carlton09

Suspended
Northern Blues
CARLTON SUPOURTERS SHOULD RELAX AND PULL THERE BLOODY HEADS IN. ITS WEEK 1 NAB CUPP!!!!!!! WE HAD HALF A SIDE IN TONIGHT, IT WAS OUR FIRST HIT OUT FOR THE SEASON IN HOT STICKY CONDITIONS. TO LOSE BY JUST 2 GOALS WITH LIKES OF MURPHY SIMPSON WAITE AND BETTS OUT IS A PRETTY DAMN GOOD EFFORT! BRING ON ROUND 1:thumbsu:

:thumbsd: Don't agree...NAB cup is a better litmus test for players, coaches, game plans etc...than any practise match, intra-club scratch match or training sessions the players have experience over the past 5-6 months.

I dont mind if we win or lose in the NAB cup however we have some major issues.

- Henderson looks very ordinary
- Hammer will never be a fwd
- Kruz needs to play in the ruck to play his best footbal

Our fwd line looks disfunctional.

This Fev decision is going to be interesting as time passes.

- Kruz needs to play in the ruck to play his best footbal

Our fwd line looks disfunctional.

Agree about Kreuzer, much better in the ruck.

Remember the ugly footy was because we were playing against the kings of unsociable football, they make most forward lines look like that.

This Fev decision is going to be interesting as time passes.

Henderson and Lucas will give us 10 years of service, Fevola only a couple more. Unless you thought we could have won the flag in 2010-2011 how can you be critical of the deal?

What did you seriously expect our forwards to deliver this game? Obviously your expectations were far too high. Considering not a single one of our forwards playing in the game kicked 20 goals last year we were always going to struggle down there. Then you need to factor in how poorly the ball was delivered by our midfield. I would suggest waiting until we add Waite, Betts, Walker and Houlihan into the mix and have had a few weeks to gel before you get all critical.

Agree about Kreuzer, much better in the ruck.

Remember the ugly footy was because we were playing against the kings of unsociable football, they make most forward lines look like that.

Agree mate sydney is the last place youll see free flowing footy.

If we included the likes of Waite, Murphy, Simpson, Betts, Walker and O'Hailpin, there's 6 players that would instantly make us a better team. I couldn't care less about not winning tonight - you only have to look at the Swans as an example. This is the first pre-season game they have won under Roos, and it hasn't hurt them. We still get to play against three teams to work out our structures, before we face Richmond come round one.

well, i truly believe that we have finally worked out where to play jarrad waite after tonight's performance........ FORWARD...

bring in walker, simpson, houlihan, betts, murphy, and waite and this will make a difference.....

however,

henderson looked poor
mclean couldn't get a sniff
decision making was atrocious
kicking in general play was awful

FIX THIS IMMEDIATELY

Henderson and Lucas will give us 10 years of service, Fevola only a couple more. Unless you thought we could have won the flag in 2010-2011 how can you be critical of the deal?

What did you seriously expect our forwards to deliver this game? Obviously your expectations were far too high. Considering not a single one of our forwards playing in the game kicked 20 goals last year we were always going to struggle down there. Then you need to factor in how poorly the ball was delivered by our midfield. I would suggest waiting until we add Waite, Betts, Walker and Houlihan into the mix and have had a few weeks to gel before you get all critical.

To be honest I would think we would be due to challenge for a flag next year or the year after so Fev would of still be in his prime.

At this stage I doubt Henderson will be around in 10 years let alone 2.

I am praying he comes good but so far in two games he has done nothing

If we included the likes of Waite, Murphy, Simpson, Betts, Walker and O'Hailpin, there's 6 players that would instantly make us a better team. I couldn't care less about not winning tonight - you only have to look at the Swans as an example. This is the first pre-season game they have won under Roos, and it hasn't hurt them. We still get to play against three teams to work out our structures, before we face Richmond come round one.
Agreed, apart from the skills they bring, each player will add structure, balance and experience to the the side. Hopefully we can get our forward line structure right before round 1.

To be honest I would think we would be due to challenge for a flag next year or the year after so Fev would of still be in his prime.

At this stage I doubt Henderson will be around in 10 years let alone 2.

I am praying he comes good but so far in two games he has done nothing
Probably a little premature...

It's NOT just the NAB cup! It's about systems and structures! Our back half worked pretty hard - the usual exponents operated well [including JR] the most maligned of our players across all sites] - our mid field was smashed and we had no forward line at all. Whose responsibility is it? Coaching staff to get it right - I would be very surprised if we finished higher than twelfth!! Take 80+ goals out of our forward set up add a mix of young and/ or lazy forwards we will be approx 120 goals worse off this season. I pity the poor back half who will be bombarded by running mid fielders and aggresive forwards and back halfs that are relentless and unforgiving in the way they play the game.

Very disappointed in the structure and game plan!:(

Ugly football! This means that the other side is driving the game. Being reactive to the ugly football kings is tantamount to saying that we have no answers - we will jusy roll over to their gamne plan and do nothing to change the pattern of the game. Weak as p...!!

Look at it this way then guys:

Sydney win by 12 points, with us missing some pretty easy shots, and making some terrible mistakes in the backline in that 3rd quarter. The dropped mark by Scotland, and the no-ball from JR kicking out. We actually weren't that far away from winning the game, and we played pretty badly. I'm certain that we'll be better for the run.

I for one don't like seeing the blues lose ever.

Having said that I would like to remind everyone how many premiership points were awarded to the winning team tonight......0

I agree that "It's about systems and structures!" but what better time and place to practice or experiment with new systems and structures than in a Pre-Season game with 0 premiership points on the line.

For those slagging Henderson's performance please take into account a few things:
1. He is not Brendan Fevola
2. He will not be Brendan Fevola (he will be Lachlan Henderson and I for one think that will be an excellent thing for Carlton now and in the future)
3. He is 20
4. He has just come from a different club with a different playbook to ours
5. He played last season at the other end of the ground.

I for one will not be passing judgement on the entire season on the back of any of our pre-season games.

writing was on the wall when Ellard did not line up
There were good signs. Our back 3 of Jamo Bower and TBird are strong
Robbo and Yarran look eager
Lucas looks a gem
Negatives - tempo (get into gear) skills (marking kicking) decision making (Swans were white and red) too many passengers eg Gibbs better get going. Structure: well we had the back 3 and .....

Look at it this way then guys:

Sydney win by 12 points, with us missing some pretty easy shots, and making some terrible mistakes in the backline in that 3rd quarter. The dropped mark by Scotland, and the no-ball from JR kicking out. We actually weren't that far away from winning the game, and we played pretty badly. I'm certain that we'll be better for the run.
I think the fact that we could not get our hands on the ball for large periods of the game, esp 2nd qtr...and the fact that the Swans controlled the momentum of the game for the most part was of greatest concern to me...

I think I would've been as dissappointed even had they won that game. Perhaps a bit of a wake-up call - No wins will be easy this year.

Yet is now being hailed as the challenger to Wayne Carey's throne (by Carlton fans, amongst others) and a good reason that WCE 'won' that trade. :rolleyes: Please.

Despise using those, but the context was pretty much perfect.

I for one don't like seeing the blues lose ever.

Having said that I would like to remind everyone how many premiership points were awarded to the winning team tonight......0

I agree that "It's about systems and structures!" but what better time and place to practice or experiment with new systems and structures than in a Pre-Season game with 0 premiership points on the line.

For those slagging Henderson's performance please take into account a few things:
1. He is not Brendan Fevola
2. He will not be Brendan Fevola (he will be Lachlan Henderson and I for one think that will be an excellent thing for Carlton now and in the future)
3. He is 20
4. He has just come from a different club with a different playbook to ours
5. He played last season at the other end of the ground.

I for one will not be passing judgement on the entire season on the back of any of our pre-season games.

If he struggles forward he may play down back. Play some good footy there.

On the bright side can roll up to Visy Park and watch Fev play next week (assuming the Lions pick him).

The two kids, Lucas and Davies, look like gems for me ... Ya gotta take the rough with the smooth in footy i guess, although it was a pretty frustrating game to watch.

In hindsight, I reckon we lost it in the 2nd quarter, when we missed some dead set gettable goals, and that cliche, bad kicking is bad football rang true tonight.

I'm dissapointed but not discouraged, although I do feel that it's going to be a year that perhaps we need patience as fans, and not expect too much, too soon ...

only a goal game when you consider the supergoals. mind you sydney's fwd line that game wasn't too crash hot either.

anyway... pull our bloody heads in... to the sand? it wouldn't just be the NAB cup if we won, would it. just admit there were some worrying signs and hope they get sorted out.