trav_16

Melbourne demons
I hope not, is definetly my favourite player and ill be shattered to see him go

i missed footy classified last night and i believe that was one of the topics of discussion
i dont believe we should trade him, but instead give him a real kick up the ass and if he doesnt respond than give him the flick.
I still believe strongly he is not passed his best

Re: Is Trav Getting Traded

He's getting on at 27 years of age. Apparently we were really close to trading him to Sydney a couple of years ago. I love Trav and reckon he is vital to our side but I don't think he'll ever be able to regain that form he delivered in the semi final against adeliade in 2002 again

It was just Hutchy asking Garry if he was going to be traded and Hutchy saying that he had "sources" saying that he would be up for trade which I believe is pure crap.

We've just got a new coach like he would have any idea as of yet as to who he would like to trade.

imo trav is one of the most important players at our club

when he plays well the team looks very good and plays well

i think he is similar to gablett (has probably better ability by foot but slower/cannot break a tackle as well), he needs to put in a massive injury free pre-season so he can run away from taggers next year and if we start playing good footy he will be up and running again

Trade Bruce and Green before Trav. He has a much bigger upside than those 2 and means more to our team structure.

I would to but it doesnt look like thats the case

Bruce is too good to trade.

I don't think Bruce's value would be that high, he hasn't had the best of seasons.

Out of Bruce, Green, Robertson and Trav, Trav is the one I would least like to see go.

It will be interesting to see what direction Bailey takes. We definatly need a change, another pick in the top 10 of this years draft would be good.

I don't think Bruce's value would be that high, he hasn't had the best of seasons.

Out of Bruce, Green, Robertson and Trav, Trav is the one I would least like to see go.

It will be interesting to see what direction Bailey takes. We definatly need a change, another pick in the top 10 of this years draft would be good.

I doubt Bruce has been fit or motivated in 2007. The game plan didn't really suit him. A much better midfield player when he is moving into the forward line and the ball comes in quickly. Just not suited to a high posession chipping around game. Trav is in the same boat. Both are creative players who need space to move and use their skills.

Mind you, we haven't much to kick too down forward this year. Neitz is fast losing his ability to influence the game, Robbo has missed too many games and there is no CHF to straighten us up.

I doubt Bruce has been fit or motivated in 2007. The game plan didn't really suit him. A much better midfield player when he is moving into the forward line and the ball comes in quickly. Just not suited to a high posession chipping around game. Trav is in the same boat. Both are creative players who need space to move and use their skills.

Mind you, we haven't much to kick too down forward this year. Neitz is fast losing his ability to influence the game, Robbo has missed too many games and there is no CHF to straighten us up.

Thats true, Bruce and Johnstone are very handy players there is no doubt. I am very excited about Bailey and the changes he will bring, I think he could get something extra out of these players.

My arguement before was, if Bailey did decide to go down the trade route for whatever reason, my thinking is Bruce, at the moments trade value wouldn't be too high. But it all depends on demand and supply, maybe a club like Freo would be willing to give up their pick cheaper in a preceived weaker draft.

I think it would be better to wait a year before we trade them as well. Dean Bailey would have had time to fully asses them, this draft looks light on anyway and their value would be low because they haven't shown great form this year.

..........NEWTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think it would be better to wait a year before we trade them as well. Dean Bailey would have had time to fully asses them, this draft looks light on anyway and their value would be low because they haven't shown great form this year.

Damn straight, better to be sure instead of trading them and regretting not to give Bailey a season to work with them.

imo trav is one of the most important players at our club

when he plays well the team looks very good and plays well

i think he is similar to gablett (has probably better ability by foot but slower/cannot break a tackle as well), he needs to put in a massive injury free pre-season so he can run away from taggers next year and if we start playing good footy he will be up and running again

how can u compare johnstone to ablett? Ablett has already shown in his brief career in the AFL what he is capable of at a consistant rate, johnstone has shown glimpses but no where near as consistant as Ablett. He is getting on at 27 and we need to get rid of him now while his still got some market value.

I feel that every so often this topic is always raised with Johnstone, he has been at the club now for 10 years and thats more than enough time to show us what his worth. He has shown brilliance in patches but cannot be able to do peform at a consistant level that his contract demands of him (in regards to his salary) and i dare say after this long at the club he isnt going to change, he needs a new enviroment.

how can u compare johnstone to ablett? Ablett has already shown in his brief career in the AFL what he is capable of at a consistant rate, johnstone has shown glimpses but no where near as consistant as Ablett. He is getting on at 27 and we need to get rid of him now while his still got some market value.

I feel that every so often this topic is always raised with Johnstone, he has been at the club now for 10 years and thats more than enough time to show us what his worth. He has shown brilliance in patches but cannot be able to do peform at a consistant level that his contract demands of him (in regards to his salary) and i dare say after this long at the club he isnt going to change, he needs a new enviroment.

I think he has shown us what he is worth. He is a very very good player. In 2008 TJ will be supplied with qaulity football by extractors such as Bartram, Jones, McLean & McDonald. Those 4 players fit playing together will make TJ in 2008. Not sure of his contractual arrangements, but he is the sort of player i would offer 3 years at a lighter rate, ensuring him at the club until his 30 and most probably his career ends at the MFC. TJ has a couple years left at this level, he will appreciate this and have a big couple of seasons. Remember it's right because i told you.

i cant agree more!!!!! TJ is the best melbourne midfielder since Robbie Flower. The guy has so much skill and vision we cant build a team without him. He would have won a brownlow by now if we didnt have such a dud coach in daniher who couldnt make a suitable gameplan to utilise teh players skills.

Hopefully Bailey realises that TJ is a brownlow medal waiting to happen and uses him not as a bloody half back flanker but as the bloke who has the last kick into the 50. Imangine having TJ serving you lace out old neita and robbo would wet their pants.

Get on TJ for the brownlow 08

i cant agree more!!!!! TJ is the best melbourne midfielder since Robbie Flower. The guy has so much skill and vision we cant build a team without him. He would have won a brownlow by now if we didnt have such a dud coach in daniher who couldnt make a suitable gameplan to utilise teh players skills.

Hopefully Bailey realises that TJ is a brownlow medal waiting to happen and uses him not as a bloody half back flanker but as the bloke who has the last kick into the 50. Imangine having TJ serving you lace out old neita and robbo would wet their pants.

Get on TJ for the brownlow 08

Oh no.

TJ hasnt always done the best by him self, but he is WAY too talented to get rid of

when everyone is fit and firing, expect travis johnstone to rise above all

If we trade anyone the club must break even out of any trade for Travis or Green or Bruce.
We won't realistically get a 1st round pick for any of them but I believe the club must be on the look out for any possible trade during trade week that will strenghten the playing list in the years ahead. Everyone is tradeable at Melbourne. Disagree if you like about a favorite player being trade bait but personally I don't have a favourite player .I just have a favourite guernesy that is RED and BLUE.
Go DEES

If we trade anyone the club must break even out of any trade for Travis or Green or Bruce.
We won't realistically get a 1st round pick for any of them but I believe the club must be on the look out for any possible trade during trade week that will strenghten the playing list in the years ahead. Everyone is tradeable at Melbourne. Disagree if you like about a favorite player being trade bait but personally I don't have a favourite player .I just have a favourite guernesy that is RED and BLUE.
Go DEES

By default now Obbie, your favourite player is Juice Newton

Well Captain Davey if Juice keeps on launching that Red and Blue guernsey right up into the stratosphere for more Marks of the Year and then calmly walks back to the mark and slots his kick through the big sticks regulary then I think you may well be right Captain Davey. Juice may well become every Melbourne fans favourite if he continues the form he has already shown in his brief senior career.
A big plank of Melbourne's future can be built around Juice if he proves good enough to continue to wear the famous Red and Blue guernsey for a long time to come.

Go Dees.

Well Captain Davey if Juice keeps on launching that Red and Blue guernsey right up into the stratosphere for more Marks of the Year and then calmly walks back to the mark and slots his kick through the big sticks regulary then I think you may well be right Captain Davey. Juice may well become every Melbourne fans favourite if he continues the form he has already shown in his brief senior career.
A big plank of Melbourne's future can be built around Juice if he proves good enough to continue to wear the famous Red and Blue guernsey for a long time to come.

Go Dees.

Lovely sentiment, analysis as well as including the cult hero:thumbsu: Good work mate

We could trade Juice for picks 1,2,3,4,5,6......91,92,93 but we wouldn't

I wouldn't trade Trav either. At his age we wouldn't get a player of his skill in return.