Interesting Brad Miller Statistic...

Brothers of Destruction
Brad Miller has played 12 matches this season.

We've won six of them, and lost six of them.

We've only won one match without Brad Miller playing this season.

If people are going to make the argument that Tuck needs to play so we're more competitive, than Miller should be placed in the same category.

If we are looking for competitiveness as of right now, he is a better forward fifty option than any developing player vacant from the side *including Griffiths* and he tackles, places pressure on the opposition *look at his tackle on Grundy last week* and he is a fantastic foil for Jack Riewoldt & Tyrone Vickery.

Just thought that was an interesting stat, he's been awesome this season and kudos to him, hope he gets another contract next season :thumbsu:

Not exactly sure of one person's - be it Miller, Tuck, Cotchin or anyone else - impact on our win-loss ratio.
I note we won all five games Ben Griffiths played in last season while winning a mere handful of possessions most weeks.
But agree with the second part of your post, we do function better are a more competitive outfit with Miller up forward.
His tackling, pressure and all-round ability to compete must wear off on others and help others and he is far ahead of any developing player in thta regard.
I think he'll remain as a mature age rookie if that's allowable, if not I can see him being rewarded and being upgraded.
Has been a more than handy pick-up and no doubt silenced a great many critics in recent times.

Not exactly sure of one person's - be it Miller, Tuck, Cotchin or anyone else - impact on our win-loss ratio.
I note we won all five games Ben Griffiths played in last season while winning a mere handful of possessions most weeks.
But agree with the second part of your post, we do function better are a more competitive outfit with Miller up forward.
His tackling, pressure and all-round ability to compete must wear off on others and help others and he is far ahead of any developing player in thta regard.
I think he'll remain as a mature age rookie if that's allowable, if not I can see him being rewarded and being upgraded.
Has been a more than handy pick-up and no doubt silenced a great many critics in recent times.

Exactly mate. Relating win-loss to a single player is pretty much flawed.

But Miller has been a revelation with regards to providing a well structured forward line for our team to work with. This has been great for Jack and Ty as well as our mids and small forwards. Miller was ordinary trying to be the number one forward at Melbourne in the past, but has played his role pretty well this season, as a secondary or lead up target.

Anyone expecting Griff to play this role in his first couple of years on the list was just dreaming. We've all seen this year that he needs time, and he is getting that at Coburg. If he were to develop at the same rate as TV, we'd be pretty happy, but I wouldn't even hold my breath on that. To put it in to perspective, I'd suggest Chris Dawes didn't show much at all at AFL level until well after his 22nd birthday, and that was in a well developed team. Griff has yet to turn 20.

From all reports, Miller has also provided a lot in the area of leadership which we have so clearly lacked at times.

A very appropriate article... Tigers achieve goals goal

To Dimma's credit, before the season started, he said this needed to happen... and it has.

Anyone expecting Griff to play this role in his first couple of years on the list was just dreaming. We've all seen this year that he needs time, and he is getting that at Coburg. If he were to develop at the same rate as TV, we'd be pretty happy, but I wouldn't even hold my breath on that. To put it in to perspective, I'd suggest Chris Dawes didn't show much at all at AFL level until well after his 22nd birthday, and that was in a well developed team. Griff has yet to turn 20.

If I'm not wrong Jack played his first game in '07 and had his breakout in '10 - without any injury concerns. We always knew Griff would take a little longer with his shoulders, so another 2 seasons to show what he can do. I for one am confident - for mine he's easily shown as much as Jack and Ty given where he's come from. Exciting times ahead I hope.

Millzy does help our team structure, being that big body to crash packs and take heat off Jack, something Griff isn't ready to do.

Though if you look at our wins this year most have come from BOG performances by either Cotch or Dusty. This Melbourne win was probably the only one were neither was the most dominant player on the ground.

Brad Miller has played 12 matches this season.

We've won six of them, and lost six of them.

We've only won one match without Brad Miller playing this season.

If people are going to make the argument that Tuck needs to play so we're more competitive, than Miller should be placed in the same category.

If we are looking for competitiveness as of right now, he is a better forward fifty option than any developing player vacant from the side *including Griffiths* and he tackles, places pressure on the opposition *look at his tackle on Grundy last week* and he is a fantastic foil for Jack Riewoldt & Tyrone Vickery.

Just thought that was an interesting stat, he's been awesome this season and kudos to him, hope he gets another contract next season :thumbsu:

Cue RT....this could turn out as big as the tuck thread.

On the OP ...

Miller and Tuck should play until someone exhibits the form to push them out on merit

Griffiths was gifted games and didnt earn his place this year and i'm glad sanity has prevailed

Dont be mistaken though , Miller is a spud . "WE NEED" someone to push him out . I'll consider that a notch in our belt on the road to decency

Millzy does help our team structure, being that big body to crash packs and take heat off Jack, something Griff isn't ready to do.

Though if you look at our wins this year most have come from BOG performances by either Cotch or Dusty. This Melbourne win was probably the only one were neither was the most dominant player on the ground.
Dusty is definitely our barometer. He plays well we win. His form has mirrored our season

Played to good enough standard for 2 quarters last game but overall hes been shitful most games for someone of his age and experience imo and yes its unfortunate that hes needed for structure and leadership.

On the OP ...

Miller and Tuck should play until someone exhibits the form to push them out on merit

Griffiths was gifted games and didnt earn his place this year and i'm glad sanity has prevailed

Dont be mistaken though , Miller is a spud . "WE NEED" someone to push him out . I'll consider that a notch in our belt on the road to decency

that is indeed a valid point and I put jackson in same bracket, we NEED players to push them out. one thing that i will say about miller is he presented himself in great nick, fit as a bull from pre season and he is a fine exponent of the 1%ers. That coupled with the leadership that many in the footy community speak of tell me he can play a genuine role around the place. i think 12 months will see him through and YES id love to see Griff belting the door down much like Posty was early on in 2012

On the OP ...

I wouldn't say that sanity prevailed at all there Iddy. Pretty sure he'll be gifted games again next year. Same will probably go for Conca, Helbig, etc. We were told the plan was to get 50 odd games in to the young guys asap, so I'd expect the trend to continue. Most would suggest Vickery was gifted games early days but would now agree that it hasn't hurt him. A bit of short term pain for long term gain.

The bottom line is we need as many bigger bodies on the field as possible. Miller is huge and at the moment is the best option we have up forward. Griffiths is injury prone and is just not ready. I have concerns about him making it to be honest. Until we can find a kid who can stand up and a decent ruckman so vickery can play forward, miller must be retained for 2012.

For Richmond to be a well structured team, we need Brad Miller playing in our best 22. Everyone can sit here and say he is no good and isnt the answer and to play Ben Griffiths but in actual fact he is the answer for 3 to 5 more seasons.

Ben Griffiths as a junior was injury prone and from all evidence given to richmond fans he still is. There is no questioning he has untapped talent and could potentially become a very classy player, but lets not get ahead of ourselves and have a look based on facts.
He averaged 6.5 disposals a game and only 1 goal in his 4 this year. All be it a very young key forward and a developing player, at this level his influence on a game has to be simply greater than that.

Now on the other hand Brad Miller has had an average of 11.5 from his 12 games and kicked 14 goals. Stats dont mean all that much in todays game but a couple stood out to me. Brad has averaged 2.3 tackles a game and 4.5 marks a game. Now compare that with Griffiths of 3 marks a game and the big one of 0.75 tackles a game you will realise that infact Miller has a much greater presence than Griffiths does at this very point in time. His tackling pressure and ability to get to a contest is second to none and i think its just obvious he is selected and given a new contract.

What i wish Richmond supporters would understand is that for us to be successful and have a winning culture we need to WIN. Now developing a player at the expense of an older player who at the moment is ahead of the younger on is just plain wrong. It amazes me that in football so many people think that just because you are around 27-30 the clock is winding down. The last time i looked there is no age bracket in playing football.

Finally everyone is banking on Griffiths being a superstar and to delist miller, have you guys thought of what would happen if Griffiths is just and injury prone footballer with ability but could never get on the park? Miller is right at home at tigerland and getting him has been great for us.

For Richmond to be a well structured team, we need Brad Miller playing in our best 22. Everyone can sit here and say he is no good and isnt the answer and to play Ben Griffiths but in actual fact he is the answer for 3 to 5 more seasons.

Finally everyone is banking on Griffiths being a superstar and to delist miller, have you guys thought of what would happen if Griffiths is just and injury prone footballer with ability but could never get on the park? Miller is right at home at tigerland and getting him has been great for us.

:thumbsu: Good Post.

I've been a fan of Miller for most of the season (though you would have to be listening pretty carefully to hear me admit it out loud). Our forward line has looked very dangerous at times with Jack, Ty and Brad - they seem to work well with each other, giving us a genuine multi-pronged attack.

Brad only turned 28 this year. I reckon we could see him notch up 50 games in the Yellow and Black with folks on this board calling for his head the entire time. :D

I wouldn't say that sanity prevailed at all there Iddy. Pretty sure he'll be gifted games again next year. Same will probably go for Conca, Helbig, etc. We were told the plan was to get 50 odd games in to the young guys asap, so I'd expect the trend to continue. Most would suggest Vickery was gifted games early days but would now agree that it hasn't hurt him. A bit of short term pain for long term gain.
I do understand the semantics DD ... but Griffiths was so underdone even a man who likes his steak rare like myself would have sent that steak back to the chef for a couple more minutes on the grittle.

looking at Griff right now, think of Vickers 12-18 months ago...he is RAWWWW. He simply needs miles in the legs, the slap of leather on hands and some reg physical contact before he begins to take some big steps. The diff between him and Vick in preparation is he has missed a heap of footy so starts from a longer way back. He looks to me another 10-15 VFL games away from likely senior action. that said, another pre season under the belt will do wonders

Did i mention that as an interesting statistic, Brad has a hot wife called Pia? She is worth a 5 year deal alone. Pia, if your reading this, your hot. Ooooh la la.