East Rottnest
According to the media the top 3 flag favourites this year are Melbourne, Geelong and West Coast.

We have knocked off both Melbourne and Geelong on their own dung heaps, and we play West Coast on "their own" dung heap, later this year.

There goes another of those hurdles, "you can't beat a top 8 side, you can't beat a top 4 side, plus beat them on their own dung heap".

Interesting.

We are either 'under the radar' or 'not even on the map'.

I see on the main board the occasional post that reflects your points.

My opinion (gee i hope it doesnt come back to bite me) we will be the surprise package later in the year.

In all honesty 2006 will be our year. I think CC will get right. It will be the completion of his 'journey'.

Well after Round 10.
Brisbane were in 8th spot in 2001 with a win loss of 5-5. (Premiers)
Freo were in 8th spot in 2002 with a win loss of 5-5 (13th)
Collingwood were in 9th spot in 2003 with a win loss of 5-5 (2nd)
Geelong were in 8th spot in 2004 with a win loss of 5-5 (4th)

I reckon the 2005 team is a lot better than the 2002 team.

The four sides most people would rate as a chance to win the flag are Melbourne, Wet Toast, Geelong and St Kilda. We beat the cats and demons away, lost to the saints away by a point and had a vey poor 2nd half against the egos and only lost by 8 points. Our best is certainly good enough, and if we hit our straps in the second half of the season a lot of sides will be keeping an eye on the purple juggernaut.

BB gun said:
i wouldn't right off port and bris
Anything could happen in the second half of the season, there may be big drop offs in form or injuries to key players. The Weagles and us are a case in point.

3q_0106.gif

Ladder if all games were stopped at 3/4 time.

This indicates our fooy is good enough but our fitness is down a bit and the boys will be able to run out games better as they get match fit through the season.

RIPPER_46 said:
Ladder if all games were stopped at 3/4 time.

This indicates our fooy is good enough but our fitness is down a bit and the boys will be able to run out games better as they get match fit through the season.
do you think stk will let us have larcom back.
The ladder that counts is the full time ladder, its hard to say whether our fitness is down or we just aren't stepping up in pressure situations

BB gun said:
do you think stk will let us have larcom back.
The ladder that counts is the full time ladder, its hard to say whether our fitness is down or we just aren't stepping up in pressure situations

I reckon Larcom is still part of the problem. Even though they are probably "fit enough" the best players have had three years of playing "short games" through being excessively rotated and have had trouble running out a full 120 minutes now.

They appear to be adjusting to it though.

Ripper - interesting Stat but being in front at the end is all that counts.

There will be a lot of twists and turns to come before this season final 8 is sorted. I think it is going to come down to last games.

Then it finals footy, which is another ball game. Freo are going to have to go up another couple of notches to knock Geelong/Melbourne over at finals time. We have seen what has happened in the past.