Bjork - best of
Pearl Jam - Rearview mirror (best of)
U2 - The Unforgettable Fire
You am I - Hi Fi Way
The Dirty Three - Ocean Songs
The Tea Party - Splendor Solis
David Bowie - The Man who sold the World
Ween - White Pepper
Fine list of bands there son. How is Bjork going btw?
How do you say? Those in glass houses (of ****house music) shouldn't throw stones?

i assumed you meant trash as well... as this point i vote yes for bone-o, and no for the rest of their band.
Thats a yes

whippersnipper said:
How do you say? Those in glass houses (of ****house music) shouldn't throw stones?
my god your such a tool, Pearl Jam is better then the stuff you listen to, and Eddie Vedder is a better musician by far easily:thumbsu:

whippersnipper said:
I would rather listen to someone who pushes her boundaries and keeps reinventing herself and attempts to make interesting, challenging music every day of the week over a band with a ridiculously disproportionate opinion of itself in relation to how utterly bland and average their music and live performance actually is...

Carlos said:
I would rather listen to someone who pushes her boundaries and keeps reinventing herself and attempts to make interesting, challenging music every day of the week over a band with a ridiculously disproportionate opinion of itself in relation to how utterly bland and average their music and live performance actually is...
i gotta say from reading whippersnippers post he fits the stereo type exactly to what most metal heads are, and that is that a lot of them and a lot who i know are unable to appreciate or just refuse to appreciate any music besides metal, they think if it isnt metal its just **** and bag out every body elses music, i mean i have a large group of friends all they like is metal, and all they do is bag my music like they heard At-the Drive in and just bagged the crap out of it, making up **** about them, showing their true ignorance, they thought it was like blink 182, they think that Pink Floyd and Queen are **** when all of these types of bands have more musical range and depth then **** like Slayer who "sing" about the devil and ****.
they should really do themselves a favour and branch out a bit and they would see that there are many different genres which are all great

Coughlan said:
i gotta say from reading whippersnippers post he fits the stereo type exactly to what most metal heads are, and that is that a lot of them and a lot who i know are unable to appreciate or just refuse to appreciate any music besides metal, they think if it isnt metal its just **** and bag out every body elses music, i mean i have a large group of friends all they like is metal, and all they do is bag my music like they heard At-the Drive in and just bagged the crap out of it, making up **** about them, showing their true ignorance, they thought it was like blink 182, they think that Pink Floyd and Queen are **** when all of these types of bands have more musical range and depth then **** like Slayer who "sing" about the devil and ****.
they should really do themselves a favour and branch out a bit and they would see that there are many different genres which are all great

Oh really? Well for a start, what idea would you have regarding the exact nature of the music I listen to? Yes, you are right, the bulk of my music is metal, but I do listen to other forms of music- and when they come up on this board, I will be happy to discuss them.
I find it interesting that you reckon that I must think that Pink Floyd are **** and Slayer are not. In fact I enjoy listening to Pink Floyd and the opposite is true of Slayer. You have just proved that you are at least as ignorant as you make me out to be when you go ahead at make such broad brush claims that Slayer only '"sing" about the devil and ****' with less 'musical range and depth' than Pink Floyd and Queen. I suggest you actually listen to their music before you comment. You complain that these so-called 'metalheads' bag your music without listening to it, when you have clearly shown you have no idea who Slayer are. I at least comment only on musicians and bands that I have heard.

You have little idea of what metal and metalheads are- you are just another one of the ignorant masses that assume we are all intolerant, uneducated redneck bogans. Typical hypocracy.

Oh, and I think its fair to say you probably dont have a group of friends, much less a large one.

Coughlan said:

As someone who loves his metal, I agree with you. I hate hanging around other metal heads simply because of the smug sense of superiority many seem to eminate - especially in regards to music. Artistic snobbery at it's finest. That said, though I love metal I'll listen to practically anything else... well except country, I can't do country. Dance, some rnb, classical, pop, rock, ballads... anything, just not country :(

whippersnipper said:
You have little idea of what metal and metalheads are- you are just another one of the ignorant masses that assume we are all intolerant, uneducated redneck bogans. Typical hypocracy.

dude, seriously, shut the **** up. He may not know metal heads, but I do - and most are arrogant to the extreme when it comes to music.

cradle fans will bag the **** out of slipknot/nu metal fans

Dimmu Borgir fans will pay out cradle fans

Emporer fans will bag the **** out of Dimmu Borgir fans

"Old school" Emporer fans will bag out fan's of their newer album's.

Some Opeth fan will claim they're the best ever....

then someone some immortal fans will dismiss everything ever ever written and recorded by emporer/opeth/dimmu/cradle.... and so on.

whippersnipper said:
Oh really? Well for a start, what idea would you have regarding the exact nature of the music I listen to? Yes, you are right, the bulk of my music is metal, but I do listen to other forms of music- and when they come up on this board, I will be happy to discuss them.
I find it interesting that you reckon that I must think that Pink Floyd are **** and Slayer are not. In fact I enjoy listening to Pink Floyd and the opposite is true of Slayer. You have just proved that you are at least as ignorant as you make me out to be when you go ahead at make such broad brush claims that Slayer only '"sing" about the devil and ****' with less 'musical range and depth' than Pink Floyd and Queen. I suggest you actually listen to their music before you comment. You complain that these so-called 'metalheads' bag your music without listening to it, when you have clearly shown you have no idea who Slayer are. I at least comment only on musicians and bands that I have heard.

Oh, and I think its fair to say you probably dont have a group of friends, much less a large one.
please read it properly if you want to argue with me, i didnt say you singulary, i said in general most metal heads have the false assumption that if its not metal it wont be very good with most music but will still try some. This is a fact, and you prove this in the fact you bag everything ob this forum that isnt metal, i at least listen to something before judging it, lets see with Slayer, any band that has a song called Necrophiliac is pretty much ****ed up. I personally prefer to listen to bands that actually have some meaning to their lyrics

Coughlan said:

agree mate on some of your points, metaheads on the whole very narrow minded, but its no different to anyone else

most people who don't listen to metal bag the s**** out of it when they get the opportunity!!! - which you just did:cool:

for you to put **** on metal with all the 'devil' crap in regards to slayer and to sat that they do not have range or depth is absolute rubbish and actually makes you as bad as the people you deride. You are kidding yourself if you think that Blink 182 have musical 'depth' compared to some metal bands...it just shows you have no appreciation of the genre and therefore are not informed enough to make comment on it

Maybe you don't like their musical direction but because you don't like it doesn't make it any less worthwhile that Pearl Jam or whoever

im a fan of metal and i respect and like other genres of music but metal is my favourite...many people i come across immediately think i must be psychotic or something just because i listen to black/death/thrash metal

Coughlan said:

maybe they should.....but why don't you branch out and listen to some metal (and i mean real metal)???? until you give metal the respect it deserves (it doesnt mean you have to like it) then you are in no position to deride it as much as you have

emperor said:
maybe they should.....but why don't you branch out and listen to some metal (and i mean real metal)???? until you give metal the respect it deserves (it doesnt mean you have to like it) then you are in no position to deride it as much as you have
i do actually listen to a bit of metal occasionaly, while im still not a huge fan, i listen to a bit of megadeth etc. occasionally, not to bad actually