Is it just me?

eriwih

Rookie
Oct 1, 2007
Here
I don't normally post on here, but reading some of the threads on here has got me thinking.

Am I the only one who cares about our games? The only thing I read on here is about our history and how many premierships we've won. For this entire millenium, I know it is only a few years in but, we have been the worst team and I am over it.

I don't care about past glories. I am a paid up member and have been for as long as I can remember and I actually go to the games. From what I read on here I am in the minority as you all don't seem to care that we've sucked for so long. I am sick of losing. I am sick of a side hat promises so much and delivers so little. I don't care about pre-season cups. I'd rather play in the finals and not win than fester down the bottom of the ladder.

Am I alone? Am I the only one that doesn't prefer extra draft picks to playing in the finals, even if it doesn't result in the ultimate?

how about u give judd back then
we done the right thing we tank to give our selves more opportunitys
im glad we tanked

i don't believe that we tanked and Judd certainly didn't come to Carlton because we might be tankers.

how about u give judd back then
we done the right thing we tank to give our selves more opportunitys
im glad we tanked

depth, no one would give back judd whether you're anti-tanking or not.
I am against tanking ie: going out on the ground to LOSE but due to our losses I am glad we have Judd.

In saying that, I won't be naive and say we didn't play our full strength teams towards the end of the season. We weren't going anywhere on the ladder and although I love a win any day it's great to see the kids and take a risk even though they play their guts out. Most clubs in our positions do this anyway.

Your not the only one, if you go back over posts from late in the season you'll see there was quite a few of us who wanted to win more then anything.

The tanking this year did bother me and I know it was the right thing to do.

I am happy to get Judd, although I question his real motive in chosing us ($$$), but I know he will show his worth on the field... hopefully...

What worries me most is that I dont think we will climb that high next year. I know we deserve to be where we are, and that we've pruned the dead wood from the list, but I feel that there are so many mediocre types on it still and I doubt we've got any hope of real success for a few years to come.

I guess my problems are that I don't feel confident in the club. I might be the only one, but having a president with shady dealings is what got us where we are now. The current one is obviously willing to put his own money where his mouth is but I am not sure that is going to equal success on the field, and god knows we really are in dire need of that.

Yer i agree with you this constant failure is getting quite frustrating, but now with judd, hadley, the new number 1 pick and hopefully a few more smart drafting decisions we can win about 8-10 games next year:thumbsu:
I can really feel that we will have success down at princes park soon

Of course all of us wanted to win. However, what would a few meaningless wins at the end of the season achieve. We certainly wouldn't be in the postion we are in now, having Judd on our list, and have the opportunity to pick up the #1 kid in the country as well.

I think we can climb a bit next year, and I reckon 10 wins is very achievable.

Why? Have a look at the following results:

Round 5 - Brisbane by 12 points
Round 7 - Collingwood by 24 points
Round 8 - Kangaroos by 17 points
Round 9 - Adelaide by 19 points
Round 14 - Melbourne by 23 points
Round 17 - St.Kilda by 10 points
Round 18 - Collingwood by 24 points
Round 19 - Port Adelaide by 23 points
Round 20 - Essendon by 10 points

That's 9 games by less than 4 goals. You add Judd, Stevens and a decent ruckman to this team (Cloke back from injury, and further development of Hampson), then I think we could turn a few of these results around.

Yer i agree with you this constant failure is getting quite frustrating, but now with judd, hadley, the new number 1 pick and hopefully a few more smart drafting decisions we can win about 8-10 games next year:thumbsu:
I can really feel that we will have success down at princes park soon
I wish I could be that confident. I just don't get the feeling that we are on the verge of much at all.
8-10 wins would be okay and maybe we are capable, but I look through our list and just see too many holes. I am not sure we can really out together a side that doesn't rely on individuals and the backline really hasn't been developed well enough.
Maybe if we get a good run with injuries things will be alright, but I think we will still rely too heavily on too many kids and Fev... and that worries me a little bit. :confused:

We certainly wouldn't be in the postion we are in now, having Judd on our list

how do you figure? when he came down to princes park you think we said "you know we lost 11 in a row right" and then he chose us?

We made a number a smart investments this season. They'll stand us in good stead next season and beyond as we climb back up to our rightful position in the League.;):thumbsu:

What worries me most is that I dont think we will climb that high next year. I know we deserve to be where we are, and that we've pruned the dead wood from the list, but I feel that there are so many mediocre types on it still and I doubt we've got any hope of real success for a few years to come.

I guess my problems are that I don't feel confident in the club. I might be the only one, but having a president with shady dealings is what got us where we are now. The current one is obviously willing to put his own money where his mouth is but I am not sure that is going to equal success on the field, and god knows we really are in dire need of that.

Who are these mediocre types still on our list that you speak of? Name one club in the AFL with a full list of 44 quality players? I think the deadwood is honestly all gone...

And I disagree that we don't have any hope of real success for a few years to come. I reckon improvement is not far around the corner with a new coach, new attitudes, new captain, new marque player and just a whole breath of fresh air around the place. Optimism is the word, try it out sometime.

If you don't feel confident with the direction the club is going in now then I really feel for you last year + the years prior. Finally, we got our issues sorted out off-field, now with probably the best off-field team in the land (Pres, CEO, Op manager), and the list is starting to look very nice. Blue skies mate.

Welcome.

its frustraiting i know but we where in a very very bad position in the last few years and we are starting to find our feat.
stick with em mate there going places
plus i dont belive we tanked i think that if you know you cant make finals then why wouldnt you start planing for next year by playing your kids and getting your injured players off to get there surgeries so that they dont have an interupted preseason. we did not tank i went to all games in melbourne this year and watched our efforts there was not 1 moment i thogut yep ratts realy musnt want us to win this one

...Round 5 - Brisbane by 12 points
Round 7 - Collingwood by 24 points
Round 8 - Kangaroos by 17 points
Round 9 - Adelaide by 19 points
Round 14 - Melbourne by 23 points
Round 17 - St.Kilda by 10 points
Round 18 - Collingwood by 24 points
Round 19 - Port Adelaide by 23 points
Round 20 - Essendon by 10 points
While it may be possible to turn some of those around I worry about the competition. A few of those clubs are on the rise. I reckon Brisbane, Collingwood and Kangaroos will be better next year, and I doubt we will get easy games against them.

dont know about the kangas but i rekon the pies are going to be strong and the lions will b a challenge aswell but we should be able to win alot more games than people think eg we play richmond twice and the bombers there is 4 likely wins already

Not matter how wrong it is, tanking did us good. And it also put us in a world of bad. People need to stop fighting with each other about what was right and wrong, and just realise that tanking was good and bad for us.

Personally i feel like everything has happened for a reason. 6 years of pain for the ultimate glory. We got Murph n Gibbs, Stevo got injured, and as a result Murph got fast tracked. Now Stevo comes back + Judd and everything fits into place. Everything should be that much more efficient next year with the reintroduction of Stevo and debut of Judd.

I don't normally post on here, but reading some of the threads on here has got me thinking.

Am I the only one who cares about our games? The only thing I read on here is about our history and how many premierships we've won. For this entire millenium, I know it is only a few years in but, we have been the worst team and I am over it.

I don't care about past glories. I am a paid up member and have been for as long as I can remember and I actually go to the games. From what I read on here I am in the minority as you all don't seem to care that we've sucked for so long. I am sick of losing. I am sick of a side hat promises so much and delivers so little. I don't care about pre-season cups. I'd rather play in the finals and not win than fester down the bottom of the ladder.

Am I alone? Am I the only one that doesn't prefer extra draft picks to playing in the finals, even if it doesn't result in the ultimate?

You've been here 5 minutes, hiwirE backwards, and you come out with "you all don't seem to care that we've sucked for so long".

Go and have a look over the past 12 months at game threads after we have been belted again by 100 points. Think - then post. Every single nong on here "cares that we've sucked so long". The debates now continue to rage about how we stop sucking and begin our move up the ladder.

As for history, don't you know that those who ignore the mistakes of history are destined to repeat them?

Welcome.

Abandon all Hope.

The only team that it would be very hard to beat is Geelong. The rest are all beatable. We showed in the final rounds that we can match it with any team. Port finished 2nd and we gave em a run for their money, at AAMI of all places. Next year we add Judd, Stevens with the further development of our young brigade. If we don't win a minimum of 8 games next year I will be fuming.

I disagree that this forum is about past glories.It seems we mostly discuss our current plight and how we are going forward.Yes when things happen like Kouta having a go at Pagan it is discussed but most Blues supporters are looking forward to getting out of this slump and winning that next cup.

If we could get 2-3 wins out of the last 6 games under ratten I wanted to win. If we couldn't ie. get 0-1 I wanted to tank. Also in the last two games of the season I hit myself a few times for wanting to tank but my mind prevailed in the battle against my heart.

You don't whine much do you ?

If you can't see the improvements in our team over the last couple of years then you know nothing about footy, but hey ...feel free to dwell on the negatives :rolleyes:

Is it just me?