Internet Relationships

I think mine has worked for two reasons:

1. I was not seeking a life-partner when I went into a chat room. I went into a Simpsons room, hardly a bastion of online dating. The majority of the people there were 15 year-old computer nerds who would rather talk about how much they hated Microsoft and how they hacked their next-door neighbour's PC.

So I obviously did not go in there with any kind of expectations. The fact that I would find my life-partner there was a complete and utter fluke.

2. It was not a loving relationship until the first time that we met in the flesh, and even then it took about a week together before we felt the spark.

I put six years of my life into it, from the point of initial conversation to the time we exchanged wedding vows. I was 19 when I talked to her the first time, 21 when I met her the first time, and 25 when I married her last July.

You have to go about it the same way you go about any other relationship - cover all bases and make sure that you know absolutely everything possible about the other person before making such a commitment.

It also helps to do a little bit of research about the country she is from :)

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Read this somewhere once:

"Never fall in love until after you meet, the imagination is capable of tricking you when reality isn't there to intervene".

I think some people are more in love with the excitement of meeting someone so far away.

Yep that's so very right. In my case the guy said he loved me before we met, I must admit i was definitely interested but I actually fell in love with the guy I met. We spent a LOT of time together then he did have to go home but I got to know him very well before he left.

Things aren't the best now but if he swallows his stupid pride we'll be fine. :)

Originally posted by Scarlett Pimp

When I'm depserate to talk to someone, I call a friend or go to see my sister or folks. I don't go online whilst vulnerable and/or desperate and wind up in crappy relationships with people tens of thousands of km away. That's not love.

No, its incest.. but I guess its close to love!

Originally posted by Mooster7

I still have to think that to deliberately set out to find a woman via computer is freakish. Think about it. It's for guys who are so low, they can't even get satisfaction from masturbating. That's low.

Well theres a relief that Im not as low as I thought I might be as I get great satis...

Err never mind.

;)

Originally posted by Goo

Example 2 - A guy in NZ I knew (same chatroom) quit his job as a vulcanoligist, sold his house, flew to hawaii to meet 'the love of his life', an American gal who didnt bother showing up. Not such a good outcome - point is he blew his wad before he met the girl

That was highly illogical. Did they ask him to give his pointy ears back?

Originally posted by Grendel
That was highly illogical. Did they ask him to give his pointy ears back?

not bad :)

It was an act of wild, unabandoned stupidity.

there are pro,s and con,s to relationships on the net.beilieve me i.ve seen both sides of it.
i have known this lady from the states for 5yrs we were the best of freinds always there to support each other and have a few laughs etc.we built up a great relationship to the point where i went to the states last year to visit her.
there was no delusion,s from either side if the other person was what he/she really was cause we knew each other for so long.
she was exactly as what i expected no change in personallity etc and now she is planning to move to oz.

call me one of those "sad" poeple if ya want i dont care:D

cheers!

Originally posted by tiger of old
call me one of those "sad" poeple if ya want i dont care:D

cheers!

I don't think you are sad at all. It sounds like a perfect relationship. You have formed a strong friendship over a long period of time and should know each other so well by now. I wish you luck.

Originally posted by ThePowerFromPort.com
I don't think you are sad at all. It sounds like a perfect relationship. You have formed a strong friendship over a long period of time and should know each other so well by now. I wish you luck.
thanks pfp.we need luck i tell ya having to deal with the immirgration dept is mind blowing to say the least.

cheers!

thanks pfp.we need luck i tell ya having to deal with the immirgration dept is mind blowing to say the least.

cheers!

Actually been there before, looks like a really difficult process, good luck with it all. :)

Originally posted by lioness22
Actually been there before, looks like a really difficult process, good luck with it all. :)
well the 3 times i have spoken to the img.dept i ended up talking to an indian.how ironic lol.pretty hard to understand :D

cheers and thanks

well the 3 times i have spoken to the img.dept i ended up talking to an indian.how ironic lol.pretty hard to understand :D

cheers and thanks

Ah I'm sure they only do that to try and freak you out even more. :p

I know plenty of people that use the internet to talk to other people. I DONT know anyone at all that has specifically gone online to "look for love" or however you all put it. I mean come on.

Ive met a past girlfriend from the internet. Talked for a few weeks...realise we had a bit in common...talked on the phone...organised to meet...enjoyed her company...spent more time together...fell in love. Thats not "looking for love" as Frostie or Bluesbabe put it and thats not "oh well in the back of your mind you mustve been looking for love" either or whatever absolute crap you two wrote. We were together for near 2 years. I didnt sit down in front of my computer and specifically go "right...im goin on this chatroom to find myself a woman".

I havent used a chatroom (except for the BigFooty one) since i was 17...i reckon they are stupid, boring, full of crap. Only new people ive talked to in the last 2 or so years have been thru BigFooty and other msg boards. Much better metting new people that way as you get to know a bit about them from their posts before you actually want to talk to them and get their email or whatever.

And Bluesbabe...you write that it would be embarrasing or whatever. Why? Whats embarrasing about talking to someone on the internet...becoming friends with them...meeting them...spending time with them then falling for them?? I didnt find that embarrasing. I think youll find it is overly rare that people "fall in love" JUST from talking on MSN or a random chatroom somewhere. Im sure these people that fall in love contact each other in different ways first. Sure there would be some people that "fall in love" just from talking on the internet - but i think youd find most of them are under the age of 17.

I dont/didnt feel the need to lie about my relationships either. Darky - incredibly pi$$weak that is!! How pathetic are you that you have to lie to your mates about where you met Spidey. How bloody insecure could someone be!! That is the most pathetic thing ive heard in a long time!

Ive spoken to 100s of people on the internet. Out of that lot ive probably spoken to on the phone or met in person about 90 or so people (including the 60-70 ive met/talked to on the phone on bigfooty) and only 1 person hasnt been who they said they were (who was from BigFooty mind you). The way some of you are carrying on youd think that every single person that uses some sort of msg board or chatroom lies about every single facet of their life.

And please Bluesbabe tell me the difference between lying online and lying "in real life"? A lie is a lie in my opinion. If you go for a one nighter or talk to new people in a pub how do you know that they are telling the truth?? Its the same "risk" isnt it?

Are you also saying that everyone on Bigfooty is a pathetic creep, wierdo, pathological liar, social ****** or someone who preys on youngsters. You say 'how can you fall in love with words on a screen'...yet you also say people prey on youngsters thru the internet. How can you prey on youngsters if its just "words on a screen" as you put it? If someone starts abusing you or whatever how can you get mad or upset if its just "words on a screen".

I enjoy talking to and meeting new people thru the internet. Ive met some really good people and some lifelong friends off the internet. Only a couple of my "real life" friends like or follow football. So I come here to talk about something i love and am passionate about...in the meantime enjoying interacting with people that share the same interest/insterests with me and making new friends. Obviously that makes me sad and pathetic :rolleyes:

I have a fine social life....have plenty of "real life" friends, had enough girlfriends to be satisfied and not worried about myself, go out all the time and enjoy my life. Why do some people here think its impossible to meet and talk to people on the internet and also enjoy a healthy social life as well??

Ive had feelings for someone in a different state too. Wouldnt of called it love. We met and the feelings increased (and oh my god...shock ****ing horror...they were actually who they said they were :rolleyes: ). But because i fell for someone that id known for a long time, talked to every day for 6 months and was physically attracted to makes me sad and pathetic. Yet for some reason going to a club and having a one nighter with some drunk person you dont know is a legitimate way of meeting people??

I see no difference in talking to someone over the internet or talking to someone in a club. You have no guarantees that the internet person is telling the truth and you have no guarantees that the club person is telling the truth.

Originally posted by Grendel
Fire up Macca and tell us what you REALLY mean! ;)

top rant btw

Im scattered, im grumpy, im cranky, ive had minimal sleep in the last 6 days and my holiday just finished so get stuffed :D ;)

I think Macca, Des and stealth summed up Internet relationships well and I agree with their comments.

Internet One-night stands however, are an entirely different kettle of fish and should be avoided at all cost. Why!? Cos they leave you with a sticky keyboard, that's why ;)

Originally posted by Macca19
I know plenty of people that use the internet to talk to other people. I DONT know anyone at all that has specifically gone online to "look for love" or however you all put it. I mean come on.

Much better metting new people that way as you get to know a bit about them from their posts before you actually want to talk to them and get their email or whatever.

And Bluesbabe...you write that it would be embarrasing or whatever. Why? Whats embarrasing about talking to someone on the internet...becoming friends with them...meeting them...spending time with them then falling for them?? I didnt find that embarrasing. I think youll find it is overly rare that people "fall in love" JUST from talking on MSN or a random chatroom somewhere. Im sure these people that fall in love contact each other in different ways first. Sure there would be some people that "fall in love" just from talking on the internet - but i think youd find most of them are under the age of 17.

I dont/didnt feel the need to lie about my relationships either. Darky - incredibly pi$$weak that is!! How pathetic are you that you have to lie to your mates about where you met Spidey. How bloody insecure could someone be!! That is the most pathetic thing ive heard in a long time!

And please Bluesbabe tell me the difference between lying online and lying "in real life"? A lie is a lie in my opinion. If you go for a one nighter or talk to new people in a pub how do you know that they are telling the truth?? Its the same "risk" isnt it?

Are you also saying that everyone on Bigfooty is a pathetic creep, wierdo, pathological liar, social ****** or someone who preys on youngsters. You say 'how can you fall in love with words on a screen'...yet you also say people prey on youngsters thru the internet. How can you prey on youngsters if its just "words on a screen" as you put it? If someone starts abusing you or whatever how can you get mad or upset if its just "words on a screen".

I enjoy talking to and meeting new people thru the internet. Ive met some really good people and some lifelong friends off the internet. Only a couple of my "real life" friends like or follow football. So I come here to talk about something i love and am passionate about...in the meantime enjoying interacting with people that share the same interest/insterests with me and making new friends. Obviously that makes me sad and pathetic :rolleyes:

But because i fell for someone that id known for a long time, talked to every day for 6 months and was physically attracted to makes me sad and pathetic. Yet for some reason going to a club and having a one nighter with some drunk person you dont know is a legitimate way of meeting people??

I see no difference in talking to someone over the internet or talking to someone in a club. You have no guarantees that the internet person is telling the truth and you have no guarantees that the club person is telling the truth.

Amen to that.

Only a couple of my "real life" friends like or follow football. So I come here to talk about something i love and am passionate about...in the meantime enjoying interacting with people that share the same interest/insterests with me and making new friends.

O M G
Macca we actually have something in common...

I have a fine social life....have plenty of "real life" friends, had enough girlfriends to be satisfied and not worried about myself, go out all the time and enjoy my life. Why do some people here think its impossible to meet and talk to people on the internet and also enjoy a healthy social life as well??

Its a stereotype that was very true in the late 80's and early 90s. Fact is that nearly everyone I know has some kind of chat client on there computer that they use at least 6 monthly. I mean the vast majority would use it monthly at least.
This whole idea that only nerd meet other nerds and only losers come online is utter crap and has been for a few years now.

The vast majority of people that use chat rooms, like me crave human interactions at all time.
I dont go online to find love or make friends (As I have enough of them). I go online because too much tv doesnt cut it for me and week nights when all my friends are busy I have this craving to talk to people.
And chat rooms are the perfect solution.

Not to mention the fact that net romances are no longer the domain of the nerds.I have seen it first hand that people are realising "Hey this is just another place to pick up", I personally havent tried it but I can tell you that allot of hte fairer sex use it.

There is a difference macca.. you dont ahve to shout...you dont have to deal with chicks that in all honesty are nothing special but suddenly think they are because a few ****ed guys have made a move.

Internet is the way of the future.. a safer alternative and a in many places more intimate place to meet people.
Anyone that believes its for losers is not only behind the times but has some serious lack of confidence issues

Re Maccas comments about meeting footy fans. All the people I know in Perth that follow Freo I have from met either directly or indirectly through the internet, everyone I know 'IRL' either doesn't like football or is a West Coast supporter.

Bloody well said Macca, the online experience for me has been very similar.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Its a stereotype that was very true in the late 80's and early 90s. Fact is that nearly everyone I know has some kind of chat client on there computer that they use at least 6 monthly. I mean the vast majority would use it monthly at least.
This whole idea that only nerd meet other nerds and only losers come online is utter crap and has been for a few years now.
True: people using the net is the norm rather than the exception. Geeks mainly hover in 'l33t' chat rooms talking about Linux etc.

The vast majority of people that use chat rooms, like me crave human interactions at all time.
I dont go online to find love or make friends (As I have enough of them). I go online because too much tv doesnt cut it for me and week nights when all my friends are busy I have this craving to talk to people.
And chat rooms are the perfect solution.
Got to agree there, TV is a load of bollocks, I rarely bother with it, more than likely I have music on. Any one who think's you're sad by spending leisure time chatting on the net needs to wake up to themselves. At least it's interactive. People vegetate in front of the TV and watch the drivel fed to them are the pathetic ones. Good TV shows are rare these days indeed. I would certainly much rather go out with friends than chat to them online, if you're the other way around it would be a bit of a worry.

Not to mention the fact that net romances are no longer the domain of the nerds.I have seen it first hand that people are realising "Hey this is just another place to pick up", I personally havent tried it but I can tell you that allot of hte fairer sex use it.
It's the pub of the new millenium. Probably an even better place to have a chat to new people.

There is a difference macca.. you dont ahve to shout...you dont have to deal with chicks that in all honesty are nothing special but suddenly think they are because a few ****ed guys have made a move.
Re my previous comment.

Internet is the way of the future.. a safer alternative and a in many places more intimate place to meet people.
Anyone that believes its for losers is not only behind the times but has some serious lack of confidence issues
It's not the future, it is here now and has been for at least 6 years.

Well said, Sabre.