Strawbs

I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiments expressed in this article. What do you think?

TIME FOR AFL TO TACKLE THIS PROBLEM
BY TIM LANE
Those who argue that Australian football should seek to preserve its unique characteristics must sometimes tear their hair at aspects of the modern game. The apparent elevation of the tackler, to a status at least equal to that of the ball player, has brought elements of the rugby codes to the indigenous game.

Recently, I heard former Carlton great Ken Hands bemoan the legitimisation of game-clogging gang tackling, saying it has diminished his affection for the sport that has been such a part of his life.

Hands is not just some old bloke living in the past. As one of Victoria's four oldest living members of the Australian Football Hall of Fame, he has participated in and watched the highest level of the code over seven decades. He was a great player, captained and coached his club, and captained and coached his state. His views on the game are expressed thoughtfully, not with bitterness or dripping nostalgia. They shouldn't be dismissed lightly.

It is as though the umpires, their coaches and the rule-makers have decided that the culprit within these packs is almost certain to be the player with the ball. The fact that he goes in and gets his hands on it, to actually try and make the play, counts for less than it once did. The whistle blows and we all know what happens next.

Yet frequently, as the ball player puts his head over the Sherrin, he is tackled head-on in a way that cannot, on any reading of the laws, be legal. Just as often, he is tackled with the weight of the tackler on his back. Yet rarely are these methods - which inevitably stop the game - regarded by umpires as illegal. They are more likely to be rewarded. And the packs keep forming.

So, what does The Laws of Australian Football 2009 say? Here's a sample from law 15.4.5: "A player makes prohibited contact with an opposition player if he makes contact with any part of his body with an opposition player above the shoulders (including the top of the shoulders or bump to the head)."

That is as black and white as the controversial 'hands in the back' rule in marking contests. It is as cut and dried as the free kick for arm-chopping. It is as non-negotiable as the 50-metre penalty for holding a player who has taken a mark. But is every incident of high contact penalised? No. In spite of what the laws say, the "high tackle" is adjudicated as though there are circumstances in which it is excusable. The same applies to the 'push in the back' rule which, according to the laws, is also non-discretionary.
A little book called Follow The Game, compiled many years ago by former umpire and rules committee member Bernie Hogan, was a publication that advised on how the laws of Australian football should be interpreted. It was endorsed by the erstwhile National Football League and recommended as a guide by the VFL. The book offered this on the matter of tackling: "If a player with the ball is tackled from behind and at the same time pushed in the back, a free kick should be awarded for 'in the back'. Even if the player fails to dispose of the ball the decision should be 'in the back' not 'holding the ball'." Thus, with perfect succinctness, was stated the game's priority for ball player over tackler. That has changed.

Then there is the question of the onus on the ball player to legally dispose when tackled. Recently I consulted the laws of the game as they stood in the 1980s and discovered various clauses that today would be regarded as heresy. They instructed the umpire to allow play to continue in the event of the following: "A player in the act of kicking or handball is swung off balance and his foot or hand does not connect with the ball", or if he "is bumped and the ball falls from his hands", or he "is knocked on an arm causing him to drop the ball", or "has his arms pinned to his sides causing him to drop the ball", or "is pulled by one arm or is slung causing the ball to fall from his hand".

The dual intention of these clauses, written decades ago with particular intent, was to encourage the ball player and to keep the game in motion. Yet all of them have been overturned in recent years. It seems we now put a higher value on praising the tackler, and diminishing the bloke who tried to make the play but failed, than on letting the game go on. The ball player has been stripped of what were once his entitlements and the tackler has been given rights that have changed football.

The key words are no longer "protect", "encourage" and "ball player", they are simply "prior opportunity". The problem with prior opportunity is that it still requires a subjective judgment and that judgment seems to be forever shifting in a direction that makes life more difficult for the bloke the rules once protected. Accordingly, a game that was once protected by its rules is being changed.

So next time you're going ballistic at the umpires, don't be too hard on Michael Vozzo, Justin Schmitt or even Ray Chamberlain. They are merely the front men who put these new interpretations into effect. It's in the back room, where the faceless men of the umpires' coaching panel and the AFL rules committee reside, that the real decisions are made.

Now that I've seen my original post, I'm guessing what you think is: "We can't be bothered reading all that."

I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiments expressed in this article. What do you think?

TIME FOR AFL TO TACKLE THIS PROBLEM
BY TIM LANE
Those who argue that Australian football should seek to preserve its unique characteristics must sometimes tear their hair at aspects of the modern game. The apparent elevation of the tackler, to a status at least equal to that of the ball player, has brought elements of the rugby codes to the indigenous game.

Recently, I heard former Carlton great Ken Hands bemoan the legitimisation of game-clogging gang tackling, saying it has diminished his affection for the sport that has been such a part of his life.

Hands is not just some old bloke living in the past. As one of Victoria's four oldest living members of the Australian Football Hall of Fame, he has participated in and watched the highest level of the code over seven decades. He was a great player, captained and coached his club, and captained and coached his state. His views on the game are expressed thoughtfully, not with bitterness or dripping nostalgia. They shouldn't be dismissed lightly.

It is as though the umpires, their coaches and the rule-makers have decided that the culprit within these packs is almost certain to be the player with the ball. The fact that he goes in and gets his hands on it, to actually try and make the play, counts for less than it once did. The whistle blows and we all know what happens next.

Yet frequently, as the ball player puts his head over the Sherrin, he is tackled head-on in a way that cannot, on any reading of the laws, be legal. Just as often, he is tackled with the weight of the tackler on his back. Yet rarely are these methods - which inevitably stop the game - regarded by umpires as illegal. They are more likely to be rewarded. And the packs keep forming.

So, what does The Laws of Australian Football 2009 say? Here's a sample from law 15.4.5: "A player makes prohibited contact with an opposition player if he makes contact with any part of his body with an opposition player above the shoulders (including the top of the shoulders or bump to the head)."

That is as black and white as the controversial 'hands in the back' rule in marking contests. It is as cut and dried as the free kick for arm-chopping. It is as non-negotiable as the 50-metre penalty for holding a player who has taken a mark. But is every incident of high contact penalised? No. In spite of what the laws say, the "high tackle" is adjudicated as though there are circumstances in which it is excusable. The same applies to the 'push in the back' rule which, according to the laws, is also non-discretionary.
A little book called Follow The Game, compiled many years ago by former umpire and rules committee member Bernie Hogan, was a publication that advised on how the laws of Australian football should be interpreted. It was endorsed by the erstwhile National Football League and recommended as a guide by the VFL. The book offered this on the matter of tackling: "If a player with the ball is tackled from behind and at the same time pushed in the back, a free kick should be awarded for 'in the back'. Even if the player fails to dispose of the ball the decision should be 'in the back' not 'holding the ball'." Thus, with perfect succinctness, was stated the game's priority for ball player over tackler. That has changed.

Then there is the question of the onus on the ball player to legally dispose when tackled. Recently I consulted the laws of the game as they stood in the 1980s and discovered various clauses that today would be regarded as heresy. They instructed the umpire to allow play to continue in the event of the following: "A player in the act of kicking or handball is swung off balance and his foot or hand does not connect with the ball", or if he "is bumped and the ball falls from his hands", or he "is knocked on an arm causing him to drop the ball", or "has his arms pinned to his sides causing him to drop the ball", or "is pulled by one arm or is slung causing the ball to fall from his hand".

The dual intention of these clauses, written decades ago with particular intent, was to encourage the ball player and to keep the game in motion. Yet all of them have been overturned in recent years. It seems we now put a higher value on praising the tackler, and diminishing the bloke who tried to make the play but failed, than on letting the game go on. The ball player has been stripped of what were once his entitlements and the tackler has been given rights that have changed football.

The key words are no longer "protect", "encourage" and "ball player", they are simply "prior opportunity". The problem with prior opportunity is that it still requires a subjective judgment and that judgment seems to be forever shifting in a direction that makes life more difficult for the bloke the rules once protected. Accordingly, a game that was once protected by its rules is being changed.

So next time you're going ballistic at the umpires, don't be too hard on Michael Vozzo, Justin Schmitt or even Ray Chamberlain. They are merely the front men who put these new interpretations into effect. It's in the back room, where the faceless men of the umpires' coaching panel and the AFL rules committee reside, that the real decisions are made.
If anything if you don't agree with the rule when you see it being paid, have a read of the laws of australian football. Or contact an umpire.

You can also go and watch replay after replay of those harsh calls.

I doubt an umpire explaining it would help much. As Lane said in his article, they're only carrying out instructions so I don't think it's their fault the ball player's rights are being eroded.

I agree with the general premise (rewarding tackler/defensive player over ballwinner/creative player), but disagree on a few things.

1. High Contact = who caused the contact? If a player puts his head down to pick up the ball, fair enough - protect him. If he ducks to dodge a tackle, change direction, etc....bad luck. Would dramatically stop the # of head-high contacts and potential injury risks.

2. In the back (tackling) = where is the body weight/momentum? Watch the hips. If the tackler's hips are higher than his target - it's in the back. If they are below, then it's momentum that causes the forward movement - not impact in the back.

3. Dropping the ball (Incorrect disposal) = In two parts, with and without prior opportunity. Without = play on. With = current interpretation. Note: Taking possession in a pack situation whilst being tackled, and then sat on by 5 players shouldn't be classified as prior opportunit - no matter how long the umpire waits.

I'd like to see a rule implemented where if you are tackled whilst off your feet, you MUST release the ball = The "Dragged the ball in" interpretation is backwards atm. If you get hands to ball and then are tackled, rolling away from the ball should be enough to show you aren't "holding the ball" in....

I agree with the general premise (rewarding tackler/defensive player over ballwinner/creative player), but disagree on a few things.

1. High Contact = who caused the contact? If a player puts his head down to pick up the ball, fair enough - protect him. If he ducks to dodge a tackle, change direction, etc....bad luck. Would dramatically stop the # of head-high contacts and potential injury risks.

2. In the back (tackling) = where is the body weight/momentum? Watch the hips. If the tackler's hips are higher than his target - it's in the back. If they are below, then it's momentum that causes the forward movement - not impact in the back.

3. Dropping the ball (Incorrect disposal) = In two parts, with and without prior opportunity. Without = play on. With = current interpretation. Note: Taking possession in a pack situation whilst being tackled, and then sat on by 5 players shouldn't be classified as prior opportunit - no matter how long the umpire waits.

I'd like to see a rule implemented where if you are tackled whilst off your feet, you MUST release the ball = The "Dragged the ball in" interpretation is backwards atm. If you get hands to ball and then are tackled, rolling away from the ball should be enough to show you aren't "holding the ball" in....
Simon, I think you mean holding the ball there mate. Dropping the ball has been out of the game for ages.

thanks for the link (wait - where is the link?!) someone mustve linked to this and I thought it a really good read. I think currently the DTB decisions for chicken winging / slinging players are crap - if theyve got enough poise to pin the wrist they should be able to lay a proper tackle, or get ready to capitalise on the spillage - Play on!

They can still penalise ducking / diving and pulling the ball in - but would prefer to see a return to these rules.
? whatever happened to kicking in danger? the hand is a delicate bit, and should be protected from being smashed by a leather studded boot!

"Recently I consulted the laws of the game as they stood in the 1980s and discovered various clauses that today would be regarded as heresy. They instructed the umpire to allow play to continue in the event of the following: "A player in the act of kicking or handball is swung off balance and his foot or hand does not connect with the ball", or if he "is bumped and the ball falls from his hands", or he "is knocked on an arm causing him to drop the ball", or "has his arms pinned to his sides causing him to drop the ball", or "is pulled by one arm or is slung causing the ball to fall from his hand".

Not quite sure what Tim's on about. Those laws he mentioned are still in rule book. There goes that theory...

15.2.4 Application — Specific Instances where Play
shall Continue
For the avoidance of doubt, the field Umpire shall allow play to
continue when:
(a) a Player is bumped and the football falls from the
Player’s hands;
(b) a Player’s arm is knocked which causes the Player to
lose possession of the football;
(c) a Player’s arms are pinned to his or her side by an opponent
which causes the Player to drop the football, unless the
Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of
the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply;
(d) a Player, whilst in the act of Kicking or Handballing, is
swung off-balance and does not make contact with the
football by either foot or hand, unless the Player has had
a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose of the football,
in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply; or
(e) a Player is pulled or swung by one arm which causes
the football to fall from the Player’s hands, unless the
Player has had a prior opportunity to Correctly Dispose
of the football, in which case Law 15.2.3 (a) shall apply.

Bob, I think Tim was saying that we still have those rules in the book but the bloke making the play doesn't seem to get a fair go as he once did. That's how I interpreted it anyway. I could be wrong.

I think there needs to be far better education, on both sides of the fence.

I makes it difficult when the commentators don't know the rules properly. I think media and the umps should get together and solve this ongoing problem.

I think there needs to be far better education, on both sides of the fence.

I makes it difficult when the commentators don't know the rules properly. I think media and the umps should get together and solve this ongoing problem.
Exactly right. It happens week in, week out with those commentators. Especially the ones that we can't stand. You have got that grump in Robert Walls who whinges all the time about what teams are doing.
You have guys like Sam Newman who needs to be taught how to umpire a game of modern day footy. He knows all the rules of when he played.

Remember when Jack Russo used to be on the Ch 7 commentary team after he retired?

Actually, I found John Russo annoying after a while, especially when teamed up with Robbo (Ian Robertson). Robbo would ask for explanations for the most basic of calls.

Also, I found that sometimes he didn't seem to get it right, even with all the replays!

Bob, I think Tim was saying that we still have those rules in the book but the bloke making the play doesn't seem to get a fair go as he once did. That's how I interpreted it anyway. I could be wrong.

Yeah, I did see it from that angle. I think he could've have re-worded some of his story and did more thorough research. If he compared the old interpretations books (issued by the ANFC) with the current AFL accrediation manuals, he would find that, in essence, there isn't much difference. (Although I agree that the old ones were probably better than the current ones.) The same rules and philosophies still stand. He compared an old interpretion book with the current rule book. (Comparing apples with oranges.) Of course, the rule book is going to look "black and white" without the accreditatiion manual and DVD to explain things in detail.

Looking at some old rule books, the actual rules, in some cases, were a lot more vague than they are today. (Sometimes, they are actually clearer.) E.g. For a boundary ruck contest, the rule used to say (something like, don't have it on me) "(free kick for) interfering with a player from when the ball is thrown in until the ball is contested or touches the ground". Anybody who read that by itself would say question what "interference" is. The interpretation book then explains what constitutes interference.

The same also happens with the current rule book. People look at certain rules and completely misinterpret them, because they don't have the further knowledge from the accreditation manual, have a bias toward their previous incorrect knowledge of the rules, and don't have an accurate understanding of the history of the rules. (IMHO, the history of the rules is important for the umpires to know. It makes you see things differently.) A perfect example is when someone says "they need to clear that up". 99% of the time, there is already an explanation and it has already been discussed. The answers are already there if the time is taken to do the research and study, rather than "crying dumb".

In this era of professional football, there should be no excuse for the footballers and coaches not to know the rules properly. Without all the bad karma directed towards the umpires every week, you may actually find that the standard of umpiring will actually get better (and corresponding perception). I know some people will say I'm talking BS, but have we actually tried it?

The lack of understanding of by the commentators affects the general public's perception of the umpires more than they realise. Dermot Brereton is the only one that seems to have a full understanding of the rules. Gerard Healy seems to have a lack of understanding of even some of the more basic rules of the game. I've picked on Gerard, but I think some of the others really need to do some more study. Their own perception of what the rules were when they were playing are wrong also. I'm always hearing "that must be a new one" when it was exactly the same when they were playing. The old videotape examples don't lie.

I think the difference you see at the top level is they seem to react to things with instructions every week, rather than just letting things drift in and out of the game, like it always has been. There's no need to control every trend in a season. They should leave the status quo and don't "crack down" on things week to week. Also, I think observers can get a bit over-analytical with their obvervations of the umpire, rather than seeing the game as a whole. These observations make the umpire think of things that don't matter that much, rather than having complete concentration on the players and letting the game flow appropriately. You cannot "feel" the game if you're thinking too much.

Good points all Bob. BTW, I was watching the 1980 GF the other day. The umpiring then was quite funny (not the umps fault, just the way it was). They always reckon it was tougher in those days but if a player went in hard and collected an opponent (not illegally in any way) it was usually a free kick. There were some hilarious calls (and the commentators were all for them) where nothing inappropriate happened but a free was paid. Funny stuff!

My personal view is that free kicks are either deliberated as a judgement of fact (e.g. ball is either in play or out of bounds, the player marked the ball or he dropped it, his foot was within the goalsquare when kicking in or he crossed the line) or as a judgement on intent (e.g. deliberately knocking the ball out of bounds, ruckmen aiming for the ball or blocking, pushing in the back or holding their ground). The first examples are quite clearcut and obvious - and probably amounted to 80% of the decisions in a match 20 years ago.

In recent years, the rules committee has had a major impact on the latter free kicks where you are trying to judge not on what a player has done, but what you think a player was trying to do. Subtle difference but it does mean that an umpire has to add "part time psychologist" to his tools of trade. Some umpires cope with this fairly well - others not so well. I feel that the media commentators who are critical of todays standard of umpiring are coming from an era when the game was a lot more clear cut - and are failing to recognise that the requirements of today are vastly different to those when they were playing.

As an example, the new rule this year of deliberately rushing a behind has complicated something which until now has been quite simple. In the past it was clearcut - if the ball went over the line, it was a behind. Now the umpire has to analyse whether this was deliberate and whether it should be a behind or a free. People will have different opinions and an article in the newspaper or a segment on a footy panel show will discuss for ages one act of play.

As long as the rules committee keeps fiddling with laws of the game based on intent, it's inevitable that there will be increased inconsistency in decision making.

Rant finished now...

I have also watched a bit of 'old' footy recently - 25 years+ old finals. What I find so interesting is that it was umpired in the exact opposite way from what Tim Lane says in his first few para's. Any player tackled with the ball was basically awarded a free kick against him 95% of the time - no matter what prior opportunity, if the ball spilled out or was dropped. That is why there were not many 'stacks on the mill' packs (along with the game being a lot slower in the old days and with heaps more one on ones).

It is better the way it is umpired now - particularly this year. A few things that still annoy me though are:
- players deliberately ducking / going to ground / running their heads into stationary opponents and getting free kicks;
- players dropping the ball (although this has gotten a lot better this year); and
- players tackling players who are tackling the player with the ball (e.g. stacks on) - that should be holding the man.

My current pet hate is how there seems to be some unwritten rule that if you chase a player down, it's OK to make that final desperate lunge and give him a push in the back, especially if he's shooting at goal. The number of times that is overlooked is staggering. Even the smallest of pushes can significantly alter the kick but it's almost as though, "Oh, that was a good chase. Bit harsh to pay a free." How about the bloke whose 'goal' suddenly became 'out of bounds on the full?'