc so I am not stuck in a line outside, how long it takes to walk to the ground from the station etc??

Cheers guys, best of luck for Saturday, its a pity about Ling and Ablett as I wanted to see how we go against a full strength Cats lineup.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

I am in reserved seats in the Doug Wade stand, what time would you suggest getting to the ground etc so I am not stuck in a line outside, how long it takes to walk to the ground from the station etc??

Rock up anytime if you already have tickets.There's never queues when I rock up.
South Geelong station is about 2 minutes away.You'll pass the ground on the train and see it's only 1 block away.

Thanks guys, are there any pubs near the ground where I can get a drink?

I am imagining that they will all be fairly packed to the rafters.

I think the Lambys tent is the usual place where people go.

Theres also Club Cats, the Bistro.

Also if you're looking for a cheap meal after the match, go to Bended Elbow. Before 6pm, the lunch menu is still on. (Its on Yarra St, near the cnr of Little Malop St)

Club Cats will probably be all booked out.

If you feel like a roast, try Ripper Roasts - it's on the highway, across from Skilled Stadium. No beers there though.

Thanks for the info guys, I am sure it will be a cracking game, I am going to bring my warm clothes from tropical FNQ to tropical Geelong.....

Lamby's Bar behind Doug Wade Stand is probably best atmosphere after the game with DJ Steady Eddie pumpin' out the Hits, plenty of TVs around the bar and alot of friendly Geelong people :). After that, short walk to Barwon Club Hotel in Moorabool St (about a block) for more of the same plus Live band and a good cheap feed. (Ask for Doddsy)

Thanks for the info guys, I am sure it will be a cracking game, I am going to bring my warm clothes from tropical FNQ to tropical Geelong.....
Oh yeah, bring a raincoat just in case, rug the hell up, and wear good shoes if you're going to be in standing room (the concrete is cold as hell). Actually, just wear good shoes regardless.

I was down in Geelong this week. Freeeezing!! lol. Take 10 layers, you will probably still wish you had 11. Fun place to watch footy though, crowd is really passionate, last of the old stadiums.

Also if you're looking for a cheap meal after the match, go to Bended Elbow. Before 6pm, the lunch menu is still on. (Its on Yarra St, near the cnr of Little Malop St)

Cracking value for lunch, that place.

Good, solid food and it only costs a tenner.

Lord of the Isles, The Cremorne, The Sawyers Arms, Comnafine and Barwon Club are all close pubs for a place to eat/drink, depends on your scene though I spose. Kardinia Cafe is also across from the stadium about 200metres, open 24 hours and has every form of take away you could ever want.

I have nothing to contribute to this thread except to say how pleased I am to see my fellows Geelong supporters helping out an opposition supporter and offering to look after them following the game. You just wouldn't get that with Soccer in the UK!

Eh, we get a few of these threads from time to time, from different supporters. No big deal, always happy to help out.

Come 2.10pm, will be game on tho. ;)

Good stuff guys! :)
Awwww group hug!!! :D

Hahaha.. nice to see that kind of stuff from time to time. It is a change from "you GFC supporters are the biggest bunch of pansies/ whingers/ sooks/ soft *****/ arrogant/ big headed/ cocky/ brainless/ dickless/ morons."

Have I missed any? :confused:

Hicks, bogans, rednecks, inbreds...

But I wasn't born here, so I'm exempt, right? :D

Thats OK guys, I am born and bred in the People's Republic of Far North Queensland, so I am pretty sure I have been described as all of the above in the past.

I will be heading into Geelong with the missus and in laws for dinner after the game, hope our Footscray colours don't upset too many Cats fans after our win ;)

Thanks for the info and good luck for Saturday, I'll give you a description of my first day at the Cattrey next week.:thumbsu: