Traded Jack Steven

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Code:
Pos Number Player       Age	Games	Price		  2011			2010			2009			2008		
				        DT 	 SC 	  Played DT Avg	SC Avg	Played	DT Avg 	SC Avg	Played DT Avg	SC Avg	Played	DT Avg 	SC Avg
MID 3 STEVEN, Jack	21	35	$200,400 $210,300 20	 79.7	78.2	8	59.2	62.5	1	 76.0	66.0	0	0.0	0.0

Getting concerned... got injured with an ankle complaint in round 1 of nab cup and still no sign at the end of round 2.

Jack’s back!
By Felicity George
2:10 PM Fri 09 April, 2010

Many considered Jack Steven to have had a dream debut in Round 19 2009 against Hawthorn in Tasmania, with 14 disposals, four tackles and a goal. However, after picking up a foot injury early in the Saints’ Round 1 NAB Cup game, Jack will play his first match in seven weeks for St Kilda’s VFL affiliate club Sandringham this weekend.

http://www.saints.com.au/season2010/news/newsarticle/tabid/5315/newsid/91974/default.aspx

Jacky's shimmy/jig after he kicks a goal is win, a little "eh WTF?", but win nonetheless.

FYI replay on Fox now.

How did he not get the rising star nod last week?

That's something I wasn't expecting. There I thought someone from the AFL would be fair with some St Kilda player, but I guess it's barely impossible...

Who did receive it in the end?

Rockliff of Brisbane got it last week. He's had a very good month, so I guess they rewarded quantity over individual performance.

Will be very surprised if young Jack doesn't have one by the end of the year. Love his off-the-ball work, great chase and second efforts, like an over-sized terrier on speed and steroids.

Looks like he will be a great player. Love the way he goes about it on the field, and he clearly enjoys a goal.

Now that he's in the team, I think a lot of us are hoping he stays in it for the rest of the year. Could be a game breaker in the finals.

As noted on SS, certainly doesn't mind kicking a goal or 3 to put his hometowns team to bed. Remembering the goal he kicked in the final minute against Geelong in the NAB Cup a couple years back.

And has he kicked a goal in every game so far? At least 3 out of the...4 or 5 he's played?

He has kicked at least one goal in each of his 5 career games so far.

He's a little superstar. They keep saying St Kilda has no future and will drop off soon - I think he alone wants to defy that.

Just watching the replay of the Geelong game (again). Steven's second goal was a ripper. The Cats took a mark in defence and played on via a series of handballs - it went to Milburn and Steven just hunted him down. As a result Milburn's 10m handpass to Enright was shite and Jack was all over it. Grabbed it, feinted, turned, feinted, snapped goal. Scarlett left sooking on the goal line.

That goal was because of Jack the Ripper's ferocious running when Geelong had the ball.

Jack Steven was picked by St Kilda with the No. 42 selection in the 2007 National Draft. Steven was 180 centimetres tall and weighed 78 kilograms when he was drafted as a 17 year old. Steven was recruited from Geelong Falcons Under-18s and was the youngest player on St Kilda’s list for the 2008 season. Steven won the 2007 best and fairest with the Falcons and represented Vic Country at the Under-18s Championships. The profile for Steven in AFL 2008 said “The fiercely competitive midfielder/forward has been likened to Geelong tough-nut Paul Chapman. Quick with good endurance, he excels at winning the contested ball.”1

Read More: http://truesainters.wordpress.com/2010/07/23/jack-steven-–-making-the-most-of-his-opportunities/

G'day all,

With the new coach coming in, I'd imagine that we'll be trading hard for a fair few hard nuts. While Jack does lack a bit in the skills department, I've been mightily impressed with the way he's gone in hard at the contest this season and come out of his shell.

With that, i'd hope that the new coaching staff would have a look at young Jack. I'm no bigfooty idiot, I know that you have to trade quality for quality, which is why I'd wonder if any of these would be possible to land this fella.

1: Jack Steven for pick 10-12

2: Jack Steven for pick 30ish + Addam Maric. The unfortunate thing for Maric is that he has noone to learn from at the club with our dearth of small forwards. He can kick long and run hard, I'd fear what he could become under the tutelage of Stephen Milne and Adam Schneider for a few seasons, but again - give to get.

3: Jack Steven + St. Kilda round 2 selection for Colin Sylvia: A frontrunner in a side with few nuts, but a gun when the insiders are in a fighting mood, Sylvia would be the man to reinvigorate the list a bit. I was struggling to believe that the Saints had a shot next year, but after the last two months which you've played good, consistent, footy, I'd imagine Sylvia holding down a wing/HFF would stretch your window for as long as Hayes/NDS last in the middle.

Sorry if I'm overstepping the mark by asking, just curious. Cheers all.

I don't think any offers would be listened to mate. He's the leader of our next midfield brigade. 200 game player easily.

Can't blame you for inquiring, he's a fine youngster. Agree with L2M4G, we won't want to move him on, but some reasonable offers there (personally not a fan enough of Sylvia to trade a 2nd rounder and young Steven for him though)

We just havent had enough sucess with our draft picks to give up the few good ones we get. Even if Steven is considered surpluss when Lenny comes back, Lenny is 32 next year.
Melbourne have the likes of Scully ( maybe )and Trengrove and other early picks, no need to envy our late picks.

We just havent had enough sucess with our draft picks to give up the few good ones we get. Even if Steven is considered surpluss when Lenny comes back, Lenny is 32 next year.
Melbourne have the likes of Scully ( maybe )and Trengrove and other early picks, no need to envy our late picks.
Too much emphasis is placed on where kids are picked in the draft. If it turns out they can play, doesn't matter if they're a first round or fifth round.

I agree, but when a team has purposely tanked to get early picks, its a bit rich when their supporters set their eyes on our most promising young bloke.
Grass is always greener on the other side I guess.

Yeah surely Melbourne have enough good young players without chasing ours.

It's not like we have an abundance of quality young players like many other clubs so we're hardly going to be trading away a player like Steven just when he's coming good.

Im sorry but id much rather have Steven in our team over Sylvia. For one he is always out on the park and i think Sylvia is little over rated. Looks good in a crap side.. Def wouldnt be worth Steven & a draft pick anyway.

On a wing or HFF.
Sippos > Sylvia. From 2012 to .......
Sippos' stats say he was better in his first year than Sylvia was.

Even Ryan Gamble's stats arent far off Sylvia's. Sylvia gets more of the ball, but Gamble kicks more goals. Gamble is a couple of years younger.

Actually, if we wanted a wing or HFF player and didnt need Steven in the midfield, we'd be better of just playing Seven in the forward line. He got 14 touches and 3 goals against Geelong while playing Forward pocket last year. How did Sylvia go against Geelong last week.
Suggesting he is worth Steven + a draft pick. You're dreaming.

Sylvia's mother says Sylvia's sorry, and the operator says 40c more for the next three minutes. Sorry just popped into my head.