Boston Celtics Tas Tigers
What are some of the Injuries that you have sustained over the years sports related or not, i doesnt matter.

I have dislocated my shoulder on several occasions playing football, resulting in a shoulder reconstrcution last october, at the St Vincents Hospital in Melbourne i think it was called.

Also dislocate my thumb on a regualr basis.

I've been pretty lucky; just a broken wrist for me. Just went snap under the weight of my own body while being tackled play footy at school two years ago.

Other than that dislocated my left index finger (still swollen now for 3 years) and broke my nose when I was very young.

Also had my appendix taken out (that is more painful than any broken bone; ****ing unbearable).

What are some of the Injuries that you have sustained over the years sports related or not, i doesnt matter.

I have dislocated my shoulder on several occasions playing football, resulting in a shoulder reconstrcution last october, at the St Vincents Hospital in Melbourne i think it was called.

Fractured left foot twice, in 3 years playing footy, 2nd time wasnt as bad. Tore ligaments, first in 96' then 99' both premiership years the North Melbourne Football club!

Broken cheekbone playing footy, which you have to be proud of, but also broke an arm playing soccer and a bone in my foot playing... netball. Typical me to break bones playing non-contact sports.

I have never broken a bone in my life. It's kind of sad. I ran over my foot about six months ago with a stock trolley and was hoping I broke a toe just so I could say I had. The result, deep tissue bruising. Lame (Still hurt like hell though)

Used to get a lot of dislocations playing footy so my fingers are freaky looking. My favourite injury is a scar on my hand from slicing it with a floor panel of a dodge-em ride when I fulfilled my childhood dream of working as a carny.

Jared Thumbs on both hands, broke my nose going head on with a team mate 5 years ago at school.

Playing soccer, i coped a front on tackle to the shin. It swelled up really quickly and has now been 2 months in the lump is still on my bone near the tiula and fibula bone.

Been playing footy for 2 seasons, indoor soccer for 2 years and played basketball for 1 season. Fairly lucky though havnt gotten any injuries playing those sports at all. Only things i have really gotten is jarred fingers, sprained ankles and wrist and small things like that

Have got shin splints at the moment which is annoying as anything

what has the recovery been like on the reco micky? im due for one late this year/early next year

while we are on the topic, i've had 2 knee reco's (1 each knee), numerous should dislocations (hence the reco) broken collar bone, 3 dislocated rinders, fractured ankle and broken nose.

hence i live all my sporting dreams through the roos, gunners and aussie cricket team :D

Footy injuries ranked by most painful.

1. Torn calf (off the bone)
2. Busted ribs (x2)
3. Discolated knee (putting it back in on the ground is what hurt)
4. Disclocated jaw
5. Teeth knocked out (a couple down the back - not front) in a king hit/boundary throw in. Actually, the follow up dental work a few days later was more painful.

4 & 5 were combined injuries. Ah - the good old days. Playing in the ruck in VFA & suburban footy. Had the same umpire in the return bout and was basically given a free hit. 1st centre bounce, right down the middle.:thumbsu::D

** Only missed games with the 1st injury. Also the last game I ever played:thumbsd:

Too many little ones (which add up) to worry about. Busted the nose 5 times, broke and dislocated most fingers.

But never did a hammy.

what has the recovery been like on the reco micky? im due for one late this year/early next year

while we are on the topic, i've had 2 knee reco's (1 each knee), numerous should dislocations (hence the reco) broken collar bone, 3 dislocated rinders, fractured ankle and broken nose.

hence i live all my sporting dreams through the roos, gunners and aussie cricket team :D

the recovery for my reco was 3 months on the dot, but i actually couldnt wait any longer to start pre season so i stopped recovering after 2 and hald months:D. Has been the best thing i have ever done, have had no problems what so ever with the shoulder this year, never once tweaked it or go overaly worried about it whilst tackling, only thing is when i run over a long distance on a hard surface ie: the highway, it starts to really hurt.

thanks for the feedback :thumbsu:

put my mind as ease a little

Never had a knee reco but have had 5 knee ops. The last one, a lateral release after finally giving footy away.

That was a follow up to a discloated knee where ALL cartledge was removed, including the enamel on the joint. 100% bone on bone.

Needed the procedure to reduce swelling and for pain relief and save what was left of the patella (50%+ removed/lost) and the joint itself.

Normally they just cut the lateral ligament to help the knee cap realign and sit a bit further off the joint. But in my case they severed the lateral (had to go back in a second time, as partially cutting it didn't so the trick).

Nasty procedure - but the morphine was a consolation prize of sorts.

http://www.knee1.com/care/procedure20.cfm/24

Bad News :(

After 1 whole year and 3 months after my shoulder reconstruction, I dislocated my shoulder for the first time since the reco at training last night, im absolutley gutted:(, had mariners practices matches, intra club, and NTFL practices matchs coming up. In the best condition of my life and then this happens :(

Went to the Physio this arvo, he has ordered me to my usual strenthening exercises just with a lighter weight, goit a referal to the shoulder surgeon down here, but was on the phone to my melbourne surgeon this morning and a visit to him may be on the cards.

So the bad news is i will not be able to physical work for about 6 weeks and if i need another reco, then 3 months :(

Good News is ill be able to keep up my running, bike riding and other fitness areas and if i come to melb to see my surgeon ill be able to catch up with you guys over a few frothies

After 1 whole year and 3 months after my shoulder reconstruction, I dislocated my shoulder for the first time since the reco at training last night, im absolutley gutted:(, had mariners practices matches, intra club, and NTFL practices matchs coming up. In the best condition of my life and then this happens :(

Went to the Physio this arvo, he has ordered me to my usual strenthening exercises just with a lighter weight, goit a referal to the shoulder surgeon down here, but was on the phone to my melbourne surgeon this morning and a visit to him may be on the cards.

So the bad news is i will not be able to physical work for about 6 weeks and if i need another reco, then 3 months :(

Good News is ill be able to keep up my running, bike riding and other fitness areas and if i come to melb to see my surgeon ill be able to catch up with you guys over a few frothies

Geez you are injury prone. Feel sorry for ya!

Injuries from 20 years of football (and saddling up again next season):

1. Broken Fibula (From a shirtfront, go figure?)
2. Broken Nose (Don't lead with your head)
3. Broken Thumb/Hand (Thumb was nearly kicked off hand)
4. Torn Calf (These are very painful)
5. Strained Hamstring (Not very bad)
6. Hernia (Very average, wouldn't wish this or the operation on anyone)

All in all very lucky with injury over a long period of time! Touch wood!

Not good, lets hope for the best and you'll be up and about sooner rather than later.

Best of luck with your rehab:thumbsu:!

Injuries from 20 years of football (and saddling up again next season):

1. Broken Fibula (From a shirtfront, go figure?)
2. Broken Nose (Don't lead with your head)
3. Broken Thumb/Hand (Thumb was nearly kicked off hand)
4. Torn Calf (These are very painful)
5. Strained Hamstring (Not very bad)
6. Hernia (Very average, wouldn't wish this or the operation on anyone)

All in all very lucky with injury over a long period of time! Touch wood!
Some bads ones in there mate, i never want to break my leg, ever, it is my worst nightmear,

That's crap, i know the feeling. I'm in the shits as well with my knee.

A couple of injuries that I've sustained over the years include:

Dropped on the head at birth - it hasn't effected me at all!

Broke radius and ulna (both bones in the forearm) in an industrial accident when my arm was caught in a machine - very lucky that I wasn't dragged into the machine and had my whole arm torn off. Even luckier that I have full use of my arm/hand.

Injured my knee snow skiing, a couple of weeks later was full of good cheers in the Aussie Rules club in Sydney, dancing with some hot young thing I had just met, did a big John Travolta move on the dancefloor and my knee gave way totally which put me down like a bag of shit. Poor girl didn't know what to do! It was my anterior cruciate ligament and I needed a recon. Knee is good as gold now.

I wonder if they do gut reconstructions?

Some bads ones in there mate, i never want to break my leg, ever, it is my worst nightmear,

I know. You wana see something really scary, check this out

07.jpg